餐飲美食

美食之旅: 都柏林的頂級美食

生於都柏林的名廚Mark Moriarty帶我們探索愛爾蘭首都,並由Tim Pritchard撰寫引言。插圖 NIK COOLE

一直以來,愛爾蘭菜的名氣都不及歐洲其他地區。不過風水輪流轉,在都柏林Greenhouse餐廳擔任大廚的Mark Moriarty說:「都柏林現在成為歐洲一個多姿多采的美食天堂。」

這位25歲的名廚生於都柏林,曾效力KevinThornton於都柏林開設的餐廳Thornton’s,又曾與亦師亦友的CiaranSweeney合作經營每月推出的期間限定食店The Culinary Counter。此外,他更在2015年贏得San Pellegrino最佳年輕廚師榮銜。

他表示:「傳統愛爾蘭菜簡單樸實,以果腹為目的,有什麼就吃什麼,打獵和採食文化非常流行。」

本月,國泰航空首次推出直飛都柏林的航線,而Moriarty亦將於7月與Mickael Viljanen和Graham Neville聯袂來港,與Test Kitchen合作,將創意新穎的愛爾蘭風味菜式帶來香港。

他在此為我們推介他的家鄉幾間最出色的餐廳。

Locks

餐廳位於都柏林南部近郊的Portobello,佈置極為優美愜意,可一邊飽覽運河景致,一邊品嚐以本地食材入饌的愛爾蘭美食。我曾四度造訪,在這裡享用星期日午餐,每次體驗都無懈可擊,價錢亦非常相宜。 locksrestaurant.ie

Forest & Marcy

廚師CiaranSweeney是我的好朋友,其餐廳洋溢親切的社區氣息,供應新派時令美饌,款式天天更新。星期日供應以農場直送食材入饌的菜單,雖然並非全素食,但以蔬菜為主,並搭配適量肉類。forestandmarcy.ie  

The Fumbally

我很喜歡這家位於近郊的小型咖啡館。室內洋溢時髦的倉庫格調,供應的美食簡約而毫不造作,從麵包、沙律以至更豐富的菜式均做得非常出色,而且質素穩定。我時常在此享用早餐或早午餐,這裡亦是咖啡小聚的好去處(逢星期日和星期一休息)。thefumbally.ie

Bunsen

Bunsen的漢堡是我品嚐過最美味的漢堡之一。如果你只有20分鐘,又希望滿足口腹之欲,可在城中多家分店任擇其一。這裡的漢堡全部採用愛爾蘭生產的牛肉,在店內絞成免治漢堡扒,店內僅供應數款食物,印在卡片上一目了然。bunsen.ie

777

777是一家新派墨西哥餐廳兼雞尾酒吧,店內洋溢歡快氣息,熱鬧有趣,我喜歡在這裡享受輕鬆時刻。店內的一切,從磁磚地板、雞尾酒以至食物均賞心悅目。賓客可與朋友分享美味的墨西哥拼盤,沉浸於愉悅的派對氣氛之中。777.ie

The Greenhouse

這家餐廳的菜式極富創意,在愛爾蘭數一數二,榮獲米芝蓮一星評級絕對實至名歸。如果你追求的是以經典法國烹飪技術炮製的前衛菜餚,這間餐廳就是不二之選。十多年來,名廚Mickael Viljanen在這裡精心烹調美食,成為愛爾蘭飲食界的中流砥柱。thegreenhouserestaurant.ie

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

堪稱全國格調最高雅的餐廳,坐落於愛爾蘭其中一家最佳酒
店(TheMerrion酒店)內。它榮獲米芝蓮兩星評級,酒單亦是全國首屈一指,最適合為特別的日子錦上添花。restaurantpatrickguilbaud.ie

Toners

都柏林酒吧林立,但想要體驗優質健力士啤酒及露天座位的傳統酒吧樂趣,位於Baggot Street街的Toners是我其中一個心水之選。此外,Grogans(South William Street街15號)及Kehoe’s(South Anne Street街9號)同樣是理想的好去處。tonerspub.ie

Test Kitchen與Mark Moriarty攜手合作,一連四晚(7月25至28日)在香港呈獻愛爾蘭風味美食。testkitchen.com.hk

國泰航空於6月2日推出由香港飛往都柏林的航班,每周有四班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Food itinerary: Best restaurants in Dublin

Dublin-born chef MARK MORIARTY takes us on a tour of the Irish capital. Introduction by TIM PRITCHARD, illustrations by NIK COOLE

Irish cooking hasn’t always enjoyed the reputation of some of its European counterparts.

That’s changing. ‘Dublin is one of the most vibrant culinary cities in Europe right now,’ says Mark Moriarty, who works in the city’s Greenhouse restaurant.

The 25-year-old Dublin-born chef has worked under Kevin Thornton at his Dublin restaurant Thornton’s; run a monthly pop-up, The Culinary Counter, with friend and mentor Ciaran Sweeney; and was crowned San Pellegrino Young Chef 2015.

‘Traditionally Irish cuisine is very humble,’ says Moriarty. ‘It was all based on necessity, what’s available to eat, and there’s a strong culture of hunting and foraging.’

This month, Cathay Pacific launches its first non-stop route to Dublin; and in July, Moriarty, Mickael Viljanen and Graham Neville bring a taste of new Irish cuisine to Hong Kong with Test Kitchen.

Here, he guides us on the best restaurants in his home city.

Locks

Food-Intineraries-5

Locally sourced Irish food in a really beautiful and casual setting with canal views in Portobello, on the city’s southern outskirts. I’ve been there four times for the Sunday lunch menu and every time it’s faultless. The prices are really reasonable, too. locksrestaurant.ie

Forest & Marcy

Forst & Marcy, food, farm to table

Chef Ciaran Sweeney is a very good friend of mine. His restaurant has a neighbourhood feel while serving a modern, seasonal menu that changes daily. The farm-to-table menu on Sundays is also fantastic: not vegetarian, but veg-focused dishes where the protein comes second. forestandmarcy.ie  

The Fumbally

The Fumbally, food, cafe

A lovely little cafe on the outskirts of the city. It’s got a cool warehouse vibe and food is simple, unpretentious and uniformly good: from the bread to salads to heartier meals. I’ll often drop in for breakfast or brunch, and it’s a good place to meet for a coffee (closed Sundays and Mondays). thefumbally.ie

Bunsen

Bunsen, food, burger

One of the best burgers I’ve ever eaten. Bunsen is perfect if you only have 20 minutes and want a quick bite. There are a few branches in the city. The beef is all Irish, ground on site, and the menu is so simple it’s printed on a business card. bunsen.ie

777

777, food, wine, drinks

777 is the kind of place I love to go to unwind: a Mexican-style cocktail bar and restaurant that’s no fuss and lots of fun. Everything from the tiled floors to the cocktails to the food is fantastic. There’s a party atmosphere and great Mexican sharing plates. 777.ie

The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse, food, innovative menu

One of the most innovative menus in Ireland, and fully deserves its Michelin star. If you want classic French techniques but forward-thinking dishes, this is the place to eat. Chef Mickael Viljanen has been propping up the Irish culinary scene for more than a decade. thegreenhouserestaurant.ie

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud, Ireland elegant restaurant, food

Probably Ireland’s most elegant restaurant, in one of its best hotels (The Merrion). It’s a real occasion restaurant: two Michelin stars and probably the best wine list in the country. restaurantpatrickguilbaud.ie

Toners

Toners, food, bars, beer

We’re not short of pubs in Dublin. But for a traditional pub where you can count on a great pint of Guinness and a beer garden, Toners, on Baggot Street, is one of my favourites. Grogans (15 South William Street) and Kehoe’s (9 South Anne Street) are other good choices. tonerspub.ie

Test Kitchen x Mark Moriarty presents a taste of Ireland in Hong Kong for four nights (25-28 July). testkitchen.com.hk

Cathay Pacific launches a four-times-weekly service to Dublin from Hong Kong on 2 June

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book