悉尼

悉尼唐人街

從邊緣邁向主流。撰文 張元珍 插畫 SAM KI 圖片 黃承彥

在星期五夜市期間鑽進悉尼唐人街範圍的德信街,就如同闖入一個擁擠、七彩繽紛又俗氣的亞洲廚房。為了滿足一個龐大族群,還有全球旅客的口腹之欲,究竟這個大廚房匯聚了多少味道、語言、香味、聲音和文化呢?

這裡每一刻都有不同種族和年紀的人蜂湧而至,務求擠進區內約200家餐廳大快朵頤。但如同世界各地其他唐人街一樣,它的起源並不怎樣光采。

年逾八旬的老華僑黃祖發告訴我:「唐人街從前被稱為『九反之地』,而在二次世界大戰前,它是一個貧民窟;澳洲人根本不會來這裡用餐。」

該區毗鄰碼頭,當年欲賺外快的水手選擇在此偷偷卸下鴉片等違禁貨物,更有指這裡每家店舖樓上,都有上百名黑市華工蝸居於狹小斗室裡。由於限制非歐洲人移居澳洲的「白澳」政策到1972年才被廢除,故此二戰前的華人,或多或少都與「非法」扯上關係。這些華僑大多原本是廉價勞工,在來往歐洲、美國和澳洲的商船上當雜役,因為深知戰後將會失業,便乘機跳船留在異國落地生根。在悉尼上岸的華人,自然靠攏日益擴展的華人聚居地,成為日後唐人街的雛型。

我們一家於1983年移居悉尼時,唐人街正銳意蛻變為旅遊景點,響應悉尼以多元文化掛帥的新發展路向。當時樹立的傳統地標至今仍然屹立不倒,包括寓意招財納福的唐式牌樓、一座涼亭,還有經翻新後模仿中式里弄文化的德信街,餐廳、商店和雜貨店夾道而立。

對我父母來說,唐人街是他們在異地最能找到祖國文化的地方,亦能滿足其他更為迫切的生活需求。當時全國僅有的亞洲超級市場就在唐人街,母親雖為家中唯一經濟支柱,但也甘願每星期數次乘搭45分鐘巴士,前往唐人街購買雜糧,為孩子、丈夫和翁姑烹調他們所思念的家鄉菜。

家母在電話中對我說:「1980年代的澳洲令人悶得發慌。商店每天下午5時後就關門,閒時百無聊賴,也沒有地方可去,只有逛唐人街。」她頓了一頓後補充道:「還有國王十字區。」國王十字區,便是悉尼的紅燈區。

孩提時,我在唐人街避開招攬生意的餐廳叫賣,跟在國王十字區避開招客的夜店公關沒什麼分別。長大後我終於理解兩地的共通點:唐人街和國王十字區都是被拒於「理想的悉尼」之外,被視為異類。它們既有一股光怪陸離的魅力,又彷彿亂中有序。再者,兩地都曾經為家人提供心靈慰藉,以多姿多采的形式讓他們呼吸庶民生活的氣息,紓解離鄉別井的愁緒。

現在,國王十字區放浪形駭的名聲已然消褪,但唐人街卻從邊緣打進主流市場。悉尼農曆新年慶典的規模是中國以外最大的,去年就吸引逾100萬名遊客到訪。澳洲揮別奉行白澳政策的20世紀後,迎來了積極擁護亞洲文化的新世紀。

唐人街的公共藝術正好彰顯這股日漸抬頭的意識。積極為澳洲原住民爭取權益的Jenny Munro在區內繪畫的一幅壁畫,守護著海港街(Harbour Street)和高賓街。題為《Golden Water Mouth》的雕塑是一棵以金箔包裹的黃色尤加利樹,樹立在禧街和莎瑟街交界的角落,是唐人街入口的象徵。李林迪的「New Century Garden」則借用傳統中式庭園的設計元素,塑造供休憩和思考的公共空間。Jason Wing的《In Between Two Worlds》由30個懸在半空的藍色精靈像組成,呼應其澳洲土著和中國文化根源。

逾20年來,當代亞洲藝術中心4a Centre for Contemporary Asian Art與悉尼市攜手合作,籌辦多個唐人街的藝術項目。總監Mikala Tai表示:「中國並非單一實體,因此我們必需展現更複雜多元的身分層次,以打破其單一文化形象。」

與此同時,唐人街正面對人滿之患,而都市發展計劃更掌握該區的生殺大權。但我們也許不必為它前景茫茫而感傷,畢竟它本來的存在就是為了安置被異化的移民華工,予他們一個改善生活的棲身之所;社會對唐人街的需求下降也是好事。

唐人街將繼續成為異鄉客一解鄉愁的文化圖騰。我端詳著祖父母在德信街石獅子前拍攝的模糊照片,深信它將永遠是一個心靈綠洲,以及重生之地。

張元珍是傳記《The Good Girl of Chinatown》的作者

國泰航空設有由香港飛往悉尼的航班,每周有28班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Sydney

Chinatown: Sydney

From the fringes into the mainstream. Words by JENEVIEVE CHANG, illustrations by SAM KI, photos by IRWIN WONG

Sydney icon

Walking along Dixon Street in Sydney’s Chinatown during its Friday Night Market is like stepping into a colourful, crowded, kitsch-filled Asian kitchen: how many flavours, languages, scents, sounds and cultures can we throw together to feed one massive family and guests from all over?

Multiple generations of different ethnicities flock here for a seat at one of its 200 or so restaurants at all hours. But like so many other Chinatowns in the world, the roots of its inception were far less wholesome.

‘It used to be called Sleazetown,’ octogenarian local expert George Wing Kee informs me.

‘It was a ghetto before World War Two. Australian people didn’t come here to eat.’

Sydney-01

The area is close to the wharves and became a place for enterprising seamen to stealthily unload contraband such as opium. There was also the (quite true) impression that up to 100 undocumented Chinese migrants lived in cramped quarters above each storefront. Considering that the White Australia policy restricting the migration of non-Caucasians into the country was only dismantled in 1972, being Chinese and ‘illegal’ pretty much went hand in hand in those days. During World War Two, many of these migrants were employed as cheap labour by merchant ships sailing between Europe, the US and Australia, and, realising they would be out of work when the war ended, jumped ship wherever they could. Those in Sydney inevitably joined the expanding Chinese nucleus that would come to be known as Chinatown.

By the time my family arrived in 1983, Chinatown was on track to becoming a tourist destination as part of Sydney’s new multicultural outlook. Up went the traditional symbols that still stand today: Tang-dynasty style ceremonial arches inviting fortune and luck; a pagoda; a refurbished Dixon Street reminiscent of Chinese alley culture with restaurants, shops and grocery stores.

Sydney-02

For my parents, it was a place that unambiguously reflected back their culture as well as fulfilling other, more urgent needs. At that time, the only Asian supermarkets were in Chinatown. My mother was our sole breadwinner yet would also take a 45-minute bus ride several times a week to buy the groceries she needed to feed her children, husband and in-laws who longed for the flavours of their homeland.

‘Australia was boring in the ‘80s,’ my mother tells me over the phone. ‘Shops were closed after 5pm every day of the week. There was nothing to do, nowhere to go – except Chinatown.’ She pauses. ‘And Kings Cross.’

Sydney-03

As a child, it isn’t very different weaving between restaurant hawkers in Chinatown and nightclub spruikers in Kings Cross, Sydney’s red light district. But as an adult I can see other similarities between the two places: both Chinatown and Kings Cross are regarded as outliers in the idealised Sydney landscape. Both exert an exotic allure, and a mix of comfort and chaos. And both at one time offered my family what they needed to feel less displaced: the physical immediacy of life in all its vivid and varied forms.

But today, while Kings Cross’ bohemian reputation has languished, Chinatown has moved from the fringes to the mainstream. Sydney’s Chinese New Year celebrations are the largest outside China, with more than a million visitors celebrating last year. After its 20th-century White Australia policy, the country is now all about embracing the Asian century.

The public art in the area expresses this growing consciousness. A mural of Aboriginal rights activist Jenny Munro watches over Harbour Street and Goulburn Street. The Golden Water Mouth – a yellow box gum tree covered in gold leaf – serves as a symbolic entry point on the corner of Hay and Sussex. Lindy Lee’s New Century Garden borrows elements from the design of a traditional Chinese Garden to create a public domain for rest and reflection. Jason Wing’s In Between Two Worlds consists of 30 suspended blue spirit figures inspired by his Aboriginal and Chinese heritage.

Sydney-04

‘China is more than a singular entity,’ says Mikala Tai, Director of 4a Centre for Contemporary Asian Art, which has fostered Chinatown’s art projects with the City of Sydney over two decades. ‘I think it’s important to be breaking the idea of a monoculture by showcasing more complex layers of identity.’

Meanwhile, Chinatown is a neighbourhood in flux, and its preservation is at the mercy of development plans. But perhaps its uncertain future isn’t a reason to grieve. After all, its original raison d’etre was as an enclave for working-class, alienated Chinese immigrants to eke out a better life. So it’s not all bad that the need for Chinatown has diminished.

Sydney-05

And Chinatown will continue to be a cultural heartland for those who relied on it as a familiar place in a strange land. As I study the grainy photos of my grandparents in front of the Dixon Street stone lions, I am hopeful that this will always be a place of sanctuary and reinvention. 

Jenevieve Chang is author of the memoir The Good Girl of Chinatown

Cathay Pacific flies to Sydney from Hong Kong 28 times a week

Sydney-06

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book