商務旅行

見賢思齊: 與Black Sheep Restaurants創辦人Syed Asim Hussain的Q&A

Syed Asim Hussain是餐飲集團Black Sheep Restaurants的創辦人之一,他與我們分享創業經歷和公司文化的重要之處

Black Sheep於2012年開設第一家餐廳,當時的理念是什麼?

我離開華爾街之後回到香港,當時已經打算開餐廳,之後我便認識了Christopher Mark(後來他成為集團共同創辦人)。我們很多想法、意念和對餐飲的理念都不謀而合,而且大家都很想將之傳揚開去,因此就開了第一家餐廳。

今時今日的食客追求什麼?

對現今的顧客來說,千篇一律的倒模式餐飲體驗可能已經過時了。我們不做一般意大利菜,而是做意大利沿岸的菜式、紐約式的意大利菜,或者佛羅倫斯式的葡萄酒吧。現在很多顧客的旅遊經驗豐富,見多識廣,知道一般菜式和特色菜的分別,因此我們想呈現獨到的餐飲意念。

你的公司很快就發展成為擁有17間餐廳的集團,過程是怎麼樣的?

在外人眼裡,我們可能發展得很快。但對我們來說,這其實是一個小心翼翼的過程,每一步都要經過深思熟慮。在這個過程中,我們可說是歷盡艱辛,有血有淚。剛開始時我們懷著雄心壯志,卻陷於苦戰中。我們開設第一家餐廳時,Chris負責打理廚房,我則負責樓面。到創業第三年,我依然安排時間到其中一間餐廳工作。我很希望能保持這種初創精神,雖然如今我們已經頗具規模,但仍然要緊記公司起步時引領我們成功發展的初衷,同時也要緊守我們建立的文化。

你對公司的企業文化有什麼看法?

我覺得我們是挺成功的,因為我們在業務中建立起緊密的社群文化。Black Sheep除了是一間公司外,更像一個社群,而這亦正是每家出色企業的共通點。此外,我們也十分著重員工的發展,譬如有位年輕人加入我們公司時在Motorino餐廳擔任初級侍應,但現在他已經是我們兩間餐廳的主管。

你認為科技對你的業務有何影響?

我覺得人們來餐廳就是為了逃離科技的煩擾。可能在十年之後,餐廳會成為唯一一個非數碼化的空間。雖然我們在幕後的確利用很多數碼設備來支援餐廳營運(例如管理庫存等),但這些都只是乏味的管理措施而已。我們不希望顧客來到餐廳,還要接觸數碼設備。

未來有什麼計劃?

雖然Black Sheep是香港的餐飲集團,但說不定也會改變。我們正準備進軍國際,新餐廳很快就會開業。另外,我也希望能在數年內開設第一間酒店。

馬可孛羅會鑽石卡會員可於Black Sheep Restaurants旗下全線餐廳享受優先訂座及優先候補服務,詳情請瀏覽 cathaypacific.com

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Serious business

Community, then company: Syed Asim Hussain of Black Sheep Group

Syed Asim Hussain, co-founder of Hong Kong’s Black Sheep Restaurants, on growing a startup and the importance of company culture

Black Sheep launched its first restaurant in 2012. What was the vision early on?

After working on Wall Street, I came back to Hong Kong and wanted to open restaurants. I met [co-founder] Christopher Mark and we had a lot of similar ideas and philosophies of concepts and cuisines we wanted to express.

What are diners looking for today?

Cookie cutter concepts are perhaps obsolete now. We don’t do Italian: we’ll do coastal Italian or New York Italian or a Florentine wine bar. People have travelled now and they understand this distinction. The stories we’re trying to tell are very specific.

You’ve grown fast and now have 17 restaurants. What’s that been like?

From the outside it may seem quick, but for us it’s been a careful, measured journey. It’s been literal and metaphorical blood, sweat and tears. We were ambitious from the get-go but we were in the trenches. When we opened our first restaurant, Chris was in the kitchen, I was running the floor, and until year three I was scheduled to work at one of the restaurants. I love this startup mentality. Now that we’ve grown, we can’t lose sight of the things that made us great as a young company and the culture we’ve built.

How do you view company culture?

I think we’ve been successful because we’ve created a sense of community around our work. Black Sheep is a community first and a company second, and I think that’s how all great companies are. We also really care about the development of our people. For example, a young back waiter who started with us at Motorino is now running both of the restaurant’s locations.

How will technology affect what you do?

I think people come to restaurants to get away from technology. In 10 years, restaurants might be one of the only non-digital places. At the back end, we are embracing technology solutions, like for inventory, but that’s boring management stuff. I want to shield guests from this.

What’s coming up next?

Black Sheep is a Hong Kong restaurant group, but maybe both these things will change.  We’re working on our first international opening and I hope we will open our first hotel in the next few years.

Marco Polo Club Diamond Members enjoy priority reservation and wait list for all Black Sheep Restaurants. See cathaypacific.com for more details

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book