航空

國泰新空中巴士A350-1000: 你需要知道的一切

隨著國泰航空迎來旗下首架空中巴士A350-1000,PHIL HEARD探討這架體積更大、效能更高的客機為機隊帶來的好處。插畫 BAY LEUNG

在上個月,國泰接收旗下首架空中巴士A350-1000,這種型號的客機比起她的姊妹A350-900體積更大、性能更優秀。

高規格的A350客機更安靜而且節省燃油,自2016年起加入國泰航空機隊,其後逐步在公司的整個航線網絡內應用。

就像兩個來自同一個家族的成員一樣,這兩款客機擁有許多共通特徵,包括客機的外形和形如「浣熊眼睛」的駕駛艙。事實上,-1000型客機有九成的組件與-900型是相同的。 想進一步了解兩者的不同之處,可參考以下彈出式視窗內的圖片。

Cathay Pacific Cargo A350-1000
可按圖片放大

話雖如此,-900型和-1000型客機之間的差別,並不止於後者的機身比前者長七米。兩者之間其實亦有多處頗為重要的分別,包括全新勞斯萊斯引擎,可提供更大推力以應付增加了28噸的最大起飛重量。這些XWB-97引擎比起任何其他現役款式都運轉得更快而且更熱。為減輕客機對跑道造成的負荷,機尾起落架現時採用與波音777客機同樣的設計,配備額外輪胎,將額外的重量分散。

乘客亦可能會注意到兩款客機內部的分別。機身增加的長度位於客機前端,表示商務客艙現時不再被兩組前置機門分隔,而是整合為一個空間,而經濟客艙亦配備由新供應商提供的座椅。

Cathay Pacific, aircraft, Airbus A350-1000
©Airbus. Photo by A. Tchaikovski / Master Films

-1000型客機同樣設有三個客艙級別,因此那些對頭等客艙需求大的航線將繼續由設有四個客艙級別的波音777客機提供服務,直至於2020年代初被全新波音777-9型客機取代為止。

-1000型客機將為由-900型開發的部分「路程較長而客量較少」的航線提升運載力,例如飛往歐洲的新航線。

國泰航空機隊及乘客編排主管PaulBarwell表示:「-1000型客機的目標,是為公司現時採用波音777客機營運的航線,創造更佳營運經濟效益。這款客機未來將會在部分長途航線上逐步取代777型客機。」

Cathay Pacific, aircraft, Airbus A350-1000
©Airbus. Photo by A. Tchaikovski / Master Films

-1000型客機雖與其體積較小的姊妹型號擁有不少相同特徵,卻屬於另一種客機「類型」,而國泰在計劃、訂購、訂定規格、檢驗和認證過程等各方面,都跟-900型客機的過程同樣仔細。國泰航空將成為首家採用-1000型客機營運來往香港航班的航空公司。

過去數月,香港國際機場以及國泰的外站工作團隊正忙於檢查閘口停泊位上的停泊指示標記,確保地面器材已放置於適當位置,以及必須的文件和許可證均已妥善存檔。外站需要庫存零件以供進行維修,而最重要的一點,是機師需要為駕駛這款客機作好準備。

客機交付至香港之前,國泰航空的客機試飛員在法國圖盧茲的空中巴士公司總部進行操作和系統測試。經過詳盡檢驗後,客機隨後停泊於交付中心約十天,進行檢驗後所需的跟進工作。

所有相關工作完成後,客機才會獲准出廠,飛到香港去。不過留在當地的國泰團隊卻繼續忙碌地工作;因為這架A350-1000客機只是第一架,今年國泰將陸續接收新飛機,每個月都會有一至兩架全新客機加盟機隊。

更正:本刊於2018年5月號報道波音777-200客機(註冊編號B-HNL)退役後成為西雅圖Museum of Flight飛行博物館展品,並不正確,謹此致歉

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Aviation

Cathay Pacific’s new Airbus A350-1000: What you need to know

As Cathay Pacific welcomes its first Airbus A350-1000, PHIL HEARD finds out what benefits the bigger, more efficient aircraft brings to the fleet. Illustration by BAY LEUNG

Last month, Cathay Pacific received its first Airbus A350-1000 – a bigger and better version of its smaller sister aircraft, the A350-900.

The high-spec A350, a quieter and more fuel-efficient aircraft, has been part of Cathay Pacific’s fleet since 2016, and has since been rolled out across the airline’s route network.

As you’d expect from two members of the same family, the two aircraft share many characteristics, including looks, with their distinctive ‘raccoon’ eyes. In fact, up to 90 per cent of all the part numbers in the -900 are replicated in the -1000. You can learn more about the differences in the pop-out picture below.

Cathay Pacific Cargo A350-1000
Click the image to expand

That said, the difference between the two is more than a simple seven-metre stretch. Some of the parts that aren’t shared are very significant. These include new Rolls-Royce engines that offer more thrust to deal with a 28-tonne heavier maximum take-off weight. These XWB-97 engines turn faster and run hotter than any others in service. To reduce the stress on airport paving, the rear undercarriage now has extra wheels – like the Boeing 777 – to spread the extra weight.

Inside, some differences will be noticeable to passengers. The additional fuselage length is at the front of the aircraft, which means that the Business Class cabin is now integrated between the two forward sets of doors rather than split by them. In the Economy Class cabins there are new seats from a new supplier.

Cathay Pacific, aircraft, Airbus A350-1000
©Airbus. Photo by A. Tchaikovski / Master Films

The -1000, too, comes with three cabin classes, so those routes that require a First Class cabin will continue to be served by four-class 777s, until these are replaced by the new Boeing 777-9 from the early 2020s.

The -1000 will add capacity to some of the ‘longer and thinner’ routes that the -900 has pioneered, such as the new European destinations. The -1000 will also be used on new routes such as Washington DC, which launches in September.

‘The -1000 is there to give better operating economics on those routes where we’re currently operating Boeing 777s,’ says Paul Barwell, head of fleet and passenger scheduling at Cathay Pacific. ‘Over time, it will start replacing 777s on some long-haul routes.’

CBC-Airbus A350-1000
©Airbus. Photo by A. Tchaikovski / Master Films

The -1000 is a different aircraft ‘type’, and although it shares many of the characteristics of its smaller sister aircraft, the planning, ordering, specifying, inspecting and certification processes were just as detailed as they were for the -900. Cathay Pacific will be the first airline to operate the -1000 into and out of Hong Kong.

Over the past few months, teams at Hong Kong International Airport and Cathay’s outports have been busy checking the parking marks on the tarmac at gates, ensuring ground equipment is in place and that the correct paperwork and permissions are on file. Outports needed stocks of components for maintenance and, crucially, pilots had to be ready to fly the aircraft.

Prior to the aircraft delivery in Hong Kong, Cathay Pacific flight test pilots performed a test of handling and systems at the Airbus headquarters in Toulouse, France. The aircraft was then held at the delivery centre for around 10 days, to attend to work that needed to be carried out as a result of a painstaking inspection.

Only then was the aircraft released for the flight home to Hong Kong – but there will be no respite for the onsite team. The inaugural A350-1000 is one of a continuous stream this year, with one or two new aircraft joining the fleet each month.

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book