重要業務

見賢思齊:室內設計師Joyce Wang

炙手可熱的香港室內設計師Joyce Wang,堅守多元文化原則和保持小規模經營

妳的設計遍及墨爾本、紐約和曼谷。妳是如何透過設計反映當地特色?

首先,你要掌握該城市的脈搏,了解遊客到訪當地的原因、他們的裝扮和對旅程的期望。由於需要深入了解當地文化,我們在工作中的每一步都經過深思熟慮,確保時間不會白花。

妳曾為不少酒店操刀,如倫敦海德公園文華東方酒店和香港置地文華東方酒店。酒店跟其他設計有何不同之處?

設計酒店非常有趣,因為要在三年後才能看到成果。你不能盲目追求創新,還需要構想未來,因此要考慮設計能否歷久常新、是否能照顧賓客的住宿體驗等問題。這些變數往往令你有截然不同的想法。

如何透過設計體現款客之道?

設計師需要設想賓客的需求,融入款客的理念,把層次昇華,做到賓至如歸。以擁有龐大中東顧客的倫敦為例,便需要能容納多人同時用膳的空間,所以家具必須能靈活變化及移動;位處洛杉磯的Roosevelt酒店則以派對為主,賓客會站上桌子和穿著濕漉漉的泳裝到處走;香港置地文華東方酒店位於鬧市,因此娛樂套房添加了大量自然元素,令賓客感覺遠離煩囂。

奢華設計如何能與時並進?

奢華往往令人想到吊燈、大理石和極致工藝,難免流於庸俗。近年的設計潮流講求隨意舒適,像時裝品牌趨向便服化一樣。這種隨意可以精心打造而同時保持舒適,低調中亦見高雅。

妳在香港和倫敦的工作室均刻意保持小規模,發展目標是什麽呢?

對我來說,工作室規模必須小巧。我的宗旨是不聘請多於十名員工,而且絕不擴大規模,這樣便可以令工作更靈活。至今,我對每個項目依然親力親為,享受恍如創業之初的感覺。多元文化是設計的重要元素,所以我選擇在不同城市工作,組建融合各種文化的團隊。

有什麽建議贈予新晉設計師呢?

我認為堅持不懈是成功的關鍵,尤其是與客戶洽商時,必須以堅定的意志證明你的熱誠。比起天賦或是繪圖技巧更為重要。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Serious business

Going global while staying small: Joyce Wang, design star

Joyce Wang, Hong Kong’s rising star of high-end interior design, on maintaining a multicultural perspective and the goal of staying small

You’re working on projects from Melbourne to New York to Bangkok. How do you reflect a sense of place through design?

To start, you need to understand the dynamics of the city, understand why people would go to a certain place, how they would be dressed, what they would expect. It does involve getting to know a place – and that’s why we’re quite selective in what we do, so we can spend the time we need to.

You’ve worked on various hotel projects, including with Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park in London and The Landmark Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong. What’s different about hotel design?

Hotels are funny because they don’t get built until three years after you’ve designed them. So you can’t just be innovative; you need to design for the future. A lot of questions about relevance come up: is it timeless enough? Are we thinking about how their guests are going to use the room? Those dynamics make you think in a completely different way.

What is the role of design in hospitality?

Designers need to anticipate the needs of the guests and, if it’s done well, make guests feel like they’re taken care of. It’s like having that invisible layer of hospitality. For example, in London there’s a huge Middle Eastern clientele, and often they’ll need an area to sit together for meals. So the furniture needed to be flexible and loose. Whereas the Roosevelt in LA was a party hotel where guests stand on tables and come in in their wet swimsuits. For the Entertainment Suite at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, it’s in the middle in the city and there’s no getting away from it, so we wanted to add a lot of natural textures and give people the feeling that they have gotten away.

How has the idea of luxury evolved in design?

The stereotype of luxury has always been about things like chandeliers, marble and ultra craftsmanship, but that’s really obvious luxury. Today, there’s a lot more talk about comfort. There’s definitely been a casualisation, similar to what fashion brands are doing. Casual can still be really well made but also comfortable, and it can still look like a million dollars.

Your studios in Hong Kong and London are both intentionally small. What are your goals for the business?

Having a small studio is important to me. I’ve vowed never to have more than 10 people in my studio and I fight every day to not grow. It means we’re very mobile. I’m still involved in every project and I like this startup feel. Also, in design I think it’s important to be multicultural. That’s why I choose to work in so many different cities and have lots of cultures in my teams.

What’s your advice for aspiring designers?

Perseverance is key, especially when it comes to dealing with clients. It shows that you’re passionate. I think it says a lot, more than talent or being blessed with sketching skills.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book