餐飲美食

尋訪會安秘菜

優美的越南會安古鎮由經商港口蛻變成美食勝地,孕育越式法包和高樓麵等眾多經典名菜,而且多是不可言傳的秘製菜式

香噴噴的法式麵包每天售3,000份。小食攤檔的員工嚴陣以待,將烤得暖烘烘的法包切開,再拿起筷子純熟地放入自家製肉醬、笑牛牌芝士、煙燻甜醬烤肉等一層層的餡料,最後撒下香氣撲鼻的新鮮芫荽葉作點綴。

在店前排隊的人有頭戴電單車頭盔和腳踏拖鞋的當地人和遊客,他們都耐心等待,只為一嚐Banh Mi Phuong店遠近馳名的越式法包。該店的名氣多少來自已故美國名廚Anthony Bourdain,他曾以「三文治中的交響樂」來盛讚其法包,在不大講究裝修的店舖入口以至法包的包裝紙上,你都會看到他到訪時試食的照片。

credit: Cedric Arnold

Banh Mi Phuong今日貴為名店,每日人頭湧湧,工作量排山倒海,難怪收銀機後的店主Phuong女士吝嗇笑容,人客更別指望有其他親切招呼。但若你有幸與會安安納塔拉度假村的行政副總廚Vinh Tran同行,保證能獲得店方例外的熱情款待。

為何會有此厚待?原來Phuong女士不只是人氣法包店店主,更曾是副總廚Vinh的老師。

話說1999年,會安的旅遊業才剛興起,身懷母親家傳食譜的Phuong,決定在市內舊熟食市場附近開設越式法包小攤檔。副總廚Vinh解釋:「她曾在學校執教鞭,同時兼顧製作和售賣越式法包的生意。她的秘訣是先將豬腩肉叉燒醃製24小時,然後加入酸瓜、肉醬、新鮮香草、秘製辣椒醬及沙律醬等材料。」

credit: Cedric Arnold

尋訪會安秘菜之一越式法包,可謂亞洲最愜意的美食旅程之一。你只管用鼻子帶路,循著舊式鑄鐵烤爐裡的麵包或烤架上的燒肉香氣,盡情穿梭於美食攤檔和食店之間。Madame Khanh, Banh Mi Queen是另一間越式法包名店,他們高調地以法包皇后自居,味道比Banh Mi Phuong店的法包稍辣。事實上會安的法包很少教人失望,店家總是採用新鮮食材及自家製肉醬和醬汁;何況它價廉物美,售價不足八港元,卻教人滋味無窮。

越式法包可說是會安的最佳象徵。它是不同文化和歷史匯聚的產物,反映會安曾是貿易港口的歷史,亞洲各地以至更遙遠的香料和食材,都曾在這個港口買賣。法包盛載著越南曾是法國殖民地的歷史,夾著由中國南方傳來的叉燒,再配合當地的香料,是一道精采美味的文化雜燴。其實在當地800多間食肆所奉上的其他名菜,也能找到同樣的多元文化,最典型的例子,莫過於會安的乾麵高樓麵。

越南每個城鎮似乎都有其特色麵食。舉鄰近的峴港市為例,便有廣南麵,它是一種加入薑黃的湯麵,口味清新。然而,最能代表越南麵食還是高樓麵,它包含甜、酸、鹹、苦和辣的味道,而且還有越南麵層次豐富的經典口感。

安納塔拉度假村一樓餐廳的早餐餐牌,便必備高樓麵,賓客可在開揚高雅的環境中一邊俯視秋盆河美景,一邊品嚐這道會安名菜,作為初嚐會安佳餚的入門。副總廚Vinh則愛到相隔舊城區北面幾條街外的食堂Quan Cao Lau Thanh,如賓客躍躍欲試,他絕不介意親自帶賓客在簡樸的矮膠椅就座,一同享用由八角及玉桂等多種香料熬製而成的滋味上湯。

高樓麵的樣子和口感皆與日本烏冬相似,皆因17世紀時往來會安的日本銀器商人,同時將家鄉小麥粉麵條帶到當地(這也解釋為何在會安會看到秀麗的日式橋樑)。高樓麵口感煙韌,是因為製麵所用的穀物浸泡過鎮中央的Ba Le古井井水,再混入由木灰提煉的鹼水。麵條加入黃薑粉後色澤微黃,與碗中桃木色的醬油豬肉片、翠綠的薄荷葉、芫荽和九層塔,以及雪白的芽菜相映成趣。最後,上湯調和碗中所有味道;香甜黏膩而且嗆辣的會安辣醬、手榨柑桔汁及金黃色的脆米餅,則使高樓麵錦上添花。

credit: Cedric Arnold

香脆的米餅對高樓麵有畫龍點睛之效。 副總廚Vinh表示,只有三個家族還保存著脆米餅的製作秘方,其中兩家位於鄉郊,會以機器造餅,只有以會安為基地的一家仍然堅持繁複的人手製作。

副總廚Vinh娓娓道來:「首先把米浸泡在水中至少八小時,待攪勻後以大鑊烹煮一小時,直至米糊呈現薄餅粉團般的質感,再蒸煮半小時。之後,工人將麵團搓開並以人手切割,再次蒸煮後將麵團放在太陽下曬乾。」在安納塔拉度假村附近,如果你沿市中心外圍的河畔漫步,便可看到鋪滿米餅的圓形竹篩,見證大廚所述的製作工序。

credit: Cedric Arnold

介紹會安的壓軸名菜,怎能不提在越南語稱為banh bao banh vac的餃子「白玫瑰」。白玫瑰狀似雲吞,與這道中國廣東省點心有異曲同工之妙,精巧的打摺讓它看起來就像一朵白玫瑰,因而得名。而製作高樓麵所用的Ba Le井水,亦是製作白玫瑰的重要材料之一,它不但令米皮晶瑩剔透,更令它的質感變得煙韌,經過蒸煮仍能保持優美形狀。

在會安舊城區外的White Rose餐廳,可以看到數位女工圍著一張大圓桌而坐,人手需少,她們的巧手卻能每天包出多達10,000隻白玫塊。她們工作時有說有笑,入夜後還有小孩在旁嬉戲,但完全無礙她們包出一隻又一隻的雲吞。

白玫瑰的產量如此龐大,是因為工人需向城中大小餐廳供貨。更不可思議的是,這班嫻熟的包餃子女工原來對豬肉及鮮蝦餡料的做法一無所知。

副總廚Vinh一邊用筷子撬開啤酒瓶,一邊解釋說:「白玫瑰用的全是秘製餡料。老闆製成餡料後,於大清早送到女工手上,然後馬不停蹄地包成白玫瑰。」

這些精緻的雲吞本身已美味十足,但要入鄉隨俗,便不能不蘸點調味料。白玫瑰的醬汁以魚露、辣椒、糖和檸檬製成,最後以炸紅蔥提升豐富的口感。如想自己親自操刀依法炮製,似乎並不可行。

會安名菜正是如此,秘方不可言傳,如想一嚐地道滋味,只能去會安一趟。

本文原於2019年7月刊登,並於20209月更新

會安名菜此中尋

Banh Mi Phuong2b Phan Chu Trinh, Cam Chau

Quan Cao Lau Thanh, 26 Thai Phien, Phuong Minh An

White Rose Restaurant, 533 Hai Ba Trung

會安安納塔拉度假村燈籠餐廳1 Pham Hong Thai Street

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Where to Eat Hoi An’s Legendary Dishes

The charming Vietnamese port of Hoi An is legendary for dishes like banh mi and cao lau – just don’t bother asking for the recipes

Every day up to 3,000 small baguettes are warmed, sliced and deftly filled by a line of chopstick-wielding staff who layer them with everything from homemade pâté to Laughing Cow cheese, sweet and smoky barbecued meats to aromatic curls of fresh coriander.

The line of customers – locals and visitors alike in moped helmets and flip flops – wait patiently, with good reason, as the sandwiches at Banh Mi Phuong are justly popular. That’s thanks in part to the late Anthony Bourdain, who called them ‘a symphony in a sandwich’ and whose photo features both above the modest entrance and on the paper used to wrap them.

credit: Cedric Arnold

But one thing rarely seen is a beaming smile from Madam Phuong herself behind the till, let alone a kiss being blown in your direction. You can understand why: the queue is relentless, and the work exhausting. But popping in with executive sous chef Vinh Tran from the Anantara Hoi An Resort elicits just that reaction.

Chef Vinh explains the warm response: Madam Phuong isn’t just the owner of Hoi An’s most popular banh mi shop. She was also once his schoolteacher.

‘She worked as a teacher but also made and sold banh mi,’ he says. Back in 1999, as tourism to Hoi An started picking up, she decided to take her mother’s recipes and set up a humble banh mi stand near the town’s old food market. ‘Madame Phuong marinates her char siu [barbecued pork belly] for 24 hours, and adds pickles, pâté, fresh herbs, secret chilli sauce, mayonnaise and more.’

credit: Cedric Arnold

Choosing your favourite Hoi An banh mi is one of Asia’s most fulfilling culinary journeys as you wander from stalls to shopfronts, following the aroma of bread warming on top of old cast iron ovens or the wafts of barbecued pork smoking on open grills. The not-especially-subtle branding of ‘Madam Khanh, Banh Mi Queen’ – generally a bit spicier than Banh Mi Phuong – is another popular choice, but the truth is that you really can’t go wrong in Hoi An. The ingredients are fresh, the pâtés and sauces are made in-house and the sensational sandwiches cost no more than HK$8.

The banh mi also perfectly represents Hoi An. It’s an emblematic mix of cultures and influences, reflecting how the ancient port traded in spices and ingredients from around Asia and further afield. The char siu-style pork originally from southern China is served in a baguette that’s a reminder of Vietnam‘s French colonial rule – while the herbs are undeniably local. That selfsame culinary cultural resonance can be seen in the other popular dishes found in many of Hoi An’s 800 or so eateries –  nowhere more so than in a bowl of cao lau.

Every town and city in Vietnam seems to have its own noodle dish. Nearby Da Nang favours mi quang – bright, fresh, turmeric-infused noodles. But it is Hoi An’s cao lau that tick all the boxes of Vietnamese flavours: sweet, sour, salty, bitter and hot – while not forgetting the crucial contrasting textures.

At the Anantara’s airy, elegant first-floor dining room overlooking the Thu Bon river, this dish is a staple on the breakfast menu and often the first reference point for visitors learning about Hoi An’s enticing food scene. Chef Vinh has his own favourite spot for the dish: Quan Cao Lau Thanh, just a few streets north of the Old Town. He’s happy to accompany curious guests there, joining them on low plastic stools to sip the sensational broth that features star anise, cinnamon and much more.

The noodles resemble and have a similar texture to Japanese udon because 17th-century Japanese silver traders frequented Hoi An – hence its photogenic Japanese Bridge – and brought their own wheat flour noodles with them. The noodles are chewy because the grains are first soaked in water drawn from the old Ba Le well in the middle of town, then mixed with lye, an alkaline substance derived from wood ash. Along with turmeric, it makes for a slightly yellow tinge that contrasts beautifully with the mahogany-coloured pork simmered in soy, the vibrant greens of mint, coriander and basil and the bright white threads of bean sprouts. The broth brings it all together, while the final flourish has to be the sweet, sticky, sharp Hoi An chilli sauce, a squeeze of calamansi and several golden-brown rice crackers.

credit: Cedric Arnold

Chef Vinh says only three families have the recipe for these critical, crunchy additions to the steaming bowls. Two families in the countryside use a machine to make the rice crackers, but the one in Hoi An still makes them by hand in a remarkably labour-intensive process.

‘The rice has to be left in water for a minimum of eight hours,’ says Chef Vinh. ‘They blend it until smooth and cook it in a big wok for an hour so it becomes like a pizza dough, then they steam it for 30 minutes, roll it out, cut it by hand and steam them again before letting them dry in the sun.’ A walk along the riverside near the Anantara, just outside the centre of town, proves his point as you see circular bamboo mats covered in countless crackers.

credit: Cedric Arnold

The final iconic dish from Hoi An is white rose dumplings, or banh bao banh vac. Originally inspired by the delicate dim sum of China’s Guangdong province, as their English name suggests they’re delicately teased in folds to look like white roses. The Ba Le well water that features in cao lau noodles is again part of the magic, mixed with rice flour to make casings that are almost translucent, but also with enough structure to retain their shape and bite when steamed.

A mind-blowing 10,000 a day are crafted by a small team of women sitting around a large circular table towards the back of the White Rose restaurant just outside of the Old Town. It’s communal work as they laugh and talk throughout, kids playing around them in the evening, their fingers a blur of movement as they craft perfect pleats time and again.

The reason they make so many is that this one spot also supplies restaurants all over town. But remarkably, the dumpling makers have no idea of the recipe for the pork and shrimp filling. As he prises open a bottle of beer with a chopstick, Chef Vinh explains:

‘It’s really another secret recipe. The owner makes the filling, it’s delivered early in the morning then left out for the ladies who craft them all day long.’

The dainty dumplings are sublime on their own but, as is often the case in Vietnam, the dish isn’t complete until it’s dipped or dunked in a sauce. For the white rose, its perfect condiment is made with fish sauce, chili, sugar and lemon, topped with crispy shallots for textural contrast. I wonder if I could ever replicate it at home.

This being Hoi An, however, the recipe is closed off to me: another closely guarded culinary secret. 

Where to Eat In Hoi An

Banh Mi Phuong2b Phan Chu Trinh, Cam Chau

Quan Cao Lau Thanh, 26 Thai Phien, Phuong Minh An

White Rose Restaurant, 533 Hai Ba Trung

Lanterns at the Anantara Hoi An1 Pham Hong Thai Street

Cathay Pacific flies to Ho Chi Minh City from Hong Kong 19 times a week; Cathay Dragon flies to Da Nang from Hong Kong seven times a week, and to Hanoi 12 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book