香港特別行政區

重慶大廈完全指南

重慶大廈過去的歷史引人入勝,又曾在王家衛的電影《重慶森林》內擔當要角,加上迷宮一般的大廈內遍佈商店和印度及清真餐館,吸引本地人與外地訪客蜂擁前來一享口福

重慶大廈位於尖沙咀彌敦道,四周被國際名牌連鎖店包圍。香港人對這幢大廈的印象十分矛盾,有人認為最好對這個地方敬而遠之,但也有人將這幢大廈視為多元的文化的縮影,還有味道一流的異國美食,是個吸引人前往探索的勝地。

本地人對重慶大廈的印象有分歧,源於大廈不但有一段引人入勝的過去,同時又曾是個龍蛇混雜的地方。這幢樓高17層的大廈於1961年落成,是當時尖沙咀最高的建築物,外型新穎醒目,成為市區住宅的代表作。

Credit: Moses Ng

大廈落成初期,裡面開設商店及餐廳,被譽為領先潮流的混合型發展項目。到了1970年代,由於管理不善及疏忽,引來不少背景可疑的人物遷入,從事各種可疑的活動,令重慶大廈變成一般人裹足不前的地方。

即使如此,當時對不少新來香港的人外地人來說,重慶大廈是一片熱鬧繁榮的樂土。這裡雲集了非洲人、印度人、巴基斯坦人和其他東來尋找發財機會的人,以及尋找廉價住宿的背包客。重慶大廈現在仍有多家廉價賓館,房租由100港元至300港元不等,多個主要酒店訂房網站上都可找到這些賓館,令入住的人略感安心。外地人入住重慶大廈之後,同時將他們的語言文化和烹飪特色一拼帶來,令這幢大廈成為一個大熔爐,吸引喜歡尋找刺的遊客和好奇的本地人前來尋幽探秘。

Credit: Moses Ng

到了1990年代,重慶大廈的業主開始著手改善大廈內的環境和設施,包括在各處安裝閉路電視,為大廈帶來煥然一新的形象。導演王家衛與攝影師杜可風於1994年攜手合作,以別具風格的手法拍出經典電影《重慶森林》後,吸引大批影迷前來朝聖,令重慶大廈的訪客人數急增。除了影迷之外,還有不少美食家到大廈內搜尋隱世美食,而背包客則希望覓得價廉物美的住宿之所。

時至今日,香港遍佈大型商場、豪華酒店與摩天華宅,破舊而雜亂的重慶大廈顯得有點與時代脫節,然而卻有別處所沒有的迷人特色,因此成為香港一個極富趣味的地方。

Credit: Moses Ng

前往重慶大廈

重慶大廈位於車水馬龍的彌敦道上,從港鐵尖沙咀站多個出口都可前往,亦可從對面的iSquare國際廣場前往。位於重慶大廈南面就是氣派豪華的半島酒店,以及維港海旁多個旅遊熱點,抱括文化中心及經過翻新的尖沙咀海濱花園;而往北行就是到九龍公園

大廈的主要入口位於彌敦道36–44號,前面站了一大群為大廈內的餐廳、商店和裁縫店招攬客人的人,中間夾雜了一兩個兜售冒牌手袋或手錶的人。重慶大廈其實由五座相連的大樓組成,地下和一樓、二樓是各式商店和餐廳,再往上的樓層就是小型賓館和住宅。

Credit: Moses Ng

尋覓美食

重慶大廈內可以品嚐到烹調水準一流,口味非常正宗的國際美食。已故名廚Anthony Bourdain曾在他主持的CNN電視節目《Parts Unknown》中熱烈讚揚重慶大廈的飲食文化,本地美食家亦對大廈內的餐廳菜館推崇備至。獅王印度餐廳(B座1樓102室,+852 2312 0366)是其中的表表者,供應尼泊爾及印度菜式,以份量大而為人津津樂道;餐廳營業至午夜時分。其他受歡迎的餐廳包括新德里餐廳(C座3樓3室,+852 2368 1682)、7E咖喱王(E座7樓E2室,+852 2721 2786)以及土耳其烤肉餐廳Bismillah(1樓75號舖,+852 2722 5733)等,均值得前往品嚐。

Credit: Moses Ng

重慶大廈內亦有水準上佳的清真美食,包括 Syed Bukhara的馬來菜,例如配上蛋及炸小魚乾的椰漿飯(地下15-16號舖,+852 5635 2723)等,味道不俗。

Credit: Moses Ng

此外,重慶大廈內有多家無名菜館,特別是供應非洲菜式的幾家,因為光顧的都是以熟客和大廈住客為主。初來埗到的人可能因此卻步,不過若你願意放開懷抱探索一番的話,這些無名小店的美食都值得品嚐。

Credit: Moses Ng

特色購物

重慶大廈內的商店提供外幣找換服務、出售手機、國際電話卡及各種小玩意和配件,你總會在其中找到合用的東西。此外,這裡也有不少別具一格的小飾物、美味小食和其他有趣事物,在印度小店內,你可找到海靈草、各式香料和誘人的糖果和小食,還有令人眼花繚亂的布料和禮服。非洲小店內亦可找到來自當地的土產,不過衣服的選擇則不及印度商店豐富。

Credit: Moses Ng

關於重慶大廈的趣味數字

17

重慶大廈有五幢相連的大樓,每幢都有17層

58

重慶大廈於1961年落成,至今已有58年歷史;大廈於2011年進行翻新

130

根據人類學家麥高登教授於2011年所作的報告,於重慶大廈內居住和工作的人分別擁有130個不同國籍,不少來自非洲和東南亞國家。

4,000

根據麥高登的調查,重慶大廈約有4,000名住客

10,000

每天估計約有10,000人進出重慶大廈

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Hong Kong SAR

The Complete Guide to Chungking Mansions

Famous for its colourful past and starring role in Wong Kar-wai’s film Chungking Express, Chungking Mansions attracts a multicultural crowd to its maze of shops and restaurants, which offer some of the best Indian and halal food in Hong Kong

Depending on which Hongkonger you speak to, Chungking Mansions is either a place to avoid or a fascinating island in the sea of multinational chain stores that dominate Tsim Sha Tsui, offering both colour and variety, as well as a range of exquisite overseas cuisines. The reality is that it is both of those things at once.

Chungking Mansions’ divisive reputation among locals owes much to the colourful and at times seedy past of the labyrinthine 17-storey building complex that opened on Nathan Road in 1961. At that time, Chungking Mansions was the tallest building in Tsim Sha Tsui and represented a bold new type of residential living in the city.

Credit: Moses Ng

In its early years, it gained shops and restaurants, and was hailed as a cutting-edge mixed-used development. By the 1970s, however, poor management and neglect led to Chungking Mansions becoming a refuge for questionable businesses and even more questionable characters, and the building’s more notorious reputation was born.

Even so, Chungking Mansions became a bustling haven for newcomers to Hong Kong. The building was an unofficial hub for Africans, Indians, Pakistanis and many others who had moved east seeking their fortune, as well as backpackers looking for cheap accommodation. (It still is, with room rates typically ranging from HK$100 to HK$300; the hotels are listed on all the major booking sites for that added bit of assurance.) With the newcomers came their languages, cultures and cuisines, and Chungking Mansions became a melting pot for more adventurous tourists and curious locals.

Credit: Moses Ng

By the 1990s, and with the installation of CCTV, Chungking Mansions had shed much of its nefarious image. Visitor numbers spiked after it appeared in director Wong Kar-wai and cinematographer Christopher Doyle’s dreamy 1994 classic Chungking Express, and the building had something of a renaissance, wooing film fans and foodies as well as backpackers attracted by the cheap and cheerful accommodation.

Today, in a city strewn with mega-malls, luxury hotels and apartments, the shabby, chaotic Chungking Mansions stands out as something of an anachronism, but its idiosyncratic charm makes it one of the most interesting places in Hong Kong.

Credit: Moses Ng

How to Get to Chungking Mansions

Chungking Mansions is on the busy thoroughfare Nathan Road, not far from a number of exits from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and across the road from the towering iSQUARE mall. To the south are the plush environs of The Peninsula hotel and the tourist hotspots on the waterfront, including the Cultural Centre and the revamped Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade; while to the north is Kowloon Park.

The main entrance is at 36-44 Nathan Road, where you’ll be greeted by people touting the building’s restaurants, shops and tailors, and one or two peddling the odd fake luxury bag or watch. Chungking Mansions is actually five connected blocks, each with its own life on the ground floor. The first two floors contain shops and restaurants, with the upper floors containing the mini hotels and homes of residents.

Credit: Moses Ng

Where to Eat

Chungking Mansions’ contains some of the best and closest to authentic international cuisine found in Hong Kong. CNN’s Parts Unknown, hosted by the late Anthony Bourdain, was effusive in praising its food culture, as are some local foodies. The standout is Sher-E-Punjab (Shop 102, 1/F, Block B; +852 2312 0366), a Nepalese and Indian restaurant that’s open till midnight and is known for its sizeable portions.

Credit: Moses Ng

Other popular options include The Delhi Club (Room 3, 3/F, Block C; +852 2368 1682), Khyber Pass Mess Club (Flat E2, 7/F, Block E; +852 2721 2786) and Turkish kebab house Bismillah (Shop 75, 1/F; +852 2722 5733). Chungking Mansions also has some of the best halal food in Hong Kong, including Syed Bukhara for Malaysian dishes like nasi lemak with egg and fried anchovies (Shop 15-16, G/F; +852 5635 2723).

Credit: Moses Ng

A few restaurants in Chungking Mansions, particularly the African places, are unnamed as they cater more to regulars and residents. This might put off newbies but they’re worth a visit if you’re in the mood for discovery.

Credit: Moses Ng

What to Buy

Travellers could find something useful among the plentiful shops offering currency exchange, mobile phones, international phone cards and all manner of gadgets and accessories – but you can also pick up unique trinkets, a quick feed and more. In the Indian shops, you’ll find henna, spices and definitely-not-good-for-you snacks and sweets, as well as fabrics and ceremonial dresses. Similarly, the African shops offer products from back home, although not as many clothing options.

Credit: Moses Ng

Chungking Mansions by the Numbers

17

The number of storeys that make up the five connected blocks of Chungking Mansions

58

The number of years Chungking Mansions has been open for business; established in 1961, the building had its most recent face lift in 2011

130

The number of nationalities that live and work inside Chungking Mansions, according to a 2011 report by anthropologist Gordon Mathews, with healthy representation from Africa and South Asia

4,000

The estimated resident population of Chungking Mansions, according to Matthews

10,000

The estimated number of people who enter and leave Chungking Mansions daily

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book