藝術和文化

初次見到……森麻實郡

藝廊共同創辦人IWAN WIRTH,從這個樸實無華的地方獲得靈感

英國森麻實郡瀰漫著一種奇妙的靈氣,是別處沒有的。

2005年,我和太太Manuela帶同子女,舉家從瑞士移居倫敦,準備為我們的當代藝廊Hauser & Wirth在英國開設首間分館。

我們家三個小孩都是在瑞士的鄉間長大,剛來到英國時,我們花了一個周末到郊外去,尋找一個可供日後度周末的地方。我們踏上前往南部的旅程,來到洋溢鄉郊氣息的森麻實郡。當First Great Western列車從倫敦的柏靈頓車站開出後,Cotswolds區起伏的山丘與大片廣闊的天空就在我們眼前展開。

我們的目的地是薩克遜小鎮Bruton,我們當時完全沒料到,這個樸實無華的地方,將會成為我們安居樂業的新家。可是,當我們在附近的Stourhead的大片樹林內散步時,已經被這個地方深深吸引住。我現在明白,為何美國作家John Steinbeck會在這個奇妙的地方住了六個月。

後來我們在附近一帶的鄉郊裡,發現不少建於18世紀的農莊,這些地方已遭荒廢,並且嚴重失修。Manuela和我,加上建築師LuisLaplace與才華橫溢的園景師PietOudolf想出了一個計劃,將這些廢棄的建築物重新復修,建立一個藝術中心;這個地方遠離我們在都市裡從事的藝術活動。於是Hauser & Wirth森麻實藝廊就此誕生。這個新家園內,當然少不了藝術品和藝術家,還有建築、教育、美食、園景、保育與大自然等各種我們熱愛的事物匯聚其中,令人滿心歡喜。

Iwan Wirth是Hauser & Wirth藝廊的共同創辦人。Hauser & Wirth於3月在香港開設新的畫廊。hauserwirth.com

Katharina Lütscher

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Inspiring Places

The first time Iwan Wirth saw Somerset

The gallerist reflects on finding inspiration in a a rural corner of England

There’s a certain magic that runs through Somerset in England.

In 2005, my wife Manuela and our family moved to London from Switzerland to open the first UK outpost of our contemporary art gallery, Hauser & Wirth.

Having three young children who grew up in rural Switzerland, we spent one of the first weekends exploring the countryside in search of a place as a weekend base. By chance we took a trip down to rural Somerset. As the First Great Western train pulled away from London Paddington, we soon came to the skies and the breathtaking hills of the Cotswolds.

Our destination was the Saxon town of Bruton. Little did we know that this unassuming place would become our new home. (No wonder the American writer John Steinbeck spent six months in this magical place.) By the time we went for a walk in the nearby woods of Stourhead, we were sold.

Over time we came across a collection of derelict 18th century farm buildings in the surrounding fields and farmlands. Manuela and I, architect Luis Laplace and landscape genius Piet Oudolf hatched a plan to restore these ruins and create an arts centre far away from the urban art world of our other projects. And Hauser & Wirth Somerset was born. Here, at our new home, we could bring together all our passions: art and artists, certainly, but also architecture, education, food, landscape, conservation and nature.

Iwan Wirth is the co-founder of Hauser & Wirth. Its Hong Kong outpost opened in March.

Iwan Wirth, London, 2015
Katharina Lütscher
Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book