東京

神山町:你必須認識的東京人氣社區

東京涉谷區素以繁忙喧鬧著稱,但人們的步伐來到神山町則會緩慢下來,而熟悉東京的人都知道,這裡是城中新興的時尚地帶。

東京涉谷予人的印象,離不開五光十色的建築物、打扮新潮的年輕人,以及鐵路站前車水馬龍的十字路口,但只要徒步再走20分鐘到神山町,就會感受到截然不同的氣氛。

寧靜的神山町是城中新興的時尚社區。站在Lady Bugs花店門前的店主Yukari Tsukamoto,一邊為繡球花和如拳頭般大的日本牡丹澆水,一邊告訴我:「這裡猶如一道邊界般,當你穿越界線之後,你就進入一個截然不同的世界。」

Tokyo-Lady Bugs florist
Irwin Wong

她不時停下手上工作,跟途人打招呼。在面熟的常客和鄰里之間,Yukari注意到神山町的主要大街上陌生面孔愈來愈多,包括神情略帶惘然的年輕遊客和一日遊旅客。

直至最近為止,絕大部分到訪熱鬧的涉谷購物街和夜店區的人,都不會貿然闖進神山町。即使是現在,區內雖有一間頗具規模的藝術電影院,而且不乏咖啡館、酒吧、餐廳和商店,但對於一般門外漢而言,這裡到底有何景點或看頭,其實一時間也說不上來。這些好地方又往往藏於老舖中,或是民居的轉角處,就跟東京其他地區一樣,除非有人介紹,否則你可能跟它們失諸交臂。與Lady Bugs數個舖位之隔,就有那麼一顆低調的瑰寶:一間經營了40多年、專賣怪獸服裝的道具店。藝術家村上隆就曾委託店家度身訂造以其膾炙人口的「御宅」花卉圖案為主題的服裝,造型就像其趣怪奪目的藝術品。

Tokyo
Irwin Wong

但當Monocle專賣店於2014年,在貫穿神山町的主要大街上開幕時,便預示著不論居民喜歡與否,這區已被授予舉世公認的「時尚」勳銜。現在這個小區的商舖已能照顧追求生活品味的一切所需,當中包括潮人單車店Blue Lug、挪威咖啡室Fuglen,以及可租借狗狗一起散步的商店Dog Heart。雖然這裡在骨子裡還是洗不掉日本人的含蓄,但已洋溢著一股澎湃的活力,而且目前為止,新舊事物似乎也相處融洽。再者,神山町對開就是代代木公園,是城中罕有的大型綠色空間。

Tokyo,Kamiyama’s streets
Irwin Wong

與主要大街平行的行人道上,每天都有呷著咖啡的訪客和遛狗的當地人穿梭,卻沒有多少人知道那裡曾是一條河流。與許多自然景觀一樣,它早於20世紀中葉東京急速城市化期間被填平。雖然這條由北向南的古河川已不復見,在某程度上卻反映該區循序漸進的發展模式。主街北端連接涉谷區的富谷和代代木八幡,通往代代木上原;這些地區向來是富裕區域,因此氣氛亦頗為嚴肅,畢竟首相安倍晉三的府邸就在附近,而異常安靜的街道上更滿佈警衛森嚴的大使館,然而到最近,主街的南端卻朝相反方向發展。

法國餐廳Pignon是近年主街南端發展浪潮初期率先進駐的商舖之一,其經理Mai Fukuzawa表示:「以往這裡燈光昏暗,就連本地人也嫌它僻靜。」

Tokyo, Kamiyama
Irwin Wong

Pignon在2010年開業時,Fukuzawa是座上客,那時她是一位專業平面設計師。她愛上了Pignon洋溢北非風味的法式家常菜,以及樸實的氛圍,於是萌生轉職的念頭,並加入餐廳成為其中一員。Pignon在開業初年並沒有什麼跡象顯示它能在這個食肆林立的城市裡脫穎而出,更何況它還藏身於涉谷人流稀少的地方。當時那裡的商戶只有主街轉角處的酒館Aihiru Store,它嘗試從古老日式或歐式餐廳中突圍,將新穎的國際風味和日本人對細節的注重共冶一爐。現在這裡已是公開的秘密勝地,幾乎每晚7時過後都吸引著大量酒客在門外排隊,為求能在酒吧檯佔一席位。

神山町已成為了吸引一群希望一展抱負的廚師、咖啡師和獨立小店老闆落戶的熱點,廚師Yuichi Goto正是其中一員。他取得法律學位後,很快就將法律術語拋諸腦後,專注製作糕餅,並於附近的新宿區米芝蓮星級食府Troisgros成為糕餅總廚。2015年,他跟另一位廚師Taichi Hara合夥開設摩登小餐館Path,距離代代本八幡鐵路站僅數步之遙。

代代木公園把陣陣初夏清風送到這裡,在涼風中,Goto對我說:「這裡感覺非常清新。新一代年輕人仿似帶動著小區的發展,他們雖然不太富有,卻勇於嘗試所有新事物。」

Tokyo, Pignon, fine French cuisine
Irwin Wong

與此同時,隱世咖啡三文治店Camelback的老闆眼看該區人氣與日俱增,也乘勢擴展業務。兩位店主本為朋友,當年其中一人希望經營咖啡店,另一位則想辭去壽司師傅的工作。2015年,兩人將各自的夢想都傾注到這家餐廳,炮製出美味咖啡和精緻的三文治(伴以免費醃青瓜和看來就像日本玉子壽司的奄列),至今在同區已開設兩家店舖。

Tokyo, Path pistro
Irwin Wong

雖然有部分人哀嘆神山町中產化有可能令當地魚販和肉店成為租金上漲的犧牲品,不過有說大型連鎖居酒屋或只以賺錢為目標的店舖,在這裡難以生存,甚至可能會失敗收場,Yukari表示:「這裡的人並不隨波逐流。」

街上年屆七旬的裁縫仍忙於縫製猴子服裝,而工作室的電視機正播映著相撲比賽。她繼續說:「這裡的人或會退休,但他們永遠都會以此地為家。」

Tokyo, Norwegian coffee shop Fuglen
Irwin Wong

本文原於2018年7月刊登,並於2020年9月更新

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Tokyo

Guide to Kamiyama: Tokyo neighbourhood on the rise

Tokyo’s famously frenetic Shibuya slows right down in the Kamiyama area. For anyone in the know, it’s the city’s new cool neighbourhood. Words by DEAN IRVINE, photos by IRWIN WONG

Tokyo’s Shibuya conjures images of neon-clad buildings, fashionable teenagers and its famously busy intersection in front of the train station. But just a 20-minute walk away, a different vibe pervades.

‘It’s like there’s a border and as soon as you cross it, it’s totally different,’ says Yukari Tsukamoto, while watering the plants outside Lady Bugs flower shop – a riot of hydrangeas and fist-sized Japanese peonies – in the decidedly calm Kamiyama area, the city’s new ‘it’ neighbourhood.

Tokyo, Lady Bugs florist

She often pauses to greet those passing by. Among the familiar cast of regulars and neighbours on Kamiyama’s main street, Tsukamoto has noticed an increasing number of extras: slightly disorientated young tourists and day-trippers.

Until recently, most people visiting Shibuya’s throbbing shopping and nightlife area didn’t venture into Kamiyama. Even now, despite an established art-house cinema, and a mix of cafes, bars, restaurants and shops, to the uninitiated it’s not always apparent what or where the attractions are. Often they are tucked behind ageing shopfronts or around residential street corners. And much like Tokyo in general, they are often hard to spot unless you’re introduced to them. A few doors down from Lady Bugs lies one such splendid curio: a costume shop that has been in business for over 40 years and specialises in monsters. Artist Takashi Murakami has commissioned bespoke suits featuring his signature otaku flowers here to resemble his manic, shiny artwork.

Tokyo street

The arrival of a Monocle shop on the main street in 2014 was an early sign that international hip credentials had been bestowed upon the area, whether residents liked it or not. Certainly the neighbourhood now has enough to sate those wanting accoutrements of a carefully curated lifestyle: hipster bike shop (Blue Lug), a Norwegian coffee shop (Fuglen), a dog-walking hire shop (Dog Heart). There is an unmistakable energy to the neighbourhood, albeit in a reserved, Japanese fashion, and for now the old and new seem to rub along well together. And just beyond it, there’s Yoyogi Park, one of the city’s few large green spaces.

Tokyo, Kamiyama’s streets

Not many visitors realise the pedestrianised road that runs parallel to the main street – which hosts a daily parade of latte-sipping visitors and poodle-walking locals – used to be a river. It’s long been concreted over like so much in Tokyo’s rush of mid-20th century urbanisation. Yet the buried ancient stream, flowing north to south, has in some way matched the neighbourhood’s gradual development. The northern end of Kamiyama Street reaches into Tomigaya (literally ‘Wealthy Valley’), Yoyogi Hachiman and towards Yoyogi Uehara. These are areas that have always held a reputation as well-to-do and therefore rather staid: Prime Minister Abe lives nearby and a number of embassies are tucked among the police-guarded and eerily quiet streets. Until recently, however, the southern end was quite the opposite.

‘It was just dark and even locals thought it was a bit out of the way,’ says Mai Fukuzawa, manager of French restaurant Pignon, an early entrant in the recent wave of establishments cropping up on the southern stretch of the street.

Tokyo, Kamiyama

Fukuzawa was a professional graphic designer when she visited Pignon after it first opened eight years ago. She was taken by the hearty French cuisine with North African flavours, and the unpretentious atmosphere. With an urge to change her career, she joined the business. In 2010 there was little to suggest Pignon would thrive in a city not short of places to eat and seemingly hidden in the wrong part of Shibuya. Back then, only Aihiru Store, a corner shop just off the main drag, was trying to break from old-fashioned Japanese or European-style restaurants with a new mix of international flavours and Japanese attention to detail. It is now such an open secret that queues are typical most nights after 7pm to bag a spot at the counter.

The area has become a magnet for other like-minded chefs, baristas and independent shop owners. Yuichi Goto is one such culinary dreamer. After getting a law degree, he quickly turned his back on legalese to focus on pastries, becoming head pastry chef at multi-Michelin-starred Troisgros restaurant in nearby Shinjuku. In 2015, he partnered with fellow chef Taichi Hara to open Path, a modern bistro located just minutes from Yoyogi Hachiman station.

‘It just felt very fresh here,’ says Goto, standing amid an early summer breeze blowing in from Yoyogi Park. ‘The area seems to be driven by younger people, who are not so rich and want to try anything.’

Tokyo, Pignon, fine French cuisine

Meanwhile, Camelback, a hole-in-the-wall espresso and sandwich bar, has seized on the area’s increasing popularity to expand. Opened in 2015 by two friends with complementary dreams – one to run a coffee shop, the other to quit working as a sushi chef – the restaurant offering coffee and exquisitely crafted sandwiches (served with complementary gherkin and tamagoyaki sushi-style omelette) has since expanded to a second shop in the same area.

Tokyo, Path pistro

Some are lamenting the effects of gentrification, with the possibility of local fishmongers and butchers getting priced out. But there are reasons to believe that any addition of big chain izakayas or simply commercial endeavours will be kept to a minimum, or just flop. ‘The people here are kind of unique,’ says Tsukamoto.

And as septuagenarian tailors could be seen across the street stitching together parts of a monkey’s costume, with a sumo contest unfolding on the workshop TV, she continues: ‘People here might retire, but they don’t really move away.’

Norwegian coffee shop Fuglen, Tokyo

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly to Tokyo from Hong Kong 63 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book