三亞

海南島的豪華慢活享受

這個位於中國海南島的海濱度假勝地,現正積極發展奢華產業及娛樂設施

置身三亞保利瑰麗酒店,你會發現桌面和書架都擺放著一個蝸牛形的紙鎮,根據酒店傳訊經理李凡表示,這是要「提醒客人放慢腳步,畢竟這裡是三亞!」

此說絕對合理,三亞的確是中國的熱帶旅遊度假勝地。不過正當遊客在這座海南島城市如蝸牛般慢活,在一眾海灘或世界級18洞哥爾夫球場消磨時間時,三亞的發展卻猶如火箭飛升。

現在最新的焦點則落在海棠灣,一段已朝著三亞旅遊新熱點寶座進發的海岸線。當地政府高度重視海棠灣區,現已規劃為「國家海岸」,並將全力支援周詳的區域發展規劃。在這片被海水環抱的土地上,放眼盡是熱帶雨林、高聳簇新的酒店和星羅棋布的起重機。我們站在保利瑰麗酒店14樓的露台,幾乎能將區內景色盡收眼底,李凡表示︰「海棠灣區將設有醫院、夜總會、戲院及大型水上樂園等設施。這對三亞而言是個大型發展項目,大家都翹首以盼。」

儘管看似風馬牛不相及,海棠灣的發展方向其實是借鑒金碧輝煌的杜拜。三亞仍在施工的水上樂園,正是由打造以海洋為主題的杜拜棕櫚島亞特蘭蒂斯度假酒店(從高空俯瞰部分設施呈棕櫚樹形狀)的建設公司所興建。此外,三亞亞特蘭蒂斯酒店亦採用相同概念,將超大型水族館結合礁湖,與宮殿裝潢和水上樂園共冶一爐。三亞亞特蘭蒂斯酒店於本月開幕,高聳入雲的彎狀大樓設有逾千間客房,其中更有五間是享有水族館景觀的水底套房。

水上樂園預計於本年年底開業,而海棠灣大部分的發展項目亦將走奢華路線,以配合當地的旅遊業發展方向。

海南島數十年來一直有「中國夏威夷」的美譽,陽光明媚、氣候溫暖,加上與中國大部分地區截然不同的島嶼景致,在在令人聯想起彼邦的度假勝地。多年來,不少旅客都會從北方飛抵這個位於中國最南端的省份避寒,而他們的目的地自然是三亞。俄羅斯人往往在初雪時便開始南下,北京旅客則緊隨其後,而隨著天氣漸趨寒冷,上海人亦陸續抵達三亞。

始於1990年代初的大東海區是三亞最早發展的地區,亦是一處充滿小吃攤檔和海鮮酒家的熱門海灘小鎮。鎮上的擴音器不停播放著中、英和俄語的安全警示,海面則滿佈香蕉船和水上電單車。其時這裡正是三亞的市中心和夜生活勝地。

緊接著掀起的第二波發展則席捲毗連大東海的亞龍灣,吸引不少國際大型酒店品牌如麗思卡爾頓酒店及柏悅酒店等進駐,形成了自成一格的度假勝地,滿足追求親子海灘假期的高端旅客之餘,更配備設有自動灑水系統的私家草坪,讓賓客足不出戶亦可親近大自然。三亞亞龍灣瑞吉度假酒店甚至自設船塢,供愛好乘遊艇出海的客人使用。不過亞龍灣亦有不足之處,儘管去年有特賣場開幕,亦將開設水產市場,酒店外依然欠缺娛樂設施。

然而,海棠灣的規劃者卻有心另闢蹊徑。現時,區內已有外形猶如太空船的三亞國際財經論壇中心,這裡是每年舉行「三亞.財經國際論壇」的地點,吸引政商精英聚首一堂。數年前開設的解放軍總醫院海南分院,則以最先進的設備作招徠,旨在開發醫療旅遊,現在就連水上樂園亦即將開幕。待海南環島高鐵全面開通之後,從三亞機場前往海棠灣,車程更將較現時的一小時大為縮減,尤其方便。

私人司機在機場接我上車後,在駛向海棠灣高聳入雲的建築時道︰「十年前,這裡連一幢像樣的建築物都沒有。」

2016年,三亞艾迪遜酒店於海棠灣開幕,是這家前衛的酒店品牌首間落戶中國的酒店。酒店擺脫了富麗堂皇的老派風格,甫開幕即引起廣大迴響。無論是翠竹夾道(雖然是人造竹)的入口、裝飾用的水池,以至低調而富未來感的白色裝潢,都是拍照打卡的熱點,令酒店成為席捲社交媒體的「網紅」。三亞艾迪遜酒店市場傳訊部總監吳佳寧表示︰「酒店的風格符合現今的標準。這裡不是那些擁有英式管家在旁候命的傳統奢華酒店,相反地,我們嘗試提供完美融入周遭環境的景致及高水準服務。」

三亞佔地寬廣,洋溢度假氣息,酒店因此亦能建得更龐大和採用更前衛的設計。三亞艾迪遜酒店的主池便已佔地兩公頃,大得可劃出一部分作水上運動用途,客房則採用實驗式的簡約設計。酒店格調時尚,與徜徉池畔的年輕家庭,加上從兒童區傳來的時下流行曲,構成和諧有趣的畫面。吳佳寧表示︰「海棠灣的旅客品味愈趨成熟,容易接受新概念。我們從對話中得知他們是旅遊常客,曾經在海外讀書或居住。」

然後就是去年8月開幕,為奢華樹立新標準的三亞保利瑰麗酒店。酒店坐落現時海棠灣最高建築,14層以下是客房、19層以上是住宅。酒店不但在天台設有無邊際泳池,底層被迷宮花園包圍的大型泳池更適合親子玩樂。所有客房均面朝蔚藍大海,而與酒店遙遙相對的蜈支洲島,可讓旅客享受浮潛及其他水上運動,是一日遊的好去處。那麼,酒店採用的600針Fretti意大利床單也符合最高標準嗎?李凡表示︰「這是目前島上最好的品質。」老實說這話的真偽,恕我暫時未能確定。

我又再想起酒店的蝸牛擺設了。海棠灣或許發展得如火如荼,但對遊客而言,海洋和棕櫚樹都一再提醒他們身處三亞,是時候放慢腳步了。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Sanya

China’s Hawaii goes big on ‘slow luxury’

Long serving as China’s beachy escape, Hainan Island’s resort destination is doubling down on its luxury offerings and entertainment attractions. By VANESSA KO

At the Rosewood Sanya hotel, a paperweight resembling a large snail adorns many of the tables and shelves. ‘It’s a reminder to slow down – you’re in Sanya,’ says Fan Li, the hotel’s communications manager.

That makes sense; Sanya is China’s tropical holiday destination, after all. But while tourists come to this town on Hainan Island to live the snail life – lounging on beaches and playing rounds of 18 holes on the world-class golf courses – Sanya’s development is moving at a sprinting pace.

And right now, the attention is on Haitang Bay, a slice of coastline poised to become Sanya’s next tourism hotspot. The area has been loftily branded National Bay by the government, signifying the officially backed, deliberate plan to build it up. The view from above Haitang Bay is a mix of tropical vegetation, a concentration of tall, shiny hotels and clusters of construction cranes, all flanked by expanses of water.

‘Haitang Bay will have facilities like a hospital, a nightclub, a cinema and a huge water park,’ says Li, as we stand on the Rosewood’s 14th-floor balcony, which overlooks most of the area. ‘It’s a huge project for Sanya, and people have high expectations.’

As incongruent as it may seem, Haitang Bay is going in the direction of glitzy Dubai. The water park under construction is being built by the same company behind the Middle Eastern metropolis’ striking water-themed resort complex Atlantis, The Palm (part of the development shaped like a palm tree from above). Atlantis Sanya follows the same concept, incorporating an enormous aquarium that’s also a lagoon, plus palatial interiors and a water park. The towering, curved, 1,300-plus-room Atlantis hotel opens this month, with five guest rooms that are below water and feature views into the aquarium.

The water park is expected to be operational later this year, and much of Haitang Bay’s development will be based around supporting tourism drawn by the splashy attraction.

For decades, Hainan Island has been neatly summed up as the Hawaii of China. The description evokes all the correct ideas – sunny, warm, an island distinct from the rest of the country it belongs to – and for years, visitors have come from the northern latitudes to China’s southernmost province to escape the winter cold. The place they set their sights on is Sanya.

Russians start to head down at the first snow, followed by Beijing residents, and then, as the cold creeps farther, the Shanghainese start to arrive.
The first part of Sanya to get built up, in the early 1990s, was Dadonghai, a popular beach town lined with snack stalls and seafood restaurants. Loudspeakers emit an endless stream of safety warnings in Mandarin, English and Russian. On the water, there’s banana boating and jet skiing. It’s where the city centre and nightlife is.

Then they developed Yalong Bay, the next cove over. This is where many of the world’s big hotel companies like The Ritz-Carlton and Park Hyatt moved in, forming an exclusive getaway catering to high-end travellers seeking a family-friendly beach holiday. Guests are ensconced within the resorts’ own plots of sprinkler-maintained lawns. St Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort even has its own yacht-filled marina. The downside of Yalong Bay, however, has been lack of things to do outside the hotels, despite the opening of an outlet shopping mall last year and a seafood market that’s coming soon.

Sanya China luxury holiday

The planners of Haitang Bay are looking to do things differently. Already the area has a spaceship-like convention centre, and it’s the permanent venue for the annual Sanya Forum, a prestigious gathering of business and political elites. A military hospital that opened a few years ago is touted as a state-of-the-art facility and is part of a plan to attract medical tourism. The water park is coming. And once the high-speed train circling Hainan Island opens all its stops, it will be more convenient to get to Haitang Bay from Sanya airport than the current hourlong journey by car.

‘None of this was here 10 years ago,’ says the chauffeur who picked me up at the airport, as we approach Haitang Bay’s towering hotels.

Sanya Edition opened in Haitang Bay in 2016, the first Chinese resort under the avant-garde Edition brand. The hotel made a statement with its complete departure from old-school opulence. It is frequently described as wang hong, which means social-media hot, thanks to the photogenic entrance framed by rows of bamboo (albeit artificial) over a decorative pool and the hotel’s futuristic, understated white interiors. ‘The hotel’s style fits today,’ says Chia Ning Wu, Sanya Edition’s director of marketing communications. ‘It’s not classic luxury with English butlers. Instead we try to complement the environment with the right scenery and the right service level.’

The wide-open spaces and resort vibe of Sanya have meant hotels could build bigger and with more ambitious designs. Sanya Edition’s main pool spans a shocking two hectares – large enough that part of it is used for water sports – and its guest rooms come across as experiments in minimalism. The modernity seems to sit just fine with the young families at the poolside, where pop music can be heard coming from the kids’ areas. ‘Travellers coming to Haitang Bay are getting more mature; they can accept new concepts more easily,’ says Wu. ‘Talking to them, we can tell they have travelled a lot and have studied or lived abroad.’

Sanya China luxury holiday

Then the Rosewood Sanya, which opened late last year, set a new standard of luxury. It is now Haitang Bay’s tallest building, housing the hotel on the lower 14 floors and residences in the 19 floors above. An infinity pool wraps around the hotel’s roof, with a sprawling family-friendly pool surrounded by a lush maze of a garden on the ground floor. All rooms face the ocean, where in the distance lies Wuzhizhou island, a day-trip spot for diving and other watersports. And the Fretti Italian bed linens’ 600 thread count? ‘It’s currently the highest quality on the island,’ say Li. I can’t say I’ve been able to confirm this claim.

And then there is the snail. Haitang Bay might be fast fulfilling its ambitions, but for visitors, the sea and palm trees are ever-present reminders that you’re in Sanya – time to slow down.

Cathay Dragon flies to Sanya from Hong Kong five times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book