印度

亨比: 重踏失落皇城

昔日沒落印度皇朝的首都,今日光采乍現

沒錯,它是一座古城,但絕非不值一提的破落鄉村。

這裡曾經是印度毗奢耶那伽羅皇朝的京城,盡擁榮華富貴,城堡由七堵城牆圍繞而建,在萬民眼中堅不可摧。城內到處珠光寶氣,由鑽石、紅寶石、珍珠、綠寶石和中國瓷器點綴裝飾,高貴芬芳的香氣飄逸四方。

公元1500年,毗奢耶那伽羅皇朝踏入全盛時期,國土廣達155平方公里,是當時僅次於北京的世界第二大城市,人口約有50萬,官府以石渡槽送遞淨水至城內供人民使用。

可惜,古都最終淪落為荒廢焦土。

Credit: Adam White

於僅僅65年內,這個世界知名的大都便由盛轉衰。高樓建築被瓦解焚毀,寺廟神舍亦被掠奪洗劫。一個迄立兩世紀的泱泱帝國轉眼衰敗,廢墟中只見老虎猛獸。眾皇星沉隕歿,漸漸被世人遺忘。

被譽為「勝利之城」的毗奢耶那伽羅皇朝,為何遭受厄運?他們一度雄踞整個南印度,大興土木修建寺廟和皇宮,最終為何被淘空傾頹?目前的亨比是一條寧靜的河濱村落,位於班加羅爾和海得拉巴之間,身處一度偉大的文明之都,當地居民如何在遺址中謀生?

毗奢耶那伽羅城皇朝始於1336年,一群來自南印度的印度教首領聯手抵禦北方的穆斯林蘇丹,最後在亨比建城,遺址建築仍然如積木般散落各處。只要登上亨比其中一座山峰,如Malyavanta山、Hemakuta山或Matanga山,古都的磅礡氣勢即時一目了然。

Credit: Adam White

亨比的斷壁殘垣深埋於繁茂的幽谷中,南北兩面俱被河流環抱,四周是為數驚人的花崗岩巨石。經歷數十億年的風化侵蝕,層層堆疊的大石幻變稀奇怪異的形態,彷彿違反物理定律。

當年人民便是利用這些龐然巨石加上含鐵量豐富的泥土修築皇城。滴水成川,歷經逾億年風化的岩石,一下子被用來打造宏偉的皇都。

以石築城令人嘆為觀止,現時在遺跡中仍到處可見堅硬的花崗岩。當年,古城牆用長一米厚半米的石塊環繞巨石陣而起,高聳的樑柱矗立於亨比全城,形成大大小小的購物市集,形形色色的攤販售賣名貴寶石、絲綢和水果。沿著大街可通往市內的每一座廟宇,有實而不華的,也有金碧輝煌的,每一座各有特色。

Vitthala Temple. Credit: Adam White

維塔拉神廟可說是皇朝最瑰麗堂皇的代表,於帝國盛世的數十年間建成。神殿的雕功被視作國力象徵,廟群的外牆放眼可見神祇、動物和人像的雕刻,當中的「鎮廟之寶」包括一座龐大的石戰車,雕工極盡華麗精緻,是亨比最廣為人知的景點,也成為印度50盧比紙幣上的圖案。有一點必須說明,花崗岩堅硬無比,極難在上面雕龍琢鳳,石質每每碎落成粉屑,只要一子錯,便要從變小的石塊重新開始。

這一切資料,都不是我自己研究得來的。我的導遊Nagendra B先生在Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace豪華度假村擔任歷史學家,度假村距離亨比鎮只需數分鐘車程。經過數次導賞遊另加一程簡短的小圓筏渡河之旅,我才了解到一個文明古都的冒起和滅亡。

Left: Adam White; Right: Michele Ricucci / Alamy Stock Photo

有一次遊覽寺廟時,Nagendra呼喚我去看牆上一道雕刻。其實我曾略略看過這道雕刻,它有點模糊不清,教人猜不透當中乾坤,像是無心插柳地刻下的一群動物或是其他東西。

他解釋:「它其實是只有一個頭的連體生物,是亨比得以強大的理念。」

接著他以手遮蓋著半邊雕像,眾人眼前一亮,看到一頭大象。「這頭大象代表了君主和貴族。」

他再蓋住另一半,此時則浮現出一頭公牛。「這頭公牛代表了人民。唯有將兩者合而為一,文明才得以弘揚。」

但在毗奢耶那伽羅皇朝壯大後,公牛和大象卻背道而行。明君Krishna Deva Raya於1529年去世,接任的國王珠玉在前,治國乏力,之後繼任的兩名君主同樣無法中興,觸發皇朝的附屬國覬覦君主之位。終於在1565年,北方的蘇丹窺準機會再次宣戰。

Nagendra聳聳肩說:「縱觀洋洋史記,有什麼能令權貴敗亡?一是賣國賊,二是一國之主無法給人民愉快的生活。」

君主率領十萬大軍迎戰,可惜一去不回。毗奢耶那伽羅皇朝在此役一敗塗地,勝方的蘇丹揮軍南下,在幾乎毫無防衛的皇城肆意搶掠五個月。亨比慘被夷為平地,本來的顯赫世家則帶著城中財寶,跟著蘇丹軍隊離開。

亨比城變得奄奄一息。

Credit: Adam White

皇朝其後多次遷都,艱苦地再支撐了80年,國勢大不如前。亨比已被洗劫一空,已成定局。如果有人憑弔這座破落的古城,恐怕更像一則關於爭權奪利的寓言故事。全城遭蹂躪兩年後,一名意大利旅行家匯報,亨比毫無趣味,淪為「老虎和其他野獸的家園」。

多少年過去,有人再次踏足亨比,但非為了移居此地,也沒有君主重臨,而是一些農夫欲利用遍地的花崗岩。

Nagendra說:「我的祖父來自亨比,他就是用這些花崗岩蓋建房子。」即使時至今日,不少人都在遺址的樑柱之間建築,外加粉刷的磚牆,就像古時的毗奢耶那伽羅人,在巨石四周築起他們的花崗岩城牆一樣。

英國人在1800年為古城的遺跡繪製地圖,但Nagendra表示,直到20世紀中期印度獨立後,考古學家才開始積極把當中約1,600座倖存的碉堡、神廟、渡槽等等,認真地分類記錄。古城遺跡於1986年成為聯合國世界文化遺產,但一直人跡罕至,即使印度人亦鮮有所聞,多數是背包客慕名而來的隱世景點。

The Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace. Credit: Adam White

最近,亨比的形象漸見起色。亨比的村民可以遷離遺址,獲安置到其他地方居住,好讓考古學家前來仔細探索。班加羅爾和海得拉巴則於一年半前開通到當地機場的航班,遊客不需再忍受七小時的漫長車程,坐一小時飛機便可到達。當地政府又修整道路,至明年車程可縮減至四小時半。多項旅遊措施陸續有來,包括舉辦「亨比夜遊」導賞團,帶人參觀飾以燈效的神廟;遊客又可在附近參與滑翔傘等各式冒險活動。

Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace度假村料將迎接逐漸增加的旅客。這間豪華度假村三年前啟業,採用亨比的印度伊斯蘭風格設計,靈感來自仍然屹立至今的皇朝建築。除了套房和無邊際游泳池外,度假村還與本地社區合作,幫助下榻的旅客了解歷史風韻,令住客銘記這個皇城,不讓亨比像400年前一樣,只能湮沒於時間的洪流中。

亨比不會再淪為失落的皇城,並人氣漸長。雖然目前仍未形成旅遊風尚,但指日可待。

Achyutaraya Temple. Credit: Adam White

Nagendra在日暮時分帶我們沿著亨比河畔漫步。轉個角落,眼前豁然開朗,來到通往阿丘塔拉亞神廟的寬闊市集大街。在花崗岩山峰之間,寺廟安然佇立在狹小的山谷中。棕櫚樹悄然婆娑搖曳,四野無人,只有一隻從河邊跟著我們前行的小狗為伴。暮色把周遭建築染成橙色,我們一行數人,猶如是帝國衰落後首批踏足這片土地的探險家和發現者。

首批重新發掘失落皇城的旅人。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往 海得拉巴的航班,每周有五班;國泰港龍航空設有由香港飛往 班加羅爾的航班,每周有七班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

India

Hampi: The Forgotten City

The capital of a fallen Indian empire is finally making a comeback

Yes, it was a city. But that’s selling it short.

It was the namesake capital of the Vijayanagara Empire in India. A place of unimaginable wealth. A seemingly impregnable fortress with seven walls that ringed streets dripping with diamonds, rubies, pearls, emeralds, the porcelain of China and the perfumes of Araby.

At its height in 1500 AD, it spanned 155 square kilometres. Stone aqueducts fed fresh water to some half a million people. It was the second-largest city on Earth, behind only Beijing.

And then it fell.

Credit: Adam White

Just 65 years later, one of the greatest cities the world has known was ground into the dust. Its towers toppled, its buildings burned, its temples looted. The capital of an empire that had stood for two centuries, abandoned and left to the tigers. A city of kings, all but forgotten.

What happened to Vijayanagara, the ‘city of victory’? How does an empire rise to control the whole of South India, build monuments and palaces – and then fade to nothing? How is it now that the people of the quiet riverside village of Hampi, located halfway between Bangalore and Hyderabad, are making a life in the ruins of a once great civilisation?

Vijayanagara was founded in 1336, when a group of Hindu rulers from South India banded together to fend off the Muslim sultans to the north. And all the building blocks are there, quite literally. Ascend to the top of one of the hills of Hampi – Malyavanta, Hemakuta or Matanga – and you’ll understand.

Credit: Adam White

The ruins of the empire sit in a lush valley, bounded by rivers to the north and south and girdled by a staggering mass of bouldered granite. Boulders sit on top of each other in physics-defying implausibility, worn into curious shapes by billions of years of erosion.

It’s these boulders which the people harnessed to create their kingdom. Together with the iron-rich soil, they had everything they needed to hurry along the billion-year process of shaping rock.

And shape it they did. Granite is everywhere in the remains of the empire. Blocks a metre long by a half-metre thick line the walls of the city, built into and around the boulders they sprang from. Tall columns stand throughout Hampi, forming shopping arcades for the market streets which line the approach to every temple in the city, stalls which once glittered with jewels, silks and fruits. And then there are the temples themselves: from the simple and unpretentious to the entirely ornate. 

Vitthala Temple. Credit: Adam White

The high watermark of the style lies at the Vitthala Temple, built in the decades surrounding the height of the empire. It’s a sculptural showcase of power, a complex in which no surface is unadorned with gods, creatures and humanity. The temple contains the massive Stone Chariot, an ornately carved giant carriage that’s Hampi’s primary claim to fame (it’s featured on the Indian 50-rupee note). And you have to understand: carving granite is hard. The stone is unforgiving. It flakes and chips. A single wrong strike and you’re starting over again, but with a smaller piece.

I am not learning this alone. My guide is Nagendra B, a historian with the Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace resort, just a few minutes’ drive from Hampi. Over a series of guided walks (and a brief journey by coracle), I learn about the creation – and the dissolution – of a civilisation.

Left: Adam White; Right: Michele Ricucci / Alamy Stock Photo

Nagendra beckons me to a carving in a temple wall, one I’d just breezed past. It seems indistinct, confusing, a mistaken mass of some animal or the other. 

‘This carving shows why Hampi was successful,’ Nagendra explains. ‘These two creatures share a single head.’

He covers half of the carving with his hand and an elephant swims into focus. ‘This is the elephant, representing the king and the nobility,’ he says. 

He covers the other half and a bull stands out in relief. ‘And this is a bull,’ he notes, ‘representing the people. It’s only when they’re working together, as one, that civilisation succeeds.’

In Vijayanagara, the bull and the elephant came apart. The great king Krishna Deva Raya died in 1529 and was followed by a weaker ruler, and a weaker one after that, then a weaker still. The vassals of the state started jockeying for position – and in 1565 the sultans of the north, sensing an opportunity, made war once more.

Nagendra shrugs. ‘With empires throughout history, how else do the rich lose power? Traitorous men and kings who do not keep their people happy.’

The king marched to battle with 100,000 men. He did not return. The defeat was absolute and the triumphant sultans came for an all-but undefended city. Over the course of a brutal five months, Hampi was razed into the earth. Its riches – and they were extraordinary – went home with the victors.

The city died. 

Credit: Adam White

The empire moved capitals. It limped on for another 80 years, a shadow of its former glory. Hampi remained empty. An abandoned city, a parable for the risks of power and ambition – had anyone been left to remember it. Two years after the sack of the city, an Italian traveller reported that it was home to nothing but ‘tygres and other wild beasts’.

Eventually, people returned. But not to live in the grand city. Farmers, not kings, used the granite they found strewn on the ground. 

‘My grandfather is from Hampi,’ says Nagendra. ‘His home was built with that stone.’ Even today, many buildings in Hampi are built around those columns, the gaps filled in by whitewashed brickwork – just as the builders of Vijayanagara flowed their granite walls around the boulders far more ancient than they.

The remains of the city were charted by the British in 1800. But, says Nagendra, it wasn’t until India’s independence in the mid-20th century that archaeological efforts – the cataloguing of some 1,600 surviving forts, temples, aqueducts and more – began in earnest. The area became a Unesco World Heritage Site in 1986 but remained quiet: an under-the-radar destination for backpackers, barely known even within India.

The Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace. Credit: Adam White

Yet now there’s change in the air. The people of Hampi village are set to reach a settlement that will relocate them from the site, allowing the archaeologists in. A year and a half ago flights were launched from Bangalore and Hyderabad to the local airport, transforming a punishing seven-hour drive into an hour-long air journey. Roads are being improved: by next year the ride will be just four-and-a-half hours. And more is on the way: ‘Hampi by Night’, an illuminated (and narrated) tour of the monuments, as well as adventure sports like paragliding.

The Evolve Back Kamalapura Palace is another example. Opened three years ago, it’s a luxe resort designed in the Indo-Islamic style of Hampi, taking direct design cues from the royal buildings which remain standing. Beyond the suites and the infinity pools, it’s working with the local community to provide a sense of history to all who visit: to ensure that unlike 400 years ago, the city is remembered. 

Hampi will not remain a lost city for long. The people are returning. 

But not just yet.

Achyutaraya Temple. Credit: Adam White

Nagendra takes us on a trek along the riverside of Hampi at sunset. We turn a corner and come out on to the vast market street of the Achyutaraya Temple, lying in a narrow valley between ubiquitous granite hills. The air is quiet and the palm trees wave. We are alone: our only companion is a dog who followed us from the river. The sunset blooms the buildings into orange. We feel like explorers, discoverers. The first to set foot in this place since the fall of an empire.

The first to rediscover a lost city.

Cathay Pacific flies to Hyderabad from Hong Kong five times a week and Cathay Dragon flies to Bangalore from Hong Kong seven times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book