藝術和文化

雙倍快樂之旅:不丹東西遊

不丹人民的快樂指數全球首屈一指,在全國各地,你都可感受當地人民的滿足感。Kee Foong 帶領大家探索不丹的西部地區;Keith Mundy則深入較少人認識的東部地區

西遊記

撰文:Kee Foong

不丹是一個非常注重心靈的國度,追尋幸福快樂比發展經濟更加重要,最適合放慢節奏細心遊覽。在不丹四處觀光,最好抱著慢遊的心態。我在不丹西部的九天旅程中,鮮見有筆直道路,代之而是無數如髮夾般的羊腸彎道及陡峭山坡,卻無阻司機們爬頭超車,幸好一路上的獨特景致分散了注意力,讓人忘卻險況。由廷布往普那卡的多楚拉隘口,以及前往崗提的拉瓦拉山口尤其教人驚艷,只見沿路的稻米梯田換上了一片乾枯的鐵杉樹樹林,白雪蓋頂的喜瑪拉雅山群峰時隱時現,山坡上的經幡隨風飄揚,笨重的犛牛則以懷疑的目光瞪視路過的人。

Six Senses在不丹最多遊客前來觀光的山谷,開設了數間景色優美的旅舍,而我的豪華行程路線途經部分旅舍。我在首都廷布展開旅程,這城市於1955年取代普那卡成為首都,在全國人口只有80萬的不丹,約有115,000人居於廷布。雖說她算不上是一個繁華大都會,卻是感受當地現代生活節奏的最佳地點。而現代生活在這裡只是相對的概念,因為不丹在1999年才有電視機,而到現在仍沒有交通燈。街上男男女女都穿上傳統服飾,街道塵土飛揚,路上除了行人,還有牛、馬和數以百計的狗。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

如果剛巧在周末到訪當地,不要錯過前往百年農夫市場,看看大批居民到市場選購辣椒、香料、米、風乾犛牛芝士、肉類及新鮮蔬菜。不丹正銳意作出創舉,希望成為全球第一個完全有機耕作的國家。

也請預留時間觀賞不丹的國技:射箭。我在Changlimithang射箭場觀看了一場賽事。數支男子隊向遙遠得幾近超出視線範圍的箭靶射箭,場上不時傳出呼喊聲,每當有人射中箭靶,就會迎來載歌載舞的場面,眾人一片歡騰。

廷布是宏偉的國家寺院廷布宗的所在地,那裡設有年輕國王旺楚克的國王辦公室,以及不丹法王Trulku Jigme Choedra的總部。然而,若論歷史及氛圍,17世紀的宗教堡壘普那卡宗更勝一籌。僧侶亦心知肚明,每年冬天,法王及其大批團隊會住在那裡,其中一個原因,相信與普那卡只是位處海拔1,200米,較海拔高一倍的廷布更溫暖舒適有關。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

在位於Phobjikha山谷‭ (‬俗稱崗提‭) ‬的14世紀Khewang Lhakhang寺院,則可領略與別不同的宗教體驗。那天早上,我盤腿坐在沒有暖氣的寺院房間內,室外溫度只有攝氏零下10度,陪伴我的是一群赤腳的年輕僧人,他們在早課中默默地顫抖,直至在一陣鼓聲、鐃鈸及號角聲中完成早課。隨著太陽慢慢升起令山谷的冰雪開始融化,我們亦可以開齋,進食豆類、辣椒、芝士及米飯等粗糧。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

許多旅客會專程到崗提觀賞罕有的黑頸鶴。每年10月至3月,數以百計的黑頸鶴由西藏遷徙至崗提山谷的沼澤地棲息。在11月,當地會舉辦黑頸鶴節慶祝牠們到臨。雖然我錯過了這個盛會,但並不感到失望,因為在這個擁有懾人美景的國度,崗提全年的景致都是美不勝收。

欣賞這個山谷的最佳方法是步行。由崗提自然步行徑出發,蜿蜒穿越青蔥一片、遍佈野莓灌木的小山丘,經過潺潺小溪、一群群慵懶的乳牛,以及古雅的農莊,最後走進遍地松針的針葉樹林。這裡亦是騎山地單車的好地方,但在海拔3,000米的高度騎車,即使小小的坡度,你亦可能感到猶如攀登珠穆朗瑪峰般舉步維艱。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

當我登山前往稱為虎穴寺的Paro Taktsang寺院時,我預期可能會氣力不繼。幸而路程沒有我想像中艱辛,沿著寬闊易行的900米行山路徑登山,即可抵達這座屹立於天地之間的雄偉寺廟。我在黎明出發,在兩小時登山路程中沒有遇到多少遊人,但其後如螞蟻般的人潮已隨後而至。雖然遊人相對較多,虎穴寺的景致實在無與倫比。這個瀰漫冥想氛圍的寺院正好概括了不丹西部的旅程感受,它遠離俗世、美麗、寧靜、奇妙、親切,縱然要付出不少努力才能到訪,卻不枉此行。

不丹冷知識

不丹政府以國民幸福指數為治國的理念,更於2008年將之納入憲法內,作為計算全國整體幸福度的指數。

東遊記

撰文:Keith Mundy

我啟程前往不丹東部山區,展開一次人生歷奇;在這個喜瑪拉雅山王國,東部是地勢最崎嶇的地區,罕有遊客到訪。

相比不丹其他地區,東部是另外一個世界,當地居民以沙爾喬普族為主,說倉洛喀語;不丹西部則以噶羅族人為主,所說的宗卡語是不丹的國家語言。兩個地區的地形亦截然不同,西部擁有遼闊的農地,但東部的山谷窄小,村莊多依山邊而建,許多都位置偏遠,一些山谷居住著人口少於1,000人的族群。

按照法例,大部分外國旅客在不丹觀光須聘請一名當地導遊,我聘請了Bridge To Bhutan旅行社Phuntsho Dorji作為我此行的司機和導遊,很快我就知道這是明智之舉;他能操流利英語,而且駕駛技術了得,在山路駕車遊刃有餘,同時擁有豐富知識,恍若一本活生生的百科全書。

我們沿著曾是印度與西藏之間的主要商貿路線行走,駛過蜿蜒曲折的道路,穿越山嶺,沿途可見高山石峰,遍佈林木的山坡恍若綿延無盡。不丹法律規定,全國必須有六成土地是樹林。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

經過六小時車程後,我們在東部的主要市鎮塔希岡休息。在那裡陡峭的溝谷內,建有一群群附設木陽台的房屋。市鎮上方的山脊,白色牆壁的宗教堡壘塔希岡宗巍然屹立,在高處守護著昔日的商貿路線,現今則依然是一所佛教寺院的所在地。充滿特色的壁畫,令通往寺院庭園的長拱道生色不少。四層高的寺院正面飾有雕刻,髹上樸實的黃、紅及棕色,配襯著周邊的木構畫廊。

經過一天辛勞,我們在晚餐享用犛牛餃子,以及不丹主食ema datshi‭ (‬融化的芝士伴青辣椒‭)‬。在Druk Deothjung酒店住宿一宵後,翌日駕車向西行,在崎嶇不平的公路上,沿著一條奔騰的河流駛往著名的峰頂寺廟。我們轉入一條高低起伏的郊道,不斷向上行駛,穿越松林及玉米梯田,最終到達海拔2,100米的高原。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

來到Drametse村,只見髹上顏色的木房子散落在備受尊崇的寺院四周。寺院經過全面復修後,重新繪畫的壁畫展現諸位西藏神祇及妖魔的形象,構成一幅人的畫面。這是不丹東部規模最大及最重要的寺院,也是500年前誕生的Drametse面具鼓舞的發祥地。這種舞蹈其後發展成為不丹的國粹,並獲選為聯合國教科文組織非物質文化遺產。每年12月為期三天的節慶中,僧人穿上色彩繽紛的服飾,戴上嚇人的面具表演Drametse面具鼓舞,以及其他帶古西藏風格的舞蹈。

翌日早上,我們前往Chhu河谷,在上山的途中,偶遇下方遠處的節慶巡遊。只見一群僧人帶領著村民隊伍,沿著香蕉樹之間的小徑蜿蜒巡行。而在下山的歸途,我們到金頂的Gom Kora寺廟觀光。相傳八世紀時,佛教宗師蓮花生大士在這裡降服了藏於一塊大石內的惡魔。信眾現在會圍繞著寺廟步行,一邊誦經,一邊轉動安裝在四周牆壁上的法輪。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

在最後一天,我們深入東隅,到訪以編織天然染色真絲聞名的喇蒂村。那是一個鬧哄哄的地方,附近地區的村長雲集,討論即將舉行的全國選舉。由於他們大部分是農民,當地出售種子的商店其門如市,每位顧客進店時,都會轉動門廊兩端的兩個大型法輪冥想一刻。

我們駕車穿越綠色的稻米田及黃色的玉米田,來到位於一個山谷之上的高地,我和Phuntsho在一個佛教淨苑內發現一座華麗的新寺廟。有位年輕羞澀的尼姑引領我們進入誦經堂,大堂四壁繪畫了充滿喻意的壁畫,天花則飾上幾何圖案。再一次,我們在如此偏遠的地方,竟找到如斯美麗的風景,它們正在恭候深入不丹東部遊歷的旅客到來。

旅遊需知

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

立即出發

國泰航空設有由香港飛往曼谷、德里和新加坡的航班,國泰港龍航空則有飛往達卡、加德滿都和加爾各答的航班;乘客可從上述航點接駁航班至不丹唯一的國際機場帕羅機場。

入境需知

除了印度、孟加拉和馬爾代夫的國民外,所有前往不丹的遊客都必須先申請簽證,費用40美元,並由註冊認可的旅行社代辦行程,更要每天繳付旅遊規費,視乎季節每人200至250美元,費用包括餐膳、住宿、交通、導遊和每天65美元的可持續發展費用。

當地政府於2018年至2020年底,豁免向前往東部地區包括倫奇、蒙加爾、塔希岡、塔希央奇、佩瑪加澤和薩姆德魯瓊卡爾的旅客收取可持續發展費用,大大減省旅遊規費。點此了解更多。

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

法力有「鞭」

Kee Foong:「不丹房屋的外牆,不時也會見到繪上巨型勃起陽具的圖案,特別是在普那卡的切米拉康寺廟,在這間為喇嘛竹巴坤列而建的15世紀小寺廟,陽具的圖像更是無處不在。竹巴坤列被稱為『瘋狂神僧』,可說是一名登徒浪子,據說他透過與數千名婦女性交來傳播法力,並以其龐然碩大的陽具擊退惡魔,世人含蓄地稱他的法力為『神奇得像雷轟電閃般的智慧』。他又被譽為生育之神,雖然我並無意為人父,但在參觀寺廟時仍選擇被大型的木陰莖敲在頭上,代表祝福之意。」

不丹五禁

  • (幾乎全國嚴禁)

  • 穿著短褲

  • 在宗教地點隨意拍攝

  • 觸摸僧侶

  • 亂拋垃圾

國泰航空設有飛往曼谷的航班,乘客可由此接駁航班至不丹帕羅國際機場

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Bhutan

East and West Bhutan: The Kingdom of Double Happiness

Bhutan has put happiness at the heart of its way of life – and contentment can be found across the nation. Kee Foong explores the highlights of west Bhutan, while Keith Mundy heads to the lesser-known and more remote east

WEST

Bhutan is a deeply spiritual kingdom where the pursuit of happiness is ranked more important than economic growth – so slow travel is a perfect fit. It’s a philosophy worth embracing when getting around. On my nine-day tour of west Bhutan, I barely see a straight road. Instead, there are countless hairpin bends and precipitous drops, none of which deters drivers from overtaking each other. Fortunately, the scenery is endlessly distracting: in particular the Dochula Pass from Thimphu to Punakha, and the Lawala Pass to Gangtey, where rice terraces give way to wizened hemlock trees, snow-capped Himalayan peaks sneak in and out of view, hillsides ripple with prayer flags and lumbering yak stare suspiciously at passers-by.

My itinerary is part of a luxurious circuit of spectacularly situated Six Senses lodges that have opened in Bhutan’s most visited valleys. I begin at Thimphu, which wrested the title of capital from Punakha in 1955. With a population of about 115,000, in a nation of barely 800,000 people, it’s no heaving metropolis, but it’s the best place to observe the rhythms of modern life in Bhutan – a relative term considering that television only arrived in 1999 and there are no traffic lights whatsoever. Men and women dress in traditional clothing, cows and horses roam the dusty streets – as do dogs, hundreds of them.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

If it’s the weekend, make time for the Centenary Farmers Market, when residents turn out in force to shop for chillies and spice, rice, dried yak cheese and meat and fresh vegetables. In an ambitious move, Bhutan is well on the way to becoming the world’s first nation to achieve wholly organic farming.

Make time, too, for the national sport: archery. I witness a tournament at Changlimithang Archery Ground, where teams of men shoot arrows at a target so far away it’s almost impossible to see. There is much shouting – and when the target is hit, the celebrations span song and dance.

Thimphu is home to the majestic Tashichho Dzong, which contains the throne room of the youthful King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, as well as the headquarters of Bhutan’s chief abbot, Trulku Jigme Choedra. But for history and atmosphere, the 17th-century holy Punakha Dzong fortress triumphs. The monks know this, and each winter the chief abbot and his considerable posse take up residence here. It may also be because Punakha, at an elevation of 1,200 metres, is positively balmy compared to Thimphu, which sits at almost twice the altitude.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

A different religious experience awaits at the 14th-century Khewang Lhakhang in the Phobjikha Valley, commonly referred to as Gangtey. Morning sees me sitting cross-legged on the floor of an unheated room in the monastery, while it’s -10°C outside. Keeping me company is a group of young monks, barefoot and quietly shivering their way through dawn prayers. It ends in a crescendo of drums, cymbals and horns, before we break our fast together with a humble meal of beans, chillies, cheese and rice, as the rising sun slowly thaws the valley.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

Most visitors to Gangtey come to see rare black-necked cranes, which migrate by the hundreds from Tibet to the valley’s marshland each year between October and March. An annual festival to celebrate their arrival is held in November, which I just miss, but I am not disappointed. In a country blessed with stunning scenery, Gangtey manages to be outrageously beautiful year-round.

The best way to appreciate the valley is on foot, starting at the Gangtey Nature Trail, which meanders through grassy knolls studded with wild-berry shrubs, past babbling brooks, languid cows, quaint farmhouses and into conifer forests carpeted by pine needles. It’s also ideal terrain for mountain biking, though at 3,000 metres above sea level, slight gradients can feel like scaling Mount Everest.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

Which is what I envision a hike up to the Paro Taktsang complex – also known as the Tiger’s Nest – resembles. Thankfully, it’s only moderately difficult, a 900-metre elevation hike along wide and well-trodden paths to this incredible monastery wedged between earth and sky. Starting at dawn, I barely encounter another soul in the two hours it takes to reach it, though by then an ant trail of other tourists has formed behind me. Even with the relative crowds, Tiger’s Nest is incredible, a meditative temple complex that sums up west Bhutan – remote, beautiful, tranquil, magical, welcoming and well worth the effort it takes to get there.

By Kee Foong

Did You Know…

The Bhutanese government uses Gross National Happiness as a guiding philosophy. It became enshrined in the constitution in 2008, with an index to measure the collective happiness of the nation.

EAST

I’m headed for the adventure of a lifetime in the mountains of eastern Bhutan, the Himalayan kingdom’s least visited and most rugged region.

Eastern Bhutan is a world apart, dominated by the Sharchop people who speak Tshanglakha, as opposed to western Bhutan’s Ngalops who speak Dzongkha, the national language. Topographically the regions differ too: broad farmland spreads across the west, but in the east the valleys are narrow and the villages cling to mountainsides. Many villages are remote, and some valleys are home to ethnic groups of fewer than 1,000 people.

By law, most foreign tourists have to employ a local agent for touring Bhutan, and I soon realise I’ve done well by choosing the Bridge To Bhutan agency: Phuntsho Dorji, my all-in-one driver and guide, speaks fluent English, navigates the mountain roads skilfully and packs an encyclopaedia of knowledge.

The road twists and turns through wild mountain scenery, along what was once a major trade route between India and Tibet. The peaks are high with rocky summits, while thickly wooded slopes seem to go on forever – Bhutanese law mandates that at least 60 per cent of the country must be carpeted in forest.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

After six hours on the road, we wind down into Trashigang, the market town that is the focus of the eastern region, its wooden-balconied buildings clustering in a steep gully. High above the town on a mountain ridge, the white-walled Trashigang Dzong fortress originally stood guard over the trade routes and still houses a major Buddhist monastery. Dramatic murals enliven the long archway leading to the dzong’s spectacular courtyard, lined with wooden galleries along its four-storeyed facades, carved and painted in earthy yellows, reds and browns.

After a well-earned dinner – yak dumplings and the Bhutanese staple, ema datshi, melted cheese with green chillies – and a restful night at the Druk Deothjung hotel, the next day we drive west on a rough-surfaced highway that follows a churning river, heading for a renowned mountain-top temple. We turn onto a country lane that switchbacks ever upwards through pine forests and maize terraces, finally reaching a plateau at 2,100 metres.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

Here is the village of Drametse, a straggle of painted, wooden houses gathered around its prestigious monastery. Following a total restoration, the monastery’s repainted murals depicting a pantheon of Tibetan gods and demons are a sight to behold. It is the largest and most important temple in the east of Bhutan, and the location where the Drametse Ngacham – ‘the Mask Dance of the Drums of Drametse’ was created five centuries ago. It has since effectively become the national dance, gaining a Unesco nod. At a three-day festival each December, monks garbed in multicoloured costumes and terrifying masks perform the Drametse Ngacham and other dances of ancient Tibetan inspiration.

Next morning, we head up the Chhu river valley. Far below, we catch sight of a festival procession led by monks, winding its way along banana tree-lined paths. On the way down, we stop at the golden-roofed Gom Kora temple. Here in the eighth century, so the legend goes, the great Buddhist master Guru Rinpoche vanquished an evil spirit hiding within a large rock. Now pilgrims circle the site in worship, spinning prayer wheels set in the surrounding walls.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

For the last day, we head further east to the village of Radhi, famed for weaving naturally dyed raw silk. The place is buzzing: village headmen from all around have come to discuss the upcoming national elections. As they are mostly farmers, the seed shop does a roaring trade, and every customer gives the two large prayer wheels at each end of its porch a meditative spin.

Driving onward through fields of green rice and yellow maize, high above yet another stunning valley, we stumble across an ornate new temple – part of a Buddhist nunnery. A shy young nun shows us into the prayer hall, which is brilliantly painted with figurative murals and geometrical patterns on its ceiling. Phuntsho and I are amazed by our unexpected find. But then again, discovering dazzling beauty in remote places is exactly what awaits tourists who venture to east Bhutan.

By Keith Mundy

Need to Know

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

Getting There

Cathay Pacific flies to Bangkok, Delhi and Singapore, and Cathay Dragon serves Dhaka, Kathmandu and Kolkata – all of which have onward connections to Paro, Bhutan’s only international airport.

Getting In

Apart from citizens of India, Bangladesh and the Maldives, all visitors must obtain a visa in advance (US$40) and travel with a registered tour operator, paying a minimum daily package rate of between US$200-$250, depending on the season. This includes food, accommodation, transport, a guide and the sustainable development fee (SDF) of US$65 per day.

In 2018, the government introduced an SDF waiver for those travelling to the country’s eastern circuit (the eastern provinces of Lhuentse, Mongar, Trashigang, Trashi Yangtse, Pemagatshel and Samdrup Jongkhar), resulting in cheaper rates until the end of 2020. Click here for more info.

Credit: Nils Leonhardt

Well, Hello There

‘You are likely to see giant ejaculating penises painted on the facades of houses in Bhutan – nowhere more so than in Punakha, site of Chimi Lhakhang, a small 15th-century temple dedicated to Drukpa Kunley. Better known as the “Divine Madman”, Bhutan’s cheekiest saint is said to have spread enlightenment through having sex with thousands of women, while defeating demons with his euphemistically named “magic thunderbolt of wisdom”. He is regarded as a fertility deity, and while I’m not pursuing fatherhood, I am nonetheless donged on the head by a big wooden phallus as a blessing during my visit.’ – Kee Foong

Don’t Do This in Bhutan

  • Smoke (it’s almost banned)

  • Wear shorts

  • Snap photos in religious sites

  • Touch monks

  • Litter

Cathay Pacific flies to Bangkok, which has onward connections to Paro, Bhutan

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book