美國

美國東岸火車遊:波士頓至華盛頓八個精采時刻

為慶祝國泰航空推出新航線,Sunshine Flint乘火車前往首都華盛頓,途經美國東岸多個芳鄰,進行了一趟行程緊湊的旋風式旅行。 圖片 CHRIS SORENSEN

除了在倫敦待過兩年之外,我在美國東岸三大城市住過的時間比地球上任何大城市都要長。我居於紐約,在波士頓讀了四年大學,因為工作和探望朋友,還有不時參與政治遊行等原因,經常前往首都華盛頓。

Acela列車沿東北走廊行駛,從首都華盛頓往紐約要三小時,從紐約往波士頓則要差不多四小時。你可以在「大蘋果」紐約吃午飯,再輕鬆前往首都華盛頓吃晚餐。這些城市無論在歷史、政治及文化方面都互相關聯,而乘搭列車則讓你有機會欣賞不同的風景,從康乃狄格州的海濱小村莊到馬利蘭州Chesapeake Bay灣上游沿岸一片綠意的河口灣,都可盡收眼底。在短短三天的列車之旅中,前往三個我十分熟悉的地方,還會有什麼新發現呢?

波士頓

1. 藝術風景

結果我發現,從波士頓南站徒步15分鐘就抵達繁華的Seaport District海港區,對我來說真是一件新事物。我走過一片青翠的草地,來到當代美術館,在美術館的對岸就是波士頓東部的Boston Harbour Shipyard and Marina船塢,而季度藝術空間ICA Watershed則剛於7月4日在那區的一家舊銅管工廠內開幕。

接受過藝術的薰陶之後,我回到對岸,沿著自由之路上紅磚鋪砌的路線,橫過長形的Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Greenway公園,來到波士頓最古老的住宅區北區。我沿著Salem Street街走,經過售賣奶油卷的Bova’s Bakery糕餅店,前往寧靜的Copp’s Hill Burying Ground墓園去。

2. 歷史名言

在巨大的櫸樹濃蔭下,我嘗試閱讀古老墓碑上的文字;這些墓碑都是革命戰爭前的遺物,最早的一個是1659年樹立的。山坡下面就是Old North Church教堂,當年教堂的司事在此懸掛燈籠,讓美國人知道英國人正前來進攻;「陸路一、水路二」成為著名的通報訊號。差不多50年前,當時的福特總統前來紀念美國立國200周年。他的演辭語重心長:「讓我們祈求上天保祐……在100或200年以後,當人們回首今天,他們會說:我們是一個以理性結合自由權以及帶著自由和希望的社會。」

3. 晚上的佳餚美酒

徒步回到Seaport海港區後,我想去吃晚飯了。由大廚Barbara Lynch主理的餐廳Sportello正合我意。這裡氣氛輕鬆隨意,開放式的廚房裡煮出色香味俱全的番茄肉醬tagliatelle意大利粉、時令菜式有炸成金黃色的軟殼蟹配上粉紅色的西瓜,惹人垂涎;還有入口即溶的馬鈴薯糰子配鮮嫩多汁的龍蝦塊,更是令人食指大動。吃過晚飯後,我前往The Envoy Hotel酒店的天台酒吧去。聚在這裡小酌的波士頓單身貴族,人人手裡拿著的若不是frosé(將玫瑰紅酒rosé冷藏至冰凍),就是小型啤酒廠釀製的手工啤酒。

第二天早上,登上南行的列車之前,我還來得及吃早餐;於是來到小餐館South Street Diner,在櫃檯旁邊找個座位坐下來。這是一家24小時營業的餐廳,外面有典型的銀鉻色裝飾。我沒有點加上大量楓糖漿的波士頓忌廉班戟,而是要了煎雙蛋、特脆煙肉及一大份炸薯條,全部都非常美味。

紐約

登上列車後,我們從羅得島州的青山綠水走進康乃狄格的海岸:Stonington市、Mystic鎮、New London市,還有長島海灣上的小海灘,從車窗外一一掠過。不久我們就進入布朗士區,接著是皇后區,然後就見到遠處曼克頓的高樓大廈,不久就抵達紐約的賓夕凡尼亞車站。這個車站外觀的難看程度,全美國數一數二;尤其是當你從照片見過由McKim, Meadand White建築事務所設計的舊車站時,就會更感惱火。舊的車站散發布雜藝術的堂皇氣派,可惜在1963年被清拆了。

4. High Line高架公園

我向西走過兩個街區,前往一座被保存和活化的建築,就是由廢棄的高架鐵路軌改建而成的High Line高架公園。我途經多座市值數以百萬美元計的公寓,全都出自Zaha Hadid、Peter Marino和Bjarke Ingels等名師的手筆。在23街,我沿著階梯拾級而下,在West Chelsea多家藝廊外面駐足,瀏覽陳列其中的藝術品,然後繼續前行。我經過一幅風格非常突出的自由神像壁畫,上面還有歡迎移民的字句:「我在金色的大門旁高舉明燈」,有一群人在壁畫前拍照。我沿路向前,來到The Standard酒店,再步下Gansevoort Street街來到惠特尼美國藝術博物館。這家博物館由Renzo Piano設計,就在狹長的High Line高架公園盡頭,有如感歎號下面的一點。

5. Simon and the Whale餐廳

只要想到吃,隨時隨地都有很多選擇。大廚兼餐廳東主Gabe Stulman首次闖出14街,在Freehand Hotel酒店開設餐廳Simon and the Whale。黑麥包配taramasalata魚子蓉沙律是我近日最喜愛的開胃前菜,而魚柳三文治則伴以分量豐富的椰菜絲沙律和炸薯條。

首都華盛頓

從紐約出發,只需短短三小時,即可抵達哥倫比亞特區的Union Station車站。站內的天花板有鍍金格子天花板,氣派非凡,在車站內更可遠眺國會大廈的圓拱頂,在如此華麗的地點展開首都之旅,實在再合適不過。在國家廣場對開,流經華盛頓的Potomac和Anacostia兩條河的河畔正蓬勃發展。位於城市西南面的Wharf District碼頭區,全新的酒店、餐廳和公共碼頭,與售賣Chesapeake Bay灣漁獲的魚市場和蒸蟹攤檔並存,毫無不協調的感覺。

6. 河畔賞櫻的偉人

我跳上配備鮮黃色簷篷的Wharf Jitney小輪渡河,前往East Potomac Park公園。從那裡步行20分鐘就來到Tidal Basin人工湖,旁邊就是圓形的傑佛遜紀念堂,也是華府每年3月至4月賞櫻季節的熱門景點。傑佛遜的雕像除了遠眺對岸的白宮之外,現在也與九米高的馬丁路德金浮雕遙相對望。這兩位偉大領袖的雕像之間,是另一位偉人羅斯福的紀念公園。傍晚時分華燈初上時,馬丁路德金其中一句名言特別顯眼:「對一個人最終的評價,並非看他於安逸時如何自處,而是如何面對挑戰和非議。」

7. Chloe餐廳

經清理後的Anacostia River河,亦因在河畔的商業區Capitol Riverfront和Navy Yard區引入新餐廳、酒店和公園而脫胎換骨。Chloe餐廳的大廚Haidar Karoum炮製的薄切軍曹魚片配以泰國辣椒粒,香辣風味恰到好處。我將鷹嘴豆蓉配免治牛肉和杏仁片,還有香煎全條金頭鯛配以堆成小丘的泰國香米飯統統吃光,大享口福。

8. 歷史文化博物館

翌日早上,我在Wharf碼頭區環境開揚的Dolcezza餐室品嚐過出色的咖啡和牛角包三文治後,前往最近翻新的Freer and Sackler Galleries美術館,欣賞來自中亞地區以傳統ikat染布方式染成的布料所做的長袍,以及教人歎為觀止的Peacock Room孔雀廳,這個房間內的藍綠色配金色的嵌板和天花板均由美國藝術家James Whistler親自繪製。在國家廣場對面的非裔美國人歷史文化博物館,我從位於較低層的藝廊開始參觀,看見曾扣在奴隸身上的黑鐵腳鐐和鎖鍊默默地陳列在那裡,將美國的歷史「原罪」呈現人前。但當我走上較高樓層,參觀非裔美國人民權運動的展覽,以及非裔美國人在文化、運動、烹飪和音樂方面的貢獻時,氣氛就變得輕鬆起來,甚至洋溢喜樂的感覺。

在短短三天裡,我體驗過美國的歷史、創意、奮鬥和美食,明白到這些事物都是由來自世界各地的移民,包括我自己的祖先所塑造經營出來的。我想起High Line高架公園內到處樹立的標誌,上面寫著:「You are welcome here」(這裡歡迎你來)。但願以後都是這樣。

住宿

波士頓The Envoy Hotel 酒店

光線充足的房間地板鋪上瓷磚,配上鮮黃色的窗簾及落地大玻璃窗,窗外是Fort Point Channel海峽與波士頓金融區的景色,還有Northern Avenue Bridge橋的巨型精鋼支架。夏日黃昏時分最宜於酒店天台的酒廊小酌,在冬季時酒廊則提供吹氣式小冰屋,讓客人仍可暖和舒適地享受美景與佳釀。
theenvoyhotel.com

紐約The Beekman 酒店

酒店位於布魯克林大橋的北面,可能是紐約市內最多人拍照分享到Instagram的酒店;只要走到樓高九層的中庭頂樓往下望(或在地下抬頭往上望),就會明白原因。酒店位於一座建於1883年的大樓內,裡面華麗的維多利亞式鐵鑄欄杆、扶手及建築物的外觀均保存得宜,與大堂及Bar Room酒吧的瓊堆玉砌互相呼應。房間及套房內以深色木材作地板,配上淺色的牆壁與色調濃稠的地毯,某些房間可享市政廳及著名摩天大廈Woolworth Building的景致。
thebeekman.com

首都華盛頓洲際酒店Washington DC- The Wharf

這家豪華酒店位於Potomac River河旁邊,從房間可以望見Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport機場內飛機升降的情形,比天台泳池看到的機場景觀更佳。酒店大堂設計新潮時尚,中央有一座配上黃銅扶手的樓梯,極具氣派,加上從天花板懸垂下來的燈飾,成為大家拍照上載Instagram的熱點。酒店餐廳Kith/Kin奉客的佳餚美食,由大廚Kwame Onwuachi精心烹調,菜式融合加勒比海、西非及克里奧爾等不同風味,別具創意。不妨到碼頭區內的Recreation Pier碼頭上,租一塊直立板享受水上活動的樂趣;或者到Politics & Prose書店去,瀏覽有關首都華盛頓的最新書報;更可以跳上水上的士到洋溢濃厚歷史氣息的小城Georgetown去遊逛一番。
wharfintercontinentaldc.com

國泰航空每周有七班航班由香港飛往波士頓,每周有35班航班由香港飛往紐約,並於9月15日推出由香港飛往首都華盛頓的航班,每周有四班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

USA

East Coast rail trip: 8 great moments from Boston to Washington

To celebrate Cathay Pacific’s upcoming new route, SUNSHINE FLINT takes an action-packed ride to Washington DC via its East Coast city neighbours. Photography by CHRIS SORENSEN

part from two years in London, I have spent more time in the three major cities on the US East Coast than any other metropoles on Earth. I live in New York, spent four years studying at a Boston university and visit Washington DC frequently for work, to see friends, and, yes, the occasional political march.

The Acela train operates along the Northeast Corridor, carrying passengers from DC to New York in three hours and from New York to Boston in under four. You can easily have lunch in the Big Apple and be in DC for dinner. While these cities are connected historically, politically, culturally, the train lets you experience the landscapes: from seaside villages in Connecticut to Maryland’s green-fringed estuaries along the upper reaches of Chesapeake Bay.

What could I discover about places I know so well riding the rails on a whirlwind three-day tour?

Boston

1. The art scene

As it turns out, Boston’s booming Seaport District is entirely new to me and just a 15-minute walk from South Station. I walk across a green lawn to the Institute of Contemporary Art; while directly across the water is the Boston Harbour Shipyard and Marina in East Boston where the new ICA Watershed, a seasonal art space in a former copper pipe factory, opens on 4 July.

After a dose of art, I head back over the channel to follow the red bricks of the Freedom Trail across the Rose Fitzgerald Kennedy Greenway to the North End, Boston’s oldest residential neighbourhood. I walk up Salem Street, past the cream-filled cannolis of Bova’s Bakery, to the peaceful Copp’s Hill Burying Ground.

2. Historic words

Shaded by massive beech trees, I try to read the pre-Revolutionary War headstones – the oldest is from 1659. Down the hill is Old North Church, where the sexton hung the famous ‘one if by land, two if by sea’ lanterns to let the Americans know the British were coming, and where nearly 50 years ago then-President Ford came to commemorate the US’ bicentennial. His words carry a warning: ‘let us pray…that those who follow 100 years or 200 years from now may look back at us and say: we were a society which combined reason with liberty and hope with freedom.’

3. Evening eats and frosé

I’m ready for dinner after walking back to the Seaport, a challenge well met at chef Barbara Lynch’s Sportello, a casual eatery with an open kitchen that turns out fresh tagliatelle with bolognese; seasonal plates such as lightly fried soft shell crab with melon, all shimmering golden and pink; and meltingly good gnocchi lifted by succulent pieces of lobster. After dinner, I head to the rooftop bar at the Envoy Hotel, where it seems all of Boston’s singles have gathered to drink frosé (frozen rosé) and microbrews.

In the morning there’s just enough time for breakfast, so I stop at South Street Diner, an all-night diner with a classic chrome exterior, and take a seat at the counter. Instead of Boston cream pancakes with lashings of maple syrup, I order two eggs, bacon extra crispy and a mountain of home fries. It’s delicious.

New York

On the train, from the urgent green of Rhode Island’s backwoods, we emerge onto Connecticut’s shore: Stonington, Mystic, New London flash by, as do the small beaches along the Long Island Sound. Soon we enter the Bronx, then Queens and see Manhattan’s towers in the distance before we arrive at New York’s Penn Station, which is one of the unloveliest train stations in the country, especially galling when you see photos of the original McKim, Mead and White beaux-arts glory, torn down in 1963.

4. The High Line

I head two blocks west to see an example of preserved architecture: the High Line – an elevated park created from a former railway. I pass million-dollar flats designed by Zaha Hadid, Peter Marino and Bjarke Ingels; and at 23rd Street, I take the stairs down to peer into West Chelsea art galleries, and then carry on past crowds taking photos of a mural of stylised Statues of Liberty and America’s welcome to immigrants: ‘I lift my lamp besides the golden door.’ The path sweeps me under The Standard hotel, and down to Gansevoort Street and the Renzo Piano-designed Whitney Museum of American Art, which sits as an architectural exclamation mark at the High Line’s terminus.

5. Simon and the Whale

For any meal at any time, I’m spoiled for choice. Restaurateur Gabe Stulman has gone above 14th Street for the first time with the Simon and the Whale restaurant at the Freehand Hotel. The black bread and taramasalata is currently my favourite beginning to any meal, and the fish sandwich is unapologetically served with coleslaw and French fries.

Washington DC

From New York, it’s a short three hours to Union Station, which is a suitably grand arrival into the District of Columbia, with its massive gilt-coffered ceiling and views of the Capitol dome. Across the National Mall, Washington has rediscovered its riverfront on both the Potomac and Anacostia Rivers. In the Wharf District in the city’s southwest, new hotels, restaurants and public piers seamlessly tie in the city’s existing fish markets and steamed crab stalls selling the bounty of Chesapeake Bay.

6. Rivers, blossoms and leaders

I hop aboard the Wharf Jitney, with its sunny yellow top, and cross the river to East Potomac Park. From there it’s a 20-minute walk to the Tidal Basin, ground zero for DC’s cherry blossom festival every March and April, and the great rotunda of the Jefferson Memorial. His statue stares not just at the White House across the water, but now also at the nine-metre-high relief of Martin Luther King Jr. The two great leaders are linked by the memorial for a third: Franklin D Roosevelt. As the lights come on in the early evening, one of King’s quotes takes on prominence: ‘The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.’

7. Chloe

The cleaned-up Anacostia River has also seen a revival with the Capitol Riverfront and Navy Yard districts bringing new restaurants, hotels and parks. At Chloe, chef Haidar Karoum’s cubio crudo has just the right amount of heat from diced Thai chillis. I devour the hummus with minced beef and sliced almonds, which is followed by a whole crispy dorade atop a mound of fragrant jasmine rice.

8. Galleries of history

The next morning, after an excellent coffee and croissant sandwich at the airy Dolcezza at the Wharf, I ogle ikat robes from Central Asia and James Whistler’s stunning Peacock Room, with panels and ceiling painted by the American artist in blue-green and gold, at the recently renovated Freer and Sackler Galleries. Across the Mall, at the National Museum of African American Heritage and Culture, I start in the lower galleries where shackles and chains worn by slaves lie in black ironbound silence, and the history of America’s ‘original sin’ is laid out. But as I ascend to the civil rights movement exhibits and then onto the cultural, sporting, culinary and musical contributions of African Americans, the mood becomes lighter, even joyous.

In three days, I’ve had a taste of American history, innovation, struggle, cuisine – and how they were shaped by immigrants from around the world, my own ancestors among them. I think of the signs that have been placed along the High Line: You are welcome here. Long may it be so.

WHERE TO STAY

The Envoy Hotel, Boston

Bright rooms with tiled floors, sunny yellow curtains and floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking Fort Point Channel and Boston’s Financial District, as well as the hulking steel skeleton of the Northern Avenue Bridge. The rooftop lounge is the place to be on a summer evening, and in winter it has inflatable igloos to keep guests warm.
theenvoyhotel.com

The Beekman, New York

Just north of the Brooklyn Bridge, this might be the most Instagrammable hotel in New York – head to the nine-storey atrium and look up (or down). The ornate Victorian cast-iron railings, balustrades and facade of the 1883 building were preserved and are echoed in the rich decor in the lobby and Bar Room. Some of the rooms and suites (dark wood floors, light walls, jewel toned carpets) have views of City Hall and the Woolworth Building.
thebeekman.com

InterContinental, The Wharf, Washington DC

The rooms at this luxe riverfront hotel have mesmerising views across the Potomac of planes taking off and landing at Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, which are even better from the rooftop pool. The chic lobby’s stunning brass-rail staircase and hanging light installation is already a favourite Instagram spot, and chef Kwame Onwuachi brings Caribbean, West African and Creole influences to his inventive menu at Kith/Kin. On the wharf, rent paddleboards from Recreation Pier, pick up the latest Washington tell-all at bookshop Politics & Prose or hop on a water taxi to Georgetown.
wharfintercontinentaldc.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Boston from Hong Kong seven times a week, New York City 35 times a week and Washington DC four times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book