節日和活動

齋戒月禁食與開齋節的大餐

美食凝聚人心的力量無分國界,但集體不吃不喝,有時也能同收此效。Neneng Alfi分享印尼人在齋戒月前和開齋節時一起享用的應節食品

凌晨3時,睡過三小時的我醒來,與父母和兄弟圍坐在餐桌前。桌上放滿我們花了數小時預備的各式咖哩、肉類和蔬菜。我們住在印尼東爪哇波諾羅戈縣,事實上我們的早餐並非每天都如此豐盛,這天與別不同,皆因齋戒月在這天開始。

齋戒月是伊斯蘭教的神聖日子,今年落在4月底至5月底。相信你或會對齋戒月已略有所聞,知道信徒須在這段期間禁食。

不過,對我乃至全球數以百萬的回教徒而言,這個節日意義匪淺,是我們一年中最重要的時刻,好比西方的聖誕節和東方的農曆新年。齋戒月象徵家人、社群團圓的大日子,我們既會躬身自省,亦會共聚歡慶。由於印尼是世上回教人口最多的國家,因此衍生出不少特有習俗,當中大多與飲食息息相關。

打頭陣的便是這頓早餐,共進美食儼如我們迎接這個清修月份的特別儀式。

到了凌晨4時,我們的禁食時段正式開始。

在接下來30天,我們從凌晨4時至下午6時也不得飲食,每天的齋戒時間結束後,我們會舉家聚餐,並享用由粉條、椰奶和椰糖調製的珍多冰。印尼終年酷熱難當,這款透心涼的冰凍特飲可謂消暑恩物。

一整月過後便是我們期待已久的開齋節(印尼文為Eid al-Fitr)。顧名思義,一眾信徒會在這天起打破齋戒期間的禁忌,盡情歡慶,氣氛好不熱鬧,當然也要開懷飽餐。

如此普天同慶的佳節,少不了形形色色的應節食品助興。以我家為例,巴東牛肉(咖哩牛肉乾)、椰奶咖哩雞和人氣美食印尼鳳梨酥等地道菜式擺滿一席。

拜訪親友近鄰是節慶的重頭活動,因此街上人來人往的盛況將長達一周,今年也許會有所不同,但家家戶戶用作款客的零食卻不會缺席,我的至愛是「白雪公主」,這款甜點名副其實,披滿有如飄雪般白皚皚的糖霜;至於經發酵的黑糯米糖果madu mongso,亦是我心中不可或缺的應節美食。

但說到開齋節的首本名菜,相信非印尼米糕莫屬,它又名「馬來粽」,這款特色糕點以棕櫚葉裹滿糯米、豆芽和雞蛋等豐富餡料,再以巧手編織成菱形,酷似中式糉子,是開齋節的傳統招牌菜式。對我而言,它們可謂節慶的象徵。

現時移居海外的我,每當看到狀似印尼米糕的點心,思鄉之情總會油然泛起,老家的大廳、母親的擁抱,以及我們舉家慶祝開齋節的甜蜜回憶一一湧現。

但凡跟非回教徒提起這個節日,他們總會問:「禁食辛苦嗎?」這時我定會答:「你其實無暇想起禁食之苦。」因為當肚子空空如也時,滿腦子只會盼望開齋節的來臨。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

What It’s Like to Fast and Feast During Ramadan

Food brings people together, but sometimes its absence can be just as meaningful. Neneng Alfi reflects on the festive foods Indonesians share at Ramadan and Lebaran

It’s 3am and I’ve had three hours sleep. Around our dining table sit my mum, dad and brother, and in front of them, an array of curries, meats and vegetables we spent hours preparing. This isn’t the kind of breakfast we normally eat in my town of Ponorogo in Indonesia’s East Java. But this is a special occasion. This is the start of Ramadan.

Ramadan, the Muslim world’s holy month, runs from late April until late May this year. It’s something you’ve probably heard a little about, perhaps as a month of fasting.

But for me, and millions of other Muslims around the world, it represents so much more. It’s the most important time of the year, like Christmas in the West or Lunar New Year in the East. Ramadan represents a coming together of our family and community, of humility, of joint celebration. In Indonesia, the world’s most populous Muslim nation, it comes with its own unique inflections. And many of these revolve around food.

It starts with this breakfast, a special moment together as we prepare to embark on this month.

Then at 4am, the fasting begins.

For 30 days, we refrain from food or drink from around 4am to 6pm, breaking our fast with a family meal and a refreshing cendol – an iced drink of jelly, coconut milk and palm sugar – that does its best to combat the relentless Indonesian heat.

The whole month works up to Lebaran, the Indonesian term for Eid al-Fitr or ‘The Festival of Breaking Fast’. It’s exactly what it sounds like. Raucous. Vibrant. Celebratory. And delicious.

Of course, Lebaran comes with its own array of festive foods. The menu in my house is a mix of Indonesian classics, such as rendang (dry beef curry), opor ayam (a chicken and coconut milk curry) and nastar, a popular pineapple cake.

A major part of Lebaran celebrations is going to visit your relatives and neighbours, a process that can involve seeing hundreds of people over the course of a week. This year, of course, might be different, but the ubiquitous snacks that you normally find as you visit each of their houses are sure to remain an important part of the celebrations. Putri salju, a sugar-coated biscuit that deserves its literal name of ‘snow princess’ is my personal favourite, while madu mongso – a fermented black glutinous rice candy – is to me the quintessential taste of Lebaran.

But perhaps the most special Eid delicacy is ketupat, a diamond-shaped rice dumpling filled with things from bean sprouts and egg and intricately wrapped with palm leaves. It’s like an Indonesia version of zongzi and holds a very special place in our Lebaran traditions. To me, they are the symbol of Lebaran.

Now that I live overseas, whenever I see something like a ketupat, I get a tinge of nostalgia, automatically transporting me to my family’s living room, hugs from my mum and all the memories of our Lebaran celebrations.

When I talk about Ramadan with non-Muslims, the question they always ask is: ‘is fasting difficult?’ I always say that you don’t really think about it. More often than not, you’re too busy looking forward to the good times.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book