藝術與文化

中國備受注目的博物館

中國的藝術館現正蓬勃發展,以下為你介紹四個中國最矚目前衛的藝術空間,並探討它們如何構築國內當代藝術的未來

中國藝術收藏家於過去十年開始崛起,這股東方勢力改寫了當代藝壇的面貌,成為全球焦點。為了陳列新添購的藝術藏品,藝術館在中國如雨後春筍般湧現。這個前所未有的盛況是否只屬曇花一現,目前還言之尚早,但對於當代藝術和建築愛好者來說,現在確實是到訪中國的最佳時機。以下介紹中國四間備受注目的全新藝術空間。

北京民生現代美術館

地點: 北京
開幕年份: 2015
藝術焦點: 當代藝術

北京民生現代美術館位於798藝術區以北,前身為一間荒廢的電子廠。國內的朱錇建築設計事務所將其改頭換面,於2015年以全新姿態示人。展館面積達88,000平方呎,是中國其中一間最大的私營藝術館。美術館由已先後資助兩間上海藝術機構的中國民生銀行斥資興建,而銀行另外還贊助兩間位於上海的藝術機構。創立至今,美術館已舉辦過多個大型展覽,包括以知名杜塞爾多夫貝雪學派為代表的德國當代攝影作品展;還有中國藝術家方力均的回顧展,其成名作為一系列表情豐富的光頭男子畫作。

四方當代美術館

地點: 南京
開幕年份: 2013
藝術焦點: 建築、當代藝術

這間私營美術館屹立於中國南京西面老山國家森林公園內的山坡,建築物本身隸屬於藝術湖區建築群的一部分。湖區內一眾建築物分別由艾未未等頂尖建築師和藝術家設計,並設有多個展覽館、一間會議中心,還有一家提供65間客房的精品酒店。四方當代美術館遠離六朝古都南京的塵囂,稱得上是一個世外桃源。走在綠意盎然的園區內欣賞展品,藝術氣息撲面而來。主館由美國建築大師Steven Holl設計,方形的藝術空間在山間拔地而起,恍如一個懸浮在半空的方盒子。

設計互聯

地點: 深圳蛇口
開幕年份: 2017
藝術焦點: 設計

設計互聯於2017年12月揭幕,其建築洋溢日本現代主義風格,象徵著深圳向前邁出一大步,由沿海工業城市轉型為設計與創新樞紐的決心。這座樓高六層的建築設有多個展廳、工作坊、精品店和教育空間,展出中外作品。設計互聯與舉世聞名的倫敦維多利亞和艾伯特博物館(簡稱V&A)締結夥伴關係,實力不容忽視。是次合作堪稱V&A迄今最大型的對外合作計劃;由即日起至2020年,設計互聯將展出250件倫敦V&A的永久館藏,當中不少展品來自中國。這些展品具體闡述設計如何帶動文化和意念雙向交流。此外,值得關注的還有與荷蘭合作籌辦的大型數碼設計展覽。

上海當代藝術博物館

地點: 上海
開幕年份: 2012
藝術焦點: 當代藝術

如果你是倫敦泰特現代藝術館的粉絲,肯定覺得上海當代藝術博物館似曾相識,因為兩者同樣是大型河畔建築,而且均設有高165米的煙囪。30年前,藝術館的原址為南市發電廠,至2010年成為上海世界博覽會的城市未來館,目前則是上海雙年展的主場館。它在2012年成為中國第一間國營當代藝術博物館,偌大的展覽空間佔地六層,但鮮有同時開放。自創館以來,這裡曾經舉辦過口碑載道的Andy Warhol回顧展,以及一系列與巴黎龐比度藝術中心合作的特展。訪客在藝術館天台的展望台可以欣賞到黃浦江一望無垠的上海美景。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

China’s most spectacular new museums

China’s art museum landscape is booming. We look at four of the hottest avant-garde spaces that are shaping the country’s future contemporary art conversation

Thanks to the explosion of Chinese art collectors in the past decade, all eyes are turning east as the global contemporary art scene is being reshaped. One result has been a corresponding growth in art museums on the Chinese mainland to house these new collections. Whether this unprecedented art bubble is sustainable is anyone’s guess, but for the fan of contemporary art and architecture, there has never been a better time to visit China. We round up four of the newest art museums worthy of your attention.

Beijing Minsheng Art Museum

Location: Beijing
Year opened: 2015
Art focus: Contemporary art

Just north of the capital’s sprawling 798 Art District gallery cluster, the Beijing Minsheng Museum of Art took over a cavernous decommissioned electronics factory, reopening in 2015 after a stunning makeover by Chinese architecture firm Studio Pei Zhu. At 88,000 square feet, the structure is one of the largest private museums in China. Funded by China Minsheng Bank, which has also supported two art institutions in Shanghai, the museum has already hosted a raft of big ticket exhibitions, including a contemporary German photography exhibition focusing on the renowned Becher School in Düsseldorf, and a retrospective of Chinese artist Fang Lijun, famed for paintings of the same bald-headed man with various expressions.

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly to Beijing from Hong Kong 70 times a week

Sifang Art Museum

Location: Nanjing
Year opened: 2013
Art focus: Architecture, contemporary art

Positioned dramatically on a hillside in Laoshan National Park in western Nanjing, this private art museum is actually a scatter of diverse buildings, each individually designed by prominent architects and artists including Ai Weiwei, with several housing art collections, one a conference centre, and another a 65-room boutique hotel. A world away from the urbanised hubbub of Nanjing, one of China’s former ancient capitals, Sifang Art Museum is set within peaceful parkland that itself forms part of the art experience, with garden exhibits formed in the landscape. The singular centrepiece is a boxy gallery space protruding from the mountainside and seemingly suspended in mid-air, designed by American architect Steven Holl.

Cathay Dragon flies to Nanjing from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Design Society

Location: Shekou, Shenzhen
Year opened: 2017
Art focus: Design

Housed in a Japanese-designed modernist structure unveiled in December 2017, Design Society represents a determined step in Shenzhen’s drive to evolve from coastal manufacturing megalopolis to design and innovation hub. Six floors and multiple galleries, workshops, design stores and educational spaces serve as a showcase for local and international design, given serious standing by its partnership with London’s V&A museum, probably the most famous design institution in the world. Lasting until 2020, the partnership is the largest ever undertaken by the V&A, and will showcase 250 objects from the permanent collection in London, many of them Chinese, to tell a narrative of how design represents a two-way flow of ideas and cultural collaboration. Other galleries include a sprawling exhibit on digital design based on a collaboration with the Netherlands.

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific offer a seamless service to Shenzhen Shekou Cruise Home Port

Power Station of Art

Location: Shanghai
Year opened: 2012
Art focus: Contemporary art

Fans of London’s Tate Modern will immediately spot the similarities with Shanghai’s Power Station of Art, a huge riverside box crested with a 165-metre chimney. Home to the Shanghai Biennale, the Power Station of Art started life as the Nanshi Power Station three decades ago, before becoming the Pavilion of the Future at the 2010 Shanghai Expo. In 2012 it became China’s first state-owned contemporary art museum, with six floors of exhibition space, although it is rarely all used at once. Since its inception, the Power Station of Art has hosted a hugely successful Andy Warhol retrospective, as well as visiting exhibitions from the Centre Pompidou in Paris. A rooftop deck offers stunning views of a great sweep of the Huangpu River scything through Shanghai.

Cathay Dragon and Cathay Pacific fly to Shanghai from Hong Kong 121 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book