自然與戶外

到香港鮮為人知的行山徑遠足

太平山頂是眾所周知的行出好去處,你想必已經去過。但香港的郊區和離島還有不少遠足好去處,卻連本地人和外地訪客亦難得前往一遊

很多外地訪客都不知道,香港其實是個遠足行山的勝地。在全港1,106平方公里的總面積中,有七成五的土地是綠色地帶,而有四成更是指定的郊野公園。無人居住的高山俯瞰市區,山上設有可供步行的山徑,帶你從人口稠密的市區,走進一個截然不同的世界。沿著這些山徑而行,你會發現各種大異其趣的風景,既有茂密的樹林,亦有偏遠的沙灘和高聳的山峰。

無論你想輕鬆漫步,還是向難度挑戰,總有一條遠足徑能滿足你的需要。你可以從中環徒步走上太平山頂,不過沿途人潮煕來攘往;但若肯多花點功夫,再加上香港方便的公共交通系統,你就可以飽覽區內令你耳目一新的風景。

新界荔枝窩

無人村落與蒼翠山巒

Hiking in Lai Chi Wo, Hong Kong
Credit: Getty Images

這條路線位於香港東北端的船灣郊野公園內,沿途帶你走過未受人工干擾的天然荒郊地帶。這裡有美麗的風水林,也有已廢棄的濱海地區,以及以前客家人聚居、現已荒廢的村落。這條路徑相當長,不過大部分都是平地,唯一的斜路最高點大約200米。若想欣賞壯觀的海景,不妨走上有416八高的吊燈籠徑。

全程:16公里
需時: 4-5 小時
途中特色:幾乎完全無人居住的谷埔
交通:乘搭港鐵前往粉嶺站(從中環前往約需一時時),然後轉乘56K巴士前往鹿頸;這是一條循環山徑,經過烏蛟騰、三椏、荔枝窩及谷埔

新界八仙嶺

氣勢磅礡的風景

Hiking in Pat Sin Leng, New Territories, Hong Kong
Credit: Shutterstock

這條遠足徑頗有難度,途中包括攀上高543公尺山峰的陡峭路段,只適合體能可以應付的行山人士。雖然如此,途中會經過一座美麗的松樹林,而且有令人嘆為觀止的風景,你付出的努力絕對會得到可觀的回報。八仙嶺是一條山脈,將八座大約500米高的山峰相連起來,令人聯想起中國道教傳說中的八仙,因而得名。沿著八仙嶺的山徑而行,可以飽覽向東伸延的壯觀海灣景色,還有樹木茂盛的山谷,以及隱約可見北面高樓大廈林立的深圳。

全程:12公里
需時:5小時
途中特色:可從高處俯瞰邊境另一邊熱鬧的鹽田港區,以及東面深圳的天際線
交通:乘搭港鐵前往粉嶺站(從中環前往約需一小時),再轉乘52B巴士至遠足徑起點鶴藪水塘

新界馬大石澗

名副其實的遊山玩水

Hiking in Ma Dai Stream, Hong Kong
Credit: BEJRJT

這是位於新界馬鞍山郊野公園內的遠足徑,最大的特色是有一道美麗的瀑布。香港的遠足徑往往需要走很多上坡路,不過這條路徑卻只有很短的一段上坡路,但卻需要大量的攀爬。石澗旁有多塊巨石,讓人可以攀著石塊沿澗邊而行;不過除非你對自己的平衡力有信心,而且配備適合的鞋子,否則不宜硬闖。如果你不介意涉水過溪澗弄濕鞋襪的話,走過溪澗後就會見多個寬大平坦的天然水池,天氣炎熱時,令人不禁想縱身躍入其中。所以,最好同時帶備泳衣。

全程:6公里
需時:3-4小時
途中特色:優美的英雄瀑布,配上岩池,風景與你認識的香港截然不同
交通:乘搭港鐵至大水坑站(從中環前往約需一小時),然後前往大水坑北街,隨著梯級前往一條小路,沿路而行不久即可抵達石澗

新界釣魚翁

將山水盡收眼底

Hiking in High Junk Peak, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

釣魚翁郊遊徑位於新界東南部一個半島尖端,毗鄰清水灣,山徑蜿蜒而上的釣魚翁山,山峰尖削,與西貢的蚺蛇尖及屯門的青山合稱香港三尖。雖然如此,這條山路並不陡峭難行。從山頂上四面環顧,可以將海景全收眼底:西面是將軍澳,不遠處是香港島,北面多個小島及南面與東面一望無際的大海。山徑也有陡峭的路段,不過山峰只有344米高,而起步點位於150米高處,而且途中經過迷人的竹林,走來並不太吃力。

全程:6公里
需時:3小時
途中特色:除了海景之外,東面可看到村落,東南面有高爾夫球場,而西邊則是工業區,不同的景物形成有趣的對比
交通:乘搭港鐵至坑口站(從中環前往約40分鐘),然後轉乘103號專線小巴到五塊田村,行山徑入口位於清水灣道南邊

新界大老山

從高處俯瞰兩個不同的世界

Hiking in Tate's Cairn, New Territories, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

走在這條山徑上,讓你同時感到既是置身山間,同時又身處城市。走到大老山頂,或是毗鄰的飛鵝山頂,往下一望,就是九龍密密麻麻的高樓大廈,再望遠一點,就是千金難買的維多利亞港景色。往相反方向望去,卻是新界區常見的蒼翠山巒,洋溢一片田園氣息。大老山高583米,往上走相當陡峭,但山路地面結實,保養妥善,入口處亦相當易找。

全程:6公里
需時:3小時
途中特色:最後一段沿飛鵝山道一山的路,這這昔日有不少華麗豪宅,現已變得日益破舊
交通:乘搭港鐵至黃大仙站(從中環前往約40分鐘),然後沿沙田坳道往遠足徑起點

大嶼山大東山

陡峭山路與壯闊美景

Hiking in Sunset Peak, Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

大東山高869米,是香港高山排行榜季軍,若想登頂,就要有心理準備,接受一趟相當艱辛的旅程。不過無需太長時間就可以登頂,你可以從東涌經過黃龍坑山谷前往;或者可以從位於東涌道、高340米的伯公坳出發,不必太吃力亦可走畢全程。登上山頂後,等待你的是360度全方位美景:遠處的山巒、四面環海、大部分市區景色,而香港國際機場就正在你的腳下。

全程:8公里
需時:4小時
途中特色:更高的鳳凰山(934米)在西邊拔地而起,氣勢雄偉,不過有時會天氣關係被雲層包圍
交通:乘搭港鐵至東涌站(從中環前往約35分鐘)後,可選擇步行約兩公里至黃龍坑,這是遠足徑的起點;或者在東涌道轉乘巴士往伯公坳,有多條巴士線可供選擇

南丫島山地塘與菱角山

到離島行山去

Hiking in Mount Stenhouse, Lamma Island, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

很多行山人士經常抱怨,香港郊野地區很多道路都鋪上混凝土,沒有在荒野走路的感覺。山地塘則可以讓人好好感受踏足荒野的滋味:開始時是平整的路段,可是不久就變得不平整。沿途很少其他遊人,有些段落可可能需要手足並用才能前進;行了一段時間,更可能找不到路,但不用擔心,只要小心留意一下樹上綁著的顏色布條就行,這是其他行山人士留下的標記。如果你不想弄得手腳和一身行山裝備都是泥土,可以到毗鄰的菱角山去,那裡有整齊的梯級供人上落。

全程:7公里
需時:3-4小時
途中特色:沿途可見無敵海景,但是過了山頂之後,就可見到島上發電廠的三支煙囪,景色變得十分超現實
交通:乘渡輪至索罟灣(從中環前往約30分鐘),沿路上山往東澳(影星周潤發的出生地)走,直到涼亭附近的十字路口之後,轉左可往菱角山,轉右往山地塘

大嶼山:東涌至梅窩 / 愉景灣

山谷中的小村落與海邊小鎮

Hiking from Tung Chung to Mui Wo, Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Credit: Mike Pickles

從鄰近機場的新市鎮東涌出發,可選擇輕鬆漫步或略有難度的路線,前往梅窩或愉景灣。東涌附近的山谷有多個傳統村落,平緩的山坡上可見村民的家族陵墓。通往位於海演的交通樞紐梅窩的路線輕鬆易行,沿途綠蔭覆蓋;前往高度發展的私人新市鎮愉景灣的途中,眼前突然出現465米高的老虎頭山,與山腳下的樓房形成強烈對比。梅窩和愉景灣都有很多餐飲選擇,並且有定期開出的渡輪載你返回中環。

全程:8/12公里
需時:2/4小時
途中特色:大蠔灣是個有如湖泊的小海灣,現在位於港珠澳大橋的終點旁
交通:乘搭港鐵至東涌站(從中環前往約35分鐘),然後沿海邊小路往東走,穿過大蠔山谷走出東涌內陸;來到亞婆塱後,可一直往前走至梅窩,或轉左前往愉景灣

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Nature and outdoors

Hiking Hong Kong’s Secret Trails

So you’ve hiked Victoria Peak. Now try hiking Hong Kong’s out-of-the-way trails, which take you to corners of the territory and its outlying islands where few locals or visitors venture

Unexpectedly to many visitors, Hong Kong is hiking heaven, with 75 per cent of its 1,106 square kilometres covered by greenery, and 40 per cent designated country parks. Mostly uninhabited mountains tower over the city, laced with accessible trails that lead you up and away from Hong Kong’s densely crowded urban areas and into an entirely different world. You’ll uncover a startling diversity of scenery, from lush forests to secluded beaches to mountain peaks while hiking in Hong Kong.

There’s a trail for every level of fitness, whether you want a gentle stroll or a more challenging climb. While you could just walk out of Central and up Victoria Peak, you’ll struggle to get away from the crowds – and with just a bit more effort, and some help from Hong Kong’s excellent public transport system, you can have a whole new side of the territory to yourself.

Lai Chi Wo, New Territories

Ghost Villages and Green Hills

Credit: Getty Images

Located in Plover Cove Country Park, in the far northeast of Hong Kong, this hike takes you through some wild and undisturbed countryside. The terrain changes through beautiful feng shui woodlands to deserted seafront and a variety of atmospheric abandoned homes formerly inhabited by Hakka people. The walk covers quite a distance but is mostly flat, with only one climb up to about 200 metres, although those also looking for dramatic views of the sea can choose to go over the 416-metre-high Tiu Tang Lung.

Distance: 16 kilometres
Time: 4-5 hours
Look Out For: The almost entirely deserted ghost village of Kuk Po
How to Get There: MTR to Fanling (an hour from Central), then the 56K bus to Luk Keng; the walk is a loop through Wu Tau Kang, Sam A, Lai Chi Wo and Kuk Po

Pat Sin Leng, New Territories

Epic Views and the Eight Immortals

Credit: Shutterstock

Only suitable for capable hikers, this is a difficult route that includes a steep climb up to 543 metres – albeit one through a pretty pine forest – but is 100-per-cent worth it for the utterly breathtaking views. The Pat Sin Leng range is a massif of eight closely interconnected 500-metre-plus peaks (its name means ‘ridge of the eight immortals’, celebrating characters from Chinese mythology) that between them afford a panorama stretching from the magnificent bay to the east to the forested Hong Kong valleys in the foreground and the imposing skyline of the city of Shenzhen looming to the north.

Distance: 12 kilometres
Time: 5 hours
Look Out For: An aerial perspective on the teeming Yantian port district across the border, to the east of the main Shenzhen skyline
How to Get There: MTR to Fanling (an hour from Central), then the 52B minibus to Hong Tau Reservoir where the trail starts

Ma Dai Stream, New Territories

A Waterfall-filled Walk on the Wild Side

Credit: BEJRJT

When it comes to hiking in Hong Kong, the trails often require a fair bit of uphill work. This is a unique option that involves very little climbing, but quite a lot of clambering, albeit along a beautiful stream featuring dramatic waterfalls in the New Territories’ Ma On Shan Country Park. Most of it is spent negotiating a series of giant boulders that make the stream navigable on foot, so it’s only for people who are confident in their balance and have suitable footwear, and often the only practical route is to hike through the actual stream. You probably won’t mind getting wet, however, as the payoff is a series of beautiful pools begging to be jumped into on a hot day – so pack your swimming gear.

Distance: 6 kilometres
Time: 3-4 hours
Look Out For: The gorgeous Hero’s Waterfall, complete with rock pool, which feels nothing like Hong Kong as you know it
How to Get There: MTR to Tai Shui Hang (an hour from Central), head to Tai Shui Hang North Street and follow the stairs up to a path, which soon reaches the stream

High Junk Peak, New Territories

Peak Ambitions and Epic Views

Credit: Mike Pickles

Involving one of Hong Kong’s sharpest peaks but only moderate levels of exertion, hiking Hong Kong’s High Junk Peak follows a ridge that rises to a point out of a narrow peninsula at the southeast tip of the New Territories, next to Clearwater Bay. From the summit, you’ll get views of the sea in all directions – Junk Bay to the west, with Hong Kong Island close by, islands to the north and open ocean to the south and east. There’s some steep climbing, partly through charming bamboo forests, but the peak is only 344 metres high, and you start at about 150 metres.

Distance: 6 kilometres
Time: 3 hours
Look Out For: In addition to sea views, check out the contrast between the villages to the east, the golf course to the southeast and the industrial area to the west
How to Get There: MTR to Hang Hau (40 minutes from Central), then the 103 minibus to Ng Fai Tin village, where the trail leads from the south side of Clear Water Bay Road

Tate’s Cairn, New Territories

Straddle Two Worlds from Up High

Credit: Mike Pickles

This hike offers the chance to feel like you’re in the mountains and in the city at the same time. Ascend to the top of Tate’s Cairn – or Kowloon Peak (Fei Ngo Shan) right next to it – and you’ll feel like you’re right on top of the clustered skyscrapers of Kowloon, with a million-dollar view over the city and the harbour beyond. Look in the opposite direction, however, and all is bucolic New Territories mountains and valleys. While it’s a pretty steep climb up to the 583-metre-high Tate’s Cairn, the terrain is solid and well maintained and the trailhead is easy to find.

Distance: 6 kilometres
Time: 3 hours
Look Out For: The final stages of the walk down along Fei Ngo Shan Road, a once glamorous area now full of crumbling mansions
How to Get There: MTR to Wong Tai Sin (40 minutes from Central), then follow Sha Tin Pass Road to the start of the trail

Sunset Peak, Lantau Island

Steep Climbs and Sumptuous Views

Credit: Mike Pickles

Come prepared for a challenge if you’re planning on hiking Hong Kong’s third tallest mountain: Sunset Peak (Tai Tung Shan) rises up to 869 metres and represents one of the territory’s most arduous climbs. You can, however, get to the summit fairly quickly, either from Tung Chung through the Wong Lung Hang valley or, if the full climb sounds a bit daunting, by starting from Pak Kung Au, a 340-metre pass on Tung Chung Road. You’ll be rewarded with some staggering panoramic views – of other mountains, the sea in every direction, most of the rest of the city, and Hong Kong International Airport right below you.

Distance: 8 kilometres
Time: 4 hours
Look Out For: The even taller Lantau Peak (Fung Wong Shan, 934 metres) rising dramatically to the west, sometimes atmospherically wreathed in cloud
How to Get There: MTR to Tung Chung (35 minutes from Central) and either walk approximately two kilometres to the start of the trail at Wong Lung Hang, or take any of the many buses along Tung Chung Road to Pak Kung Au

Mount Stenhouse and Ling Kok Shan, Lamma Island

Get Off-Road and Out to the Islands

Credit: Mike Pickles

A common complaint about hiking in Hong Kong is the amount of the city’s rural areas covered by concrete paths, so you never really feel like you’re walking on the wild side. Mount Stenhouse (Shan Tei Tong) is a good antidote: while it starts on a sealed path, it pretty soon gets unruly. You won’t have much company and you may sometimes be scrabbling on hands and knees, and though you may at some point feel lost just look out for the coloured scraps of material tied to trees which mark the trail. Alternatively, for those who don’t want to get their hiking gear dirty, the adjacent Ling Kok Shan has steps all the way up and down.

Distance: 7 kilometres
Time: 3-4 hours
Look Out For: The sea views are stellar throughout, but increasingly surreal after the peak, when the three towers of island’s power station swing into view
How to Get There: Ferry to Sok Kwu Wan (30 minutes from Central) and follow the path uphill towards Tung O (birthplace of film star Chow Yun-fat) as far as a crossroads near a pagoda: for Ling Kok Shan, turn left; for Mount Stenhouse, turn right

Tung Chung to Mui Wo/Discovery Bay, Lantau Island

Valley Villages and Seaside Towns

Credit: Mike Pickles

A gentler option for hiking in Hong Kong can be easily reached from the new town of Tung Chung, close to the airport. The valleys near Tung Chung are dotted with traditional villages while the gentle slopes play host to fascinating family mausoleums. Forests cover the easy route to the waterfront town and transport hub of Mui Wo; the sudden bare peak of the 465-metre-high Lo Fu Tau gets in the way of the walk to the highly developed private new town Discovery Bay, making for a startling contrast in environments. At both Mui Wo and Discovery Bay you’ll find plenty of options for a bite to eat, and ferries back to Central leave at regular intervals.

Distance: 8/12 kilometres
Time: 2/4 hours
Look Out For: Tai Ho Wan, a lake-like sea inlet that now sits next to the terminus of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao bridge
How to Get There: MTR to Tung Chung (35 minutes from Central), then follow the waterfront path east out of Tung Chung inland through the Tai Ho valley; at A Po Long, go straight on for Mui Wo or turn left for Discovery Bay

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book