都市生活

離開香港島 – 居港外國人學到了什麼?

從海外前來香港工作的異鄉人,留港時間通常是三年,SARAH PAISLEY也不例外;不過她卻決意在留港期間,尋找一點有別於其他外籍人士的本地體驗

往來九龍和香港島,可以乘搭渡海小輪或利用任何一條過海隧道來橫渡維多利亞港。數以百萬計的人每天都是這樣做。可是,有次我跟幾位和我一樣都是居港外國人結伴小酌時,其中一人說:「我去北美洲的次數比去九龍還要多。」大家聽後只淡淡地表示有趣,沒有人對此表示意外。

我於2015年春季移居香港,當時就知道這個地方除了沙灘和美味的早午餐之外,還有許多有趣的東西,我希望在這裡獲得不同的文化體驗。

在蘇格蘭土生土長的我,對於香港的印象並非購物商場和五星級酒店,而是低矮而有弧形轉角的住宅平房,單位外面伸出一個小小的鐵籠,以花紋鐵枝作圍欄;還有街上的鮮肉檔、密集的商店招牌和殘破的擋雨帆布篷。

因此只要一有空,我就會過海到九龍去。我每去一次,就更深入探索九龍的舊區,踏足一些很少外地人會前去遊逛的地方。

我很喜歡到長沙灣和深水埗一帶閒逛,親自體驗我從書本、明信片和電視上見到的景物。很多建築物的外牆依然殘留著幾十年前髹上去的粉色油漆,至於唐樓那些弧形轉角原意並非為了美觀,而是不會阻擋視線,讓馬路上的汽車司機可以清楚看見十字路口上的行人和其他車輛。這種風景與中環和銅鑼灣那些以玻璃幕牆為飾的高樓大異其趣,令我感到十分吸引。

所有圖片攝影:Sarah Paisley;可於Instagram上追隨她:paisley__s

街道愈狹窄,也就代表年代愈久遠。抬頭往上望,你可能見到一隻有破洞的窗,裡面塞了污跡斑斑的破布,可能已經塞在那裡數十年。或者你會見到早已經關門大吉的店鋪的招牌,依然牢牢地懸掛在生了銹的支架上。我在這一帶拍了許多照片,其中有男子在扶起巍顫顫的竹桿、破舊的商店和古老的街市等,統統上載到Instagram上。

此外,肉販在鮮肉檔內做買賣,櫃檯面向著街,髹上鮮艷的顏色,上面掛著閃爍不定的舊霓虹燈招牌;飯館門外有人在奮力洗刷瓦煲和放在門口的火爐,為另一個生意興隆的晚上作準備;麵包店的師傅在店前休息時順便打個盹,街上的攤販中氣十足地叫賣,這些叫人看得興味盎然的街坊風景亦被我一一攝入鏡頭內。

穿過太子區人頭湧湧的街市,就來到大南街;這條街上的藝廊、工藝店、咖啡室和街頭藝術吸引不少人前來。深水埗的耀東街晚上有很多街頭小食攤檔在擺賣,氣氛獨特,是香港其他地方沒有的。距離長沙灣地鐵站不遠處,就是「嶺南之風」中式公園,裡面有傳統園林的小橋流水、綠樹假山、亭臺樓閣等,十分優美,不少老街坊都愛流連其中。公園附近還有不少可以品嚐點心的食肆和風味十足的茶餐廳。

我在九龍舊區之旅,令我對香港這個城市的印象跟我的朋友大異其趣。每次離開港島前往九龍,我都會前往這些平靜悠閒、樸素而人情味濃的地區去,並將那裡的風光一一攝入鏡頭,同時累積了不少美好的回憶。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Urban life

Colour, culture, click! An expat’s Instagram view of Hong Kong

Three years: a standard posting. But SARAH PAISLEY was determined to have a different experience to the usual expat during her Hong Kong spell

You can cross Victoria Harbour between Kowloon and Hong Kong by ferry or by any one of the five road and rail tunnels. Millions do it every day. But when a fellow expat said ‘I’ve been to North America more times than Kowloon,’ there was mild amusement among our group of drinkers, but no great surprise.

When I moved to Hong Kong in spring 2015, I knew there was more to the territory than beaches and brunches. I’d come for a different cultural experience.

Growing up in Scotland, the images I had of Hong Kong were not of malls and five-star hotels. They were of low-rise apartment blocks with rounded corners and ornate balcony railings, street butchers, crowded business signs and tattered awnings.

So as soon as I could, I headed over the water. Every spare hour I had was spent plunging deeper and deeper into Kowloon’s hinterland.

I got a kick out of walking around Cheung Sha Wan and Sham Shui Po – the real-life versions of what I’d seen in books, postcards and on TV. Many tong lau buildings here have kept the pastel colours that they were painted decades ago; and while the rounded corners were never designed to be decorative (they were built that way to improve drivers’ visibility of pedestrians and traffic at intersections), they’re a welcoming difference to the glass towers of Central and Causeway Bay.

All images by Sarah Paisley. Follow her on Instagram here: paisley__s

The narrower the street, the further back into Hong Kong’s history you go. Look up and you might notice old stained cloths in holes of broken windows that had probably been stuffed into them decades ago; or the signs of long-gone businesses still hanging strong on their rusty bolts. I filled my Instagram with photos of men shimmying up bamboo poles, crumbling shophouses and old markets.

Click – butchers selling from brightly painted street-facing counters, with flickering old neon signs above. Click – people frantically scrubbing clay pots and their street ovens in anticipation of a busy evening of service. Click – bakers napping on their tea breaks. Click – market stall owners talking loudly to each other.

Push through the market crowds in Prince Edward and you’ll find Tai Nan Street, which is becoming incredibly popular for its galleries, craft shops, cafes and street art. Sham Shui Po’s Yiu Tung Street in the evening has some amazing food stalls and a vibrancy you don’t feel in other parts of the city. A stone’s throw from Cheung Sha Wan MTR station is Lingnan Gardens, a well-kept traditional garden with water features, rockeries, greenery and pagodas to share with old Hongkongers – with dim sum joints and local cafes nearby.

My Kowloon adventures have given me a different impression of the city to that of some of my friends. The more I left Hong Kong Island, the more snapshots I got of the peaceful, laidback, sweeter and more humble neighbourhoods.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book