餐飲美食

Uwe Opocensky: 法蘭克福餐廳精選

香港名廚Uwe Opocensky介紹他的家鄉德國實而不華的美食和嶄新的烹飪風格,並由MARK JONES撰寫引言

Uwe Opocensky是香港餐飲業界紅人,曾於聲名顯赫的文華東方酒店擔任行政總廚多年,為酒店構思的菜式充滿創意和玩味,包括狀如花盆的蔬菜沙律。他其後加盟Beef& Liberty集團,現時更準備開設以他本人名字命名的高級食府。這趟美食之旅Uwe選擇返回其出生地德國法蘭克福,回味家鄉菜的風味。

談到歐洲的美食天堂,德國絕少榜上有名,或許現在是時候對德國菜作重新評價了。

Uwe說:「許多人都不知道德國擁有多姿多采的地方美食。傳統菜式如馬鈴薯丸、德國香腸、糕點和啤酒等,令人以為德國飲食並不健康。但事實上,這裡的餐廳亦會供應外國和新派菜。」事實上,德國的米芝蓮三星餐廳數目位居全球第二,僅次於榜首的法國和日本。

他又補充說:「除了美食,德國的葡萄酒亦別具一格,口感天然輕盈,果味和丹寧均衡圓融。大部分葡萄園都位於陡峭山坡上,尤其是萊茵河和莫澤河兩岸,受毗鄰的山林保護,可免受強風吹襲。」

「總括而言,德國菜包羅萬有,既保留昔日的烹飪傳統,又創造出別出心裁的新派菜式。」

Beef & Liberty餐廳剛於香港國際機場開幕,4月期間國泰航空及國泰港龍航空的乘客在餐廳用餐,只需出示登機證即可獲得85折優

Dönerboot

餐廳位於美茵河上一艘紅白相間的遊艇內,主打土耳其烤肉串和美味烤魚。這間別具一格的餐廳為當地船員供應午餐,實而不華的味道深得我心。
meral-event.de/das-dönerboot

Druckwasserwerk

這間特色餐廳曾是蒸汽機房,為附近碼頭的升降機和起重機提供動力。餐廳不但擁有有趣的歷史背景,還供應上乘美食,讓饕客一次過嚐遍德國傳統佳餚和新派美食。restaurant-druckwasserwerk.de

Heimat

這家餐廳的外觀宛如美式食店,德語稱之為trinkhalle。簡單的時令菜式和優質服務是其賣點,開放式廚房更是錦上添花。
cafelaumer.de

Cafe Laumer

這家咖啡館的歷史可追溯至1920年代,當時在法蘭克福大學任教的知識分子最愛在這裡流連。這裡的酥皮蘋果批和其他精緻糕點都做得十分出色,不容錯過。 cafelaumer.de

Kameha Suite – Next Level

KamehaSuite是一幢宏偉的建築物,有條氣派不凡的樓梯,引領客人前往多家典雅會所和酒吧,而NextLevel則位處頂層。廚師Christian Raudie炮製的菜式別具巧思,適合追求另類餐飲體驗的饕客。kamehasuite.de

Seven Swans

這家是我首選的素食餐廳,供應以時令食材入饌的精美菜式,多款以環保方式釀造的葡萄酒任君選擇,其自家製乳酪更教人食指大動。
sevenswans.de

Henscheid

這家酒吧以小說家Eckhard Henscheid命名,他是1970至1980年代「新法蘭克福學派」諷刺文學運動的成員。酒吧牆上掛著一系列諷刺漫畫,供應的schnapps烈酒種類琳瑯滿目,堪稱市內之最。我最喜愛其香草烤豬件配雞油菇和杏鮑菇。這裡亦是避開遊客人潮的勝地。henscheid-frankfurt.de

德國其他地區的餐廳精選

柏林

Restaurant Tim Raue

Tim是我極其尊敬的好友,每次我身處德國,都必定會到訪其餐廳。他廚藝精湛,屢獲米芝蓮星級殊榮,以及多個獎項和榮銜,絕對實至名歸。 tim-raue.com/en

Perl 市

Victor’s Fine Dining by Christian Bau

Christian是另一位傑出的德國烹飪天才,炮製的菜式獨特新穎,每當我返回德國時,都會期待到其餐廳大快朵頤。victors-fine-dining.de/en

Rottach-Egern 鎮

Restaurant Überfahrt

Christian Jürgens是米芝蓮三星名廚,在位於Rottach-Egern鎮的Seehotel酒店掌勺,採用阿爾卑斯山的食材入饌,將精緻美食和家常風味調和得出神入化。seehotel-ueberfahrt.com

Hamburg 漢堡

Bullerei and The Off Club

這家餐廳的主廚Tim Melzner烹飪風格簡單直接,炮製出實而不華的新派德國菜式。bullerei.com

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Where to eat in Frankfurt, by Uwe Opocensky

Hong Kong-based chef UWE OPOCENSKY savours honest grub and Germany’s New Cooking in Frankfurt, his hometown. Introduction by MARK JONES, illustrations by NIK COOLE

For many years, Uwe Opocensky held the Hong Kong restaurant world’s most high-profile positon as executive chef at the Mandarin Oriental. He brought a new level of creativity and playfulness to that venerable institution (remember the flowerpot?) before moving to the Beef & Liberty group and now establishing his own eponymous fine dining restaurant. For this food itinerary, he chose to return to his birthplace: Frankfurt, Germany.

Germany is rarely seen as one of Europe’s great culinary destinations. Maybe it’s time for a reappraisal.

‘Germany offers a huge variety of regional cuisines,’ he says. ‘Through traditional dishes like dumplings, wurst, pastries as well as beer, Germany often seems the worst place to eat healthily, but in reality, restaurants offer foreign cuisine and neue küche (modern cuisine).’ In fact, Germany has the most three-Michelin-starred restaurants after France and Japan.

Opocensky adds: ‘Besides food, German wine is special because of its natural lightness and delicate balance of sweetness and acidity. Most vineyards flourish on steep hillsides, protected from harsh winds by wooded neighbouring hills, especially on the banks of the Rhine and the Moselle rivers.

‘German cuisine is well-rounded and is very good at preserving traditions, but also at creating some of the most creative and inspiring neue küche.’

Beef & Liberty has just opened at Hong Kong International Airport, and during April it’s offering Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon passengers 15 per cent off their bill. All you have to do is show your boarding pass

Dönerboot

Food Itinerary-6

This red and white boat that trawls along the Main river is all about Turkish kebabs, plus it serves some great grilled fish. What I love about this place is that it serves bargemen their lunch. It’s good, non-pretentious grub. meral-event.de/das-dönerboot

Druckwasserwerk

Food Itinerary-7

This space once housed the steam engines that operated lifts and cranes in the nearby port. It’s got a good story to tell and the food is amazing – both traditional and modern German recipes. restaurant-druckwasserwerk.de

Heimat

Food Itinerary-4

The exterior resembles an American diner. In German, we call this trinkhalle. The simple things are the best here: seasonal menus, great service and the open kitchen is an added bonus. cafelaumer.de

Cafe Laumer

Food Itinerary-3

This cafe dates back to the 1920s when intellectuals from Frankfurt University used to meet here. I really enjoy the apple streusel and other fine cakes and pies. If you’ve got a sweet tooth, this place should be top of your list. cafelaumer.de

Kameha Suite – Next Level

Food Itinerary-5

The restaurant is at the top of the grand staircase inside the Kameha Suite, a stately building that houses several sophisticated lounges and bars. Chef Christian Raudie’s innovative cuisine is perfect for those looking for an alternative dining experience. kamehasuite.de

Seven Swans

Food Itinerary-2

This is my favourite vegetarian restaurant by far: beautiful, seasonal produce paired with an excellent selection of eco-conscious wines. Its homemade yoghurt is just incredible. sevenswans.de

Henscheid

Food Itinerary-1

This is a pub named after the novelist Eckhard Henscheid, who was part of the satirical movement called the New Frankfurt School in the 1970s and ’80s. Henscheid has a large collection of satirical cartoons on the walls and serves probably the largest selection of schnapps in town. I love the pig roast with vanilla, chanterelles and French horn mushrooms. If you want somewhere tourists don’t go, this is the place.  henscheid-frankfurt.de

…And the rest of Germany?

Berlin

Restaurant Tim Raue

Tim is a very good friend and I respect him beyond words. He’s incredibly talented and every time I am in Germany I make sure to spend some time at his restaurant. He deserves all his stars, accolades and titles. tim-raue.com/en

Perl

Victor’s Fine Dining by Christian Bau

Christian is another great German talent. I find his cuisine unique and innovative; and I always look forward to dining there when I’m back in Germany. victors-fine-dining.de/en

Rottach-Egern

Restaurant Überfahrt

Chef Christian Jürgens is a great three-Michelin-starred culinary legend based in Seehotel in Rottach-Egern. He uses mainly alpine ingredients and is exceptional at mixing sophisticated and rustic elements. seehotel-ueberfahrt.com

Hamburg

Bullerei and The Off Club

Chef Tim Melzner does a great job at keeping things straightforward. He serves modern German cuisine without overcomplicating things. bullerei.com

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book