都市生活

在香港欣賞天際風景的最佳地點

香港有許多天際風景,不妨從摩天大廈頂樓的華麗天台酒吧、蒼翠的山巒、海旁小徑甚至漁村等地點盡情欣賞

無論你前往哪個地方旅遊,都難以找到像香港這樣的地方,有一道由豐富多元的建築風格構成的壯觀天際線。

這道精采的天際線由多種元素組成,首先是迷人的自然風景:碧波盪漾的海港、高聳入雲的蒼翠山巒再加上令人讚嘆不已的落日美景。海上輪船穿梭往來,天空中有飛機飛過遺留下的「飛機雲」,還有五光十色的霓虹招牌,在維多利亞港和市區的大街小巷投下令人目眩神迷的光與影。此外再加上廟宇、住宅以及百多年來人文薈萃所形成的文化,令本地風光帶有非凡的魅力。

此外,最重要的是,香港不但有大量摩天大廈,而且風格多變,各具特色。香港擁有約350幢高逾150米的大樓,數量居全球首位。於1973年落成以的怡和大廈,以獨特的圓窗作設計;樓高484米的環球貿易廣場自2010年落成後,成為西九龍天際線上最矚目的建築物。這座城市的抱負,向來就是與天比高。

以下是多處我們最喜愛的香港風景,以及欣賞這些景致的最有利位置。

風景:香港島

有利位置:尖沙咀海旁

若想要一幅最有代表性的香港島風景照片,不管是明信片還是Instagram,不用多說,一定是到尖沙咀海旁,在2019年初再度開放、經重新設計的星光大道上去拍攝。你的目光隨著在海港內穿梭的天星小輪和其他船隻,一直望向中環區林立的高樓大廈。這些大廈當中包括國際金融中心、滙豐總行大廈及中銀大廈,背後是翠綠的太平山。眼前這片景色散發充沛的活力,可說是這城市的寫照。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵至尖沙咀站,從C1出口沿彌敦道朝海旁走。另一個選擇是從中環乘搭天星小輪往尖沙咀,步出碼頭即可。

風景:九龍及香港島

有利位置:在於尖沙咀位於高樓上的酒吧

尖沙咀有多家位於高樓大廈頂樓的酒吧,提供多個欣賞香港風光的角度。位於麗思卡爾頓酒店118樓的Ozone酒吧是最高的一家,從這裡可以俯瞰九龍多座小山丘,遠眺南中國海以至新界一帶。Aqua是一家格調華麗的餐廳及酒吧,位於北京道1號大廈30樓,可透過寬闊的落地大玻璃窗欣賞港島風光。至於全港最高的零售商場大廈The One內亦開設了多家酒吧,可供客人飽覽尖沙咀及港島風光。不妨於黃昏時分到Wooloomooloo Prime餐廳,坐在戶外陽台上,一面品嚐雞尾酒一面欣賞日落美景,或欣賞晚上8時舉行的幻彩詠香江燈光音樂匯演。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵前往尖沙咀,有些購物商場內設有天台酒吧,可從港鐵站內直接前往,有些酒吧則只需步行一小段路即可抵達。

風景:九龍的公共屋邨

有利位置:飛鵝山

Credit: Mike Pickles

飛鵝山又名九龍峰,高602米,位於九龍東北部的馬鞍山郊野公園內。要登上山頂並不容易,特別是在炎夏的日子裡,但遠足人士若不怕辛苦,他們得到的獎賞,就是將整個九龍半島的風光盡收眼底。你可以見到連綿不斷的山脈、獅子山,甚至偏遠的漁港西貢。不過大部分前來的人主要是為了觀看山峰南面密集的公共屋邨,數以百計的公屋樓房聚在這片小小的土地上,形成千家萬戶的壯觀景色。

如何前往:如果你不介意步行的話,可乘搭港鐵到彩虹站,由B出口沿清水灣道步行至新清水灣道,然後左轉入飛鵝山道,步行30分鐘就來到飛鵝山。最快捷的方法是乘搭的士,直接載你到飛鵝山道。

風景:堅尼地城

有利位置:堅尼地城新海旁

Credit: Mike Pickles

堅尼地城位於香港島西北面,區內以住宅為主,並非訪客遊覽的景點。不過由於區內的餐飲業日益興旺,加上黃昏時分的落日美景,吸引不少區外人士前來。堅尼地城新海旁並無高樓大廈阻擋視線,可以180度的遼闊角度來欣賞日落,因此這裡有多家相當受歡迎的酒吧和餐廳,Little Creatures是其中一家。不妨於黃昏時前來這裡,點一杯冰凍啤酒,然後好好享受眼前美景。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵至堅尼城站,從C出口前往海旁

風景:從高處俯瞰香港的高樓大廈

有利位置:太平山頂

太平山高550米,是香港島最高的山峰。一般人將太平山稱為山頂,可以步行前往,乘車或乘搭殖民時代初期已投入服務的山頂纜車。無論你選擇何種方式前往,在天朗氣清的日子,特別是晚上,從山頂往下眺望,可以看到無與倫比的壯麗景色。香港島的高樓大廈、維多利亞港、九龍的天際線盡在你的眼底,還可以從絕佳的角度望見環球貿易廣場,於晚上進行自家的LED燈光表演,與其他閃閃生光的摩天大廈互相輝映。

如何前往:從金鐘乘搭有130年歷史的山頂纜車前往山頂是最令人難忘的體驗,但也有多條巴士線前往山頂。你也可以從中環、灣仔、薄扶林及香港仔沿著遠足徑前往山頂。

風景:從東面眺望香港

有利位置:鯉魚門

另一個欣賞黃昏日落美景的好去處是九龍的鯉魚門,這是一條傳統的漁村,位於維多利亞港的入口。從這條位於海旁的破落漁村可以一窺香港昔日的面貌,同時也可以遙望對岸港島東區近年如雨後春筍般出現的高樓大廈。漁村沿岸有不少形狀奇特的巨石,與黃昏落日構成一幅完美的風景。鯉魚門亦以海鮮聞名,在拍過照片分享到社交媒體後,不妨到附近的海鮮酒家去,享用一頓美味的晚餐。

如何前往:在港島出發的話,可乘搭港鐵至西灣河站,然後乘搭小輪往三家村。由九龍出發的話,可乘搭港鐵至油塘站,再步行或乘搭的士或24號綠色線小巴前往。

風景:石澳

有利位置:龍脊徑

香港雖然是個人口密集的城市,卻有多條遠足徑,而且有些遠足徑更是人跡罕至,這種情況往往大出訪客意料之外。位於香港島東南面的龍脊是一條山脊,同時也有一條頗受歡迎的遠足徑。這裡可以往下望到風景優美的石澳村與南中國海壯觀的海岸線,風景絕佳。沿著迂迴曲折的山徑而行,可前往多個觀光景點,不少人抵達龍脊徑終點大浪灣時,會到海灘游泳或滑浪,享受海水的清涼。不想游水的話,可以來一、兩杯冰凍啤酒,輕鬆一下。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵至筲箕灣,由A出口前往巴士總站,乘搭9號雙層巴士,在土地灣/龍脊站下車,這是龍脊徑的起點,行畢全程約需三小時。

風景:長洲漁船

有利位置:位於海旁的小徑及餐廳

離島長洲是另一個欣賞優美風光的好去處,從中環乘渡輪只需40分鐘即可抵達。這個以漁業為主的小島上有古廟、海灘、滑浪地點、海鮮餐廳及舊日海盜藏身的古蹟等特色景點,而且生活節奏比市區悠閒輕鬆,吸引人前來偷得浮生半日閒。沿著海岸蜿蜒的小徑而行,可以見到本地漁民在太陽下曬海味。不過海邊停泊著的數十隻漁船,卻為專業攝影師及業餘攝影發燒友提供一幅極具代表性的漁村寫照。長洲海旁有多家海鮮酒家,例如蘇波記(北社海旁路1C地下,+852 2981 0998),讓你在樸實的漁村風光襯托下,品嚐美味海鮮大餐,留下難忘的回憶。

如何前往:從中環5號碼頭乘搭渡輪,抵達後往左轉沿步徑而行。

風景:大嶼山的山峰及機場

有利位置:大東山

大東山位於大嶼山,高869米,是全香港第三高峰。要登上大東山需要花點氣力,不過,山上一望無際的風景定會令你覺得辛苦的付出值回票價。沿著山徑前行,會經過多道小型瀑布,令人倍感精神舒暢。你也會在這裡見到爛頭營的石屋,由早年的英國傳教士所建。當你登上山頂後,會發現飛機在你腳下飛過,前往附近的香港國際機場降落;你還可以游目四顧,全方位欣賞四周風景,包括嶙峋的大石和一叢一叢的芒草。最好在黃昏前抵達山頂,觀看壯麗的日落美景,但不要忘記攜帶電筒供下山時使用。

如何前往:乘搭港鐵至東涌站(從中環站出發約需35分鐘),或者步行約兩公里前往黃龍坑郊遊徑的起點,也可以乘搭任何一輛沿東涌路行駛的巴士,前往伯公坳,在這裡開始起行,終點是梅窩。

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Urban life

Where to Catch the Best Hong Kong Skyline Views

In Hong Kong, skyline views aren’t in short supply – soak it all in from bars atop glitzy skyscrapers, jungly mountain peaks, waterfront promenades and even fishing villages

No matter where you’ve travelled, you’d be hard pushed to find a more dramatic and architecturally diverse skyline view than Hong Kong’s.

It starts with the beguiling natural setting: the harbour and churning waters, the soaring, lush mountains and the jaw-dropping sunsets. There’s the seemingly endless traffic on the water, the vapour trails in the sky and the remarkable impact of light – the neon reflecting from advertising signs overlooking Victoria Harbour or over otherwise darkened streets and alleyways. Then factor in centuries of culture, with temples, homes and masses of humanity on the move.

Most of all, it’s the extraordinary variety and quantity of Hong Kong skyscrapers. The city ranks first in the world when it comes to the number of buildings over 150 metres high, with about 350 of them. From the iconic portholes of Jardine House, which opened in Central in 1973, to the 484-metre-tall International Commerce Centre (ICC) that’s dominated the West Kowloon skyline since 2010, this is a city where the sky has never been the limit.

Here are some of our favourite Hong Kong views and the best vantage points to see them.

The View: Hong Kong Island

The Vantage Point: Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade

For the definitive picture-postcard – and indeed Instagram – view of Hong Kong Island, head to the waterfront promenade in Tsim Sha Tsui, where the redesigned Avenue of Stars walkway reopened in early 2019. Your eyes will be drawn past the Star Ferry boats and junks plying the harbour up to the towering skyline of Central district. Countless skyscrapers including the International Finance Centre, HSBC Main Building and Bank of China Tower are backed by the green slopes of Victoria Peak. Surveying the scene, there’s a distinct and undeniable sense of the energy that defines the city.

How to Get There: MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui, take Exit C1 and walk down Nathan Road towards the waterfront. Alternatively, take the Star Ferry from Central to Tsim Sha Tsui and turn right off the ferry.

The View: Kowloon and Hong Kong Island

The Vantage Point: Sky-high Bars in Tsim Sha Tsui

More angles on the Hong Kong skyline come from Tsim Sha Tsui’s high-rise bars. The highest is Ozone at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong, situated 118 floors up and offering dizzying views out across the South China Sea and over the Kowloon hills to the far reaches of the New Territories. Aqua is a swish restaurant and bar on the 30th floor of the One Peking building with widescreen views of Hong Kong Island, while The One is the city’s tallest retail complex and features numerous bars with views taking in both Tsim Sha Tsui and Hong Kong Island. Try timing cocktails on Wooloomooloo Prime’s open-air balcony for sunset or the Symphony of Lights show at 8pm.

How to Get There: MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui. Some malls, and the rooftop bars within, can be accessed directly from the station, while other bars are a short walk away.

The View: Kowloon Housing Estates

The Vantage Point: Kowloon Peak

Credit: Mike Pickles

At 602 metres, Kowloon Peak, known in Cantonese as Fei Ngo Shan, sits within Ma On Shan Country Park in the northeast corner of Kowloon. It is by no means an easy feat to get to the summit, especially on warm summer days, but those who do brave the hike are rewarded with spectacular vistas of the entire Kowloon peninsula. You’ll see chains of mountains, Lion Rock mountain and even the distant fishing port of Sai Kung. Most, however, come for views from the peak’s south face of the hundreds of housing estates that make up Kowloon.

How to Get There: If you don’t mind a few hours’ hiking, take the MTR to Choi Hung, Exit B, and walk along Clear Water Bay Road until you reach New Clear Water Bay Road. Head left on Fei Ngo Shan Road; Kowloon Peak is a further 30 minutes’ walk. The quickest method is by taxi, which can drop you off on Fei Ngo Shan Road.

The View: Kennedy Town

The Vantage Point: Kennedy Town New Praya

Credit: Mike Pickles

Kennedy Town is a largely residential neighbourhood in the northwest of Hong Kong Island that doesn’t frequently feature on visitors’ itineraries. But it has a growing food and drink scene – and affords some pretty special views, especially at sunset. That’s thanks to its location strung along the waterfront, unimpeded by large buildings, meaning that the full extent of the setting sun can be appreciated in a panoramic, 180-degree view. Little Creatures is one of the popular bars and restaurants that line the waterfront known as the Praya (taken from the Portuguese word for beach), so sit back with a cold drink and enjoy.

How to Get There: MTR to Kennedy Town; take Exit C and walk towards to waterfront.

The View: Hong Kong Skyscrapers from Above

The Vantage Point: Victoria Peak

At more than 550 metres, Victoria Peak is the highest point on Hong Kong Island. The Peak, as it’s popularly known, can be reached on foot, by car or by riding the handsome colonial-era Peak Tram. Whichever you choose, on a clear day – and particularly on a clear night – the views are unbeatable. You have the spread of Hong Kong Island’s skyscrapers beneath you, the harbour, the Kowloon skyline and a great angle on the ICC, which puts on its own LED light shows to complement the constellation of twinkling skyscrapers.

How to Get There: The most memorable experience is riding the 130-year-old Peak Tram from Admiralty, but several buses also run to The Peak. Hiking routes also lead to The Peak from Central, Wan Chai, Pok Fu Lam and Aberdeen.

The View: Hong Kong from the East

The Vantage Point: Lei Yue Mun

Another cracking sunset view is found at Kowloon’s Lei Yue Mun, a traditional fishing settlement that sits at the mouth of Victoria Harbour. The ramshackle nature of the village harks back to Hong Kong’s past, while its location right on the water gives it great views over the towering developments of Hong Kong Island’s eastern side, all the way up to the skyscrapers of Central in the distance. Craft an Insta-perfect sunset shot from the numerous boulders on the shoreline before you head for dinner at one of the local seafood restaurants that also make the village famous.

How to Get There: From Hong Kong Island, take the MTR to Sai Wan Ho and catch the ferry to Sam Ka Tsuen. From Kowloon, take the MTR to Yau Tong and either walk or take a taxi or the number 24 green minibus.

The View: Shek O

The Vantage Point: Dragon’s Back Trail

For such a densely populated destination, visitors are often surprised at Hong Kong’s huge variety of trails, where hikers can often find themselves completely alone. The Dragon’s Back is a ridge in the southeast of Hong Kong Island and home to one of the more popular trails, thanks to its beautiful, sweeping views down towards the dreamy beachside village of Shek O and the dramatic coastline out to the South China Sea. The meandering path offers numerous sightseeing opportunities, while many who finish the trail at Big Wave Bay take advantage and cool off by swimming or surfing the waters – and maybe enjoying a cold beer or two.

How to Get There: MTR to Shau Kei Wan, take Exit A to the bus terminus and take the number 9 double-decker bus. Get off at the To Tei Wan/Dragon’s Back stop, which is the trailhead for the roughly three-hour hike.

The View: Cheung Chau Fishing Boats

The Vantage Point: Waterfront Walk and Restaurants

Another rewarding out-of-town destination is the fishing island of Cheung Chau, about a 40-minute ferry ride from Central. Temples, beaches, windsurfing spots, seafood restaurants and a former pirate’s hideout are some of the draws of this spot, where the pace of life is slower than in the city centre. A winding shoreline walk brings you past local fishermen drying seafood in the sun, but it’s the views over their dozens of boats that provide an iconic image for amateur and professional photographers alike. Top tip: pair the idyllic views with a memorable meal at one of the waterfront seafood restaurants such as So Bor Kee (11C Pak She Praya Road; +852 2981 0998).

How to Get There: Ferry from Central’s Pier 5, then turn left along the promenade after disembarking.

The View: The Peaks of Lantau Island and the Airport

The Vantage Point: Sunset Peak

On the island of Lantau stands Sunset Peak, Hong Kong’s third highest mountain at 869 metres and another considerable effort to climb, but again well worth it for its expanses of scenery. A number of mini waterfalls provide welcome natural refreshment along the way, and you’ll see stone shacks of the Lantau Mountain Camp, built for early British missionaries. Once up top, you’ll find yourself above the aeroplanes descending into nearby Hong Kong International Airport, while panoramic views include rocky boulders and rustling silvergrass. There are no prizes for guessing that the ultimate time to get there is just before sunset – just be sure to take a torch for the journey down afterwards.

How to Get There: MTR to Tung Chung (35 minutes from Central) and either walk approximately two kilometres to the start of the trail at Wong Lung Hang, or take any of the many buses along Tung Chung Road to Pak Kung Au, where you can begin the hike that finishes in Mui Wo.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book