倫敦

倫敦的浪漫

邱園不僅是瑰麗迷人的植物大觀園,亦是科學新知的翹楚,更與大自然一樣不斷進化,生生不息

春日陽光下的皇室婚禮、初雪的海德公園,以至荷李活演員Hugh Grant的情聖形象;英國人或許並非世界公認最感情豐富的民族,但當倫敦要浪漫起來時,亦可非常動人。相信即使是哈里王子的祖先亦不會質疑,在首都之內,難有其他地方及得上魅力懾人的邱園

這個花園位處倫敦西部,佔地極廣,既有經悉心修葺的花圃,亦有生趣盎然的野花,這裡更遍植了珍稀樹木,當中不乏由搜羅自世界各地的樹苗生長而成,產地遠至馬達加斯加、中國、秘魯和南非,而樹下則是英國本土植物的世界,包括毛地黃、玫瑰和紫羅蘭等,爭妍鬥麗。

© RBG Kew

在亞洲睡蓮滿佈的湖泊上,垂柳隨風搖曳;石牆圍繞的花園裡,來自南美洲的粉色花卉正開得燦爛;還有樹蔭夾道的小徑,則通往野生紫羅蘭盛開的叢林。此外,園內有不少聯合國教科文組織保育的建築點綴其中,建築內是培植花卉的溫室和雅致的咖啡館,眼前盡是詩情畫意。

現在我們又有多一個理由造訪邱園。被視為園中瑰寶的溫帶植物室,經過耗資4,100萬英鎊(4.13億港元)的徹底翻新後,於近日重新開幕,再度躋身倫敦最教人驚艷的建築之一。

溫帶植物室由英國建築師Decimus Burton於1860年設計,自建造以來一直是全球規模最大的溫室。走進室內,不論是宏偉的維多利亞式結構,抑或是高度及至玻璃屋頂、看起來顫巍巍的奇異植物,都令人目不暇給。

整項翻新工程歷時五年,動員超過1,000名技工,除了將10,000棵植物重新移植,並重新鋪設15,000塊玻璃外,亦修補了69,000處金屬、石材和木建材的破損。如把工程期間搭起的棚架並排,長度好比香港來回澳門三次的路程。翻新後的玻璃溫室天然光線充足,部分原因是園方把原來高至天花板的植物修剪妥當,或在原位改放較矮的植物。

這裡好些植物都隸屬國際保育項目,旨在保存其品種,或重新把它回歸大自然。其中一個例子是有「世上最孤獨的樹」之稱、來自南非的伍德蘇鐵。這個品種是侏羅紀時代的倖存者,現時已在野外滅絕,而這棵碩果僅存的雄株,亦只是複製自1899年落戶邱園的原有樹木。除非發現雌株,否則它將永遠無法自然繁殖。

James Green

由世界各地搜集得來的瀕危植物,在這片位於西倫敦一隅的土地落地生根,它們呈尖刺狀的樹葉和帶黏液的花卉,令我像維多利亞時代的訪客般好奇心大發,禁不住伸手觸碰。當中有來自毛里裘斯的非洲芙蓉樹,人們原本以為它已絕種,後來在毛里裘斯的高地被發現;而來自尼泊爾的西藏紅豆杉,則可用以製造抗癌藥物。

保育人士David Attenborough就住在附近,溫帶植物室是他在倫敦最喜歡的地方。他接受英國廣播公司《Today》節目訪問時表示:「我第一次到訪時,這裡的入場費才不過一便士,當時的職員卻不太情願招待公眾。後來我在英國廣播公司全職工作,每當我情緒低落時,總會在周末前來,呼吸這裡的熱帶氣息。」

他續道:「溫帶植物室的建築極其優雅,亦是全球其中一個最重要的植物研究機構。邱園內進行的許多研究工作是其他機構無法勝任的,如要辨識某個植物品種,這裡就是終極權威。植物與動物一樣有機會絕種,而這裡正是專家找出物種潛在問題和疾病的地方。」

Attenborough和許多當地居民一樣,過去五年對這座偉大的溫室念念不忘,現在它重開了,必定感受到舊地重遊的喜悅。他住在邱園附近的Kew Green區,當地的氣氛令人回想起大文豪Thomas Hardy和Jane Austen年代的英格蘭。在夏季,板球員在草地上練習,當地人也會走出木樑天花的古老酒吧,在陽光下暢飲蘋果酒或氈酒。邱園可說是當地人的後花園,年輕情侶不時在大樹下牽手散步,而到了秋季,父母亦會帶著孩子在落葉叢中嬉戲。

幸好,邱園內尚有許多其他景點,讓當地人在溫帶植物室閉館期間獲得慰藉。在伊利莎白大門附近有數個熱帶溫室,裡面種滿棕櫚樹,氤氳的蒸氣令眼鏡起霧,即使室外是英格蘭典型的濛濛冷雨天,室內亦溫暖得令人雙頰泛紅。此外,園內尚有佐治二世的行宮,還有以大面積玻璃建成的Orangery餐廳。餐廳前臨中式花園,嫩葉在微風裡輕輕搖曳,異國的樹木構成一道美麗的風景。

另一邊的邱園植物園林則種有14,000棵樹木。管理員Tony Kirkham是中國樹木的專家,他帶我參觀一株稀有的木蘭樹,而其樹苗是他40多年前在成都附近帶回來的,至於旁邊另一棵更為高大的木蘭樹,早於1898年已扎根邱園。他將中國譽為「花園之母」,皆因當地樹木品種繁多,當中有不少需要保育。他愛惜地輕撫著樹幹說:「樹木在邱園相當安全,因為這裡是全球最大的天然寶庫之一。」

邱園另一個過人之處,是它既有一種昔日的氛圍,同時亦是現代植物學的翹楚。其研究設施包括儲存一系列植物遺傳基因的冷藏櫃,存放品種比亞馬遜盆地現有的還要多。另一房間則擺滿真菌試管,其中一個品種的酵素已證實可分解塑膠。進一步研究這種真菌,將有機會協助我們解決全球塑膠垃圾問題。

植物標本館有一道深紅色螺旋形階梯貫通各層,架上書籍多不勝數,猶如哈利波特魔法學校的圖書館,當中更收藏了全球四分之一植物的種子。Tim Utteridge是世界首屈一指的植物學家,他從書架上取下一本厚重的圖鑑,裡面收藏達爾文撰寫的《小獵犬號航海記》摘錄。乾硬的枝葉標本可追溯至1839年,標本底面更附有達爾文的手寫註解。

浪漫不但深藏於這段歷史當中,更是邱園每天上演的戲碼。數星期前,我的弟弟就在威爾斯公主溫室的巨型睡蓮和含苞待放的野生仙人掌下,與女友締結婚盟。婚禮後,我們走過鋪滿熱帶樹落葉的小徑,前往The Orangery餐廳。在那裡,我們翩翩起舞,透過落地玻璃窗,觀賞夕陽落在世上其中一座最宏偉、歷史最悠久的異國植物寶庫的壯麗景致。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往倫敦的航班,每周有42班

London

The Enduring Romance of London’s Kew Gardens

Kew Gardens is just as much a beautiful botanical showcase as it is a stalwart of scientific discovery. And like nature itself, it’s ever-evolving. Words by MELISSA TWIGG

Royal weddings in the spring sunshine; Hyde Park under the first snow of winter; Hugh Grant looking diffident. The English might not have a reputation for being the most emotional people on earth, but when London does romance, it does it beautifully. And as Prince Harry’s ancestors would no doubt agree, few places in the British capital feel quite as magical as Kew Gardens.

A mixture of wild, floral abandon and meticulous planning, these vast west London gardens are filled with extraordinary trees – many of which were brought as saplings from as far afield as Madagascar, China, Peru and South Africa. Nestling below them are very English banks of foxgloves, roses and violets.

The Shirley Sherwood Gallery of Botanical Art , London
© RBG Kew

There are weeping willows drifting over lakes covered in Asian waterlilies, walled gardens overflowing with pastel-coloured flowers from South America, and tree-lined pathways leading to woods drunk on wild violets. Dotted everywhere are UNESCO-preserved buildings filled with hothouse flowers and pretty cafes.

And there is now more reason to go, as the jewel in Kew’s crown has recently reopened after a serious makeover. The breathtakingly beautiful Temperate House has had a £41 million (HK$413 million) refurbishment and has regained its place as one of the most extraordinary buildings in London.

Designed by Decimus Burton in 1860, it has been the largest glasshouse in the world since its construction. Walking inside, it is difficult to know what to marvel at first – the imposing Victorian structure or the other-worldly plants that reach precariously towards the glass roof.

The refurbishment took five years, with 10,000 plants uprooted and replanted, 15,000 panes of glass replaced and 69,000 sections of metal, stone and timber repaired. There was enough scaffolding to stretch from Hong Kong to Macau three times over and more than 1,000 people working on the project. Light now floods into the glasshouse, partly because the tallest plants, which were brushing the ridge of the roof, have been pruned or replaced with shorter specimens.

Several of the plants in here are part of international conservation projects to preserve or reintroduce them in the wild. One is the South African cycad Encephalartos woodii, also known as the ‘loneliest tree in the world’. A survivor from the time of the dinosaurs, it is now extinct in the wild, and only this male specimen – a clone of the tree which arrived at Kew in 1899 – remains. Unless a female is found, it will never reproduce naturally.

James Green

Much like the Victorians who came before me, I touch the spiky leaves and sticky flowers of endangered plants that had crossed the world to get to this corner of west London. There’s the Dombeya mauritiana, a tree that was thought to be extinct before one was found in the highlands of Mauritius, and the Nepalese Taxus wallichiana – the source of an anti-cancer drug.

David Attenborough, the conservationist and a long-time nearby resident, has described the Temperate House as his favourite place in London. ‘I first came here when it cost a penny and the public were let in almost under sufferance,’ he told the BBC Today programme. ‘When I had an office job with the BBC, I used to come down at weekends when I was feeling really depressed and take a deep breath because there was the smell of the tropics here.

‘It’s a breathtakingly beautiful building and part of the most important botanic institution in the world. Kew does a lot of things nothing else can do – if you want to identify something, this is the ultimate authority. Plant species can go extinct just like animal species, and it’s here that they identify possible problems and diseases.’

Like many of Kew’s local residents, Attenborough missed the great glasshouse terribly over the last five years and will return to it with joy. He lives in nearby Kew Green, which harks back to the England of Thomas Hardy and Jane Austen. Cricketers play on the grass in summer and locals spill out of the wood-beam pubs to drink cider or Pimm’s in the sunshine. And everyone has a membership to Kew, where young couples often walk hand in hand under the imposing trees, and parents take their children to play in the autumn leaves.

And while the locals may have missed Temperate House, they have had plenty of other distractions. Near Elizabeth Gate are the tropical, palm-filled greenhouses that steam up your glasses and bring a flush to your cheeks, even as the English drizzle patters down outside. There is a palace King George II lived in, and the Orangery – a glass covered restaurant overlooking the Chinese garden, where the delicate leaves of very foreign-looking trees drift in the mild breeze.

Kew’s Arboretum houses 14,000 trees. Tony Kirkham, who oversees it, specialises in Chinese trees and shows me a rare magnolia he collected near Chengdu nearly 40 years ago as a sapling, alongside an even taller one that was brought to Kew in 1898. He talks of China as the ‘mother of gardens’, thanks to its extraordinary diversity of tree species, many of which urgently need to be preserved. ‘The trees are safe here, as they’re in one of the greatest natural libraries in the world,’ he said, with an almost fatherly rub on one of their trunks.

But Kew is also extraordinary in that it achieves that unusual mix of wonderfully evoking a past era while also being a world leader in modern botany. In its research facilities, a series of fridges contains the DNA of more plants than exist in the Amazon basin. Another room is covered in test-tube bottles of fungi – one of which has been found using its enzymes to break down plastic. Researching this fungus could help us solve the world’s plastic-waste problem.

Meanwhile, the Herbarium, all spiral scarlet staircases and Hogwarts-like rows of books, has a seed collection of 25 percent of all global flora. Tim Utteridge, one of the world’s leading botanists, shows me a vast tome containing cuttings from Darwin’s Voyage of the Beagle. The stiff sprigs of dried leaves date back to 1839, with Darwin’s sloping handwriting underneath.

There is something deeply romantic about this history, but romance also happens every day here – as my own family witnessed a few weeks ago, when my brother married his girlfriend amid the giant waterlilies and hot-headed flowering cactuses of the Princess of Wales Conservatory in Kew. Later we walked past the damp autumnal leaves of trees born in far hotter climes than this one, towards The Orangery glasshouse. There, we danced and watched the sun set over the greatest – and oldest – living library of exotic plant species in the world.

Cathay Pacific flies to London from Hong Kong 42 times a week