愛爾蘭

歐洲最富詩意的地方

康尼瑪拉位處不列顛群島西陲,當地物產豐饒,景色在狂風中更添野趣,符合我們對愛爾蘭的想像,國泰航空現已推出新航線直飛都柏林,讓你可親歷其境

幾個世紀以來,愛爾蘭人一直稱康尼瑪拉作「遺世絕景」,將這片狂風凜冽的西陲之地形容得非常貼切。當地未經雕琢的大自然美景,在歐洲地區已愈來愈少見。

康尼瑪拉常被形容為世上最富詩意的地方之一,原因是它位處歐洲大陸的邊緣,三面被大西洋包圍,內陸則銜接科里布湖。康尼瑪拉的「蠻荒美景」是愛爾蘭文豪王爾德的靈感泉源,他以「多山的荒野」和「各方面都壯麗無比」來形容這地。

這片歷史悠久卻人煙稀少的土地,數百年來吸引無數人前來尋幽探秘。第一個獲文獻記載的遊客是倫敦書商John Daunton。他在1695年踏足康尼瑪拉,尋訪「愛爾蘭最後的原始蠻族」。他說的是曾以弓箭擊退英軍而聞名的O’Flaherty氏族,據說族內婦女以尿液混合灰塵來洗髮。

我追隨著Daunton的足跡,並帶備一瓶昂貴的洗頭水,於灰濛濛的倫敦乘搭飛機,希望在不列顛群島的另一端,找到與都市生活大異其趣的風景。

Joanne Murphy

從都柏林機場駕車出發不過數小時,遺世絕景的氣息已撲面而來。車窗外的風景從基爾代爾郡綠油油的靜謐草地,變成野性十足的巍峨山巒。經過高威市後,截然不同的風景驟然在眼前展開。我彷彿闖進童話世界,康尼瑪拉的山脈拔地而起,放眼可見高聳峭壁、漆黑湖水和陽光下的山丘,狂風中的大片沼澤開遍了野花和荊豆花(多刺灌木上綻放的黃花)。

我下榻的Ballynahinch Castle城堡酒店坐落在盛產三文魚的河畔,而河水則呈幽暗的炭黑色。當陽光穿透酒店周圍的樹林,極目眺望,更可看到遠處的Twelve Bens山脈。這座建於14世紀的古堡,由當時統治該區的O’Flaherty氏族及康諾省海盜女王Grace O’Malley興建,數百年來一直是各方勢力爭奪之地,包括有「暴躁Dick」外號之稱的國會議員,以及一位印度土邦主,而愛爾蘭大詩人Seamus Heaney甚至曾為城堡作詩。

在康尼瑪拉土生土長的Patrick O’Flaherty是城堡酒店現時的管理人,他表示︰「山脈、湖泊、河流和沼澤地,加上沙灘和野生矮種馬,構成詩人和畫家嚮往的風景。酒店訪客細聽長河流經280公頃土地發出的潺潺水聲,浸淫在城堡濃厚的歷史氛圍中,自然有感自己正身歷愛爾蘭的原始面貌。」

Joanne Murphy

我到訪康尼瑪拉的第一天與Jonathan Broderick同行。這位和藹可親的導遊曾是當地漁夫,我們划船過湖,爬過荊豆花灌木叢,避開隱蔽的泥塘,我初嘗到人生中第一次釣魚體驗。途中,我終於明白王爾德多年前對康尼瑪拉著迷的緣由。下午3至4時,當陽光穿透愛爾蘭上空厚厚的雲層,大地即時被繪上明亮的色彩。

Broderick和我脫下鞋子,躡足走進河中,他悅耳的聲音繼續細訴Grace O’Malley叱吒風雲的故事,帶鹹味的強風吹得我頭髮亂飛,拍打著我的臉龐,我已被眼前的一切深深吸引。

要形容康尼瑪拉全貌,不得不提及海洋景致。狂風中的狹長沙灘彷彿看不到盡頭,清澈見底的潮池及淺粉紅色的貝殼則點綴其中。偶爾還有穿上套頭毛衣的一家大小冒著大風拉著高飛的風箏奔跑。為了進一步探索海岸線,我走到Roundstone村港口與船長John O’Sullivan匯合,乘船到鄰近小島Inishlacken。小島被幾個小海灣簇擁,荊豆花漫坡遍野,在白浪滔天的大西洋中添上一點翠綠。島上已無居民,剩下的只有經歷數百年風霜的石灰岩小屋,為桀驁不馴的自然風光添上一抹蕭瑟荒涼,為夏季前來作畫的藝術家提供創作靈感。

Joanne Murphy

當陽光短暫到訪,再次為大地添上明亮色彩時,冷冰冰的沙灘頓時化作陽光燦爛的印度洋島國。有別於藝術家的創作靈感,這裡啟發我的是另一種衝動:我想躍進大海暢泳。但當我早已冷得發青的四肢碰到冰冷的海水,馬上心生悔意。幸好在20分鐘後,我得以安坐在O’Dowd’s海濱酒吧,一手拿著熱雞尾酒Hot Toddy,一手捧著一盤熱騰騰的薯條,我已感到心滿意足。

儘管當地旅遊業錄得增長,我在康尼瑪拉到訪的所有酒吧、餐廳及咖啡店,均是童叟無欺不折不扣的老派風格。所有菜式均選用時令食材,取自盛產鱒魚的河流或海產豐富的海洋(甚至可由你親自捕撈)。肥美的扇貝、足料的魚湯、配上自製蛋黃醬的本地螃蟹等不一而足,當地菜式極為豐盛,通常佐以一瓶葡萄酒或一杯健力士啤酒。

撇開風景美食,風土人情亦是康尼瑪拉值得大家造訪的原因。我在這裡遇上的每一個人,無論是漁夫、水手、大廚抑或作家,均展現愛爾蘭人馳名的親切感,他們都非常願意跟訪客分享他們對這片土地的熱愛。

Joanne Murphy

O’Flaherty表示︰「康尼瑪拉背負著苦難的歷史,對過去毫無怨言,亦不推諉塞責。這裡仍然殘留大饑荒造成的負面影響,但康尼瑪拉人永遠對今日所享有的一切心懷感恩之情,並樂於與人分享。歷史悠久的民族和土地鮮有這種開明和全情投入的態度。」

康尼瑪拉是個令人捨不得離開的地方。我駕車東行駛回都柏林途中,現代感逐漸取代神秘感,冷峻的山峰、盛放的紫花和危機四伏的泥塘,從車子的倒後鏡漸漸遠去。突然之間,四周顏色變得暗淡,世界顯得乏味。不過,見識過康尼瑪拉歷久不衰的美景和歷史氛圍之後,稍稍緩和了我低落的心情。這片遺世絕景令我一再想起童話世界,兩者均為生活注入一點神奇魔法。

熱門之選

Left: Joanne Murphy;Right: TravelCollection/Alamy Stock Photo/Argusphoto

住宿

Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 城堡酒店

踏入這幢被古老森林環抱的河畔城堡酒店,你一定會喜歡那裡的四柱床、旋轉樓梯及鑲嵌木牆的飯廳。酒店名下餐廳The Owenmore及Fisherman’s Pub & Ranji Room均是愛爾蘭數一數二的食府,值得一訪。
ballynahinch-castle.com

Delphi Lodge 旅館

前身是運動中心的Delphi Lodge旅館建於1830年代中葉,棲身於凱拉雷港附近一個偏遠山谷。旅館內擺放不少古董、舊照片及火爐,賓客先以開胃點心下酒,再圍坐橢圓形大餐桌旁,品嚐熱騰騰的美饌。
delphilodge.ie

Rosleague Manor

這間淺粉紅色的酒店毗鄰Ballinakill Bay海灣,就像怒海上有一份裹上精美花紙的禮物。酒店房間佈滿古董家具,設有寬敞的觀景酒吧及獨立浴室,甚至可以看到小豬在鄰近的果園漫步。這裡的菜式味道一流,包括海螯蝦、羊架及新鮮捕獲的三文魚。
rosleague.com

Laurence Hofman

飲食

Connemara Smokehouse 餐廳

家庭式餐館Connemara Smokehouse位於風景優美的Bunowen Pier碼頭,提供蜂蜜烤三文魚、腌漬三文魚及吞拿魚等美食。小店始於1946年,以鋪滿毛櫸木的窯灶煙燻全魚,再以人手切件、去骨、鹽漬及切片。
smokehouse.ie

O’Dowd’s 酒吧餐廳‬

O’Dowd’s俯瞰Roundstone村的港口,一如最宜寒夜取暖的愛爾蘭嵌木牆酒吧,這裡彌漫溫馨氣氛,提供一系列手工愛爾蘭啤酒、足料魚湯、塗抹蒜蓉牛油的蟹鉗及多層海鮮什錦拼盤,難怪永遠擠滿鬧哄哄的當地人。
odowdsseafoodbar.com

Mitchell’s 餐廳

這間氣氛愉快的餐廳位於Clifden村,藏身於一幢天藍色的19世紀末建築內。那裡的魚批值得你專誠飛到當地品嚐,它以大量的三文魚、鯖魚、大蝦及蟹肉作饀料,批面更鋪上幼滑薯蓉及芝士碎。 
mitchellsrestaurantclifden.com

國泰航空設有由香港飛往都柏林的航班,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Ireland

Is this the most poetic place in Europe?

On the western edge of the British Isles, the landscapes of Connemara reveal the windswept Ireland of our imaginations. And with its new route to Dublin, Cathay Pacific can take you there. Words by MELISSA TWIGG, photos by JOANNE MURPHY

The Great Alone: it’s what the Irish have called Connemara for centuries. And it is a particularly apt description of the windswept western bulge of Ireland, which boasts a raw, elemental beauty that is becoming increasingly difficult to find in Europe.

Often described as one of the most poetic places on earth, it is no coincidence that Connemara is located on the outermost tip of the continent, hemmed in by the Atlantic on three sides and Lough Corrib, a lake, on the fourth. Oscar Wilde wrote extensively about Connemara’s ‘savage beauty’, declaring it a ‘wild, mountainous country’ and ‘in every way magnificent’.

This ancient, sparsely populated land has been astonishing visitors for centuries, with the first documented tourist coming in 1695 when John Daunton, a London bookseller, arrived in Connemara to meet ‘the last of the wild Irish savages’. He was talking about the infamous O’Flaherty clan that fought off the British army with bows and arrows and whose women allegedly washed their hair in a mixture of urine and ashes.

Following in Daunton’s footsteps – and armed with a bottle of expensive shampoo – I boarded a flight on a grey day, hoping to find the starkest contrast to urban life.

Within a few hours’ travel from Dublin Airport, The Great Alone makes its presence felt. The sedate green fields of County Kildare give way to a rugged, rocky wilderness, and once I pass the city of Galway, the landscape utterly transforms. A fairy tale place emerges, one of jutting crags, jet-black lakes and sunlit hills, as Connemara’s mountains loom over the land, and wild flowers and gorse (thorny shrubs of yellow blooms) hover around the windswept expanses of bog.

I was staying at Ballynahinch Castle, crouched on the edge of a peat-dark, salmon-rich river and surrounded by glistening woodlands with a view of the Twelve Bens mountain range in the distance. The old castle was built in the 14th century by the ruling O’Flaherty clan and Grace O’Malley, the pirate queen of Connaught, and it has been fought over for centuries by a cast of characters that includes a parliamentarian nicknamed Hair-Trigger Dick and an Indian maharaja. Seamus Heaney even wrote a poem about it.

‘The mountains, lakes, rivers and bogs together with the beaches and the wild mountain ponies create the landscape of poets and painters,’ says Patrick O’Flaherty, a Connemara local who now manages the hotel. ‘The rhythm of the river flowing through the 280 hectares and the deep sense of history give the visitor the sense that they are experiencing an Ireland that is true, unpretentious and authentic.’

I spend my first day in Connemara with Jonathan Broderick, a charming local fisherman-turned-guide with whom I rowed across lakes, scrambled over gorse, dodged invisible bogs and lost my fishing virginity. On our expedition, I understood what Oscar Wilde was on about all those years ago. When the mid-afternoon sun broke through the thick Irish cloud, the land around me was instantly painted in vivid colours.

Broderick and I took off our shoes and dipped our toes in the river, and as his lilting voice continued the tale of Grace O’Malley’s wild ways, salty air whipping my hair around my face, I was struck by the loveliness of it all.

It is impossible to describe Connemara without mentioning the sea. Windswept sandy beaches stretch as far as the eye can see, peppered with crystal clear tidal pools, pale pink shells and the occasional jumper-clad family running with kites aloft. To understand the coastline, I walked down to Roundstone Harbour to meet skipper John O’Sullivan for a boat trip to the nearby island of Inishlacken – an emerald green speck of coves and gorse in the churning Atlantic Ocean. There’s no longer a community here, and the remains of centuries-old limestone cottages create a desolate feel amid the wild landscape, one that inspires the artists who come here to paint throughout the summer.

My inspiration was more of the physical kind. A brief, flirtatious visit from the sun brought out those vivid colours once more, turning this cold beach into a Seychelles-like paradise. It was enough to make me attempt a swim – a decision I regretted the moment my blue limbs met the freezing sea, but one that felt wonderful 20 minutes later when I was ensconced in O’Dowd’s seafront pub, hot toddy in one hand and steaming plate of chips in the other.

Despite an increase in tourism, all the pubs, restaurants and cafes I visited in Connemara felt resolutely, authentically old-fashioned. All the food is seasonal and freshly caught in either the trout-filled rivers or teeming seas (and perhaps, even, by you). Fat scallops, chunky fish soup, local crab with homemade mayonnaise – food here is plentiful, hearty and rich, and always accompanied by a bottle of wine or a pint of Guinness.

But as much as all this, it is the people who make Connemara such an enchanting place to visit. From fishermen and sailors to chefs and writers, everyone I encountered had that famous Irish warmth and was determined to talk about the land they loved so much.

‘Connemara wears her history without excuse and without rancour,’ says O’Flaherty. ‘Some of the worst effects of the great famine were felt here and yet the people of Connemara are always ready to celebrate and share what they enjoy today. There is an openness and engagement that sometimes is not forthcoming from an ancient landscape and people.’

Connemara is not an easy place to leave. As I get in my car and drive east to Dublin, mysticism gradually fades to modernity, and the flinty peaks, purple flowers and treacherous bogs recede in my rear-view mirror. All of a sudden, colours seem duller and the world flatter, but knowing about the unchanging beauty and enduring antiquity of Connemara soothes me. Like the fairy tales it reminded me so much of, The Great Alone makes life feel that bit more magical.

Hit list

Stay

Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Step inside this castle hotel, set above a river and amid ancient forests, to be delighted by its four-poster beds, curved staircases and wood-panelled dining rooms. Its restaurants, The Owenmore and Fisherman’s Pub & Ranji Room, are two of Ireland’s best.
ballynahinch-castle.com

Delphi Lodge

Built as a sporting retreat in the mid 1830s, Delphi Lodge is perched atop a remote valley near Killary Harbour. It’s filled with antiques, old pictures and fireplaces, and guests meet over drinks and canapés before everyone sits down together around an oval table for something hot and delicious.
delphilodge.ie

Rosleague Manor

This pale pink hotel by Ballinakill Bay looks like a perfectly wrapped present sitting above the churning sea. There are antique-filled rooms, a large conservatory bar, stand-alone baths and even pigs that roam the nearby orchards. The food is excellent – think langoustines, lamb cutlets and freshly caught salmon.
rosleague.com

Eat

Connemara Smokehouse

On the very pretty Bunowen Pier, the family-run Connemara Smokehouse (pictured bottom middle) produces outstanding foods such as honey-roast salmon, gravadlax and tuna. The fish is smoked over beechwood in a kiln dating from 1946, before being filleted, boned, salted and sliced by hand.
smokehouse.ie

O’Dowd’s

Overlooking the harbour at Roundstone village, O’Dowd’s is the sort of warm, wood-panelled Irish pub you dream of on cold nights. Serving a range of craft ales, chunky fish soup, crab claws in garlic butter and towering platters of mixed fresh seafood, it’s always packed with a raucous local crowd.
odowdsseafoodbar.com

Mitchell’s

This cheerful restaurant (pictured top right) is housed in a sky blue, turn-of-the-century house in the village of Clifden. And its fish pie is probably worth getting on a plane for: it’s a rich mix of salmon, mackerel, prawns and crab, topped with creamy mashed potato and grated cheese.
mitchellsrestaurantclifden.com

Cathay Pacific flies to Dublin from Hong Kong four times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book