胡志明市

面貌瞬息萬變的胡志明市

胡志明市準備在未來大展拳腳,而該市現在已絢麗璀璨,耀目吸引

我坐在綿羊仔電單車的後座,在胡志明市的大街阮惠街呼嘯而過。要暢遊這個越南最大和最輝煌的城市,這個辦法最方便。(同時也最具催眠作用:我飽受時差之苦,而電單車低沉的引擎聲令我昏昏欲睡,讓我一度靠在司機的肩膊上打瞌睡。)

我以不徐不疾的50公里時速前進,然而胡志明市看來正以雙倍的速度發展,面貌瞬息萬變。

首先,當地沒有人將紀念建國領導人的官方市名掛在嘴邊,人人都稱這裡為「西貢」——甫入越南境內,你就得入鄉隨俗,將胡志明市喚作西貢。其次,西貢將全市硬生生的劃分為多個編號郡區,啟發出反烏托邦小說《飢餓遊戲》三部曲的行政區設定。但這件事還是不提為妙,因為沒有城市會希望自己成為《飢餓遊戲》的靈感之源。再者,亞洲其中一家最豪華的酒店,剛在我飛馳而至的街上開幕。酒店富麗堂皇,讓不少人揣測胡志明市將力壓香港,成為亞洲「下一個國際都會」。真會這樣嗎?

胡志明市(不好意思,該是西貢)佔有人口之利,當地人口將於10年內增加至近1,400萬人。而在這個日益都會化和急速中產化的國家,超過四成人口都是25歲以下的年輕人,當中不少到了大都市謀生,而胡志明市就從鄰近的湄公河三角洲吸納了大量勞動人口。此外,越南亦致力發展旅遊業。政府去年豁免了多個西方國家的旅客簽證,期望能吸引打算到隔鄰泰國的遊客改到越南旅遊。

於是西貢萬韻酒店適時而至。酒店開幕對胡志明市無疑是一大喜訊,酒店老闆甚至稱之為「給本市的禮物」。喜愛胡志明市的人也表示,它是當地最令人瞠目讚歎的建築,而像我這種坐著摩托車,渾身大汗地通街跑的人,是不宜到這種地方來的。

Quinn Ryan Mattingly

我脫下頭盔抬頭一望,眼前只見一幢高聳的黑色長方型建築,牆上七彩繽紛的燈光縱橫交錯,在晚上閃爍生輝。內裡裝潢金碧輝煌,絕非簡約的現代主義,我也說不上是喜歡還是討厭。整家酒店全情投入意大利的設計風格,幾乎所有見到、吃到和坐臥的東西都是來自意大利。最終效果說得好聽點是「意式奢華」,說得難聽,就是「奢華品牌Versace與華麗歌手Liberace的私生子」。踏進大堂,感覺就像進入了迪士尼動畫世界,或是Michael Jackson的故居「夢幻樂園」。弧型鏡面茶几飾有金黃色的雙翼,巨型的金色及紫色鴕鳥皮梳化長得可供12人並排而坐,上面堆滿天鵝絨坐墊,兩者均出自以童話式設計聞名的意大利品牌Colombostile。螺旋紋地毯上擺放了特別訂製的精美Baldi巨型座地鐘,高三米,重逾1,000公斤。地毯豐厚柔軟,當我步向接待處辦理入住手續時,每一步都深陷地毯之中。

這幢胡志明市最高的豪華酒店,目的是為了吸引「非凡的住客」。背包客只能望門興嘆,除非你的背包是Hermès出品。這些非凡住客理應享受非凡的設計。其中一間複式套房由Provasi設計,看來儼如亨利八世的寢宮。另一間套房由風格鋪張的Visionnaire負責,另有兩間則由相對簡約的意大利設計師Giorgetti操刀。酒店的總建築師呂文聰曾是福斯特建築事務所的一員,這家建築事務所曾參與設計香港匯豐銀行大廈及國際機場。呂文聰認為「酒店金碧輝煌的設計令人著迷」,而且「帶來前所未有的設計體驗」。這種講法真是輕描淡寫。

Quinn Ryan Mattingly

酒店進駐不住「向上」發展的第一郡可說最適合不過。這裡是市內的娛樂中心,帶有裝飾藝術風格的統一宮飄揚著印有鐮刀和鎚子的旗幟,但新落成的玻璃幕牆大廈卻完全擺脫了共產時期的建築風格。過往這裡最常見的是法國殖民時代的建築,漆上有如生日蛋糕般的色調,例如香蕉黃色的郵局,還有大會堂及西貢歌劇院等,都相當矚目。此外還有舖上鵝卵石的歐洲式寬廣大道。但近年這些巴洛克風格的建築,與更高聳、更閃亮的大廈平分秋色。和萬韻酒店遙遙相對的是胡志明市最高的耀目商業大樓Bitexco Financial Tower,設有直升機坪、夜店及位於49樓的觀景台,但這個「最高大樓」的地位很快就會被將於2018年開幕的綜合大樓Landmark 81取代。Landmark 81位於第一郡邊緣,從電腦的華麗設計圖看來,大廈外型就如倒立的風鈴。此外,略帶裝飾藝術風格的越南外貿股份商業銀行大樓,外牆由層疊的玻璃片砌成;而Saigon One Tower雖然仍在施工,但落成後必定為西貢河岸的天際線添上一道新風景。

Quinn Ryan Mattingly

我來這裡當然不是為了欣賞櫛比鱗次的玻璃大樓。在一個暖和的黃昏,我們騎上電單車到處覓食。(西貢菜現今在世界各地大受歡迎︰最近西貢餐廳Le Garçon Saigon就在香港灣仔星街啟業。)

高級餐飲在胡志明市並非主流,第一郡開滿了路邊攤檔,售賣源自首都河內、熱騰騰的越南河粉、各式烤肉和米紙卷。濱城市場的熟食中心亦有多間簡陋的平民餐廳,所費不多已能嚐到滋味美食。此外,這裡還有布料批發檔和首飾店。而位於Pasteur街充滿殖民時期風格的Nha Hang Ngon則在翠竹環繞的清幽黃色庭園中,為食客奉上熱氣騰騰的美食。

但要品嚐最道地美味的街頭小吃,就要到海港旁的第四郡。我在西貢第一晚騎在電單車後穿街過巷,駛過起伏不平的道路,然後乘船渡過西貢河,到多間餐廳飽嚐風味美食。當地的街邊食店只有紅色的凳子,在桌子中間裝個石油氣爐頭,一碟碟本地蔬菜隨便放在印有圖案的膠檯布上,接著端上炸田雞腿和生牛腩條,還有散發香茅氣味的清湯,只要把所有配料放進去就可大快朵頤。再佐以西貢啤酒,就是完美的配搭。

Quinn Ryan Mattingly

我們整晚暢飲一瓶接一瓶的啤酒,在Broma Not A Bar天台酒吧欣賞阮惠街的街景。這是一家洋溢美國布魯克林風味的酒吧,磚牆上掛滿鎢絲燈泡,場內則播放90年代的hip hop和R’n’B音樂。翌日早上,Trails of Indochina旅行社的員工接我到湄公河三角洲。我們沿著流向南中國海的深棕色河流而下,低頭避過低矮的香蕉葉和竹樹,還經過多個自給自足的社群,他們由麵包以至磚頭都是自家生產,還會種稻米和熱帶水果。如此有趣的畫面,獨欠我坐在小綿羊上沿路呼嘯而過的場面,否則,可算得完美無缺。

胡志明市景點資料

欲了解西貢萬韻酒店的詳情及預訂房間,請瀏覽 reveriesaigon.com

Vespa Adventures提供的Saigon After Dark夜遊及Insider’s Saigon深度遊行程分別為93及72美元(720及560港元)。vespaadventures.com

欲了解Trails of Indochina的湄公河三角洲單日行程的詳情,請瀏覽 trailsofindochina.com

國泰航空設有從香港飛往胡志明市的航班,每周有18班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Ho Chi Minh City

Fizz, pho and the future in Ho Chi Minh City

Ho Chi Minh City has some big ideas for the future – and the present just got a whole lot glitzier too, as CATHY ADAMS discovers. Photography by QUINN RYAN MATTINGLY

I am whizzing along main street Nguyen Hue on the back of a Vespa. It’s the easiest way to get around Vietnam’s biggest and brightest city. (It’s also one of the most soporific: I’m jetlagged, and the purr from the engine is so comforting that at one point I nod off on my driver’s shoulder.)

I’m going at a decent 50 kilometres an hour. It feels like Ho Chi Minh City is changing at twice that speed.

First: nobody calls the city by the official name chosen to commemorate Vietnam’s first leader. Everybody knows it as Saigon, a name you’re expected to use the moment you’re past border control. Second: Saigon’s crude chopping up of the numbered districts inspired the states in dystopian trilogy The Hunger Games. I probably shouldn’t mention that – no city wants to be the inspiration for The Hunger Games. Third: one of the most luxurious hotels in Asia has just opened up on the very same street I’m flying down on the Vespa. It’s so gilded that its opening has led some to tout Ho Chi Minh City as Asia’s ‘next world city’, wrenching the crown away from our very own Hong Kong. But is it the case?

Ho Chi Minh City (sorry, Saigon) has demographics on its side. Its population is set to swell to almost 14 million in fewer than 10 years. More than 40 per cent of the population of increasingly cosmopolitan, fast-gentrifying Vietnam is under 25. Many of them are crowded into the metropolitan cities: Ho Chi Minh City itself is sucking workers in from the nearby Mekong Delta. Then there are the visitors. Vietnam banished its visa regulations for visitors from many Western countries last year in a bid to re-route tourists from neighbouring Thailand.

Hence, The Reverie Saigon. The hotel is good news for Ho Chi Minh City: its owner even called it ‘a gift to the city’. Ho Chi Minh City’s supporters add that it’s the most jaw-dropping property ever to have opened its doors here. Not the kind of place you pull up outside of in a cloud of sweat on the back of a motorbike.

Reverie Saigon

I take the helmet off and look up. You can’t see much beyond a tall black cuboid, criss-crossed at night by rainbow spines of light. Inside: anything but plain modernism. I still can’t decide whether I love or hate it. The whole hotel has dedicated itself to Italian design. Ninety nine per cent of everything you see, eat from, lay on hails from Italy. The result is what has been alternatively described (kindly) as Italian extravagance and (unkindly) as ‘the lovechild of Versace and Liberace’. Walking into the lobby is more like walking into a Disney film or Michael Jackson’s Neverland. Golden wings fly off a curved, mirrored sidetable and a giant gold and purple ostrich-leather sofa, long enough for 12 to sit side by side, ruffles with velvet cushions. They’re both from Italian design house Colombostile, known for its fairytale-esque designs. A fantastical custom-made three-metre-tall Baldi Monumental Clock (it weighs over 1,000 kilograms) stands over the swirled carpet. It’s so thick my feet sink into it when I walk to check in.

The aim of this, the highest hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, is to attract ‘a different kind of clientele’. Not backpackers – unless your backpack is by Hermès, maybe. This different kind of clientele can expect a different kind of design, too. A two-level suite, with interiors designed by Provasi, looks like somewhere Henry VIII would bed down in; another suite is coordinated by maximalist designer Visionnaire; and two others by Giorgetti, a more pared-down Italian designer. The Reverie’s chief architect, Hong Konger Kent Lui, is formerly of Foster + Partners – the firm behind Hong Kong’s HSBC Building and the city’s airport. He argues that the hotel’s ‘extravagance and splendour captivate’ and that it ‘presents a design experience like no other’. That’s putting it mildly.

Reverie Saigon

It fits with the gradual growing up (literally) of District One, the central entertainment district of the city. The hammer and sickle may adorn flags outside the art deco Reunification Palace up the road, but the new glass towers here are anything but Communist-era architecture. The area has traditionally been home to French colonial buildings in birthday cake shades (the banana-yellow post office, the city hall and the Saigon Opera House are three of the more impressive) and wide, cobbled European-style boulevards. But lately the baroque buildings are sharing their space with architecture of the taller, glossier variety. Opposite the Reverie Saigon is the shiny Bitexco Financial Tower, the highest tower in the city, with a helicopter landing pad, nightclub and 49th-floor sky deck. It’s soon to be surpassed by Landmark 81, a mixed-use development due to open in 2018, just outside the District One limit. According to some slick computer-generated imagery, it looks like an upside-down wind chime. The faintly art deco Vietcombank Tower is all staggered glass edges while the Saigon One Tower, still under construction, will also add to the new skyline when it opens on the bank of the Saigon River.

ho chi minh architecture

But I’m not here to drool over modernist glass boxes. Kicking off the stand of the Vespa one warm evening, we’re off to eat. (Saigon cooking is now A Thing, even outside the city: Hong Kong recently welcomed its own Saigon brasserie, Le Garçon Saigon, in the hip Star Street neighbourhood of Wan Chai.)

High-end dining is a fringe activity here in Ho Chi Minh City. District One is full of street joints selling cloudy bowls of pho (despite hailing from capital city Hanoi), grilled meats and delicate rice paper rolls. The food market at Ben Thanh, a square market filled with rough-and-ready restaurants, wholesale fabrics and jewellery shops, does more than a decent bowl for pocket change. Or try the colonial Nha Hang Ngon on Pasteur Street, which serves steaming bowls in a pretty, bamboo-fringed yellow courtyard.

ho chi minh cusine

But it’s in District Four, near the city port, where the best street feeds are found. My first night, following a jumpy ride through the traffic lights of the city before sailing neatly over the Saigon River, we restaurant-hopped here. Street-side restaurants are made up of little more than red stools, a gas ring sunk into a table and plates of local vegetables thrown onto patterned plastic sheets. Then comes the meat: fried frog legs, raw strips of beef flank. And the soup: lemongrass-scented broth, which everything gets dunked into. Washed down with a Saigon beer, naturally.

The next morning, following a late night chasing bottles of Saigon with, er, more bottles of Saigon, watching Nguyen Hue from above at Broma Not A Bar (a Brooklyn-esque rooftop with filament bulbs strung across brickwork and a playlist of ’90s hip-hop and R’n’B), a guy from Trails of Indochina arrives to drive me to the Mekong Delta. We slide down one of the deep brown tributaries that eventually runs into the South China Sea, ducking our heads under low banana leaves and bamboo trees, passing local communities making everything from bread to bricks, and harvesting rice and exotic fruits. There’s only one thing missing from this scene: me, on the back of a Vespa, flying down the path.

Ho Chi Minh City Hitlist

For more information on the Reverie Saigon, visit reveriesaigon.com

The Saigon After Dark tour and the Insider’s Saigon tour with Vespa Adventures cost US$93 (HK$720) and US$72 (HK$560) respectively. vespaadventures.com

For more information on day trips into the Mekong Delta with Trails of Indochina, visit trailsofindochina.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Ho Chi Minh City from Hong Kong 18 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book