餐飲美食

美食之旅: 托斯卡納的當地菜式

大廚THEO RANDALL 帶領我們踏上托斯卡納美食之旅。插圖 NIK COOLE

回想當年我還是個年輕的廚師時,就到過托斯卡納遊歷;當地風景之優美,在意大利堪稱數一數二。

當地美食也是數一數二的,具有鄉村風味的菜式滋味無窮,部分原因要歸功於區內出產著名的橄欖油。與意大利其他地方生產的橄欖油相比,當地的出品風味細膩複雜,呈深綠色的初榨橄欖油味道濃郁,只需在菜餚中加少許便足夠。

到托斯卡納旅遊,必定要到佛羅倫斯走一趟。那裡的建築及藝廊氣派恢宏,你還可以在令人歎為觀止的廣場上觀看托斯卡納人的生活百態。

置身佛羅倫斯,絕對不能錯過眾多地道的小餐館。我常說,只要多走幾步離開遊客區,就能找到價廉物美的佳餚美食。雖說凡事總有例外,但對我來說卻是屢試不爽。這裡點選幾間我特別喜愛的托斯卡納餐廳。

La Taverna Della Berardenga, Castelnuovo Berardenga 小鎮

這間坐落於鎮上村莊酒吧旁的意大利餐館以平實取勝,想要一嚐地道滋味的話,絕對不可錯過。這裡的 carne crudo生牛肉他他和鴨肉粗意粉非常美味,是以當地頂級食材炮製出來的傳統托斯卡納美食。tavernadellaberardenga.it

Osteria Le Panzanelle , Radda 鎮

這裡是本地人的食堂,不但物有所值,而且分量十足。酒單上不乏上乘佳釀,例如由GiovanniManetti的Fontodi酒莊釀製的FlaccianellodellaPieve,以及出自釀酒界鬼才Gianfranco Soldera之手的佳釀Soldera Brunello di Montalcino,而且收費比一般餐廳便宜得多。lepanzanelle.it

Ristoro di Lamol, Greve 小鎮

簡約平實的Lamole,以合理價錢為食客奉上優質美饌、親切服務及各式佳釀。我會先點幾款前菜,再來一份香氣四溢的bistecca alla fiorentina佛羅倫斯風味牛扒,配上一、兩杯來自意大利頂級產區的葡萄酒。在天朗氣清的日子,食客可將陽台外的優美景色盡收眼底。ristorodilamole.it/en

Antica Macelleria Cecchini, Panzano 鎮

著名的肉店老闆Dario Cecchini工作時總愛大聲播放搖滾樂隊AC/DC的勁歌,他也是鎮內數間高級餐館的東主。RistoranteSolociccia餐廳就在這間歷史悠久的肉店對面。肉店樓上還有另一家由他經營、名為Officina Della Bistecca的餐廳,吸引不少肉食愛好者到來。Dario選用三種不同部位的牛肉,以木炭燒出火候恰到好處的菜式。點一杯容易入口的chianti葡萄酒,配搭蘸上橄欖油、撒上海鹽的pinzimonio時令沙律,度過一個滋味無窮的美妙夜晚。dariocecchini.com/en

Enoteca I Terzi, Siena 市

毗鄰PiazzadelCampo廣場的傳統Siena小酒館,提供的菜式雖然簡單卻令人胃口大開。廣場周邊有許多專門做遊客生意的餐廳,應盡量避免光顧,但這間小店例外。Porcini fritti香炸牛肝菌是冬季不可錯過的美食。enotecaiterzi.it/en

Ristorante Il Mestolo, Siena 市

托斯卡納的菜式以牛肉和豬肉為主,如果你已在當地逗留好幾天,相信這間專營各種魚類菜式的餐廳會讓你有些期待。一大盤可供多人分享的fritto misto酥炸海鮮與餐廳各款意粉都同樣美味。 ilmestolo.it

Theo Mistral by Theo Randall餐廳 已於香港海景嘉福洲際酒店開幕

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Food itinerary: Tuscany’s top restaurants

A culinary tour of Tuscany, courtesy chef THEO RANDALL. Illustrations by NIK COOLE

Tuscany was one of the first places I visited as a young chef. It’s among the most picturesque places in Italy.

The food is very good, too: hearty rustic dishes that are full of flavour. That’s thanks in part to the region’s famous olive oil, which is the most complex in Italy: first-pressed olive oil is dark green and should be used sparingly, as it is very strong.

When you visit Tuscany, you have to go to Florence. The architecture and galleries are spectacular, with the most amazing piazzas where you can watch Tuscans go about their daily routine.

When in Florence, stick to dining in the many trattorias. I always say if you walk a few hundred metres from the touristy areas, you will find great food that is not overpriced. There are exceptions, but that strategy has always worked for me. Here’s a selection of my favourite restaurants in Tuscany.

La Taverna Della Berardenga, Castelnuovo Berardenga

Hero-Food-Itinerary-1

This is a very simple trattoria next to the village bar – if you want to feel like a local, this is the place. The carne crudo (charcuterie) is delicious, as is the duck with pici pasta. This is classic Tuscan food using the best local ingredients. tavernadellaberardenga.it

Osteria Le Panzanelle , Radda

Food-Itinerary-3

This is where the locals eat. It’s great value and portions are generous. The wine list has some real gems, like Flaccianello della Pieve from the brilliant Giovanni Manetti of Fontodi estate and the premium Soldera Brunello di Montalcino – made by the genius trailblazer Gianfranco Soldera – for a fraction of the price you pay in most restaurants. lepanzanelle.it

Ristoro di Lamol, Greve

Food-Itinerary-5

Lamole is a simple restaurant with excellent and reasonably priced food, friendly service and a good wine list. I would order a selection of its antipasti followed by delicious bistecca alla fiorentina (steak Florentine) with a glass or two of wine from one of Italy’s best wine regions. The view from the terrace on a clear day is spectacular. ristorodilamole.it/en

Antica Macelleria Cecchini, Panzano

Food-Itinerary-4

Known for blasting AC/DC while at work, famous butcher Dario Cecchini is also behind several top eateries in Panzano. Ristorante Solociccia sits opposite the old butcher’s shop, while Officina Della Bistecca lures carnivores upstairs. Here, Dario cooks three cuts of beef over charcoal embers. Simple chianti is served with fantastic olive oil and delicious pinzimonio (raw vegetables) that are dipped into olive oil and eaten with a sprinkling of seasalt. An evening here is great fun, as well as delicious. dariocecchini.com/en

Enoteca I Terzi, Siena

Food-Itinerary-8

Just off the Piazza del Campo (which is full of touristy restaurants to be avoided, but this is the exception). A classic Siena osteria with very good but simple food. In winter the porcini fritti (fried porcini mushrooms) are a must. enotecaiterzi.it/en

Ristorante Il Mestolo, Siena

Food-Itinerary-7

Serves fish, which you will be craving after a few days in Tuscany as the diet here is typically all about beef and pork. The fritto misto (deep-fried battered seafood) to share is amazing – as are all the pasta dishes. ilmestolo.it

Theo Mistral by Theo Randall is now open at the InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book