音樂

Clockenflap聯合創辦人Justin Sweeting精選香港音樂表演場地

Clockenflap音樂節創辦人Justin Sweeting透露他最愛的香港音樂表演場地, 包括一間灣仔草根酒吧和演奏獨立音樂的教會

音樂表演場地是城市文化生態的重要元素。我認為它能為城市增添多彩的活力,從而提升那裡的生活質素,而頂尖表演場地,尤其是個性十足的中小型場地,更可將精采的表演昇華。它們將單純的空間變成令人感覺親切的聚會場地,助訪客結交朋友、組織樂隊、墮入愛河、放鬆享受,以及共同獲得啟迪的美妙時刻。

香港向來因缺乏表演場地而遭批評,但現時城中的活動場地正前所未有地鼎盛,而且節目琳琅滿目。香港音樂表演場地多是如亞洲博覽館這類大型場地, 數以千計的觀眾為追捧超級巨星而來。我卻更想為大家介紹中小型的場地, 它們以各種類型的風格和表演, 迎合不同類型的音樂迷口味, 以下是我目前的心水推介。

This Town Needs (TTN)

隨著位於油塘的表演場地Hidden Agenda於2017年關閉,獨立音樂的樂迷似乎無處容身。幸而,該場地並非永久消失,經過翻新及重塑品牌後,它改名換姓,並於2018年2月重新開業。顧名思義,This Town Needs正是本地樂迷渴求的表演場地,散發著地下音樂的親切原創韻味。作為欣賞音樂新星的理想地點,來自波多黎各的迷幻靈魂樂隊The Marias將於11月14日在此首度登台,Lo-fi簡約結他流行二人組合SALES則定於11月29日在這裡初試啼聲。

油塘崇信街6號Ocean One 1樓

麥花臣場館

香港音樂表演場地麥花臣場館位於旺角的心臟地帶,企位及座位最多可容納共1,600人。此場館的過人之處,是容許歌迷從酒吧購買飲料並於表演進行時享用,這做法於其他場館並不常見。強大的表演陣容使場館擁有無數個難忘的夜晚,Tame Impala、Morrissey、Bon Iver及Death Cab For Cutie均曾在這裡演出。

旺角奶路臣街38號,+852 3188 4137

The Vine

Credit: Teenage fanclub The Vine

The Vine位於灣仔,昔日是戲院,後經改建。它平日是一所英語教堂,但入夜後則化身成中等大小的香港音樂表演場地。舉行音樂會時,這裡便盡情發揮一流的音響質素以及視野之利,使其成為樂迷至愛。

灣仔巴路士街29號, +852 3527 6000

香港逸東酒店

credit: Stephanie Teng

憑藉多個環境舒適的音樂表演場地加上革新的節目安排,香港逸東酒店正迅速於現場音樂界中人氣急升。酒店致力支持香港的創意產業,最適合觀眾觀賞包羅萬有的前衛音樂表演,與走在時代之先的觀眾一同盡興。

佐敦彌敦道380號; +2782 1818

Visage One

Credit: Vic Shing@MusicSurveillance

Benky Chan是樂迷及表演經理人,每逢星期六的晚上,他位於中環的髮廊Visage One便會變成燭光搖曳的小酒館。Benky為了讓酒客度過最純粹的音樂時光,更容許酒客自攜酒品進場,享受城中最親切的現場表演。

中環荷李活道93號; +852 2523 8988

The Wanch

Credit: Oliver Spiesshofer/hongkong-rocks

The Wanch已於灣仔屹立30多年,定期舉辦免費入場的現場音樂之夜。友善而樸實的場地既能讓志趣相投的樂迷歡聚,更成為基層人才演出的重要場地,使人感到無比窩心。

灣仔謝斐道54號; +852 2861 1621

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Music

Clockenflap’s Justin Sweeting on the Best Hong Kong Concert Venues

Clockenflap co-founder Justin Sweeting reveals his favourite Hong Kong concert venues, including a ramshackle Wan Chai pub and an indie music church

Concert venues play a critical role in the cultural ecosystem of a city. To my mind they add colour and vibrancy, ultimately making a place more liveable, while the best venues can turn a good show into a transformative experience. I’ve always felt this is especially true of characterful small-to-medium-sized venues, which can turn mere spaces into places where people feel at home to come together, make friends, form bands, fall in love, let loose and enjoy some collective inspiration as one. 

Hong Kong is sometimes criticised for having a lack of venue infrastructure, but there are currently more active event sites in operation than ever. Hong Kong concert venues are often cavernous spots like the AsiaWorld-Expo, where superstars turn up to play to thousands, here are just a few of my personal favourite small-to-medium-sized venues which cater to a diversity of acts and crowds.

This Town Needs (TTN)

When Yau Tong-based livehouse Hidden Agenda closed in 2017, indie music fans were left bereft. Luckily, the venue wasn’t gone for good – revamping and rebranding for a February 2018 reopening. As its name suggests, This Town Needs is exactly what local music fans had been yearning for. TTN oozes indie authenticity with an aura that is instantly welcoming. It’s the ideal spot to catch up-and-coming live talent – this month will see debuts from Puerto Rican psychedelic soul band The Marias (14 November) and lo- fi minimalist guitar pop duo SALES (29 November).

1/F, Ocean One, 6 Shung Shun Street, Yau Tong

Macpherson Stadium

Right in the heart of Mong Kok, Macpherson Stadium is the premier venue for 1,600-capacity live shows, with standing and seating room. The Hong Kong concert venue crucially allows fans to buy drinks from the bar and take them into the show (a step missed by many other venues). Strong line-ups have led to many memorable nights, from Tame Impala and Morrissey to Bon Iver and Death Cab For Cutie.

38 Nelson Street, Mong Kok; +852 3188 4137

The Vine

Credit: Teenage fanclub The Vine

A renovated former cinema in Wan Chai, The Vine operates day to day as a modern English-speaking church but moonlights as a mid-sized venue for Hong Kong concerts. On these occasions the soul of the room shines through, with supremely wonderful sound and sight lines throughout, making it a firm fan favourite whenever it’s used.

29 Burrows Street, Wan Chai; +852 3527 6000

Eaton HK

Eaton HK live music
credit: Stephanie Teng

With a couple of live music spaces that marry comfortable surrounds with progressive programming, the Eaton HK hotel is quickly establishing itself in the live music scene. The emphasis on supporting the creative class in Hong Kong makes it a great place to catch an eclectic array of edgy artists performing to a forward-thinking crowd.

380 Nathan Road, Jordan; +2782 1818

Visage One

Credit: Vic Shing@MusicSurveillance

Music fan and impresario Benky Chan transforms Central hair salon Visage One into a candlelit jazz speakeasy on Saturday nights. Stripped down to a deliciously pure core of live music appreciation, Hong Kong concert-goers can take advantage of the BYO drink policy and enjoy the city’s ultimate intimate gig experience.

93 Hollywood Road, Central; +852 2523 8988

The Wanch

Credit: Oliver Spiesshofer/hongkong-rocks

An institution in Wan Chai for more than 30 years, The Wanch regularly hosts free live music nights. It’s a source of enduring comfort to know there’s always a friendly, unpretentious place in town for like-minded folks to gather and support grassroots talent.

54 Jaffe Road, Wan Chai; +852 2861 1621

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book