結伴同遊

與摩洛哥的偉大學者白圖泰結伴同遊

Ed Peters試圖追隨這位學者兼法官浪跡天涯,從摩洛哥出發、遊歷麥加和北京等地

或許你曾在與他同名的杜拜超級商場Ibn Battuta Mall購物,但「伊本.白圖泰」對你來說恐怕是個陌生的名字,遑論拜讀其代表作《The Precious Gift for Lookers into the Marvels of Cities and Wonders of Travel》,其實這本書名吸睛的遊記,在14世紀可謂風頭一時無兩。

簡單來說,白圖泰就是摩洛哥版的馬可孛羅,他在中世紀末周遊列國,花了近30年於中東、非洲、歐洲、印度及中國穿梭遊歷。

到了1354年他返回家鄉丹吉爾,只是單憑記憶向抄寫員口述一直以來的海外經歷,最終編成上述巨著。部分學者卻聲稱他只不過是拾人牙慧,或者吹牛捏造;但不管真相如何,他講故事的本領確實高超,最終撰錄出前無古人的作品,成就不容置疑。

白圖泰生於穆斯林家庭,是個研究伊斯蘭法律的法學家。他離開家鄉後,第一站自然是到麥加朝聖;但這位游子天生就愛浪跡天涯,沒多久就再一次出走他方。

考慮到白圖泰曾經在旅途上與不少女伴和女奴發展過霧水情緣,過後便揮一揮衣袖,不帶走一片雲彩(和他留下的血脈),乾脆得有如現代旅人召喚Uber客車,我還是不要毛遂自薦當他的旅伴了。

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

話雖如此,我還是想親身目睹他如何憑一張嘴巴成為德里宮廷的大紅人。當時,飽歷風霜的他身無長物,卻令擁有無盡權力和財富的蘇丹Muhammad bin Tughluq大灑金錢,延聘他出任qadi(法官)一職。然而,白圖泰在印度官場打滾的十年亦非一帆風順,他曾因一場海上風暴而家財盡失,後來更辭去法官一職,啟航前往中國,為蘇丹執行外交任務。1346年夏天,他登陸自己心目中視為「世界最偉大港口」的泉州。

白圖泰稍作休息後前往廣州,在定居當地多年的阿拉伯商賈家中投宿;之後來到杭州,見證士兵以橘子充當彈藥,演習一場壯觀的海戰,繼而再取道北京

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

但他確實有踏足北京嗎?

評論家從白圖泰的中國見聞找到不少謬誤:如他推斷瓷器由煤製成,並提到曾沿運河遊遍中國。他們懷疑當事人根本沒有去過大都(現今的北京),即元朝蒙古帝國的首都。若我有機會跟他結伴同遊,便能確定主人翁是否曾目睹皇帝駕崩後以活馬和侍從陪葬,抑或純粹為自己的故事加油添醋。既然我沒法子跟白圖泰同行,唯有將疑點利益歸於當事人。

白圖泰的歸家路亦波折重重,當他途經耶路撒冷和開羅時,兩地均有黑死病瘟疫肆虐。回到摩洛哥後,他在卡薩布蘭卡地區擔任法官,直至大約1368年逝世。儘管他比史上許多舉世知名的旅人踏足過更廣更遠的地域,但其身故後數百年間,他在現代人普遍簡稱為《The Travels》的遊記中講述的見聞,一直鮮為人知。

據說白圖泰曾留下一闕遺言︰「人生苦短,唯有身後留名。」對有志勇闖異域一窺世界奇觀及其奧妙之處的旅人而言,這是非常中聽的建議。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travels with

Globetrotting with the Great Moroccan Scholar Ibn Battuta

Ed Peters tries to keep track of roving scholar and judge Ibn Battuta, whose travels took him from Morocco to Mecca, Beijing and beyond

You may not have heard of Ibn Battuta (though you might have shopped in the gargantuan Dubai mall named after him), and so are unlikely to have dipped into his catchily titled magnum opus: The Precious Gift for Lookers into the Marvels of Cities and Wonders of Travel, which stormed the bestseller lists back in the 14th century.

To put it briefly, Ibn Battuta – Morocco’s Marco Polo; IB to his intimates – trotted about the globe in the Late Middle Ages, ranging across the Middle East, Africa, Europe, India and China for almost 30 years.

When he finally returned home to Tangier in 1354, he dictated The Precious Gift for Lookers… to a scribe from memory; some scholars say he cribbed bits, others that he made stuff up. Either way, he was a born storyteller, and nobody else had come up with the idea beforehand. So there.

Born and brought up a Muslim, IB trained as a jurist in Islamic law. His first stop was Mecca, naturally, but he didn’t so much catch the travel bug as hug it to his chest, and promptly set off for pastures new.

Given that IB frequently picked up and dispensed with female companions and slaves – as well as any souvenirs in the form of children – rather as modern travellers employ Uber, I’m a touch chary of proposing myself as his nomadic bosom buddy.

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

Nevertheless, I would have liked to have seen first-hand how he inveigled his way into the court at Delhi, where the ultra-powerful and stinking rich Sultan Muhammad bin Tughluq presented the weary and impoverished Tangerian with a hefty bag of gold and the post of qadi, or judge. IB’s 10 years in India were not without adventure – at one point he lost all his possessions in a violent storm – but he finally quit judging and set sail for China on a diplomatic mission for the sultan, landing in the summer of 1346 at Quanzhou, which he described as ‘the greatest harbour in the world’.

Refreshed, IB made his way to Guangzhou, lodging with Arab merchants who from the looks of things had already been in situ for some time, and Hangzhou – where he witnessed a spectacular mock naval battle with oranges used as ammunition – and then on to Beijing.

Credit: Fine Art Images/Heritage Images/Getty Images

Or did he? Critics have pointed to numerous errors in his writings on China – IB deduced porcelain was made from coal, and mentioned travelling throughout the country on a network of canals – and they doubt he actually got anywhere near Khanbaliq, the centre of the Mongol empire, and what is now Beijing. If I’d dogged his footsteps, I’d have known for sure if he really witnessed an emperor being interred with live horses and retainers, or simply wanted to spice up his stories. As it is, I’ll have to give him the benefit of the doubt.

IB’s return to his homeland was by no means plain sailing; both Jerusalem and Cairo were being ravaged by the Black Death as he passed through. Back in Morocco, he worked as a judge in the Casablanca region before dying circa 1368. For centuries afterwards, his reflections, which became known simply as The Travels, remained relatively unknown ­– despite the fact that he travelled farther and more widely than many of the best-known travellers throughout history.

According to one account, his last words were: ‘Our time upon the earth is short. Not so our time beneath it.’ Sound advice for prospective lookers into the marvels and wonders of travel.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book