香港特別行政區

香港國際機場擴建工程計劃須知

正在動工的三跑道系統將使香港與大灣區緊密接軌,預計至2030年,香港國際機場每年的額外客運量會增加多達3,000萬人

香港國際機場自1998年啟用以來,均被旅客及業界專家評為全球首屈一指的機場。從香港出發,五小時內即可飛抵全球半數人口聚居的地方。這個國際及區域航空中心,正於香港基地展開業內最大規模的發展計劃。

事實上,香港的雙跑道系統快將飽和。香港國際機場現時每年的客運量已達到7,200萬人次;貨運吞吐量亦是世界各地機場中最具效率的航空樞紐。機管局預計,2030年的旅客數量將會增加至一億,增長有跡可循。

Hong-Kong-Internation-Airport-Expansion
Credit: Moses Ng

種種需求下,政府因此以填海拓地展開三跑道工程。計劃中將會興建一個全新的場內客運大樓,並新增57個停機位。同時將興建全新的旅客捷運系統,連接重建後的二號客運大樓(現正關閉)與新客運大樓。換言之,屆時旅客將無需經過一號客運大樓,便可直接在新航廈辦理登機手續和前往離港層。至於重建中的二號客運大樓,將會與多項新設施合併構成全新的大型商娛地標航天城

Hong-Kong-International-Airport-Terminal-1-exterior
Credit: Hong Kong International Airport

為對應二號客運大樓暫時關閉,一號客運大樓早前已完成擴建,新增兩條旅客登記行段以處理工程期間的額外工作。新工程亦將有利於我們區域網路的乘客,因為我們大部分短線航班已轉到一號客運大樓出發,新建的天際走廊連接一號客運大樓和北衛星客運廊,乘客無需再巴士前往登機閘口。在三跑系統興建期間,你更可在禁區環顧機場的壯觀規模。

新北跑道將於2022年落成,而整個三跑道系統則會在2024年投入運作。現有的北跑道(最近海的位置)將會重鋪,並需興建全新的滑行道,連接新落成的跑道和客運大樓。

總括而言,香港國際機場的運作於2025年將更為快捷便利,令更多旅客受惠。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

What to Know About the Expansion Plans for Hong Kong International Airport

A third runway and better links to the Greater Bay Area will enable HKIA to handle 30 million more passengers a year by 2030

Since opening in 1998, HKIA has been recognized by flyers and industry experts one of the best airports in the world. It’s located within five hours of more than half of the world’s population, but closer in that the biggest developing air market in the world is right on its doorstep.

Already the airport is close to capacity. It handles 72 million passengers a year and is the biggest international air cargo hub in the world, but projected growth in aviation will see passenger numbers increase to around 100 million by 2030. So there’s a clear case for growth.

Hong-Kong-Internation-Airport-Expansion
Credit: Moses Ng

What that means is the addition of a third runway, reclaimed from the sea, and that is already under construction. There will be a new infield terminal to serve more departure gates – 57 more, to be precise. This will be linked by an automated people mover to what will be the newly developed Terminal Two, which is now closed for redevelopment. As a result, for the first time passengers will be able to check-in and go airside without crossing over to Terminal One. Terminal Two will also be located in a new entertainment and retail development called Skycity.

Hong-Kong-International-Airport-Terminal-1-exterior
Credit: Hong Kong International Airport

To compensate for the temporary annexation of Terminal Two, there are two more check-in aisles in Terminal One to handle the additional passengers as building continues. And there’s good news for Cathay Dragon customers. The new Sky Bridge will link the remote terminal (North Satellite Concourse) from which many of Cathay Dragon’s short-haul services depart to Terminal One. This will eliminate the hassle of coach transfers, as well as offering a fantastic view over the airfield ahead of the third runway opening.

While the third runway is slated for completion in 2022, true three runway operations will not start until 2024. The existing north runway (the closest to the sea) will be resurfaced, and it will need new taxiways to connect it to the new runway and terminal building.

Long story short: by 2025, HKIA will be as speedy as ever to use – and for even more travellers.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book