丹麥

這是歐洲最快樂的城市嗎?

為何有這個念頭?皆因丹麥人的生活質素和快樂指數人人稱羨,其首都哥本哈根尤其令人嚮往。就讓JAMES CLASPER用一天的時間,示範何謂地道丹麥生活。圖片 ULF SVANE

在哥本哈根,有酒吧斟一杯嘉士伯啤酒需時15分鐘。那是因為它是「慢啤」,金黃色的瓊漿從古老的捷克啤酒栓緩緩淌下,造出更香醇幼滑的口感,亦體現了哥本哈根的本色。悠然自得的丹麥首都,比世界上其他城市都來得懶洋洋。

且看居民如何在市內穿梭:當地約六成二人口每天都以單車代步,當中大部分在冬季亦然,因而有「維京單車鬥士」之稱,還有四分之一家庭以載貨單車接送孩子。現時市內擁有逾390公里的單車徑,而且大部分都與馬路分隔,十分安全。

因此,踏單車是體驗丹麥生活及展開哥本哈根周末遊的理想方式,亦可以說是市內最快捷的交通模式。這個城市面積不大,因此喜歡步行的人在這裡同樣如魚得水,全市幾乎每個角落皆徒步可達;市中心更有多條街道被劃分為行人專用區,豈不妙哉?

哥本哈根的地勢雖然就像煎薄餅一樣平坦,但要長時間踏單車亦頗為勞累,因此周末遊理應由一頓正宗丹麥早餐開始,食物包括新鮮出爐的麵包、酥皮點心和咖啡。我們通常會去餅店買幾個黑麥麵包和肉桂卷,但也不妨對自己好一點,前往手工麵包店Juno去,店內出品的肉桂卷總是引來大批顧客在門外排隊輪購;此外,我們亦可前往位於Christianshavn運河區的咖啡室 The Corner,那裡的酥皮點心同樣有不少捧場客。店裡的酥皮點心都塗上一層由發酵牛肉汁與發酵咖啡調製的汁液,教人回味再三。這種美味的發酵調味料是在咖啡室與Noma餐廳共用的「發酵實驗室」內調製出來的。Noma就是令哥本哈根在美食界一舉成名的星級食府,下文將會談及。

盡情補充體力後,我們便向城區進發。途中,我們橫過 Inner Harbour Bridge 橋,這是五條供踏單車或徒步穿梭這個港口都市的橋樑之一;我們最喜歡的是 Circle Bridge 橋,由冰島裔丹麥藝術家Olafur Eliasson設計,以幾個圓形交疊而成的橋面,由恍如輪船桅桿的軸柱支撐。這些美麗的橋樑令人不論步行或踏單車都倍感愜意,由此可見哥本哈根有志成為世上最健康都市的抱負。

進入城區後,我們會避開阿馬林堡王宮《美人魚》雕塑等旅遊熱點,前往較冷門的好去處,例如前肉類包裝加工區內的藝廊,或是擁有迷人冬日花園和雕塑藏品的新嘉士伯美術館

另一個好去處則是植物園,那裡網羅丹麥最大批作科研用途的植物;這裡還有熱帶溫室,對身處寒帶的當地人來說,一年四季都極有吸引力。我們也可前往潮流社區北橋區,在林蔭夾道的 Assistens Kirkegaard墳場中漫步,這是童話大師安徒生長眠的地方。繼而到 Jægersborggade大街蹓躂,這條美麗的大街鋪上鵝卵石路,沿路有不少新潮精品店,不過星期六只營業至下午2時(還記得我說過哥本哈根是一個悠閒的地方嗎?)。

不經不覺到了午餐時間。如果時間不多的話,可以買隻熱狗邊走邊吃;熱狗成為丹麥快餐食物,已有近百年的歷史了。我們最喜愛的熱狗檔,正是位於前肉類包裝加工區的 John’s Hotdog Deli。如果時間充裕,就會前往 Restaurant Palægade餐廳,享受一份以現代口味演繹的傳統smørrebrød開面式三文治。

你或許很想知道我們何來這麼多精力,答案就是在工作和生活之間取得健康的平衡,正如國家官方網頁所說的「丹麥式生活」。丹麥人享有極其靈活的工作模式,例如可選擇在家工作,或是何時到辦公室上班。跟據經濟合作暨發展組織數據顯示,丹麥人的平均工時比大多數國家的人都要少:約為每年1,410小時,亦即每周27小時。此外,其他國家平均有13%僱員每周工作逾50小時,而在丹麥則只有2%。

我們美好的丹麥式生活顯而易見。平日下午4時,大部分人已下班回家,哥本哈根最繁忙的鐵路站更設有告示牌,提醒乘客繁忙時間是下午3時半至5時。僱員每年更可享最少五周有薪年假,還有額外的有薪產假和侍產假;難怪最近丹麥在全球勞動人口快樂指數中榮登榜首。

事實上,丹麥人在全球最心滿意足的人排行榜上經常名列前茅。在聯合國最新一期《世界快樂報告》中,丹麥排行第三,僅次於芬蘭和挪威,不過丹麥人不太可能會對這個名次耿耿於懷,甚或對北歐鄰居產生妒意。丹麥是福利國家,國民收入差距不大,並可享有國家穩妥的社會保障,人民互信度亦高。除此之外,還有丹麥特有的hygge概念,相信很多人都聽過;籠統而言,這個字意指安逸舒適或溫馨,形容在與好友相聚等小確幸當中,那份難以言喻的窩心感覺。誠如快樂研究院(不錯,它確實存在)主管Meik Wiking所指,這是「丹麥式快樂之中被人忽略的要素」。

當然,蠟燭是製造hygge的重要材料,因此丹麥是歐洲消耗最多蠟燭的國家,每人每年的消耗量約六公斤。如要添置蠟燭,我們會前往 DanskDoraHay 等室內設計精品店。那裡有不少時尚瓷器或設計家具,吸引人將它們帶回家,但我們會奮力抵抗誘惑,因為我們希望保持斗室簡潔整齊。

逛過商店後,是時候到海港暢泳。別擔心,海水很乾淨,唯一的問題只是水溫過冷。但若踏單車前往位於海濱的 La Banchina餐廳,則可從餐廳的棧橋躍進大海暢泳,之後再到燒柴的桑拿浴室暖身。

另外,我們也可租用太陽能小艇GoBoat在海港上悠閒蕩槳,它易於操控,更配備野餐餐桌。我們會按照計劃,到 Torvehallerne食品市場採購小食,並到Rosforth & Rosforth選購進口葡萄酒到船上享用。Rosforth & Rosforth每逢星期六下午,都會在其中一道海港大橋下提供免費試飲。這家酒行專營現時在哥本哈根大行其道的天然葡萄酒,亦即極少加工、只採用天然原生酵母發酵而成的「葡萄汁」來釀酒。要一嚐這種大熱美酒的滋味,可前往Ved Stranden 10,這家葡萄酒吧的侍酒師將從店內數十款葡萄酒中,為你找出令你驚喜萬分的口味。

晚餐時間到了。最理想的安排,是預早於Noma2.0留座。這家餐廳於15年前面世,開創出以本土時令食材入饌的烹飪風格,曾四度被譽為全球最佳餐廳。總廚RenéRedzepi於去年將Noma本店關閉,並於今年2月遷址重開,令它再次成為城中最熱門的食府。不過,餐廳訂座輪候名單已遠超40,000人,因此我們有很大機會要到別處用餐(Noma的晚餐索價2,250丹麥克朗,亦即約3,000港元,注意,費用並未包括葡萄酒,這筆交易定能令我們的銀行經理高興萬分)。

幸而,Redzepi開創的「新派北歐菜」早已在哥本哈根開枝散葉,不少出身於Noma的廚師亦已自立門戶,開設自己的餐廳。Amass就是其中一個例子,由前Noma總廚MattOrlando於2014年開設;餐廳位於新潮的Refshaleøen島上的工廈,牆壁上全是奪目的塗鴉,供應價格相宜的時令美饌。Spisehuset同樣受本地人喜愛,這家格調悠閒的餐廳位於前肉類包裝加工區一條後巷內,呈獻實而不華的新穎菜式,採用有機和生物動力生產的食材炮製。

時移世易,質素更佳而更符合可持續原則的食品,現時在城中隨處可見,由超級市場和餐廳,以至公營機構的飯堂,均可享用得到。最出人意表的,是市內公營機構的飯堂供應的食物,近九成均以有機食材製作。

飽餐一頓後,我們會欣賞現場音樂,如果是星期日的話,不妨到爵士樂會所La Fontaine欣賞它於晚上舉行的即興演奏。之後,我們會到傳統的værtshus酒館喝杯睡前酒,「慢啤」發源地Vinstue 90酒吧是其中一個選擇。丹麥傳統酒館室內燈光昏暗,而且煙霧瀰漫(法律漏洞容許我們可於部分小酒吧裡吸煙)。雖然市內的衛生部門肯定不會認同此等行為。不過,既然官方保健計劃的口號是「哥本哈根人,享受生活吧」,我們自然樂意遵從了。

香港、哥本哈根生活質素大比拼

如果點上幾支蠟燭就能營造出hygge的小確幸感覺,也許香港人就能如丹麥國民般「幸福」。兩地居民的生活究竟有多大分別?

每周平均工時

香港: 50.1小時
哥本哈根: 39小時

平均空氣質素

香港:每立方米29微克PM2.5污染
哥本哈根:每立方米11.1微克PM2.5污染

年假

香港:7 至14日,加上當地公眾假期
哥本哈根:五周,加上當地公眾假期

有薪產假

香港:女士產假十周;男士侍產假三天
哥本哈根:伴侶可分享52周產假

單車徑總長度

香港:約220公里
哥本哈根:約390公里

2017年失業率

香港:2.9%
哥本哈根:5.7%

個人入息稅

香港:15%
哥本哈根:37 – 53%

米芝蓮星級食府數目

香港:63家
哥本哈根:15家

國泰航空於5月2日推出由香港飛往哥本哈根的季節航班服務

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Denmark

Is this Europe’s happiest city?

The citizens of Denmark are universally envied for their quality of life, buoyant disposition – and their sublime capital city. JAMES CLASPER shows us how to do it like a Dane in Copenhagen. Photos by ULF SVANE

There’s a bar in Copenhagen that takes 15 minutes to pour a pint of Carlsberg. That’s because it’s ‘slow beer’ – pilsner piped through an old Czech spigot to give it a smoother, creamier taste. And it feels very Copenhagen. The delightfully laidback Danish capital moves at a much slower pace than most cities.

Just look at how residents get around. Some 62 per cent cycle to school or work every day. (The majority cycle in winter, too – aka ‘Viking biking’.) And a quarter of families ferry their kids around in a cargo bike. The city has more than 390 kilometres of cycle lanes, the vast majority of which are safely segregated from traffic.

To feel like a local, then – and to kickstart the perfect weekend in Copenhagen – jump on a bike. It’s almost always the fastest way to get from A to B. (Prefer getting around on foot? Copenhagen is a compact city, and you can walk almost everywhere. Better still, several streets in the city centre are completely pedestrianised.)

Copenhagen may be pancake-flat, but all that pedalling can be exhausting, so the perfect weekend should start with a proper breakfast. And that means freshly baked bread, pastries and coffee. Usually, we’d pop out to pick up some rye bread and a cinnamon roll. But let’s treat ourselves and head to Juno, an artisanal bakery whose cardamom rolls draw long lines out the door. Or let’s head to The Corner, a cafe in Christianshavn, the city’s canal quarter, whose pastries also have a cult following. That’s because they’re coated in fermented beef glaze and coffee kombucha – exotic concoctions cooked up in the ‘fermentation labs’ the cafe shares with Noma, the restaurant that put the city on the culinary map. (More on that later.)

Suitably nourished, we’ll head into town, crossing the Inner Harbour Bridge – one of five bridges that allow cyclists and pedestrians to easily navigate this port city. (Our favourite is the Circle Bridge – designed by Danish-Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson, the supports of its overlapping circular segments resemble the masts of a ship.) These bridges typify Copenhagen’s desire to be one of the world’s healthiest cities. Making it attractive to walk or cycle is part of that ambition.

Once in town, we’ll steer clear of the tourist traps – like the royal palace Amalienborg and The Little Mermaid statue – and head to less-feted attractions such as the art galleries of the meatpacking district or the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, an art museum with a charming winter garden and sculpture collection.

Alternatively, we might visit the Botanical Garden, home to Denmark’s largest scientific collection of plants (plus a greenhouse whose tropical temperatures attract shivering locals all year round). Or we’ll head to the trendy neighbourhood of Nørrebro and stroll through Assistens Kirkegaard, the tree-lined cemetery where Hans Christian Andersen is buried, followed by a mooch along Jægersborggade, with its charming cobblestones and trendy boutiques (which shut at 2pm on Saturday – remember what I said about laidback?).

By now it’s lunchtime. If we’re on the go, we’ll grab a hotdog – the Danish fast food for almost a century. Our favourite vendor is John’s Hotdog Deli in – where else? – the meatpacking district. But if time permits, we’ll head to Restaurant Palægade for a modern take on smørrebrød, the traditional open-face sandwich.

Perhaps you’re wondering how we’ve got the energy for this. The answer is our healthy work-life balance, or what the country’s official website calls ‘the Danish way’. You see, Danes enjoy a huge amount of flexibility at work, such as being able to choose whether to work from home or when to arrive at the office. Little wonder that, according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Danes work fewer hours on average than most: 1,410 annually, or 27 hours a week. (And only two per cent of employees in Denmark work more than 50 hours a week, compared to the average of 13 per cent.)

It’s easy to spot evidence of our work-life balance. By 4pm on weekdays, most people are heading home. (Signs at Copenhagen’s busiest railway stations remind commuters that rush hour starts at 3:30pm and ends at 5pm.) Employees also get at least five weeks of paid holiday every year, plus extended, paid parental leave. No wonder Denmark topped a recent index of global workforce happiness.

In fact, Danes are routinely ranked as among the world’s most contented people. In the latest UN World Happiness Report, it comes third after Finland and Norway – a ranking unlikely to cause Danes much concern or envy of their Nordic neighbours because, well, they’re Danish. They have low levels of income inequality, a solid social safety net provided by the welfare state and a high level of trust. Then there’s the Danish concept of hygge. Roughly speaking, it means cosiness or conviviality – that warm, fuzzy feeling you get from simple pleasures such as spending time with friends. And it’s what Meik Wiking, head of the Happiness Research Institute – yes, it really exists – calls ‘the overlooked ingredient in the recipe for Danish happiness’.

Of course, candles are the crucial ingredient of hygge – and Danes are Europe’s biggest consumers of them, burning about six kilos per person every year. To stock up, we’ll head to an interior design shop such as Dansk, Dora or Hay. (But we’ll resist the temptation to splurge on yet more stylish ceramics or designer furniture. They may be beautiful, but we like to keep our small apartments uncluttered.)

Having hit the shops, it’s time for a swim in the harbour. Yes, the water’s clean enough. The only issue is the temperature. But if we cycle to La Banchina, a waterside restaurant on the outskirts of the city, we can leap off its jetty before warming up in its wood-fired sauna.

Alternatively, we might putter round the harbour in a GoBoat. They’re solar-powered, easy to use and equipped with a picnic table. Having planned ahead, we’ll have snacks from Torvehallerne food market and wine from importers Rosforth & Rosforth. Under one of the harbour bridges, it offers free tastings on Saturday afternoons and specialises in natural wine – ‘juice’ made with minimal intervention and fermented only with naturally existing yeast. It’s all the rage in Copenhagen today. To see what the fuss is about, head to Ved Stranden 10, whose sommeliers will find you something fun from one of the dozen bottles they’ve got open.

By now, it’s time for dinner. Ideally, we’ve got a reservation at Noma 2.0. Launched 15 years ago, it established a style of cuisine based on local and seasonal ingredients, and was named the best restaurant in the world four times. Having closed the original Noma last year, chef René Redzepi reopened it on a new site in February – and it’s once again the hottest table in town. In fact, the waiting list is 40,000-strong, so odds are we’re eating elsewhere. (Our bank manager will thank us: dinner costs 2,250 Danish krone – almost HK$3,000 – and that’s excluding wine.)

Copenhagen-11

Fortunately, the cuisine that Redzepi pioneered, New Nordic, has long since spread to other restaurants, while numerous Noma alumni have opened places of their own. A case in point is Amass, which former head chef Matt Orlando launched in 2014. Located in a spectacular, graffiti-painted industrial space in edgy Refshaleøen, it serves seasonal dishes that won’t break the bank. Another local favourite is Spisehuset, a cosy restaurant tucked down a backstreet in the meatpacking district. It offers fuss-free, inventive dishes made with organic and biodynamic ingredients.

That’s a sign of the times, too: from supermarkets to restaurants to public institutions, better, more sustainable food is everywhere now (astonishingly, almost 90 per cent of the food served in the city’s public institutions is organic).

After dinner, we’ll seek out some live music – perhaps the Sunday night jam session at jazz club La Fontaine. Then we’ll have a nightcap at a værtshus, a traditional drinking den, such as Vinstue 90, home of the ‘slow beer’. The lights will be low and the air smoky (thanks to a loophole in the law, smoking is permitted in some small bars). And the city’s health department certainly wouldn’t approve. But then again, the slogan of its official health plan is ‘Enjoy life, Copenhageners’. And you know what? We do.

Is it better to be a Hongkonger or a Dane?

Hygge can only go so far. If it were just a matter of adding a few candles, Hongkongers would be just as ‘happy’ as Danish citizens. How do their lives differ?

Average hours worked per week

Hong Kong: 50.1 hours
Copenhagen: 39 hours

Average air quality

Hong Kong: 29 micrograms of PM2.5 pollution per cubic metre
Copenhagen: 11.1 micrograms of PM2.5 pollution per cubic metre

Annual leave

Hong Kong: 7-14 days, plus local holidays
Copenhagen: Five weeks, plus local holidays

Paid parental leave

Hong Kong: 10 weeks maternity; three days paternity
Copenhagen: 52 weeks, shared between partners

Kilometres of cycle lanes

Hong Kong: Estimated 220 kilometres
Copenhagen: Estimated 390 kilometres

Unemployment rate in 2017

Hong Kong: 2.9%
Copenhagen: 5.7%

Personal income taxes

Hong Kong: 15%
Copenhagen: 37-53%

Number of Michelin-starred restaurants

Hong Kong: 63
Copenhagen: 15

Cathay Pacific launches a seasonal service to Copenhagen from Hong Kong on 2 May

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book