國泰航空

國泰航空推出無線上網服務

國泰航空多架航機上已增設無線網絡,現已成為國泰機隊不可或缺的科技設施

航空術語又添新詞彙:天線罩。天線罩位於最新型號的航機頂部,是一個隆起的物體,裡面是收發人造衛星訊息的天線,並將訊息傳至地面的收發站。

在航機內,天線罩與機艙一系列的數據機互通,讓乘客能連線至互聯網。全新的衛星系統能以更快速及更穩定的方式連接互聯網,目前在國泰航空和國泰港龍航空的航機上亦開始陸續應用。

國泰航空的機上娛樂內容及平台、無線網絡服務經理Simon Cuthbert表示︰「本月底,我們會有多達45架飛機設置機上無線網絡,佔機隊四分之一;預計在2021年年尾,全部廣體客機上均可提供無線上網服務。」

全新的空中巴士A350客機在出廠時已配備所需技術,現時約有30架已投入機隊服務。至於波音777機隊則會隨經濟艙升級時,在飛機維修庫內一併進行改裝,其中15架已裝置無線網絡。而空中巴士A330機隊將於本年下半年開始配備這項技術。

空中巴士A350型號選用Panasonic裝置,而波音777型號則採用Gogo的技術。Cuthbert稱︰「Gogo還可以讓你在機上與該公司的支援中心即時對話,取得密碼或查詢其他技術問題,對於行程受阻的轉機乘客來說,這實在大有幫助。」

Panasonic的裝置可在A350型號客機上提供即時新聞,還有其他隨選式節目、音樂和遊戲。Cuthbert補充︰「兩個系統均操作流暢,乘客反應非常良好。由於更多高效能的衛星投入服務,我們看到A350機隊的網絡服務有所進步。」

兩個系統均提供快捷又穩定的網絡服務,但仍有覆蓋盲點。Cuthbert說︰「南北極沒有服務覆蓋,前往北美的航班會因而受影響。沒有覆蓋除了因為只有數班航班外,需要網絡服務的人其實並不多。」

前往美加的旅客可能全程均可無間斷使用網絡服務,或遇上最多四小時的網絡服務中斷,一切視乎目的地和飛行路線而定。Cuthbert補充說︰「即使可能出現短暫的網絡中斷,但乘客在整段旅程均可享有不設數據上限的無線網絡服務。」

因此,乘客可在機上保持連繫,無論是處理公務、瀏覽社交媒體和新聞。不過,Cuthbert相信利用國泰的機上娛樂系統(IFE)觀賞電影和電視是最佳選擇。他表示:「串流網站通常會播放跟IFE不同的電影和電視節目。很多時候,我們甚至會播放一些在本地戲院還未上映的電影,還有一系列品牌如HBO或BBC頻道的頂級節目。」

可是,機上提供無線網絡服務後,卻出現一個令人不快的情況,就是乘客利用應用程式在機上作語音通話。機上不時聽到有人高喊︰「我在飛機上!」令其他乘客大感困擾。

Cuthbert稱︰「我們嘗試在技術上防止這種行為,卻不想限制人們使用Facebook Messenger或以WhatsApp等應用程式傳輸圖像的速度;因此,我們會勸喻乘客不要使用網絡打電話,尤其在新客機更寧靜的機艙裡,要保持安靜,避免打擾其他乘客是一種禮貌。」

乘客大多認為機上無線網絡的最大功用是讓他們連接社交媒體。在未來數年,待機隊逐步安裝了天線罩之後,也許大家因收不到消息而產生的焦慮也會逐漸減少。

啟動你的裝置內的Wi-Fi功能,連接機上的Wi-Fi服務,選擇國泰航空的網絡,然後前往機上網站wifi.cathaypacific.com選擇

即使沒有選用任何付費上網服務,你仍可使用無線網絡提供的幾個服務功能

飛行地圖

兩個系統都支援自家版本的飛行地圖。Cuthbert表示︰「換言之,你可以在打開飛行地圖的頁面時,無須中斷正在欣賞由機上娛樂系統提供的電影。」

重訂或預訂

如果你正在為航班接駁問題而煩惱, cathaypacific.com網站可助你解決難題。Cuthbert說︰「如果你的航班因事而延誤起飛時間,可以進入本網站重新預訂機位,或者透過國泰假期預訂酒店,這是個非常實用的支援。同樣,你也可透過這個網站租車和購買旅遊保險。」

航點指南

國泰網站有詳盡的航點指南,而機上雜誌的網站內容豐富,叫人目不暇給。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Cathay Pacific Rolls Out Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi connectivity is set to increase as more Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon aircraft are fitted with the necessary technology

Here is a new word to add to your dictionary of aviation slang: radome. A radome is a hump in the roof of the newest aircraft. Within it are antennae which receive and transmit to satellites, which in turn relay information down to ground stations.

Inside the aircraft, the hump feeds a series of modems in the cabins that enable passengers to connect to the internet. New satellite systems are quicker and more reliable, and connectivity is starting to be rolled out across Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon planes.

Simon Cuthbert is Cathay Pacific’s Customer Experience Manager, Entertainment, Platforms and Connectivity. He says: ‘By the end of this month, we will have up to 45 aircraft that offer inflight Wi-Fi, which is about a quarter of the passenger fleet. The aim is that all of our widebody aircraft will offer connectivity by the end of 2021.’

Cathay Pacific, wifi on plane

The new Airbus A350 aircraft is automatically fitted with necessary technology at the factory – around 30 have joined the fleet so far – while the Boeing 777 fleet gets updated when the aircraft go into maintenance hangars for the upgraded Economy cabins. Around 15 of these aircraft have been equipped, with plans for the Airbus A330 fleet to start getting connected from the second half of this year.

The A350s operate equipment from Panasonic, while the 777s offer Gogo. ‘With Gogo you can even use live chat with their help desk to retrieve passwords or handle other technical issues while you’re onboard, which can really help connect passengers who get stuck,’ says Cuthbert.

The Panasonic equipment on the A350s means the planes can offer live news, in addition to the other on demand programmes, music and games. Cuthbert adds: ‘Both systems are working well and feedback from passengers is very positive. We have also seen improvements on the A350 fleet as more high-capacity satellites come online.’

Both systems offer a fast, reliable service, but there are still some coverage blackspots. Cuthbert says: ‘There is no service over the pole, as, apart from a few planes, there are very few people there needing connectivity. So that affects flights to North America.’

Passengers flying to the US and Canada might experience anywhere from no drop-out to four hours of lost service, depending on the destination and flight path. ‘Even with a small outage, customers can enjoy Wi-Fi with no data cap throughout their entire journey.’

This allows people to stay connected whether it be for work, social media or news. However, Cuthbert believes the IFE system remains the best place for watching movies and TV. ‘Streaming sites usually have quite different movies and TV compared with IFE. In some cases, we have theatrical movies even before they have premiered locally in the cinema, as well as premium programmes from a range of networks such as HBO or the BBC,’ says Cuthbert.

One element of online life that is frowned upon is using apps to make voice calls. Many people shudder at the idea of fellow passengers bellowing, ‘I’m on the plane!’

‘We are trying to prevent people from doing that technically,’ says Cuthbert. ‘But we don’t want to limit Facebook Messenger or limit the speed of sending an image over WhatsApp. So we encourage people not to make internet calls. It’s not courteous to fellow passengers, especially on our new aircraft, as the cabins are so much quieter.’

Customers will probably find the greatest use of onboard Wi-Fi to be for accessing social media. And as the humps spread across the fleet over the next couple of years, no doubt the rate of onboard FOMO is set to decline.

Connect to onboard Wi-Fi by enabling Wi-Fi on your device, selecting the Cathay Pacific network and visiting the onboard portal wifi.cathaypacific.com to select your preferred subscription option.

Moving map

Both systems offer their own version of a moving map. ‘It means you have access to a map without interrupting your film on the IFE,’ says Cuthbert.

Rebook or book

You will have access to cathaypacific.com, which is particularly useful if you’re worried about making tight connections. ‘If your flight was late departing because of disruption, you can go on the website and rebook, or go to CX Holidays and book a hotel – a useful lifeline,’ says Cuthbert. ‘It’s the same with car hire and travel insurance through the Cathay Pacific website.’

Destination guides

There are destination guides on the Cathay Pacific website, plus all the great travel content on the Discovery website.