河內

型格河內: 需要知道的人與景點

只要你來到越南首都,便會發現這座城市已踏上創意之路;不過你要懂得往哪裡遊歷

我在河內的還劍湖岸邊,重溫由著名詩人Xuan Quynh撰寫的《波濤》:「急湍而溫柔,響亮復平靜,河流從不了解自己;直到流入汪洋大海,波濤才驚覺自己的存在。」他的一字一句,至今依然能貼切形容今日的越南首都。在這裡,絢爛的越南色彩填滿了充斥著電單車的大街小巷,但只要細心觀察,你便不難發現,佈局精心的時尚小巷正在河內冒起,那裡設有藝廊、手工啤酒吧及音樂表演場地等商戶。

當我穿過售賣遊客紀念品的街頭市集、按摩店及卡拉OK酒吧,往往會在小巷找到教人驚喜的地方,Manzi就是其中之一,它是獨立藝廊兼咖啡廳,位於Phan Nuy Ich區內一幢瑰麗的殖民時期別墅之中,展出河內最精緻前衛的作品。

Cedric Arnold

至於從事藝術品代理的Suzanne Lecht來自美國,則是這裡另一家畫廊 Salon Art Vietnam 的老闆,她說:「回想90年代我初來埗到時,每到晚上9時就會停電,街上更有捱餓的人民。」

Suzanne曾在日本生活多年,隨後被藝術家組合「河內五人幫」的作品吸引,決定移居越南。這五位藝術家於1980年代打響名堂,矢志令越南藝術脫離經典藝術風格及政治宣傳,結果造就出與當時越南變革風潮攜手並行的當代藝術。正如她所言:「他們描繪的正是自己的所見所感。」

Cedric Arnold

Suzanne最近籌辦「河內五人幫」作品回顧展,她身穿由設計師Diego Cortizas度身訂造的黑色連身裙出席展覽,裙身上有一個阿拉伯數字「5」的貼綉,上面綴有這五位著名藝術家的名字。Diego來自西班牙,是另一位在河內落地生根多年的移民,他在2004年跟妻子Laura開設了時裝店 Chula Fashion。兩口子在店中售賣訂製連身裙,並形容其設計是:「將越南傳統及西方視野共冶一爐」。

Cedric Arnold

Diego續道:「越南是無窮無盡的靈感泉源,不論是街頭生活、美食、人物及風景都可觸發無窮靈感。在這個國家,尤其是河內,每天都猶如一場歷奇旅程。它就像是一面鏡,只要你有嶄新的意念和美好的感覺,河內就會將其呈現出來。」

他的時裝店位於繁華旺盛的Naha Chieu,一個坐落於舊城核心地段的狹長小區。在這裡,勇於創新的小商戶正忙著跟叫賣竹帽及印有「越南早安」T恤的手信店搶生意。毗鄰Chula時裝店的是新近開業的古玩店 Collective Memory,由本地作家Nga Hoang和從事
攝影的合夥人Liem Tram創辦,它以粗糙的磚牆襯托藏品,別具藝術氣息,吸引眼光獨到的遊客到訪,至於滿身酒氣的背包客相信對這裡應該沒有太大興趣。

正當我們在瀏覽擺滿Saigon Charlie辣椒醬、Kuo協作咖啡及Le Mai手工皂等手工精品的陳列架時,Nga Hoang對我們說:「我原本是個記者,經常訪問創作精美手工藝的匠人。當我說想開店時,他們都覺得我會很稱職;簡單來說,我專門搜羅有故事的東西。」

Cedric Arnold

Nga Hoang除了打理店舖外,亦是一名河內通。我跟她說我對河內新興的音樂場所很感興趣,她便推薦Quang An區的Hanoi Rock City,乘電單車前往,不消一會即可到達。

數小時後,我在西湖一帶飛馳,剛好趕得及看到琥珀色的太陽沒入古蹟鎭國寺附近的湖水中。沒多久便來到車水馬龍的住宅區,車子駛過仍在興建中的公寓大樓,沿途盡是東歪西倒的電線桿,上面懸掛著雜亂無章的電線,最後司機隨意停在沙塵滾滾的路邊,我狼狽地下車。

Cedric Arnold

在我嘗試弄清方向時,偶然發現了一家名為Furbrew的店舖。這家美輪美奐的商店是丹麥人及越南人的合作成果,它打著「外國構思,本土釀製」的旗幟推銷手工啤酒。我找來一張高腳椅坐下,品嚐它的檸檬草麥芽啤酒和羅望子淡啤酒,然後再啟程到Hanoi Rock City欣賞表演。這個音樂場地宣稱其營辦宗旨是「文化發展及藝術交流」,當我闖進去時,演奏非洲音樂的樂隊正為滿場的觀眾傾力演出,就好像要宣示這個宗旨一樣。我把數杯Bia Hanoi啤酒灌進肚子裡之後,便決定加入跳舞的群眾。

當我回到河內古城的市中心附近,找到了一家以美國迷幻搖滾樂隊命名的美式音樂酒吧The Doors。這支樂隊炮製過多首風格另類的歌曲,曾被不少越戰電影採用做配樂,但這家酒吧並無昔日的沉重氣氛,反倒成為老一輩的越南人在凌晨時分與歌迷暢飲淡啤酒,欣賞金曲的地方。我在這裡認識了23歲的平面設計師Dong Thai Mai Phuong,她更答應與我共晉早餐,讓我體驗正宗河內人的生活。

Cedric Arnold

翌日清晨,她開著電單車帶領我遠離舊城河內的遊客陷阱,來到她最愛的路邊攤。她點了番茄小龍蝦汁煮牛肉,而我則津津有味地品嚐夾了煎蛋和撒上辣椒的法式長麵包。河內人大多早起,能夠欣賞這座城市緩緩甦醒,實在是賞心樂事。我們享受著河內的代表煉奶冰咖啡,而隨著咖啡因在血液中流淌,碳水化合物在體內燃燒,我發現自己更精神奕奕地迎接這座城市的新一天,同時,我感覺到自己才剛開始領略到這裡的魅力。

國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往河內的航班,每周有十班

Hanoi

Hanoi gets hip: Where to go in Vietnam’s capital of cool

An exploration of Hanoi reveals a city finding its creative stride – you just have to know where to look. Words by THOMAS BIRD, photos by CEDRIC ARNOLD

On the shores of Hanoi’s Sword Lake, I reread Waves, penned by the celebrated poet Xuan Quynh: ‘Fierce and gentle, loud and silent, the river doesn’t understand itself. The wave doesn’t find itself, until it reaches the sea.’ Xuan’s words still aptly describe the contemporary capital, a place where the multifarious colours of Vietnam fill the scooter-jammed streets. But look a little closer, and a scene of cool, carefully considered back-street haunts – including galleries, craft beer spots and music venues – is rising.

Wandering by the mass-produced junk of the street markets, the massage parlours and the karaoke bars, I consistently come upon these hidden surprises, such as Manzi, an independent art gallery and cafe on Phan Nuy Ich housed in a stunning colonial villa and exhibiting some of the finest and most provocative work in Hanoi.

‘If you could have seen this place when I arrived in the ’90s,’ says American art dealer Suzanne Lecht, who runs another gallery, Salon Art Vietnam. ‘The electricity went out at 9pm, and hunger, well, that was commonplace.’

Lecht came to Vietnam after several years living in Japan, lured by the work of artists known collectively as the Gang of Five. The quintet emerged in the 1980s seeking to steer Vietnamese art away from classical styles and political propaganda. The result was contemporary art that contextualised the progressive climate of a changing Vietnam. As Lecht puts it, ‘They painted what they felt, what they saw’.

At a recent retrospective of the Gang’s work initiated by Lecht, she wore a black dress tailor-made by designer Diego Cortizas, which bore the names of the famous five artists within a silhouette of the numeral ‘5’. Cortizas, who hails from Spain, is another long-time Hanoi resident. He settled in the city to establish Chula Fashion in 2004 with his wife, Laura. Here, the couple sell their custom dresses, which he says blend ‘Vietnamese traditions and Western visions’.

Hanoi, Diego and Laura of Chula fashion

‘Vietnam is an endless source of inspiration,’ says Cortizas. ‘The street life, the food, the people, the landscape. Every day is an adventure, especially in Hanoi. The city is like a mirror: if you have fresh ideas and good feelings, Hanoi will reflect them.’

His boutique is on Naha Chieu, a zesty strip right in the heart of the old city where innovative small businesses are busy wresting sales from tourist shops hawking bamboo hats and ‘Good morning Vietnam’ T-shirts. Next door to Chula, for instance, local writer Nga Hoang and her photographer partner Liem Tram recently established Collective Memory, a veritable bazaar of curios displayed artfully against exposed brick walls, appealing to more discerning visitors than the average boozy backpacker.

‘I worked as a journalist and would often interview people who created these lovely handicrafts,’ says Nga, as we explore shelves stocked with artisanal products such as Saigon Charlie’s hot sauce, Kuo cooperative coffee and Le Mai soaps. ‘When I said I’d like to open a shop, they agreed I’d be perfect for it. Basically I look for things that have a story to tell.’

In addition to managing her shop, Nga is a well of information on all that is happening in Hanoi. After I explain my interest in the city’s nascent music scene she recommends Hanoi Rock City, a short motorbike ride away in Quang An.

A few hours later I’m speeding around the West Lake just as the amber sun dips into the water near the ancient Tran Quoc Pagoda. We’re soon careering through a congested neighbourhood of half-constructed apartment blocks, our path flanked by chaotic electrical wiring suspended from crooked pillars, until I’m deposited unceremoniously on a
dusty roadside.

Hanoi, Furbrew

While I try to regain some bearings I come upon Furbrew, a charming Danish-Vietnamese operation marketing craft beer with the motto ‘Imported ideas, locally brewed’. Finding a bar stool, I enjoy some lemongrass-infused ale and tamarind-infused lager before heading down the road to take in a show at Hanoi Rock City. The music venue claims it was established with the aim of ‘cultural development and artistic exchange’. As if to encapsulate this ethos, an Afrobeat band is entertaining a full house when I stumble in. After swilling a few Bia Hanoi, I’m persuaded to join in the dancing.

Back near the old city centre, I also find The Doors cafe, a grungy dive named after the American psychedelic rock band whose eerie songs haunt the soundtracks of more than a few Vietnam War movies. But there’s no gloomy nostalgia here; this is a place for Vietnamese old-timers to jam into the early hours to a loyal audience of lager-dazed fans. Here I befriend Dong Thai Mai Phuong, a 23-year-old graphic designer who promises to give me a taste of authentic Hanoian life, namely breakfast.

Hanoi, Doors cafe

Phuong picks me up on her moped early the next day and steals me away from the tourist traps of the old town, eventually landing us at her favourite street-side stall, where she orders beef in crayfish and tomato sauce, while I chew on a baguette packed with fried eggs and garnished with chilli peppers. Hanoi is a city of early risers and it’s a fine thing just to watch the city wake up. Our meal is washed down with Hanoi’s beverage of choice: iced coffee sweetened with condensed milk. With caffeine in my bloodstream and some carbs to burn, I feel more than ready to confront the day in a city whose charms, I feel, I’m only beginning to uncover.

Cathay Dragon flies to Hanoi from Hong Kong 10 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book