機場

香港機場的過去、現在和未來

1998年7月6日,經過忙碌的一夜之後,香港的機場從熙來攘往的九龍鬧市,正式搬遷至西面30公里以外的小島赤鱲角上。但是關於啟德和赤鱲角的故事並未結束,20年後,這一新一舊兩個機場已準備迎接另一波發展新浪潮。 撰文:Christopher DeWolf

小說家James Clavell於1981年出版的驚慄小說《Noble House》中有這樣的一個場面:美國商人Lincoln Bartlett抵達香港舊日的啟德機場,大搖大擺地下機後,立即嗅到「風中瀰漫一股奇特氣息,既非宜人芳香,亦非刺鼻惡臭,只是一種奇特而耐人尋味的氣息。」

他問警司Robert Armstrong:「那是什麼氣味?」

對方告訴他:「那是香港獨一無二的氣味 —— 銅臭味。」

現在,要體驗香港這份耐人尋味的奇特氣息,就要稍為多花一點時間。當你離開機場客運大樓後,並非馬上踏足一個人煙極為稠密的市區,而是南中國海上一個山巒起伏的島嶼。不過,瞬息萬變的風潮和銅臭味,仍然在新、舊機場四周縈繞瀰漫。

不論是舊機場,或是規模龐大、位於赤鱲角的香港國際機場,現在均成為價值數十億元的發展計劃的主角,成為塑造香港未來的重要一分子。

啟德機場的歷史可追溯至1912年,當時有兩位商人何啟和區德集資成立公司,於維多利亞港上大規模填海,打算發展住屋計劃。不過這個計劃後來告吹,填海所得的土地被英國殖民地政府收購,用作機場。這個機場其後規模日漸擴充,設施亦逐步改善,後來更開始提供定期航班,飛往世界各地多個城市。

到了1980年代,香港經濟起飛,啟德機場的航班升降量大增,開始出現應接不暇的情況;加上機場附近不斷湧現的住宅大廈和擠逼的民居,與機場跑道的距離十分接近。客機降落機場時,與佈滿電視天線和晾曬衣物的天台幾乎擦身而過,場面驚心動魄。

Fiona Hawthorne以前曾在香港居住,地點就在機場跑道附近。她憶述:「記得有次乘搭客機降落啟德時,我望進某個住宅單位,看見一個女孩正在窗邊梳頭,飛機與民居的距離就是這樣近。」

位於赤鱲角的新機場由諾曼福斯特爵士設計,於1998年落成,屬於一項龐大基建計劃的核心項目;這個基建計劃需大量填海造地,外加興建橋樑、高速公路和機場快綫鐵路等多項配套工程。

機場搬遷後,啟德空出328公頃土地。今年5月,新鴻基地產以251.6億港元的空前高價,投得前機場一幅地皮,發展住宅項目,令該址成為全城最價值不菲的土地。啟德機場舊址很可能是香港市中心區最後一塊可供發展的大型土地。經過多年規劃和檢討,該區的發展計劃大綱終於2007年面世;大綱內建議興建大型公園、綜合體育場館、郵輪碼頭、醫院、酒店、房屋、辦公室和商場,全部均沿著擬建的單軌鐵路而興建,而這條單軌鐵路將連接預期於2020年啟用的全新啟德港鐵站,以及前身為工業區、現已被重塑成新一代商業中心區「CBD2」的九龍灣和觀塘。

城市規劃監察組織「創建香港」聯合創辦人司馬文表示:「啟德正迎來許多美好事物。」這個地方將沿著啟德河畔的公園發展,將會比香港市區其他地方更綠意盎然,環境更寬敞。啟德河的前身為排水明渠,本來打算改建成加蓋的下水道。

當年,這條河流長年累月受到工業污染,散發強烈的臭氣(小說《Noble House》中的Lincoln Bartlett也許就是嗅到這種氣味),是名副其實的一潭死水。但隨著香港於1990年代展開新的渠務工程,加上工業北移,河水終於回復清澈,魚類和雀鳥亦重返該處棲息。社區團體成功爭取保留河流,而政府現正於河流兩旁種植草木,並在河畔增建一道公共長廊。

建築師鄭炳鴻小時住在啟德河附近,現在則參與保育這條小河。他認為將河道納入啟德發展計劃,是「連繫新舊社區」的方式。

當啟德於2020年代中期全面發展後,區內將有可容納90,000人的屋苑,每個住宅單位將由全區通用的環保海水冷卻系統提供空調,並有一條長逾13公里的單車徑穿越整區。區內亦將提供寬敞的海濱漫步空間,包括沿前機場跑道建成的海濱長廊。現時啟德郵輪碼頭亦位於前機場跑道上,與香港國際機場同樣為福斯特建築事務所負責設計。

司馬文最關心的,是啟德將承受過多的大型基建。郵輪碼頭已被批評為大白象,因為郵輪公司仍然喜歡停泊在更接近市中心的尖沙咀海運碼頭。司馬文亦指出,通往啟德的全新高速公路中九龍幹線,其交匯處將佔用一大片土地,可能令區內環境較想像中惡劣,對可持續發展造成影響,有違規劃者的原意。

在1998年之前,赤鱲角只是香港西面水域內一個無人問津的荒蕪島嶼;新機場遷來之後,規模全球數一數二的基建設施亦緊接著在這裡陸續出現。

當新建的港珠澳大橋於今年通車後,毗鄰機場的大嶼山北部將面臨極大的發展壓力。全新連接的路段會將機場與位於新界的屯門、中國內地的深圳,以及珠江三角洲東部其他蓬勃發展的城市連繫起來,期待已久的第三跑道亦會興建,而現有的客運大樓亦會擴建。

司馬文表示:「隨著經濟活動沿著珠江三角洲遷移,我認為沿大嶼山北部朝赤鱲角發展,從經濟角度來看是合理的。」不過,他擔心發展將以支離破碎的方式進行,無視環境的可持續發展或居民的生活質素。

政府委任的大嶼山發展諮詢委員會建議,在大嶼山這個全港最大島嶼上全力發展旅遊業,在島上興建海濱水療度假村酒店和遊樂場等設施。然而,由民間發起的關注團體守護大嶼聯盟抨擊這是「掠奪珍貴天然資源」的行為。

其他提出的計劃包括擴建毗鄰機場的東涌新市鎮,以及發展欣澳港鐵站周邊的土地;這個連接香港迪士尼樂園的港鐵站,現時四周只有停車場和空地。甚至有人提出更具野心的方案,於大嶼山海岸對開興建全新人工島,發展規模龐大的東大嶼都會計劃。

英語教師Derrick Chang自2014年起就在機場附近的東涌定居,他表示:「我遷入東涌的主要原因是區內擁有的綠色空間,環境亦相對比港島或九龍區恬靜,加上毗鄰機場,佔有地利。」他期待新發展會為該區帶來更多出色的餐廳和價廉物美的超級市場,但他亦希望「不會導致交通擠塞和帶來擠擁的人潮」。

新機場選址大嶼山,原意是讓數以百萬計的抵港旅客遠離喧囂的九龍鬧市;若大嶼山也變成一個鬧市,那真是令人啼笑皆非了。不過,大嶼山是個巨大的島嶼,面積是香港島的兩倍,而其中一半範圍更是郊野公園。當年客機於降落時在大廈天台和晾衣架頂端掠過的日子,早已一去不復返。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Aviation

The Hong Kong airport story: Then, now and the future

On 6 July 1998, in a staggering overnight operation, Hong Kong’s airport moved from the crowded streets of Kowloon to a small island 30 kilometres to the west. But that wasn’t the end of the story: 20 years on, both Kai Tak and Chek Lap Kok are braced for a fresh surge in development. By CHRISTOPHER DEWOLF

There’s a scene in the novelist James Clavell’s 1981 thriller Noble House where a swaggering American businessman named Lincoln Bartlett lands at Hong Kong’s old Kai Tak Airport. As he steps off the plane, he takes in ‘a strangeness on the wind, neither pleasant nor unpleasant, neither odour nor perfume – just strange, and curiously exciting’.

‘What’s that smell?’ he asks police superintendent Robert Armstrong.

‘That’s Hong Kong’s very own,’ he’s told. ‘It’s money.’

Today, it takes a little longer to sample the curiously exciting strangeness of Hong Kong. You emerge from the airport terminal building, not into one of the  world’s densest urban environments, but onto a mountainous island in the South China Sea. But the winds of change – and the smell of money – still swirl around both the new airport and the old.

Both the old airport and its replacement, the sprawling Hong Kong International Airport on Chek Lap Kok, find themselves at the centre of multibillion-dollar development plans that will shape Hong Kong for years to come.

The history of Kai Tak goes back to 1912, when businessmen Ho Kai and Au Tak raised money to reclaim a swathe of land from Victoria Harbour. Their plan to develop the land failed and they were bought out by the British colonial government, which began using it as an airfield. It was gradually expanded and improved over the years until it began offering regular scheduled flights to cities around the world.

By the boom years of the 1980s, Kai Tak was taking on more flights than it could handle, and high-rise apartments and tenements had spread to within spitting distance of the runway. Anyone flying into the airport experienced the hair-raising approach that took them alarmingly close to rooftop antennae and drying laundry.

‘I remember landing at Kai Tak and seeing into a flat – a girl was brushing her hair by the window. It was that close,’ says former Hong Kong resident Fiona Hawthorne.

The new Sir Norman Foster-designed airport at Chek Lap Kok opened in 1998. It was the centre of an enormous infrastructure programme that included bridges, expressways, the Airport Express railway and vast land reclamation.

Moving the airport freed up 328 hectares of land at Kai Tak. In May, a plot of land at the former airport site became the city’s most valuable when developer Sun Hung Kai Properties paid a record HK$25.16 billion for it, to redevelop into flats. The former Kai Tak site will likely be the last large parcel of land to be developed in the heart of Hong Kong. After years of planning, the area’s master plan was finally put into place in 2007. It called for a large park, a sports complex, a cruise terminal, a hospital, hotels, housing, offices and retail, all of it built along a planned monorail line that will connect to the new Kai Tak MTR station, slated to open in 2020, and the former industrial neighbourhoods of Kowloon Bay and Kwun Tong, which have been rebranded as CBD2, a new business district.

‘There’s a lot of good stuff happening at Kai Tak,’ says Paul Zimmerman, co-founder of urban design watchdog Designing Hong Kong. Meant to be greener and more spacious than other parts of urban Hong Kong, Kai Tak will be centred along a park that runs next to the Kai Tak River, a former drainage channel that was initially meant to be capped and turned into a sewer.

After years of industrial pollution, the river gave off a powerful stench (perhaps what Lincoln Bartlett was actually smelling in Noble House) and it was all but devoid of life. But with new sewerage works and the city’s deindustrialisation in the 1990s, the water once again ran clear. Fish returned and so did birds. Community activists successfully lobbied to save the river, and the government is now adding greenery and a public promenade to its banks.

Architect Wallace Chang, who grew up next to the river and who helped lead the movement to save it, sees its integration into Kai Tak’s redevelopment as a way to build ‘a connection between the old and new neighbourhoods’.

When Kai Tak is fully developed in the mid-2020s, there will be enough housing for 90,000 people, whose flats will be cooled by an eco-friendly, district-wide seawater cooling system. More than 13 kilometres of cycle tracks will thread through the area. There will also be ample space to walk along the waterfront, including a promenade that has already been built along the former runway, which is now home to the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal – designed by Foster + Partners, just like Hong Kong International Airport.

Zimmerman’s chief concern is that Kai Tak will be burdened by too much big infrastructure. The cruise terminal’s already been criticised as a white elephant, since companies still prefer to dock at the more centrally located Ocean Terminal in Tsim Sha Tsui. Zimmerman also points to the Central Kowloon Route, a new expressway to Kai Tak, which will take over a large chunk of land for an interchange, potentially making the area a lot less pleasant and sustainable than its planners intended.

Until 1998, Chek Lap Kok was a bare and unimportant island in Hong Kong’s western waters. Then came the airport. Next comes one of the world’s most ambitious infrastructure projects.

When the new Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge opens this year, the north side of Lantau Island, right next to the airport, will come under immense development pressure. A new road link will eventually connect the airport to Tuen Mun in the New Territories, the mainland Chinese city of Shenzhen and other booming cities of the eastern Pearl River Delta. The airport will acquire a much-anticipated third runway and the existing terminals will expand.

‘I would say that with the shift of economic activity up and along the Pearl River Delta, development along [Lantau’s] north side towards Chek Lap Kok makes economic sense,’ says Zimmerman. But he is worried that development will happen in a patchwork way that doesn’t take into account environmental sustainability or quality of life for residents.

The government-appointed Lantau Development Advisory Committee has called for Lantau, Hong Kong’s largest island, to be developed into a tourism hub with seaside spa resorts and amusement parks. But this has been attacked as a ‘plunder of invaluable natural resources’ by citizen concern group Save Lantau Alliance.

Other plans have been floated to expand Tung Chung, a new town adjacent to the airport, and to develop the land around the Sunny Bay MTR stop, which connects to Hong Kong Disneyland and is currently surrounded by carparks and vacant lots. An even more ambitious proposal calls for the creation of a new artificial island off the coast of Lantau that would become a vast new development called the East Lantau Metropolis.

‘The main reason I live in Tung Chung is because of the green spaces, relatively quiet environment compared to Hong Kong Island or Kowloon and its proximity to the airport,’ says English teacher Derrick Chang, who’s lived in Tung Chung since 2014. He looks forward to new developments that will bring better restaurants and cheaper supermarkets to his neighbourhood, but hopes ‘it won’t cause too much traffic and foot congestion’.

That would be an ironic outcome for a project that succeeded in depositing Hong Kong’s millions of arriving visitors far away from Kowloon’s atmospheric but chaotic streets. But Lantau is huge – twice the size of Hong Kong Island – and half the area is country park. The days of aircraft landing between tower blocks and washing lines are long gone.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book