餐飲美食

美酒之鄉香檳區

法國東北部的香檳區為世人帶來以當地為名、享譽全球的美酒,可是對這個恬靜的農業區有認識的人並不多

法國香檳區盛產全球最聞名、形象最講究的美酒,可是對於該區本身的形象,卻甚少注意。香檳產區的人向來自命高貴,只與花得起錢的富裕買家和商人打交道,無暇招呼普通訪客。

不過這種情形現在已有所改變,一切源自西南面800公里外出現的變化。

波爾多在重振旅遊業上做得有聲有色,甚至改變了法國的葡萄酒旅遊業。過去15年,區內的酒窖紛紛對外開放,新的酒店和餐廳有如雨後春筍般湧現。氣魄宏大的葡萄酒博物館Cité du Vin現在每年吸引50萬人次進場。波爾多的市容煥然一新,為此更贏得多個旅遊獎項。

香檳區自然將這種變化看在眼裡。以往,香檳區的人從未想過香檳酒的粉絲可能想親臨產地,一睹心愛美酒的產地和釀製過程;現在他們終於醒悟,意識到葡萄酒旅遊正蓬勃發展。2015年,聯合國教科文組織將香檳區列為世界文化遺產,更令當地人明白,必須好好把握這個機會。

漢斯是香檳區的非正式首府,與巴黎相距不遠,只需個半小時車程便能抵達,若乘坐法國TGV高速列車,更只需45分鐘,對於滿懷好奇的劉伶來說,實在非常方便。區內低矮的山坡和縱橫交錯的山谷,或許不及Saint Émilion或隆河以南的風景來得壯觀,但香檳區以往鮮為人知的迷人之處,現在才剛開始慢慢展露。

遊客並非對這個地方毫無認識。漢斯有一座宏偉的歌德式大教堂,裡面的彩繪玻璃窗出自大師夏加爾之手,一直吸引遊客慕名參觀。此外,Boulingrin的市集亦相當值得一遊。這座內部有拱頂的建築荒廢了幾十年,經翻新後裝修得十分漂亮醒目,燈火通明,區內不少小型農場都在這裡擺賣農產品,十分熱鬧。而對街的高級餐廳Brasserie du Boulingrin,則是享用美味午餐和香檳的好去處。

Numendil / Unsplash

去年7月,區內首家時尚豪華酒店 Royal Champagne Hotel and Spa酒店及水療中心開幕,為旅客提供高級住宿體驗。酒店位於Épernay以北,旅客可泛舟馬恩河、乘坐熱氣球在空中瀏覽Montagne de Reims區的旖旎風光,也可騎單車或騎馬在葡萄園內暢遊。17世紀時的修士Dom Pérignon是釀造香檳的先驅,他長眠於Hautvillers一座雅致的小教堂內,從酒店乘車或騎馬走一段短短的路程,即可抵達。萬豪酒店集團旗下的Autograph Collection品牌一家五星級酒店亦將於明年揭幕,為區內旅客提供更多豪華住宿體驗。

即使旅客荷包並不豐裕,這裡亦有不少經濟實惠的住宿選擇,特別是在Épernay一帶。這個位於馬恩河畔的古老城鎮,附近全是香檳區最享負盛名的葡萄產區:北面是以pinot noir和pinot meunier聞名的Montagne de Reims區,南面Côte des Blancs區一帶多個村落則以頂級chardonnay聞名。

Roussel Photography / Alamy Stock Photo

Épernay也是香檳區內多間顯赫香檳酒莊的所在地,當中大部分位於人稱全球最富庶街道的「香檳大道」上;富庶之名並非因為沿路上有多座屬於名牌香檳的宏偉建築,儘管它們的確氣派不凡,但藏在裡面的才是真正的瑰寶。這裡的地下酒窖深入恒温恒濕的古羅馬白堊岩層,是存放數以百萬瓶香檳的理想地點。

RuinartMercierMoët & Chandon等著名酒莊均舉辦導賞團和品酒活動。Mercier讓訪客登上列車,前往各個酒窖參觀;Ruinart的導賞團收費最昂貴,卻奉上最高級的佳釀請你品嚐,並向你講解如何釀製香檳。

不過,若想享受更獨一無二的體驗,更深入了解當地的風土、葡萄農夫與美酒背後的故事,就要到一些知名度較低的酒莊去參觀。這些小型酒莊的宣傳資源當然比不上著名大酒莊,但出品無論在質量及價值上,均可與大酒莊一較高下。

香檳生產商分為釀酒莊、合作社和酒農三大類。在釀酒莊中,KrugDom Pérignon等屬於大品牌,亦有些規模較小。位於Épernay市郊的Nicolas Feuillatte是區內規模最大的合作社,擁有設備先進的訪客中心,提供好客有禮的服務。至於酒農則會自己種植葡萄,然後自行釀酒。

位於阿伊的Champagne Collet於1921年成立,是歷史最悠久的合作社,當年,一群葡萄農面對大型釀酒莊橫蠻無理的生產要求,於是組織起來與之抗衡。這間合作社開設的博物館Cité du Champagne,若與波爾多的Cité du Vin相比,規模可說相形見絀,但博物館將香檳這款美酒的歷史娓娓道來,加上他們釀造的香檳品質上乘,絕對值得花上一兩小時遊覽。

最新潮的香檳生產商是葡萄農,儘管他們看來並不像。他們的葡萄酒雖然未必全是頂級極品,但也有不少品質上乘之作,備受飲家追捧。大型酒莊以水準穩定取勝,但酒農的佳釀卻別具個性,他們亦是帶頭推動有機和生物動力法釀酒的先鋒;在這方面,香檳的發展確是比其他葡萄酒遲緩。這種小量釀製的香檳近年亦獲侍酒師青睞,因而於世界各地許多新派食府的酒單上出現。

遊覽葡萄農莊亦同樣能令遊客大有收穫。只要事先安排路線,預先跟幾個農莊聯絡,就可輕鬆地在這些由車房及小屋改建而成的釀酒莊內參觀,一窺釀造這種世界名酒的秘技,然後在葡萄園或廚房內細嚐農莊自家出產的佳釀。

不愛預先計劃的話,也可漫步小路,穿越連綿不盡的葡萄園和寧靜村莊,碰碰運氣。沿途不難發現大大小小的告示牌,寫著vente et dégustation(美酒出售及品嚐)。你或會在這些地方物色到幾瓶美酒帶回家。下次招待朋友時,與其拿出了無驚喜的名牌香檳,不如走在潮流尖端,奉上一杯隱世佳釀 。

不過,有一點要提醒各位:大部分酒窖從正午至下午2時半均會關門。每到午飯時間,法國全國各地的葡萄農和釀酒莊都會暫停一切活動,你也應該入鄉隨俗。

開瓶之旅

如何閱讀標籤

細看酒瓶上的標籤,你會發現數字前有兩個英文字母:例如NM(négociant-manipulant)指酒莊購買葡萄來釀酒,Ruinart和Mercier等酒莊均這樣做;或是CM(coopérative-manipulant),指香檳由酒農合作社釀製。

而最時髦的是RM(récoltant-manipulant),則指於自家葡萄園釀酒的酒農。這種香檳不但別具獨特韻味,而且不少是以有機和以生物動力法釀製的美酒。

機上享受

國泰航空助理經理Ronald Khoo專責美酒、飲品及下酒小食供應,他表示:「國泰航空在本月為頭等客艙挑選了獲獎的2002年Piper-Heidsieck Rare Millesime Brut香檳,在航班內供應。自從1976年以來,這款佳釀只推出過八個年份。」

「至於商務客艙,我們會備有三個選擇,包括口感順滑的Deutz Brut香檳,以及略為濃郁的Piper Heidsieck Brut NV。每種香檳都有它的優點。例如,DeutzBrut香檳用上了三分一chardonnay葡萄、三分一pinot noir葡萄及三分一pinot meunier葡萄混合釀製,味道香甜。這款酒很適合在起飛前品嚐,不論是單獨享用,還是配搭食物均相宜。」

由於國泰航空在機上供應多種上乘佳釀,獲 《The Business Traveller》的Cellars in the Sky 2018 Awards大獎(空中酒窖2018大獎)多個獎項,包括與法國航空及澳洲航空共享Best First Class Sparkling(最佳頭等艙有汽葡萄酒)金牌,以及獲Best Business Class Red(最佳商務客艙紅酒)及Best Overall Cellar(整體最佳酒窖)銀牌。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往巴黎的航班,每周有十班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Champagne, the Home of Pop Culture

How many of us know the quiet agricultural region of northeast France that gave the world’s most glamorous wine its name?

For a region that produces the best-marketed, most image-conscious drink in the world, Champagne has paid remarkably little attention to its own image. The aristocratic Champenois have long known how to schmooze wealthy private and trade buyers, but they had very little time for the casual visitor.

That’s changed – and it changed because of something that happened 800 kilometres to the southwest.

The spectacular revitalisation of Bordeaux has changed wine tourism in France. Over the past 15 years, the region’s cellar doors have been flung open, new hotels and restaurants have mushroomed, the ambitious Cité du Vin museum now welcomes half a million visitors each year and the scrubbed-up city itself has won a hatful of tourist awards.

Champagne has taken note. Once more or less oblivious to the idea that champagne aficionados might actually want to see how and where their favourite tipple is made, the Champenois have woken up: wine tourism is booming, especially since the region was listed as a Unesco World Heritage Site in 2015.

Its proximity to Paris – Reims, the unofficial regional capital, is an hour and a half by road, or a mere 45 minutes on the high-speed TGV train – makes it an ideal trip for the curious and thirsty wine lover. The region’s gently rolling hills and straggling valleys might lack the grandeur of Saint-Émilion or the dramatic backdrops of the southern Rhône, but Champagne’s once-secret charms are starting to reveal themselves.

Not that visitors are entirely unknown here. The city of Reims, in particular, has always drawn tourists to its imposing high gothic cathedral with its Chagall stained glass windows. Worth visiting, too, is the Boulingrin market: derelict for decades, its vaulted, light-flooded interior has been beautifully restored, and now houses small producers from all over the region; just across the road, the Brasserie du Boulingrin is the perfect spot for lunch and a glass of bubbles.

Champagne
Numendil / Unsplash

Since last July, visitors to the region even have somewhere swanky to stay. Guests at the new Royal Champagne Hotel and Spa, the region’s first contemporary luxury hotel, just north of Épernay, can go boating along the Marne and hot air ballooning over the Montagne de Reims, as well as bicycling or horseriding through the vineyards. Dom Pérignon, the 17th century monk who pioneered champagne production, is interred in a pretty chapel in Hautvillers, a short trip from the hotel by car (or horse). Next year, a five-star Autograph Collection by Marriott hotel is also scheduled to welcome guests to luxury lodgings in Reims.

For visitors on a tighter budget, there are plenty of humbler places to stay, especially around Épernay. The historic town on the banks of the Marne lies at the heart of Champagne’s most prestigious vineyards: to the north, the Montagne de Reims is especially famous for its pinot noir and pinot meunier; while the string of villages in the Côte des Blancs, to the south, are renowned for the finest chardonnay.

Champagne
Roussel Photography / Alamy Stock Photo

Épernay is also home to some of the biggest names in bubbles. Many are located on the Avenue de Champagne, sometimes described as the richest street in the world, not because of the many imposing champagne houses that line it – impressive though they are – but for what lies beneath: the old Roman chalk quarries that, thanks to their constant temperature and humidity, are the perfect places to store millions of bottles of champagne.

Ruinart, Mercier and Moët & Chandon all offer tours and tastings. Mercier’s tour takes guests on a train through the cellars; Ruinart’s is the most expensive, but offers the best wines to taste – and will give you a good grounding in how champagne is made.

For a more bespoke experience, however, and to feel a deeper connection with the land, the farmers and their wines, you should visit a few lesser-known producers. They may not have the marketing budgets that the big houses enjoy, but many small producers punch well above their weight in terms of both quality and value.

Champagne

The three main producers are the houses (some grand, like Krug and Dom Pérignon; some much smaller), the cooperatives (Nicolas Feuillatte, on the outskirts of Èpernay, is the biggest, with a thoroughly modern and hospitable visitor centre) and the ‘growers’ – farmers who make champagne from their own grapes.

Champagne Collet, in Ay, is the oldest cooperative, founded in 1921 as a farmers’ riposte to the almost feudal demands of the big champagne houses. Its museum, Cité du Champagne, is definitely worth an hour or two of your time. Compared with Bordeaux’s Cité du Vin it’s a minnow, but it’s a splendid place to learn about the history of champagne: they make jolly nice fizz, too.

The trendiest producers – although they may not look it – are the growers. While not all their wines are top quality, there are many great growers’ wines, often keenly priced. While the strength of the big brands is consistency, growers tend to make more distinctive wines: they are also at the vanguard of a movement towards organic and biodynamic farming, a party to which champagne has arrived rather late. It is a trend that has found favour with sommeliers, too: increasingly, growers’ wines are listed in smart restaurants all over the world.

Growers’ houses are also, happily, some of the most fruitful places to visit. Plan your route, contact a few addresses in advance, and you will soon find yourself nosing around converted garages and outbuildings, seeing the techniques of Champagne at their most charmingly small-scale, then sampling a flute or two among the vines or in the grower’s kitchen.

Or you can just take pot luck: as you meander on back roads through the sprawling vineyards and the sleepy villages, you will spot dozens of signs offering vente et dégustation (sales and tasting). These are the places where you might find a few bottles to squirrel away in the boot of your car: much classier, instead of serving your friends a champagne that everyone knows, to serve them one that nobody has heard of.

One piece of advice, though: don’t expect to find many cellars open between noon and 2:30pm. In common with farmers and winemakers all over France, everything stops for lunch, and so should you.

Champagne uncorked

How to read a label

On a champagne bottle, you will find two letters before a number: NM (négociant-manipulant) indicates that the house buys in grapes to make its wines – like Ruinart and Mercier – while CM (coopérative-manipulant), denotes wines made by a cooperative of growers.

The trendiest designation is RM, récoltant-manipulant, meaning that the grower makes wine from their own vineyards. This sector not only produces the most distinctive champagnes, but is also where you are most likely to find organic and biodynamic wines.

Try while you fly

Cathay Pacific’s assistant manager for wine, beverage and dry store supplies, Ronald Khoo, says: ‘Onboard Cathay Pacific this month we’ve selected the award-winning 2002 Piper-Heidsieck Rare Millesime Brut in first class. There have only been eight vintages of this produced since 1976.

‘In business class, we’ve got three options, including a creamy Deutz Brut and a slightly punchier Piper Heidsieck Brut NV. Each champagne has its own appeal. For example, the Deutz Brut has a smooth blend of 1/3 chardonnay, 1/3 pinot noir and 1/3 pinot meunier grapes, with a pleasant sweetness. It’s a nice pre-take-off drink that can be easily enjoyed with or without food.’

For such quality offerings, Cathay Pacific was recently recognised by The Business Traveller Cellars in the Sky 2018 Awards – with accolades including Gold Medals for Best First Class Sparkling (jointly with Air France and Qantas) and Best Business Class Red and a Silver Medal for Best Overall Cellar.

Champagne

Cathay Pacific flies to Paris from Hong Kong 10 times a week

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book