紐約

紐約唐人街

在美國大都會長大的華裔孩子

Sam Ki

我想,這個故事應該從我祖父母的年代說起。1960年,他們從香港跨越半個地球,來到曼哈頓的唐人街落地生根。即使後來搬到另一華人聚居地皇后區法拉盛,他們仍不時返回以往居住的小區。每天早上,他們會先乘坐巴士到地鐵站,搭一程地鐵再轉火車前往堅尼街。祖父當時在當地一間幸運曲奇廠工作,而祖母則在附近當裁縫。每晚,他們總帶著從相熟菜販買來的新鮮蔬菜回家。

我沿著紐約市的公共交通路線,想像他們由皇后區前往曼哈頓下城的足跡。今天舊地重遊,我仍深深感到自己走的每一步都是跟隨著兩老當年走過的道路。

撰寫這篇文章時我正身處三藩市的辦公室,亦是我現居的城市。三藩市當然也有其鼎鼎大名的華人社區,而這個歷史悠久的華埠始於19世紀中葉的淘金熱時期,是美國最古老的唐人街。我在這個山上小區留下不少足跡,除深愛當地的風土人情,對其與時並進的韌力更心存敬佩。

但我心目中的「唐人街」始終是紐約的唐人街。家人在差不多60年前移居美國,在這片土地展開新生活。回想童年,這裡是我們重拾中國根源的地方。

Getty Images

我今年40歲了,已是兩子之母,但每當走過堅尼街,轉入勿街向南行,擠進人行道上的人潮時,我彷彿仍是七歲的小女孩︰當時的我緊緊地握著母親的手,蹦蹦跳跳地避開路面一個個看似不太乾淨的水坑,與家中其他小孩一起捏著鼻子抵禦街上的異味,吃吃傻笑。

我們來唐人街做什麼?這裡跟我們的生活息息相關。不論是人生大事,包括領洗、婚禮、葬禮,還是日常小事如辦雜貨、買那些母親、姨母和祖父母在其他地方買不到的中國蔬菜和食材等,全都離不開唐人街。從前我們會到區內餅店買蛋撻和填滿香甜牛油餡料的麵包,而耳畔響起的,全是中國南方祖家說的台山和廣東方言。即使今天祖父母已年屆九旬,他們仍然不諳英語,因為住在唐人街,可謂從來沒有這個需要。

Getty Images

我25歲時在紐約當作家,當時只能與另外三位室友擠在下東區一間老鼠為患的狹小公寓中。如真要喘一口氣時,我會到這裡放鬆身心。那時我開始將唐人街定位為讓我重拾身份歸屬和取捨文化根源的地方。我會到兒時光顧的餅店買蓮蓉包,也會向自己熟稔的菜販買芥蘭。我那些實用的廣東話句子足以應付購物,但每星期亦會跟溫先生上語言班,認識專業及政治議題的詞彙。

我首次到訪香港和中國大陸時,開始認識中國不同的省份,並且發現美國也有不同籍貫的華人聚居地。過去數十年間,紐約唐人街的東百老匯大街便成為大量福州人的聚居地。我思考著全球各地的華人社區,如何發展成今日的規模,令我萌生撰寫《美國華埠》一書的念頭,記載三藩市、紐約、洛杉磯、檀香山及拉斯維加斯五大美國華埠的發展,其中拉斯維加斯的唐人街,更由一個購物商場發展而成。

Getty Images

紐約唐人街自19世紀開始迎來一批批的新移民。正如曼哈頓其他地區,現時這裡愈趨中產化,而且面臨房地產壓力。縱然如此,遊客仍然絡繹不絕,衝著唐人街熱鬧的景象和依舊琳瑯滿目的街市而來,感受在傳統與歷史中萌芽的求新精神。

在加州,我雖可以在轉角的市集買到芥蘭,而外賣叉燒又能在30分鐘內送達,但每年我總會飛往紐約數次去探望家人,跟祖父母練習廣東話,以及品嚐家常便飯,感受家的味道。有時候,我也會漫步唐人街, 尋找兒時回憶。

徐靈鳳是《American Chinatown: A People’s History of Five Neighborhoods》的作者 

國泰航空設有由香港飛往紐約的航班,每周有35班

Sam Ki
Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

New York

Chinatown: New York

Growing up Chinese in a US metropolis. Words by BONNIE TSUI, illustrations by SAM KI

New York icon

It started, I suppose, with my grandparents. Travelling halfway around the world from Hong Kong, they settled in Manhattan’s Chinatown in 1960. Even after moving to another Chinese enclave in Flushing, Queens, they kept going back, like clockwork, to their old neighbourhood. Every morning they took a bus to a subway train, then to another train to Canal Street, where my grandfather worked in a fortune-cookie factory and my grandmother was a seamstress. Every night they brought home fresh vegetables purchased from street vendors they’d come to know.

I picture a set of footprints marking a path from Queens down to Lower Manhattan, traceable on a map of the New York City transit system. When I come here today, I’m keenly aware that it’s their route I follow.

I write this from my office in San Francisco, where I live now. San Francisco, of course, has its own famous and historic Chinatown – America’s oldest, born in the Gold Rush years of mid-19th century. I have spent plenty of time climbing up and down the hills of this Chinatown. I have deep affection for the neighbourhood and its residents, and admiration for the longevity of the ever-evolving community.

But my Chinatown is New York’s Chinatown. It’s through this gateway that my family first stepped into their new American life nearly six decades ago. During my childhood, it’s where we went to be Chinese.

New York-01

I’m 40 years old now, with two young children of my own. But when I cross Canal Street heading south on Mott Street and enter the slipstream of the sidewalk crowds, I’m seven years old again, dancing over suspicious puddles on the pavement, grasping my mother’s hand tightly, pinching my nose as I giggle at the sharp smells of the street alongside my brother and cousins.

What did we come here for? Everything, really. Life events: christenings, weddings, funerals. Everyday things: grocery shopping, for Chinese vegetables and ingredients my mother and aunts and grandparents could not get elsewhere. We visited a neighbourhood bakery for egg tarts and fragrant buns with a sweet butter filling. We came to be immersed in the language: Taishanese and Cantonese, the dialects of my family’s native southern China. Even today, in their 90s, my grandparents do not speak English. Living in Chinatown, they never had to.

New York-02

When I was a 25-year-old New York writer crammed into a tiny room in a mouse-infested apartment with three other flatmates on the Lower East Side, I set myself free by walking down here. I began to negotiate my relationship to Chinatown as a place to stay in touch with who I understood myself to be, but also to make my own decisions about my heritage. I bought lotus seed buns from the bakery of my youth, but I had my own trusted sidewalk vendor from whom to buy gai lan vegetables. I used my utilitarian Cantonese in the shops but I also took language classes once a week from Mr Wen, who taught me words for topics like professions and politics.

I visited Hong Kong and mainland China for the first time. I got to know the different regions of China and, back home in the US, their corresponding mirrors. In recent decades, the Fujianese colonised East Broadway in New York’s Chinatown. I thought about Chinese communities all over the world, and how they came to be. It led me to write a book, American Chinatown, about five of the most significant Chinatowns in the United States: San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles, Honolulu and Las Vegas. The last, in Las Vegas, began as a mall.

New York-03

New York’s Chinatown has hosted successive waves of immigration since the 19th century. These days, just like the rest of Manhattan, it faces intense gentrification and real estate pressures. But still the visitors come: for the vibrant crowds, the still-excellent markets, a sense of constant renewal that is grounded in longstanding heritage and history.

Back in California, I can buy gai lan from the corner market. I can order char siu for delivery in 30 minutes. A few times a year, I fly across the country to visit my family in New York, to practise my Cantonese with my grandparents and eat the food that feels like home. And I go down to Chinatown, sometimes, to visit  who I used to be.

Bonnie Tsui is the author of American Chinatown: A People’s History of Five Neighborhoods

Cathay Pacific flies to New York from Hong Kong 35 times a week

New York-04

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book