藝術與文化

探索中國南方大灣區的巨型城市

新落成的基礎建設增進了大灣區城市間的聯繫;從藝術、美食,以至急速崛起的商業區,區內不乏值得探索的好去處

香港終於在9月23日迎來廣深港高速鐵路通車的日子,首嘗高鐵的滋味。到目前為止,香港人前往澳門只可以乘搭客輪或是直升機(專為富豪而設),但隨著港珠澳大橋亦預計於今年內啟用,旅客便多了陸路這項選擇。這些基建緊密地連接曾被稱為珠江三角洲的大灣區內多個城市,當中涵蓋香港、澳門和廣東省九個城市,組成一個經濟區。這座超級大城不僅將帶來可觀的經濟效益,還為旅客提供許多旅遊好去處,以下是我們的精選推介。

Pearl River Delta, Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge
VCG

澳門

美食之都

Pearl River Delta, egg tarts Macau
Malkovstock / Getty Images

2017年11月,聯合國教科文組織把澳門評為創意城市「美食之都」,成為中國繼成都和順德之後,第三個獲得此稱號的城市,可謂意料之內。

很多人都為品嚐葡國菜而前往澳門。在葡萄牙人統治期間,澳門便以葡撻及豬扒包享負盛名。此外,葡式燒乳豬、紅豆豬手、葡國白酒煮蜆和葡式焗鴨飯等,都是澳門一眾葡式餐廳如澳葡之家和紅鶴餐廳的主打美食。

另外還有地道獨特的澳門菜,它被譽為世上最古老的融合美食。澳門菜的歷史可追溯到400多年前,當時葡萄牙人將來自家鄉的食材和香料與當地農產品融合,創造出澳門土生菜,包括炒咖哩蟹和免治(以糖蜜及醬油調味的碎肉加薯仔配上米飯及煎蛋)等美味菜式。

澳門的中菜同樣令人垂涎,當中位於新葡京酒店的8餐廳,已連續五年榮獲《米芝蓮指南—香港澳門》頒發三星,精緻點心及新派粵菜是其主打。

如何前往澳門

方法一:由香港乘巴士途經港珠澳大橋前往,車程約一小時

方法二:由港澳客輪碼頭、中國客運碼頭或海天客運碼頭乘客輪前往,船程一小時。國泰航空的乘客可經客輪代號共享服務預訂航班及澳門船票

中山

秀麗之城

Pearl River Delta, Zhongshan, China
Li yuanqiu / Imaginechina

中山不但是大灣區重要的交通樞紐,更擁有迷人風光。有云:「北有蘇州園林,南有中山詹園。」來到中山,當然要探訪這座位於北台村的雅致花園。建於1998年的詹園是嶺南地區最大的私家古典園林,是當年園主為了讓母親頤養天年所建的居所,園內一共劃分為三個區域,現已開放予公眾參觀。園主造園時跑遍大江南北,搜集民間古磚古瓦、古門古窗等材料,還打造湖洲山生態區。園內亭台水榭,綠樹成蔭,是遊客放鬆的好地方。

Pearl River Delta, Zhongshan, China
Philip Chan / VCG

至於影視迷則不容錯過知名影視拍攝基地中山影視城。位於孫中山故居旁的影視城內,有部分場景重現了革命時期的景物,以及舊廣州的市井風情。影視城內另設有中國、日本、英國及美國主題景區,保留了多部著名電視劇的拍攝場景,還有薈萃各方建築藝術精華的展覽廳,令此地成為集旅遊觀光、教育和影視娛樂於一身的主題文化旅遊景點。

如何前往中山

由海天客運碼頭、中國客運碼頭或港澳碼頭乘客輪前往,船程為70至90分鐘

VCG

深圳

 當代藝術樞紐

Pearl River Delta, Shenzhen, China
©Design Society

中國一直以令人目眩的速度建造博物館,展示令人為之驚歎的建築,並經常在全國各地展覽優質的藏品,當中位於深圳蛇口的海上世界文化藝術中心更是矚目萬分。這個佔地75萬平方呎的中心,由普立茲克建築獎得主槙文彥操刀設計,現時是中國國內規模最大和規格最高的藝術展館。館內的白色空間,配上中庭的鏡面藝術品,讓人有置身科幻世界的感受。館內除了畫廊以外,更設有劇院、餐廳及瞭望台。同樣富未來特色的還有深圳當代藝術博物館及城市展覽館。這座位於福田文化區的前衛瑰寶,有望成為全國最具影響力的藝術機構之一。

不過一眾潮流達人則偏好華僑城創意文化園。前身為工廠的園區內,隨處可見1980年代的生銹鐵架、半剝落且掉漆的牆面、廠房大窗及其他建築特色,洋溢著既古老又現代的氛圍。園區目前匯集了當代藝術、設計及實驗音樂等創意產業,還有多家概念餐廳及酒吧,令這個富前瞻性的園區成為潮流熱點。

Duccio Malagamba

如何前往深圳

方法一:乘搭廣深港高速鐵路前往。香港到深圳福田區火車程為14分鐘

方法二:由港澳客輪碼頭、中國客運碼頭或海天客運碼頭乘客輪前往深圳蛇口區,船程分別為一小時、50分鐘及30分鐘

珠海

潮人領地

Pearl River Delta, Zhuhai, China

沒錯,珠海南屏鎮有一座售賣各大國際品牌的型格商場華發商都,但只消步行十分鐘,你便會來到一處名為北山村的世外桃源。這裡的時間過得特別緩慢,縱使被高樓包圍,該區的藝術氛圍無疑為大眾提供了一個遠離煩囂的好去處。

村內的北山大院藝術文化區設有北山藝術中心,吸引了許多潮流達人聚集。藝術中心由一座經過精心修復的百年古村寺廟改建而成,遊客可到這裡的小商店、餐廳和露天咖啡館消磨時光。此外,這裡每年都會舉辦藝術展及音樂節,當中規模最大的活動是以世界音樂及爵士樂為主題的「北山音樂節」。

附近的北山中西文化創意產業園則洋溢濃厚的文藝氣息,園內設有展覽及表演空間,為遊客帶來音樂、設計、時裝及藝術的體驗。建築群由多座古宅改建而成,包括建於民國時期的北山戲院。戲院的舞台被保留了下來,廈門的工藝品品牌「舊物倉」已入駐其廣闊的室內空間,並賦予戲院新生命。品牌以售賣復古精品聞名,與北山村一樣讓遊客緬懷舊時代的美好。

如何前往珠海

方法一:乘巴士經港珠澳大橋前往珠海,車程約一小時

方法二:由港澳碼頭、中國客運碼頭或海天客運碼頭乘客輪前往,船程為70分鐘

廣州

經濟重鎮

Pearl River Delta, Guangzhou, China
SammyVision / Getty Images

廣州早已不再只以美食聞名。自1990年代初開始,這座城市經歷了中國最快速的城市發展,並演變成今天獨具一格的璀璨大都會,其中華南地區最大的天河中央商務區,是國務院批准的國家級中央商務區,主要服務大灣區經濟圈。珠江新城為該區的核心地段,多座型格建築均坐落於此,例如由札哈.哈蒂建築師事務所設計的廣州歌劇院、廣東省博物館、廣州圖書館、廣州塔、多座銀行大樓,以及為2010年亞運會而建的運動場,可謂體現了當今廣州的宏偉氣勢。對於遊客而言,綜合商業大樓太古匯集辦公、購物、文化及藝術於一身,是其中最為吸引的景點。

Pearl River Delta, Space Tunnel opens in south China's Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Guangzhou, China
Chen wen / Imaginechina / AFP

現在,廣東花都區已成為吸引眾人目光的焦點。這個被譽為「廣州離世界最近的地方」,是廣州未來重點發展區域之一,擴建中的廣州白雲國際機場及交通樞紐廣州北站均坐落於區內。在完成擴建工程後,白雲機場將會成為華南地區最大的國際航空樞紐,廣州北站則將是華南地區匯集鐵路及高速公路網絡的大型交通樞紐。至於娛樂方面,萬達集團正於花都區興建室內滑雪場,預計於2019年開幕。

Pearl River Delta, Opera House, Guangzhou, China,
HUFTON + CROW / Getty Images

如何前往廣州

由香港乘廣深港高速鐵路前往。 香港到廣州南站的車程為47分鐘

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

China

Exploring the Greater Bay Area, Southern China’s Megacity

New infrastructure has brought the Greater Bay Area even closer, and there’s a lot to lure travellers, from art and food to fast-rising business districts. Words by JOYCE TAM

Hong Kong has finally got its first taste of high-speed rail, with the opening of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link on 23 September. But that’s not all – the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge opened on 24 October. This introduces a road option for Hongkongers to get to Macao; until now, the only choices were ferry or, for the high rollers, helicopter. These developments more closely integrate the cities of the Greater Bay Area – once commonly called the Pearl River Delta – an economic region encompassing Hong Kong, Macao and nine Guangdong cities. In this megacity, the stakes aren’t just economic; there’s plenty for tourists to see and do, too. We round up the highlights.

Pearl River Delta, Hong Kong
VCG

Macao

City of gastronomy

Pearl River Delta, egg tarts
Malkovstock / Getty Images

In November 2017, Macao became the third Chinese region after Chengdu and Shunde to be designated a Creative City of Gastronomy by UNESCO. And it’s no wonder.

Many visitors head to Macao for its Portuguese food. Once ruled by Portugal, Macao is famed for its egg tarts and pork chop buns. Suckling pig, red bean stew with trotter, clams with white wine and duck rice are all found on menus in the city’s many Portuguese restaurants, such as the well-known La Famiglia and Flamingo.

But there’s also Macanese food, a distinct tradition often described as the world’s oldest fusion cuisine. Macanese fare can be traced back to more than 400 years ago, when ingredients and spices brought in by the Portuguese were juxtaposed with local produce to become a cuisine that’s uniquely Macanese. These include stir-fried curry crab and minchi, which is ground meat and potatoes flavoured with molasses and soy sauce, served over rice with a fried egg on top.

Macao is where you can get a serious Chinese food fix, too. For the best dim sum and contemporary Cantonese cuisine, the 8 Restaurant at Grand Lisboa Hotel stands out with its three Michelin stars, which it’s held onto for five straight years.

Getting to Macao

Option 1: A bus from Hong Kong via the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge will take about an hour.

Option 2: Take an hour-long ferry from the Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal, China Ferry Terminal or HKIA Sky Pier. Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon’s ferry codeshare lets customers book flights together with a ferry ride to Macao.

Zhongshan

The beauty queen

Pearl River Delta
Li yuanqiu / Imaginechina

It’s a major transport hub in the Greater Bay Area, but there’s another side to Zhongshan – and it’s beautiful. The city is compared to one of China’s prettiest towns in an old saying: ‘The north has Suzhou, the south has Zhongshan.’ To experience a picturesque site, head to Zhan Garden in Beitai Village. Constructed in 1998, the garden is the largest privately owned classical garden in the Lingnan region. The owner built the verdant site with three themed zones as a retirement residence for his mother, and it’s open for all to enjoy. The owner sought out all kinds of old materials throughout China including tiles, bricks, doors and windows for use in its structures, and meticulously built the Huzhou Shan ecological reserve, where plants form a relaxing haven for visitors to unwind among pavilions and lakes.

Pearl River Delta
Philip Chan / VCG

Meanwhile, film buffs can head to Zhongshan Movie & Television Town, a place that is seen on big and small screens across China. It’s situated next to the former residence of Sun Yat-sen (who is called ‘Zhongshan’ in Chinese), and some of its film sets mimic the revolutionary era and the streets of old Guangzhou. The rest of the complex is divided into zones, each made to look like China, Japan, the UK and the US. The sets used for several successful Chinese TV dramas still stand and, coupled with an exhibition hall, show off the craft of set design. It’s an attraction that combines architecture, design and showbiz.

Getting to Zhongshan

Take the ferry from Hong Kong. It takes 70-90 minutes from the HKIA Sky Pier, China Ferry Terminal and the Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal.

Pearl River Delta
VCG

Shenzhen

Contemporary art hub

Pearl River Delta
©Design Society

China has been building museums in a frenzy, showcasing stunning architecture and often quality collections across the country – and the most impressive one of all is the Sea World Culture and Arts Center in Shenzhen’s Shekou area. Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Fumihiko Maki, the 750,000-square-foot exhibition venue is currently the largest art museum in China. Inside, it’s futuristic with its stark white spaces and mirror-clad exhibits in the atrium and, apart from galleries, houses a theatre, restaurant and an observation deck. Equally futuristic is the Museum of Contemporary Art & Planning Exhibition (MOCAPE), an avant-garde gem in the Futian Cultural District that has ambitions to become one of the most influential art institutions in the country.

But the cool kids prefer OCT Loft. Converted from a factory with rusted balustrades, peeling paint, and other architectural features left untouched since the 1980s, this cultural park is at once nostalgic and modern. Contemporary art, design and experimental music sit alongside concept restaurants and bars, making this forward-thinking venue the place to be.

Duccio Malagamba

Getting to Shenzhen

Option 1: Take the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link. The journey from Hong Kong to Shenzhen’s Futian area takes 14 minutes.

Option 2: Take a ferry to Shenzhen’s Shekou from Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal (one hour), China Ferry Terminal (50 minutes) or the HKIA Sky Pier (30 minutes).

Zhuhai

Hipster enclave

Pearl River Delta

Sure, there’s the shiny Huafa Mall in Zhuhai’s Nanping town to browse all your favourite international brands. But just a 10-minute walk will take you to Beishan Village, where the city slows right down. Standing amid glass-clad skyscrapers, the area’s arty vibe is a welcome escape.

The neighbourhood is home to Beishan Art District, which encompasses Beishan Art Center, a prime hipster hangout. The structure is a beautifully restored, century-old village temple, and within its walls you’ll now find little shops, restaurants and outdoor cafes. The venue frequently hosts events such as art exhibitions and music festivals, the biggest being Beishan Music Festival, a celebration of world music and jazz.

Pearl River Delta, Beishan Music Festival

Nearby, the East Meets West Cultural and Creative Industrial Park is a space for music, design, fashion and art exhibitions and performances. Converted from an old residence, the complex includes a Republic-era theatre. The stage is still there, but the airy space has been given a new lease of life as a shop overseen by prominent Xiamen brand Goodone. The company is known for its vintage items and, like much of Beishan, transports visitors back to another era.

Getting to Zhuhai

Option 1: Take the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge. A bus ride from Hong Kong to Zhuhai will take about an hour.

Option 2: Take a 70-minute ferry from Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal, China Ferry Terminal or HKIA Sky Pier.

Guangzhou

International economic powerhouse

Pearl River Delta
SammyVision / Getty Images

Guangzhou isn’t just known for its food any more. Since the early 1990s, the city has undergone some of the most rapid urban expansion in China, transforming into a glitzy metropolis. The Tianhe central business district has become the largest financial centre in southern China, with the government designating it the economic heart of the Greater Bay Area. At its centre, Zhujiang New Town embodies the grandeur of contemporary Guangzhou, filled with architectural marvels such as the Guangzhou Opera House by Zaha Hadid, the Guangdong Museum, the Guangzhou Library, Canton Tower, numerous bank towers and sports venues built for the 2010 Asian Games. For visitors, one of the most attractive developments is TaiKoo Hui, an upscale complex combining offices, shopping, culture and art.

Pearl River Delta
Chen wen / Imaginechina / AFP

Now, all eyes are on Huadu District. Hailed as ‘Guangzhou’s closest point to the world’, the area is featured prominently in the city’s development plans, with the expanded Baiyun International Airport and Guangzhou North Railway Station its transport hubs. The airport is the largest international aviation hub in southern China, while the railway station is a major transit point for railway and highway networks in the region. For entertainment, the Wanda corporation is constructing a huge indoor skiing resort in Huadu, expected to open in 2019.

Pearl River Delta
HUFTON + CROW / Getty Images

Getting to Guangzhou

Option 1: Take the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link. The journey from Hong Kong to Guangzhou South takes 47 minutes.

Option 2: Cathay Dragon flies to Guangzhou from Hong Kong 14 times a week.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book