歐洲

歐洲最好的大學校園

論文、知識份子和酒吧 ── 在歐洲讀書和生活,讓你浸潤在全人教育的博雅氛圍中

數以十萬計的大學生剛剛迎來新學期。現代大學的起源可追溯至11世紀的歐洲,當時的年輕人會跟隨傑出學者學習,準備日後投身法律界或在宮廷中從政。

昔日出現的大學,至今依然屹立,與當年唯一的分別,是現在吸引了全球各地的莘莘學子前來就讀。就以英國的劍橋大學為例,國際學生的人數於過去七年已上升約兩成,現時全校接近20,000名學生當中,就有約1,600人來自海外。

入讀這些歷史悠久的學術殿堂,即使是對當地的年青人來說,也會感到誠惶誠恐。那麼對於來自地球另一邊的新鮮人來說,又有怎樣的體驗?我們邀請幾位現正就讀的學生和舊校友,請他們講述在著名的古老學府求學時的感受。

閱讀更多歐洲旅遊文章:

意大利,博洛尼亞大學

1088年創校

撰文:張潔瑩,設計、時裝及奢侈品工商管理碩士,2015至2016年畢業

我從來沒有打算到海外留學。畢竟,我在香港生活安穩無憂,某程度上更可說是太過安穩。因此,我決定走出安逸,到其他地方去增廣見聞。

no credit

博洛尼亞大學自創校以來一直不斷教學,是西方世界現存最古老的大學,校友包括詩人但丁,以及修讀醫科兩年後退學的Giorgio Armani。我們每天大部分時間都在於16世紀建成、有如豪華宅邸的校舍裡度過;校園內遍佈中世紀建築、畫作和雕塑,成為學生日常生活的一部分。

國際學生不斷前來,為這個古城傾注活力,但同時又未被遊客擠得水洩不通。四方區一帶的橫街窄巷,藏著無數寶藏,包括街頭賣藝人和小酒館。我最喜歡有500年歷史的Osteria del Sole酒吧,以供應葡萄酒為主;我們進行小組討論時,都會來這裡,這家酒吧可說對我們的學業極有幫助。

在外地生活從來也不容易,尤其是在非英語國家。我們將母語、習以為常的文化背景和已有的成就拋開之後,到底還剩下什麼足以讓我們在說服世界之餘更能夠說服自己,我們仍然有能力實踐理想?唯有不斷接受挑戰,我們方能建立自信。這是我從我深愛的博洛尼亞大學帶走的最寶貴一課。

對新鮮人的建議:「積極投入城市生活」

張潔瑩現於米蘭一家數碼市場推廣機構 任項目經理

巴黎,索邦大學

1150年創校

撰文:鄭俊勤,哲學史、形上學及現象學哲學碩士,將於2019年6月畢業

我於2017年從香港中文大學畢業後,決定負笈法國升學。我當時雖已學習法語數年,對這個國家的認知卻只流於表面。當我抵達巴黎時,對當地的多元文化大感驚訝,對這座城市的面貌亦感到非常陌生。我對花都的印象都是來自書籍和照片,以為這裡是個到處遍佈19世紀建築的浪漫之都,但原來市內亦有許多新型建築物,風格與高雅的古典主義完全無關。

我在巴黎第四大學(亦即是人稱的索邦大學)就讀,箇中的體驗既如我所料,但又十分獨特。我在此學習許多以前並不認識的事物,例如阿拉伯哲學。法國與香港學者的學術取向大相逕庭,例如17世紀的神學家BlaisePascal是法國學術傳統當中一個重要人物,但他在英語國家卻並未受到同等的重視。我還要學習法式研究方法,包括嚴謹論證和文本精讀,還需要做explication de texte(即文本剖析)的功課;這種功課要求學生將大段的文本分拆成多個小段落,藉此分析各個理念之間彼此關聯的脈絡。我又要學習如何建構problématique,即是研究的論題,也就是怎樣提出一連串的論證,這種方法對於學術寫作非常重要。

雖然索邦大學歷史悠久,地位崇高,卻沒有給人一種高不可攀的感覺。我和同班同學均視彼此為追求知識的同道中人,而非競爭對手,因此我們可以坦誠而自由地進行討論。這份自由、平等和博愛的精神,正是對法國共和價值的精確詮釋。

給新鮮人的建議:「踏出令你感到安逸的舒適區,融入法國社會」

英國,劍橋大學

1209年創校

撰文:Sijia Jiang,政治哲學碩士,2011至2012年畢業

由聖約翰學院的嘆息橋,以至國王學院禮拜堂的歌德式建築,都可見到這座中世紀大學城處處洋溢永恆之美。你甚至可租一艘平底船沿著劍河而上,再走到當年為牛頓遮蔭的蘋果樹下看看;相傳他正是坐在樹下,推敲出萬有引力理論。劍橋有無數值得懷念的人和事,如此醉人的仲夏午後,只是其中之一。

作為劍橋學生,意味著身邊盡是古今傳奇偉人的蹤影與事跡。你現在住著的房間,可能曾經是美國詩人Sylvia Plath的宿舍;或者前往英國生物學家Francis Crick宣佈發現DNA的The Eagle酒吧暢飲。我有一次更曾見到霍金前往他最喜愛的中菜館去。無論在課堂上還是酒吧裡,都同樣可以聽到不少令人茅塞頓開的言論。

劍橋學生與牛津大學(以及《哈利波特》的霍格華茲魔法學校)的學生一樣,最典型的體驗是前往「舍堂」出席學院的正式晚宴,學生全體一律身披黑色長袍,走進燭光搖曳的飯堂內,先以拉丁語作感恩禱告,然後在長桌前就席。

劍橋的階級制度非常分明,許多幾個世紀前訂下的古老規矩,至今仍然保留。例如除了院士以外,其他人均不可踏足學院的草坪。每逢冬季,夜晚特別長,還有從遠處北海吹過來的刺骨寒風,但划艇隊成員依然會於早上6時前起床,在劍河上練習,應付每年春季在倫敦舉行的年度划艇比賽,與牛津大學一決高下。

給新鮮人的建議:「不妨嘗試划艇,最少試一次……」

Sijia Jiang是路透社的記者

德國,海德堡大學

1386年創校

撰文:李昕,語言學碩士,2011至2013年畢業

美國小說家馬克吐溫曾形容海德堡在日間「美麗不可方物」,而在夜晚更猶如「銀河落九天」。他在這裡克服創作瓶頸,內卡河賦予他創作《頑童歷險記》的靈感,而他旅居這個德國西南部城市的歲月,則記錄於《A Tramp Abroad》一書。馬克吐溫絕非唯一一位在這座古城覓得繆思的訪客,多個世紀以來,無數作家、藝術家和學者,包括歌德和Josephvon Eichendorff,都曾在城中的鵝卵石街道上蹓躂,觀賞醉人的浪漫風光,並到訪德國最古老大學的講堂。

Stephen Louis

海德堡大學是德國頂尖學府之一,學生人數佔全城人口五分之一。不妨圍繞舊城區漫步,以Universitätsplatz大學廣場為起點,前往Old University舊大學大樓的大學博物館,以及洋溢新文藝復興建築風格的Alte Aula禮堂;這是大學的主要禮堂,經常舉行公開音樂會和講座。學生監獄(對,你沒有看錯)隱藏在某條窄巷裡,於1778年至1914年間用來囚禁行為不檢的學生。你可走進牢房裡,參觀當年的「囚犯」留下大量有趣的塗鴉。

整體而言,海德堡城市本身和大學的氛圍都頗為親切。城中的主要大道是歐洲其中一條最長的購物街,沿途不乏口味地道的餐廳,而Zeughaus-Mensa im Marstall學生飯堂更是備受讚譽的食府。餐廳位於昔日的皇家馬廄裡,被譽為全德國最出色的學生飯堂。結束一天行程前,可到海德堡城堡或「哲學家之路」散步,欣賞迷人的城市風光,或是前往學生最愛的酒吧街Untere Strasse晚酌一杯。

給新鮮人的建議:「加入『verein』(俱樂部),可令你的社交生活更豐富」

李昕現於香港出版界工作

國泰航空設有由香港飛往歐洲13個航點的航線,詳情請瀏覽 cathaypacific.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Europe

Europe’s best university towns

The essays. The intellects. The pubs. Studying – and living – in Europe is a full-on education

Hundreds of thousands of university students have just begun a new term. The modern university traces its origins to 11th century Europe, when young men would gather around eminent scholars as a preparation for a life in the law or royal courts.

The universities that came into being still stand: only now they attract young men and women from all over the globe. As a single example, some 1,600 students out of almost 20,000 at Cambridge in England are drawn from overseas, an increase of around 20 per cent over the past seven years.

Entering these ancient seats of learning can be intimidating enough for a local youth. So what’s the experience like for overseas newcomers? We asked students past and present for their impressions.

More Europe travel stories:

University of Bologna, Italy

Founded 1088

By HEIDI CHEUNG, MBA in design, fashion and luxury goods, 2015-2016

Studying abroad had never been on my checklist. After all, I had a stable life in Hong Kong – somehow too stable. So I decided to do something out of my comfort zone.

Europe universities

Bologna is the oldest continuously operating university in the Western world. Alumni range from the poet Dante to designer Giorgio Armani (who studied medicine for two years before dropping out). We spent most of our time in the 16th century villa/campus, where the medieval architecture, paintings and sculptures became part of everyday life.

The constant influx of international students keeps this historical city alive, yet not tourist-crowded. The Quadrilatero area leads to narrow alleys full of hidden gems – including street performers and trattoria. My favourite is the 500-year-old pub Osteria del Sole. It mainly serves wine – a big help in our group project discussions.

Living abroad is never easy, especially in a non-English-speaking country. After taking away our mother tongue, default cultural settings and established successes, what’s left in us to convince the world – and ourselves – that we’re capable of achieving goals? Only by constantly taking on challenges can we build confidence. This was the greatest lesson that I took away from my beloved Bologna.

Advice to new students: ‘Throw yourself into city life’

Heidi Cheung is a project manager at a digital marketing agency in Milan

Sorbonne, Paris

Founded 1150

By CHENG TSUN-KAN. Master Philosophie: histoire de la philosophie, métaphysiques, phénoménologie, graduates June 2019

In 2017, after graduating from the Chinese University of Hong Kong, I decided to continue my studies in France, a country that I knew only superficially. I had been learning French for a few years but on arriving I was still shocked by the cultural diversity and the unfamiliarity of the cityscape. My Paris was from books and pictures: a romantic capital dominated by 19th century architecture.

Europe universities

But there are also many new buildings which do not follow the same styles of elegance and classicism.

Studying at the University of Paris – better known as the Sorbonne – is both expected and unique. I study things that were unknown to me, such as Arabic philosophy. The orientation of French scholars differs greatly from those in Hong Kong. For example, 17th century theologian Pascal is an important figure in the French intellectual tradition while in the Anglophone world he does not enjoy the same degree of importance. I had to learn the French method: rigorous argumentation and the close reading of texts. I was given tasks called explication de texte, where you are required to break up paragraphs into subparts to analyse the interconnection of ideas. I was taught how to come up with a problématique, a guide for a chain of reasoning that’s essential to academic writings.

Despite the long history and reputation of the Sorbonne, it doesn’t feel elitist. My coursemates and I see each other as intellectual counterparts rather than rivals and we discuss ideas freely and openly. This sense of liberty, equality and fraternity exactly defines the French republican values.

Advice to new students: ‘Step out of your comfort zone and get into French society’

Cambridge, England

Founded 1209

By SIJIA JIANG, MPhil in politics, 2011-2012

From the Bridge of Sighs at St John’s College to the gothic King’s College Chapel, the medieval university town’s beauty is timeless. You can even rent a punt and go up the River Cam, and walk to the apple tree beneath which Isaac Newton allegedly evolved his theory of gravity. Such wine-fuelled summer afternoons are just some of many memories that are uniquely Cambridge.

Europe universities

Being a student at Cambridge means being surrounded by legends, past and living. One could stay in a room once occupied by Sylvia Plath and drink at The Eagle, where Francis Crick announced the discovery of DNA. I once saw Stephen Hawking going into his favourite Chinese restaurant. You’re just as likely to overhear or have a stimulating conversation in the local pubs as you are in the classroom.

The quintessential student experience at Cambridge, as at Oxford (and Hogwarts), is going to ‘hall’ – formal college dinners, where everyone wears black gowns and sits at long tables in candlelit dining halls after saying grace in Latin.

Cambridge can be strangely hierarchical, with many archaic rules having survived over the centuries. The colleges’ lawns are not to be stepped on – unless you are a Fellow. Once winter hits, it means long nights and a biting wind that whisks in from the distant North Sea. But the rowing crews still get up before 6am to train on the River Cam for the annual, fiercely contested boat race against Oxford, held in London, every spring.

Advice to new students: ‘Try rowing (at least once…)’

Sijia Jiang is a journalist at Reuters

Heidelberg, Germany

Founded 1386

By NIKKI LEE, MA in linguistics, 2011-2013

The American writer Mark Twain described Heidelberg as ‘the last possibility of the beautiful’ by day, and ‘a fallen Milky Way’ by night. It was also where he overcame writer’s block – the Neckar river gave him ideas for The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, while his time in the southwestern German city was documented in A Tramp Abroad. Twain was not the only visitor to find inspiration here; over the centuries writers, artists and scholars including Goethe and Joseph von Eichendorff have strolled its cobblestone streets, marvelled at romantic panoramas and visited the halls of Germany’s oldest university.

Europe universities
Stephen Louis

The university is one of the country’s highest-ranking institutions. Its students also make up one fifth of the city’s population. Take a walk around the Old Town, starting at Universitätsplatz to visit the Old University, which houses the University Museum and the Alte Aula, the school’s main hall in a neo-Renaissance style, where public concerts and lectures are frequently held. Hidden in a narrow alley is the student jail – yes, you read it right: a prison for misbehaving students. Enter the cells to discover colourful graffiti by ‘prisoners’ between 1778 and 1914.

Overall, both city and university are pretty friendly. There is no shortage of authentic restaurants along the main street (also one of Europe’s longest shopping streets), but the Zeughaus-Mensa im Marstall canteen is a gem. The student canteen, housed in the former royal stables, has been hailed the best in Germany. Finish the day with a visit to Heidelberg Castle or the Philosopher’s Walk for a mesmerising view of the city, or join the students at their favourite bar street Untere Strasse for a nightcap.   

Advice to new students: ‘Join a verein (club) – it can go a long way in building your social life’

Nikki Lee works in the publishing industry in Hong Kong

Cathay Pacific flies to 13 destinations in Europe. For details, visit cathaypacific.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book