藝術和文化

初次見到… …峇里島

藝術家Antoinette Rozan細說峇里島的自然環境如何幫助她發現生之喜悅

我於2011年第一次前往峇里島。

剛踏足島上,我就感受到一股不同的能量。島上瀰漫各種濃烈的氣味,光線也很美麗;眼前見到的都是深綠、橙紅、黃色和藍色等繽紛色彩。

其實這是我第二次來到峇里島,不過卻是第一次令我有所改變。我曾於1993年與當時居於韓國的男友來過峇里島,那是一次驚喜之旅。當時的烏布空空如也,只有五家酒店,此外什麼也沒有。對於我來說,亞洲是個神秘的地方。

2011年我以藝術家的身份舊地重遊,很想學習如何親近大自然。以往我對大自然一直懷著病態的恐懼,對於我來說,大自然太巨型,太龐大,令人難以掌握。

我們入住的酒店非常簡樸,位於峇里島中部,就在烏布附近。我們走進古樹參天的印尼森林,在那裡冥想;又到峇里島北部,在海裡與海豚一起暢泳。我們還在一家寺院 裡做「微笑」瑜伽,上課時要開懷大笑和微笑。我感到自己已經淨化了。

雖然我們在峇里找到非常美麗又杳無人煙的Badung Ungasan海灘,但那並非我最喜歡的地方。我歡的是大片的稻田、阿貢火山等高山,以及親切友善的人,還有廟宇。

我回到香港後,創作了一系列名為「rock surprise」(巨石驚喜)的雕塑。在峇里的時候,每天見到大石,我都見到上面有一張臉孔。大自然是一面鏡子,在峇里的時候,我學懂如何去了解這面鏡子。我學習不要對自己有太多的批判,並在生活中尋找喜樂。我現在的作品都是以此為主題 。

Antoinette Rozan是居於香港的藝術家,作品於Sin Sin Gallery及中環蘇豪區的Rouge Ephemere兩家藝廊內展出。

antoinetterozan.com 

關於Affordable Art Fair藝術博覽會

Antoinette Rozan獲邀於2018年的Affordable Art Fair藝術博覽會入口處展出大型作品《Same and Different》。這個藝術博覽會於5月18至20日在香港會議展覽中心舉行。

以下是藝術博覽會內其他值得留意的藝術活動:

瑜伽人物心靈速寫

如果你的肢體不甚靈活,又不擅長藝術的話,不妨參加這項活動。俄羅斯藝術家Sergei Rozhnov將兩種不同的藝術結合,創作出這種獨特的表現形式。

兒童藝術空間

當你去參觀一些兒童可能不甚感興趣的展品時,不妨將小朋友留在這個洋溢創 意的地方,盡情發揮潛藏的藝術天分。兒童藝術空間每天開放,為2至8歲的小朋友提供各種既有創意又吸引的活動。

總監之選導賞團

香港Affordable Art Fair藝術博覽會的總監Stephanie Kelly親自主持導賞團,從不同預算、風格及尺寸的作品中挑選她的心水之選,向參加者推介。

其他詳情及留位參加會場內多項受歡迎的活動,請按這裡:affordableartfair.com/fairs/hong-kong

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Art and culture

The first time I saw…Bali

Artist Antoinette Rozan describes how Bali’s natural look helped her discover the joy in life

In 2011, I went to Bali for the first time.

When I arrived on the island, I felt a different type of energy. There were the powerful smells. The light was beautiful in Bali. And the colours: dark green, oranges, yellows and blues.

It was actually my second time in Bali – but the first trip that changed me. I briefly visited in 1993 on a surprise holiday with a boyfriend who was living in Korea. At that time, Ubud was deserted – there were only five hotels. Asia was a mystery to me.

In 2011, I went back to Bali as an artist. I wanted to learn how to be close to nature. I was a nature-phobic before I went – nature seemed to me too big, too enormous.

We stayed in really simple hotels in the middle of Bali, near Ubud. We walked in the Indonesian forest, full of ancient trees. We meditated there, and swum with dolphins in the sea off northern Bali. We did ‘smile’ yoga at a monastery, where you have to laugh and smile through the class. I felt cleansed.

I wouldn’t recommend Bali for the beaches – although we did find a super beach, Badung Ungasan, that was completely deserted. No. What I would recommend is the rice fields, Mount Agung and the kind, warm and friendly people. And the temples.

When I returned to Hong Kong, I made a sculpture series called ‘rock surprise’. In Bali, each time I saw rocks, I saw faces. Nature is a mirror, and in Bali I learnt how to understand it. I learnt to not judge myself too much and find joy in life. That’s the message of my art now.

Antoinette Rozan is a Hong Kong-based artist. She exhibits at Sin Sin Gallery and Rouge Ephemere in Soho.

antoinetterozan.com

antoinette rozan

About the Affordable Art Fair

Antoinette Rozan has been invited to exhibit her monumental installation work, called Same and Different, at the entrance to the 2018 Affordable Art Fair. The fair takes place during 18-20 May at the Hong Kong Conference and Exhibition Centre.

Here are some of the other things going on at the fair worth marking down in the diary:

Speed yoga live drawing

If you’re not very flexible and bad at art, you might want to head to this. Russian artist Sergei Rozhnov combines the two art forms to create a unique mode of expression.

Children’s Art Studio

You can leave the little ones here to be enthralled, entertained and, most importantly engaged, in all things creative while you check out the less child-friendly exhibits. It’s open every day with various activities for 2-8 year-olds.

Director’s Pick tour

Stephanie Kelly, fair director of Affordable Art Fair Hong Kong, will host a guided tour of her own favourite artworks across a range of budgets, styles and sizes.

For more info and to reserve a place at some of the most popular attractions, click here: affordableartfair.com/fairs/hong-kong

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book