健康與保健

值得遠道前往參與的超級馬拉松

健康資訊記者推介她至愛的跑步賽事

在本月,如果你想參加馬拉松賽事,可以選擇在香港、大阪、吉隆坡、台北、杜拜或廈門參賽。以上列舉的,不過是亞洲舉行的賽事。

世界各地的大型賽事與日俱增,吸引不少旅客特地前往參加,除了馬拉松以外,還有超級馬拉松、垂直跑、十公里賽事,以及不少稀奇古怪的賽事。在柏林,你可跑經多個極具歷史意義的地點;至於在巴黎,你可穿過凱旋門勇往直前;在威爾斯,你可以跟馬匹一較高下;而在法國波爾多Médoc酒區馬拉松,跑手可邊跑邊品嚐23間酒莊的佳釀。

以下是一些值得專誠飛往當地參與的跑步賽事。

紅牛400

日期:5月至10月

地點:世界各地

Jason Halayko/Red Bull Content Pool

這項由17場激烈比賽組成的賽事,有「世上最艱辛的400米賽跑」之稱。參加者須跑上法國滑雪勝地Courchevel和俄羅斯索契冬季奧運會跳台滑雪項目使用的滑道;或者舉步維艱地攀上加拿大威斯勒呈35度角的斜坡,甚至乾脆手腳並用,挑戰土耳其以至日本的陡峭賽道。

撒哈拉沙漠馬拉松

日期:2019年4月5至15日

地點:撒哈拉沙漠

Josuef Photo

六日六夜、六段傳統馬拉松賽程,加上無止盡的烈日——這就是撒哈拉沙漠馬拉松了。這項超級馬拉松賽事的賽道橫跨撒哈拉沙漠,約1,000名跑手穿越沙丘、鹽沼和石灘等地帶,勇闖全長251公里的路線之餘,同時需要攜帶食物。來到賽事後段,你的雙腳必定纏滿紗布或貼滿藥水膠布,因此主辦單位亦建議跑手穿著寬鬆的跑鞋。

長城馬拉松

日期:2019年5月18日

地點:中國北部

狹窄的羊腸小徑、崎嶇不平的路面、沒完沒了的梯級和陡峭的山坡,令中國的長城馬拉松無比艱辛。然而,在這個偉大的建築奇蹟上跑步以及踏足鄉郊小村落,已是這項賽事極具吸引力的特色,因此每年都有約2,500名跑手不畏艱苦,前來參賽。賽事進行期間氣溫甚高,沿途的5,164級石階不單令你汗如雨下,而且更令你登高望遠,飽覽附近的美景。

巴克利馬拉松

日期:3月下旬至4月上旬

地點:美國田納西州Frozen Head State Park州立公園

巴克利馬拉松以過程極其艱辛而聞名,2018年甚至沒有跑手能夠跑畢全程。這項使人筋疲力竭的賽事全長160公里(另有全程97公里的「輕鬆跑」供人選擇),途中有接近18公里是異常艱辛的上坡路段。參賽跑手必須於賽道上連續跑五圈,而每圈必須於12小時內完成。看到這樣的比賽條件依然躍躍欲試的話,還需要一點運氣才能成功參賽,因為賽事只有40個名額。你需要提交一篇文章,說明為何你應當入選,並繳交1.6美元(12.5港元)報名費,然後就看你是否夠運成為主辦單位形容為「不幸中選」的其中一人了。

吳哥窟國際半程馬拉松

日期:2019年12月

地點:柬埔寨暹粒

跑手沿著環繞多座寺廟的泥路而跑,最後抵達名列聯合國教科文組織世界遺產的吳哥窟古蹟外面。除了半馬拉松,比賽亦設有十公里和三公里項目。賽事收益將撥捐兒童醫院和援助地雷受害者;此外還設有可供坐輪椅或裝配義肢的選手參加的特殊賽事。

北極馬拉松

日期:2019年4月9日

地點:北極

Mark Conlon/North Pole Marathon

這可說是一項透心涼的賽事,跑手需要飛往挪威的斯瓦爾巴,然後前往位於極地浮冰上的北極營地,在攝氏零度以下的嚴寒氣溫裡,完成十圈共42公里的賽事。跑手極有可能患上低溫症、生凍瘡甚至碰上北極熊,他們也往往會於兩圈賽事之間躲進設有暖氣的帳篷裡稍歇,暫避惡劣的天氣,並讓體力回復。參賽還有另一個嚴苛的條件,就是參加者需付16,000歐元(143,000港元)比賽費用。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

Epic Marathons Worth a Trip

Fitness journalist DANAE MERCER rounds up her bucket-list runs

This month, you can run a marathon in Hong Kong, Osaka, Kuala Lumpur, Taipei, Dubai or Xiamen. And that’s just in Asia.

For travellers, there is an ever-growing number of epic races around the world – not just marathons, but ultra-marathons, vertical climbs, 10Ks and some very strange races indeed. In Berlin, you can jog past historic memorials; in Paris, you run under the Arc de Triomphe; while in Wales, you run against a horse. Le Marathon de Médoc runners get to taste 23 wines along the way.

Here are a selection of running challenges worth flying for.

Red Bull 400

When: May-October

Where: Worldwide

Participants compete in the Red Bull 400 at the Okurayama Ski Marathon, Jump Stadium in Sapporo,
Jason Halayko/Red Bull Content Pool

 The vicious 17-race series is often called the ‘toughest 400-metre race in the world’. You run up ski jumps used for Winter Olympics in Courchevel and Sochi, trudge through a 35-degree incline in Whistler, or surrender to climbing on all fours on courses from Turkey to Japan with dozens of other competitors.

Marathon des Sables

When: 5-15 April 2019

Where: Sahara desert

marathon
Josuef Photo

Six days, six marathons and endless sun – such are the conditions of the Marathon des Sables, an ultra-marathon across the Sahara desert. Around 1,000 runners brave 251 kilometres while carrying food and supplies. Terrain spans sand dunes, salt flats and stony desert tracks. By the end, you can expect heavily bandaged feet. Race organisers advise wearing roomy shoes.

Great Wall Marathon

When: 18 May 2019

Where: Northern China

Small goat trails, uneven paths, relentless stairs and brutal hills all make China’s Great Wall Marathon incredibly difficult. Yet the allure of jogging over the manmade wonder and into smaller villages entices some 2,500 runners every year. Temperatures are high, but the 5,164 steps will take you higher.

Barkley Marathon

When: Late March to early April

Where: Frozen Head State Park, Tennessee

There were no finishers in the notoriously difficult Barkley Marathon in 2018. This gruelling 160-kilometre course (also available is a 97-kilometre ‘fun run’) involves a punishing total ascent of nearly 18 kilometres. The race is run in five consecutive loops – each must be finished in under 12 hours. Still tempted? Good luck getting one of the 40 slots. You’ll need to write an essay on why you should run the marathon, submit US$1.60 (HK$12.5) and hope to become what race organisers call ‘one of the unfortunate few chosen’.

Angkor Wat International Half Marathon

When: December 2019

Where: Siem Reap, Cambodia

Runners follow dirt paths around numerous temples before ending up outside the Unesco World Heritage site of Angkor Wat. There are also ten- and three-kilometre races. Proceeds go to children’s hospitals and victims of landmines, while special race categories also accommodate athletes in wheelchairs or those with artificial limbs.

North Pole Marathon

When: 9 April 2019

Where: North Pole

North Pole Marathon
Mark Conlon/North Pole Marathon

This cool race requires flying into Svalbard, Norway, then travelling to the North Pole camp on arctic ice floes. Next come 10 laps of a 4.2-kilometre loop in sub-zero temperatures. Hypothermia, frostbite and even polar bears are all real risks, and runners often nip into a heated tent between laps to recover from the harsh conditions. There’s one extra harsh condition – the fee of 16,000 euros (HK$143,000).   

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book