國泰航空

國泰航空機師為行善挑戰極限

我們的飛機師不用執勤時絕不停下腳步,為慈善和更好的將來而四出奔走,完成不可能的任務

飛機師飛躍疆界,經歷過極端的溫度、高度和距離,或許我們都會視此為機師職務中的「等閒事」,但原來部分國泰航空機師更在機艙以外超越自我界限,為實現抱負而不遺餘力,甘願勇闖高山,冬寒抱冰、夏熱握火

為氣候變化闖北極圈越野長征

副機師Katrine Olsen便是其中之一。2020年5月時,Katrine和另外九位女士組隊,騎乘俗稱「fatbike」的粗輪雪地越野單車,艱辛地穿越格陵蘭的北極圈步道共200公里崎嶇之路。這個十人女子單車隊敢於長驅直進,為了代表新加坡非牟利組織HER Planet Earth而竭盡全力,支持性別平等和環境保育。

她們是首隊完成此項挑戰的全女班單車騎將,結果成功為聯合國婦女署英國分部籌得所需善款,支援尼泊爾、孟加拉和越南三地受氣候變化影響的婦女。

回想該次單車籌款之旅,Katrine形容那六天極富挑戰性,如「披荊斬棘」。她說:「試想像我們每天有八至十小時需要在攝氏負20至40度下騎行,最終能夠完成猶如奇蹟。」

為保育非洲野生動物而疾走大草原

在地球的另一端,有一隊機師團隊也做出突破界限的創舉,而他們的任務則是保育非洲野生動物。2019年,模擬飛行駕駛艙訓練員Mike Migdoll和訓練機長Mawgan Grace參與了「肯亞電訊馬拉松」,深入肯亞首都奈羅比北面225公里外的Lewa Wildlife Conservancy野生動物保護區,在攝氏30多度高溫下進行馬拉松賽跑。

兩位機師無畏無懼,於約五小時間完成賽事,一方面為Lewa動保區籌款,另一方面又為保育機構Tusk Trust募款,保護延綿400萬公畝荒野上40多種非洲野生動物。

事後Mike分享道:「當我在路上看到一群群的水牛和大象,零零星星的白犀牛群中躲著一頭可愛的小犀牛,我便知道自己沒有白白付出。在努力保育下,Lewa動保區於過去六年間未曾有犀牛或大象因盜獵而犧牲。」

而驅使Mawgan完成馬拉松的動力,則是一份初衷。「踏足非洲紅土,默默觀看叫人驚艷的野外生態與當地人的親切笑臉,這些畫面頓然撼動我心,意識到保育工作是那麼刻不容緩,希望我們的後代都可親身陶醉於如斯佳景。」

為教育以雙輪攀上高峰

最後一個關於機師突破自我的故事,是出自對下一代的關懷。2020年5月,國泰航空高級機長Mark Gutteridge但求為教育慈善機構Shine Cambodia籌款,不惜用單車爬坡,攀越等同珠穆朗瑪峰的高度。

單車愛好者有「Everesting」珠峰毅行挑戰一說,以自行劃定的路線進行多次折返爬坡,累計坡度相當於珠峰的高度,而Mark挑戰的路線,則是由香港愉景灣的一座山峰爬踏至愉景灣高爾夫球會外道路。單憑想像,可能會以為這好比暢遊郊區般愜意,但事實上為了避開春天潮濕的天氣,Mark選擇於晚間出動,更在15小時內循環騎行55圈,跨越相加起來等於世界第一峰珠穆朗瑪峰高度的8,488米路程,殊不容易。

Mark深感此舉值得並感歎道:「2019年遊覽柬埔寨期間,我目睹很多小孩未能上學接受教育,自此決意籌款,為貧困兒童及家庭伸出援手,助他們擺脫厄運。在新型冠狀病毒大流行下,很多人面對生活上更大的挑戰,我只求略盡綿力,為未來帶來正面影響。」

以上國泰航空機師為表達善心而無所不達,我們為其奮勇無私感到光榮。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Meet the Cathay Pacific Pilots Who Go to Extremes for Charity

Not content to take it slow on the ground, these pilots have pushed themselves to complete fund-raising challenges for the greater good

You would expect pilots to have an understanding of the extremes of temperature, altitude and distance. After all, these factors are essential elements of flying around the globe. But some Cathay Pacific pilots take themselves to extremes in their spare time – braving frost, heat and heights all in the name of causes close to their hearts.

Off-roading in the Arctic for Climate Change

Take First Officer Katrine Olsen. In May 2020, Katrine and a team of nine other women cycled the punishing 200km of Greenland’s Arctic Circle Trail on off-road ‘fatbikes’. The group of 10 did so on behalf of HER Planet Earth, a Singapore-based non-profit that works to support gender equality and environmental conservation.

They became the first all-female team to complete the challenge, raising much-needed funds for UN Women UK to support women affected by climate change in Nepal, Bangladesh and Vietnam.

Katrine describes the adventure as six ‘extremely challenging’ days. ‘It still feels like a bit of a miracle that we were able to succeed,’ she says. ‘We had to battle temperatures ranging from -20 to -40°C for up to eight to 10 hours a day.’

A Safari Marathon for Conservation

On another continent, another extreme feat: this time to help conserve Africa’s wildlife. In 2019 Simulator Instructor Mike Migdoll and Training Captain Mawgan Grace took part in the Safaricom Marathon, a gruelling 26-mile run through 30-degree heat in the Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, 225km north of Nairobi, Kenya.

The intrepid captains broke the five-hour barrier, raising funds both for Lewa itself and the Tusk Trust, which protects more than 40 species of African wildlife across four million hectares of land.

‘I saw herds of buffalo, elephants and several white rhinos including a beautiful calf,’ recalls Mike. The Conservancy has proven invaluable, he says. ‘Lewa has not lost a rhino to poaching for the last six years. They have never lost an elephant.’

For Mawgan, the motivation is keeping things that way. ‘Once you put your feet on the red African soil and marvel at the beauty of the wildlife and friendly communities, you quickly feel a connection and realise how vital it is to protect these areas for our future generations,’ he says.

‘Everesting’ for Education

For our final Cathay Pacific pilot, it’s all about the next generation. In May 2020, in order to raise funds for educational charity Shine Cambodia, Senior Captain Mark Gutteridge decided that he would cycle up Mount Everest – in a fashion.

‘Everesting’ is the term given to cycling up a hill enough times that the total climb adds up to the full height of Mount Everest. In Mark’s case, that was a hill in Hong Kong’s Discovery Bay, up Golf Club Road. It may sound pleasantly suburban, but it took 55 laps and just under 15 hours to reach Everest’s 8,488-metre pinnacle – much of it riding through the night to beat the sticky spring weather.

But it was worth it, says Mark. ‘Since visiting Cambodia in 2019 and seeing first-hand that many kids were not in school, I decided I had to start raising funds to help children and families break the poverty cycle. It is a difficult time for a lot of people right now, but a little kindness can go a long way.’

We’re proud that our Cathay Pacific pilots have demonstrated that – and taken their commitment to extremes.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book