健康與保健

既醫身、 亦療心

中醫與西醫的醫理與治療方式截然不同,原因何在?

東方觀點:治病不止治身

王偉雄

香港的《英文虎報》於7月曾以「推出中藥抗流感」作頭條。今年流感肆虐期間,香港的醫院管理局在4月至8月曾將逾27,000名病人送往中醫診所就醫。香港的夏季炎熱潮濕,容易傳播流感病毒,中醫師建議市民以菊花、薄荷及紫蘇葉用沸水沖泡飲用,以此達到清熱去濕的效果,可以預防流感。

在華人社會或社區,大如中國,小至香港以及一些歐美城市裡華人聚居之處,仍有不少人有病會看中醫;有些人是先看西醫、治不好才看中醫,有些則相反,有極少數人甚至只看中醫。在西方,古老的醫理如希臘人相信的四種「體液」學說,早就被現代醫學取代了;可是,古老的中醫在東方卻仍然大行其道。這種情況,對於不諳醫藥的行外人來說,實在令人費解。

這種看法假定了中醫不外是一些代代相傳的民間療法和草藥藥方,缺乏科學根據,而且大部分均只有輕微的療效。至於西方的民間療法被現代醫學取代,是因為那些民間療法的效果不可靠,而且毫無系統(參閱後頁朱立安巴吉尼的文章),直到有系統的現代醫學有長足的發展後,療效明顯地勝過民間療法,自然便取而代之了。

這些假定即使不是全錯,亦是過分簡單。其實中醫並不只是一堆民間療法,而是有悠久歷史的醫學系統,其中有一套複雜的理論,歷來亦有不少論著說明和發展這套理論。因此,西方的民間療法被現代醫學取代,可以說是同一個傳統內的變化或進步;可是,要西醫取代中醫,那就是一個傳統取代另一個傳統,同時也是一套理論取代另一套理論,這就沒有那麼容易了。

然而中醫的地位亦並非穩如泰山,事實上,反對中醫的人不在少數,中文《維基百科》就有〈廢除中醫運動〉這項條目;這個運動的主要理據是中醫不科學,在療效方面遠遠及不上西方現代醫學。廢除中醫運動可以上溯至清代考據學家俞樾的《廢醫論》,他認為中醫跟古代迷信的巫醫根本沒有什麼分別,因而說:「世之人賤巫而貴醫,不知古之醫巫一也,今之醫巫亦一也,吾未見醫之勝於巫也。」他這裡說的「醫」,指的當然就是中醫。

說中醫不科學的人,除了批評中醫沒有科學驗證的支持,也批評中醫含有太多神秘主義。中醫肯定在古代沒有經過科學驗證,因為這種要求和做法是現代科學發展後才有的;問題是,到了今時今日,要用科學方法來檢驗中醫理論,也是難乎其難的事,極其量只能做到測試中醫療法和草藥的效用,但這不等於測試中醫理論的對錯。其實,即使只是測試療效,由於中醫對療效的理解跟西醫不完全一樣,測試的結果未必會得到中醫師的認同。

中醫對療效的理解,是中醫理論的一部分,與中醫理論的其他部分息息相關。單是講人體,中醫的看法便充滿了陰陽五行的形上學,五臟六腑都有陰陽調合的關係,並與天地萬物的陰陽五行相連互動;中國最早的醫書《黃帝內經》便有這個概括的說法:「陰陽者,天地之道也,萬物之綱紀,變化之父母,生殺之本始,神明之府也。治病必求於本。」由於中醫對人體的理解有很重的形上學成分,而西醫的理解則純粹是生物學的,兩者說的五臟六腑,雖然表面相同,事實上有很大分別;此外,中醫認為人體有的經絡和精氣,西醫是否認其存在的,或至少是極度懷疑,這也是對身體的形上學理解與生物學理解之別。

批評中醫有太多神秘主義,其實就是批評中醫有太多形上學。西方文化當然亦有形上學,例如相信人除了身體,還有非物質的靈魂;然而,現代西方醫學已是自然科學的一部分,排除了形上學,醫生只會醫治你那完全是物質的身體,就算你和你的醫生都相信身體之外還有靈魂,假如你認為自己的靈魂「有病」,你們都知道只能向神父或牧師求助,而不是醫生。

有些人倡議的中西醫學結合,不過是醫藥方面,理論方面的結合是不可能的。西醫加入了中醫的形上學,便不夠科學;中醫放棄了陰陽五行學說和精氣說等形上學,餘下的便只是可供科學研究的醫藥(即俞樾主張的「廢醫存藥」),那就不再是中醫了。

東方 vs. 西方: 意見表達

East v West Yang Liu
Credit: Yang Liu

西方觀點:治病就是治身

朱立安巴吉尼

我住在英國,走在街上,不時會見到提供傳統中醫服務的招牌,但掛著「傳統西醫」招牌的診所,至今還未見過。
為何傳統醫藥只能在西方以外的地區興起?最明顯的答案,莫過於這些地方缺乏資源充裕、供應充足的「正當」醫療,人們只能退而求其次,也顧不得這些方法是否真有療效,令這些古老療法得以繼續存在。

提倡傳統醫藥的人士,大概不會承認這種講法,不過這種講法亦未能提供一個完整的答案。不少人尋求「另類療法」,並且聲稱找到了;但是他們找到的治病良方,若不是古老的外來療法(如針灸和阿育吠陀醫療法),就是較近期的西方發明。例如順勢療法,就是1796年的產物,當中的巴哈花卉精華療法是廣為人採用的流派,更要待1930年代才出現。脊醫源自1890年代;而接骨術則誕生於1874年的美國。現時仍然通行的傳統西方療法,就只剩下草藥學,但現在使用的草藥很多已並非源自西方。

若想更全面地解釋這種情況,首先要了解西方思想如何塑造醫學。其中一個根源,是自柏拉圖以來一直主宰西方哲學的心物二元論。柏拉圖認為,我們的靈魂「只是被牢牢地綑綁和黏在肉體上……只能夠透過樊籠柵欄的隙縫窺探存在的本義。」換言之,我們的身體只是個暫時的載體,盛載著我們真實而不朽的靈魂。

並非所有哲學家都像柏拉圖般執著於二元論,但他卻左右了後世的思想發展。其中一個結果,就是醫學僅被人視為一個工程學的問題,不必以一套整全的思想體系將身心結合在一起。西方醫學認為,只要針對有問題的身體部位,對症下藥之後,病人自能痊癒。主流醫學要到晚近才接納同時照顧身體和情緒的治療理念,認同兼顧身心的療法才能令身體更快康復。

這種機械式的思想亦深受西方哲學中的簡化論影響。簡化論主張,若要了解一 件事物,最好將之逐一分拆,直至最細小的部分,由此獲得透徹的了解。法國啟蒙運動時期編撰的《百科全書》,網羅所有世俗知識,可說是清楚解釋簡化論的好例子。這本鉅著的副編輯D’Alembert在序言中指出「身體擁有多種特性」,而為了「將這些特性逐一仔細研究,我們必須先將之個別分開。」此舉非但並未構成不便,反而帶來了優勢。他寫道:「這種簡化方式,令我們更易掌握身體的特性。」

這種思想對醫學的影響再清楚不過。身體有不同的部位和特性,了解它們的方法,就是逐一予以獨立的研究。人人都知道身體是個完整的系統,但人們卻就個別的部位作出診斷和治療。

西方哲學第三個重要的特點,是強調時間不斷前進。此說普遍被視為來自基督教的世界觀。基督教將人類歷史總結為幾個獨立的階段,從猶太人被選為上帝的子民開始,然後經歷先知時代,再進入耶穌降生的年代,最後祂重臨人間,對世人展開大審判。但在基督教信仰以外的世界,人們有截然不同的觀念;時間被視為周而復始的循環,歷史沒有終結之時,而人類亦沒有什麼終極目標。

撇開宗教根源不論,西方思想自啟蒙時期以來的另一個重要特點,就是對進步這一觀念深信不移;當一些更新穎而且似乎更好的思想與學說出現時,舊有的一套就會被人全盤捨棄。因此,經科研發展而建立的一套醫學,從哲學角度來看,不會有興趣保留前人流傳下來的民間療法。這種情況就像漂亮的舊建築,因發展之名被粗暴拆卸一樣,古老的療法不會見容於現代醫學。

近年,坊間終於意識到某些傳統醫學亦可能有其作用,當中以水蛭療法的復興最受注目。這種細小的吸血蟲曾被人用來嘲諷古老醫學既原始又無效,現在卻因擁有實際療效而捲土重來。其中的一個例子,是已證實水蛭能有效防止植肢後出現的組織壞死情況。

進步說和簡化論令西方發展的步伐加速,數百年來遠遠超越其他文明,但同時亦令西方對舊有的知識視若無睹。今時今日傳統西方醫學似乎難以全盤回歸,但現代醫學大可在卓越的科技成就中,納入有效而整全的古老醫學元素。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Health and wellness

East vs. West: Medicine

Why do Chinese and Western medicine approach the business of healing in such different ways?

The East view: it’s not just a body

Wai-Hung Wong

Chinese medicine rolled out in flu fight,’ ran the front-page headline in Hong Kong newspaper The Standard in July. In the annual battle against the flu virus, the city’s Hospital Authority was sending patients (more than 27,000 of them between April and August) to Chinese medicine clinics. Among the suggested treatments for viruses spreading due to the hot, humid summer weather were boiling chrysanthemum, mint and beefsteak plants into a drink, and a new treatment that will ‘clear heat’ and ‘eliminate dampness’ in the body.

Today, Chinese medicine is still regarded as a legitimate choice, if not a necessity, in China, Hong Kong and other ethnic Chinese communities in Western cities. It is at least an alternative when Western medicine fails; and in the most extreme cases, it is the only option. While old systems of treating the body, such as the belief in the four humours, developed by the ancient Greeks, have long been replaced by modern medicine in the West, the endurance of ancient Chinese medicine in the East is an intriguing phenomenon to outsiders.

They assume that Chinese medicine is no more than an inherited suite of folk remedies and herbal cures that lack scientific support and efficacy. After all, Western folk remedies were abandoned because they were unreliable and unsystematic (see Julian’s piece). Their fate was sealed when modern medicine emerged, along with it a systemised structure – and much better outcomes.

These assumptions may not be completely wrong: yet they are also an oversimplification.

By definition, traditional Chinese medicine goes way beyond folk remedies. It is a medical system supported by arcane theories extended and developed over time. The substitution of folk remedies for modern Western medicine was an inevitable evolution. But for Western medicine to supersede its Chinese counterpart in the East, it will take a paradigm shift.

That’s not to say Chinese medicine is rock-solid. The Chinese version of Wikipedia, for example, has an entry for Movement for the Abolishment of Chinese Medicine, which calls for action against ‘unscientific and far less competent Chinese medicine’. The notion can be traced back to Yu Yue, a Qing dynasty scholar who launched a full assault against Chinese medicine practitioners in his text On Abolishing Chinese Medicine, saying it was pointless favouring doctors over shaman healers as there was no essential difference between the two. (He meant Chinese doctors in his attack.)

That Chinese medicine is unscientific is a direct criticism of its unproven, esoteric nature. Its theories remain untouchable by science nowadays. At best, science can gauge the therapeutic efficacy of a treatment or herb, but this alone cannot prove the validity of Chinese medicine. Even the idea of therapeutic efficacy is disputable: Chinese medicine judges efficacy differently from Western medics.

Chinese medicine takes a metaphysical view of the human body, whose constitution is dictated by the yin-yang balance and the five elements. Esoteric Scripture of the Yellow Emperor, the earliest Chinese medical text, concludes that ‘yin and yang are the principle of nature, the order of all beings, the source of change, the origin of life and death, and the realm of the gods. To cure a disease, one must seek its roots.’

The Chinese belief in energy channels and qi (energy flow) has been rejected outright by Western medicine. The Western idea of the human body is strictly biological.

To criticise the esoteric traits of Chinese medicine is to criticise its metaphysical basis. Western civilisation and philosophy certainly has a fair share of metaphysics that concerns non-physical entities such as the soul, but it has long since been divorced from modern medicine, which is considered a branch of natural science. Even if the doctor who treats you believes in the soul, he or she will only tend to your physical body. You would have to turn to a priest or pastor to heal the wounded soul.

The combination of Chinese and Western medical sciences, as proposed by some, can only be a superficial one – one that concerns the cures but not the theories. If Western medicine is to incorporate the metaphysical understandings of Chinese medicine, it will lose its scientific stance; and if Chinese medicine hacks off its metaphysical roots, as Yu Yue would have it, what remains will be a mere existence of traditional cures – Chinese medicine without its soul.

East vs. West: Expressing an opinion

East v West Yang Liu
Credit: Yang Liu

The west view: it is just a body

Julian Baggini

In Britain, where I live, I’m always coming across places that offer traditional Chinese medicine. However, I have yet to see a single premises with ‘traditional Western medicine’ above the shop window.

If we ask why traditional medicine thrives outside the West but not in it, one obvious answer is that older forms of medicine only thrive in the absence of well-funded, widely available ‘proper’ medicine, when people seek help from whichever source they can, effective or not.

There may be more to this than advocates of traditional medicines would care to admit, but filling a gap left by an underfunded health service cannot be the whole story. Plenty of people seek help from ‘alternative medicine’ and many claim to find it. But most of that medicine is either old and foreign, like acupuncture and Ayurveda, or a relatively recent Western invention.

Homoeopathy, for example, was created in 1796, with one of its most popular schools, Bach flower remedies, founded in the 1930s. Chiropractic has its origins in the 1890s, while osteopathy was born in the United States in 1874. The only traditional Western medicine still practised to any degree is herbalism, and even that now draws on non-Western sources.

A fuller explanation requires an understanding of how the Western mind has shaped its medicine. One root is a dualism of mind and body that has characterised philosophy in the West since the time of Plato. For him, our souls ‘are simply fastened and glued to their bodies…only able to view existence through the bars of a prison’. Our bodies are merely temporary vessels to carry our true selves, our souls.

Not every philosopher has been as sharply dualistic as Plato; but he set the tone of thinking to come. One result is that medicine has been seen merely as an engineering problem. It does not require a holistic system of thought that brings together body and mind. All you need to know is which part to fix and you can be sent on your way, cured.

Only recently has mainstream medicine embraced the idea that to treat the whole patient you need to address emotional as well as physical needs; and that the body heals quicker when the mind is treated at the same time.

The mechanistic way of thinking is accentuated by another characteristic of Western philosophy: its reductionism. This is the method of understanding things by breaking them down to their smallest constituent parts. This is described clearly in the Encyclopédie, the French Enlightenment’s distillation of all secular knowledge. In its introduction, D’Alembert points out that ‘bodies have a large number of properties’ and that ‘in order to study each of them more thoroughly, we are obliged to consider them separately’.

This is an advantage, not an inconvenience. ‘This reduction,’ he wrote, ‘makes them easier to understand.’

Once again, the implications for medicine are clear. The body has a number of parts and properties and the way to understand them is to examine each one in isolation. Everyone knows that the body is a complete system but it is analysed and treated in terms of its parts.

A third, vital feature of Western philosophy is its strong idea of progress. Many attribute this to the Christian worldview that sees human history as moving in discrete phases, from the election of the Jews as the chosen people, through the times of prophets, to the coming of Christ, culminating in his return and the final judgement.

In many other times and places, however, time has been seen as more cyclical and history has no final destination, humanity no ultimate goal.

Stripped of its religious roots, belief in progress has become one of the defining features of Western thought since the Enlightenment. This leads to the wholesale shedding of old ideas as soon as newer, apparently better ones come along. Hence scientific medicine had no philosophical interest in preserving what worked from its folksy predecessors. Like so many beautiful buildings that were torn down to make way for forward-looking modern constructions, old medical practices simply had to go.

Belatedly, there is recognition that at least some forms of traditional medicine might have their merits after all. Most remarkable is the revival of interest in medical leeches. These little blood-sucking creatures have become a comic shorthand for all that was crude and ineffective in pre-modern medicine. But they did have some genuine benefits and now they are making a comeback. For example, they have been very effective in preventing tissue death after limb transplantation.

Belief in progress and scientific reductionism helped the West outpace the rest of the world for several centuries. But it also blinded it to resources in its own past. Traditional Western medicine looks unlikely to make a wholesale comeback but medicine is now adding older and holistic tools to its impressive modern technological kit.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book