航空

從香港國際機場到市區的風景

由香港國際機場前往市區有多種快捷而便利的方法,但是Fionnuala McHugh卻統統棄而不用,以下是她的理由

以往,當飛機降落在伸進維多利亞港的啟德機場跑道時,乘客馬上就可以見到市中心的面貌。飛機掠過佈滿電視天線和晾衣繩的民居天台時,機艙內的乘客看得觸目驚心;終於安全降落,可以下機了,但是一出機場就嗅到附近明渠飄來的臭味。外面的空氣帶著亞熱帶的潮濕,擁擠的人群爭先恐後地搶搭的士和巴士;不遠處是一家有冷氣空調的麥當勞快餐店,裡面坐著正在做功課的小孩。如果你要前往港島,還得呆在車內,等待車輛擠進時時刻刻都塞車的紅磡海底隧道。

因此,大嶼山赤鱲角的新機場配備直通市區的鐵路,實在令人稱賞不已。機場快綫的列車特別仿照飛機造型而設計,通車20年後仍然讓旅客以快捷暢順的方式抵達香港市區。下了飛機,辦好入境手續和提取行李之後,你立即可以從機場直接踏進機場快綫的車廂裡;24分鐘之內,你已離開機場所在的島嶼,橫渡南中國海,掠過九龍半島和維港海底,抵達香港島。除非你在車廂內將脖子扭盡,以求一瞥高懸半天的吊索,否則根本不會知道列車正穿越鬼斧神工的青馬大橋。

這正是我喜歡取道公路出市區的原因。赤鱲角機場於1998年啟用後,有多條巴士路線連接機場及附近多個地點;由於香港居民大多使用公共交通工具,因此有這樣的安排絕不稀奇。巴士雖然是平凡的日常交通工具,卻可讓你沿途欣賞到甚少人留意但極為壯觀的風光。你當然可以選擇乘的士,不過車費昂貴得多,而且車身略嫌低矮;要享受一趟理想的觀光之旅,我建議乘搭前往港島區的城巴機場快線,並選擇上層最前排的座位。

唯一令人為難的,是要決定坐左邊或右邊的座位。如果選擇左邊,當巴士穿越全球最長的行車和鐵路兩用懸索吊橋青馬大橋時,可以較佳角度來欣賞其姊妹汀九橋有如一座巨型豎琴橫跨小海灣的景致。但坐在右邊,則有波光粼粼的南中國海壯闊景色相伴,還有多個小島點綴海面上;香港境內有261個小島,你看到的是其中一部分。而在路面60米下的海面,可以看到船隻緩緩滑過水面,提醒你香港從來都是一個海運城市。

同樣位於左邊的還有葵青貨櫃碼頭,無數色彩鮮明的貨櫃構成一幅奪目畫面。到了夜晚,起重機仍在努力不懈地運作,吊臂上亮著點點紅光,有如龍的眼睛,守護著全球貿易的運作。時差引起的疲累確會為這旅程增添一點魔幻的感覺,但貨櫃碼頭的確是個十分奇妙的地方。而在右邊,隨著巴士在西九龍公路上轉彎而映入眼簾的,是維港對岸的港島區,萬家燈火璀璨明亮,令人歎為觀止。

30分鐘之內,你就來到全港最高、造型宛如銀色光劍的環球貿易廣場樓下,並即將進入西區海底隧道。這條隧道於1997年建成至今,仍然車流稀疏,從來不會擠塞。我曾於滿月的秋夜和農曆大年初一的破曉時分,踏上同樣的巴士旅程。很多時候,我都情願等候每半小時才有一班的A10號巴士,而不選乘更快捷的鐵路。每次旅程讓我可以沿途細賞不同的風光,對這個城市的面貌加深認識,直至步下巴士踏足街上的一刻,我知道自己經已抵達香港了。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Aviation

Hong Kong Airport to Central: Why the bus is the best option

There are fast, efficient ways of getting from Hong Kong International Airport to the city. Here’s why FIONNUALA MCHUGH doesn’t take them

In the old days, when the finger of the Kai Tak Airport runway jabbed into the harbour, the city made its presence known immediately upon landing. After that white-knuckle skim between TV aerials and washing lines, you’d disembark; and there was the stink from the nearby nullah and the jostle for taxis and buses in sub-tropical humidity, next to an air-conditioned McDonald’s where children did their homework. If you were going to Hong Kong Island, you sat, snarled-up, in Cross Harbour Tunnel rush hour. (It was always rush hour.)

One of the amazing aspects of the new airport at Chek Lap Kok on Lantau Island, then, was that it had a train. The Airport Express was specifically designed to resemble a plane and, two decades later, it’s still part of a seamless arrival into Hong Kong. You step – via Immigration and the baggage carousels – from one steel tube into another. Within 24 minutes, you’ve left an island, crossed the South China Sea, zipped over a peninsula and under a harbour to arrive on another island. Unless you make a neck-kinking effort to glimpse the suspension cables slicing up the sky, you’d never know you were crossing the engineering miracle of the Tsing Ma Bridge.

Hong Kong Island from the bus

This is why I like to go by road. After Chek Lap Kok opened in 1998, an entire tapestry of bus routes stitched itself into the surrounding fabric, as tends to happen in a city where most people don’t drive. These workaday vehicles provide some of the least-heralded yet most breathtaking vistas you’ll see in Hong Kong. You could take a taxi, of course, but they’re more expensive and rather squat. For a perfect journey, I’d recommend the front seat of the top deck on a Cityflyer bus bound for Hong Kong Island.

Ting Kau Bridge

The only dilemma is whether to sit on the right or the left. On the left, as you’re crossing the massive Tsing Ma Bridge – the longest road and rail suspension bridge in the world – you get a better view of its sister Ting Kau Bridge, delicately strung across an inlet like a giant cat’s cradle. But on your right, there’s the shining expanse of the South China Sea, studded with some of the 261 islands that officially make up the territory of Hong Kong, and the ships that glide 60 metres beneath you as a reminder that this was, is and always will be a maritime city.

On the left, too, is the brilliant cluster of the Kwai Tsing container terminals. At night, the red lights on the ceaseless cranes have the gleam of dragons’ eyes, guarding global trade. (It’s true that jet lag can add an otherworldliness to this trip, but the terminals are still magical.) To the right, across the harbour, the scarcely believable bauble of Hong Kong Island grows larger as the West Kowloon Highway curves round towards it.

Kwai Tsing Container Terminal

Within 30 minutes, you’re beneath the silver lightsabre of the International Commerce Centre, Hong Kong’s tallest building, and about to enter the mouth of the Western Harbour Crossing, a tunnel built in 1997 and still never crowded. Once I did this journey on a full-moon autumn night; once I did it as dawn broke on the first day of Chinese New Year; many times I’ve waited for the twice-an-hour A10 bus when the train would have been quicker. Each time it’s a way of, literally, giving the city face. Gradually, it reveals itself until that final moment when you step into a street. You have arrived.

The ICC

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book