開普敦

開普敦冒險:探索大自然美景與動植物的6種方法

躍出水面的鯊魚、高大的長頸鹿和以即捕鮮魚做的刺身,統統都在非洲的大自然樂園開普敦內找到。撰文 DAVID BRISTOW

首先,我們需要拆解幾個跟開普敦有關的迷思。很多人以為這座城市的所在地、全長52公里的Cape Peninsula半島位於非洲最南端,其實應該是位於開普敦東南面的Cape Agulhas岬角才對。也有很多人以為大西洋和印度洋在Cape Peninsula半島交匯,這也不對,答案應該也是Cape Agulhas岬角。不過開普敦擁有壯麗的自然美景,這倒是一點都沒有錯的。例子:高1,086米的桌山,是一塊巨型的沙岩,聳立於城中,無論在城內任何地方,都可以望得到,成為當地人與外地訪客指示方向的天然地標。開普敦有豐富的自然美景與動植物,令人目不暇給。

1. Fynbos的香氣

Guenter Fischer/imageBROKER RF/Getty Images

「Fynbos」一詞指的是當地原生的灌木植物帶,這些植物在名列聯合國教科文組織世界遺產的Cape Floral Region植物保護區內生長。這個保護區由開普敦一直延伸至伊利沙伯港,同時向內陸伸展達200公里。桌山國家公園位於fynbos植物帶內,裡面的開花植物品種比整個英國還要多,這些植物散發怡人香氣。要探索開普敦的郊外風光,可以從草木稀疏的Platteklip Gorge峽谷登上桌山,或者沿風景更優美更多變化的Skeleton Gorge峽谷上山,從一望無際的Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens植物園開始遊覽。你也可沿著多道遠足徑或馳馬徑跑步、騎馬或越野單車,享受植物帶內的風景與香氣。tmnp.co.za

2. Cape Point岬角

位於Cape Peninsula半島的尖端,雖然不是兩大洋交匯的地方,但卻是溫暖的阿古拉斯洋流與寒冷的本吉拉洋流匯合的地點。由於環繞Cape Peninsula半島的海水一半溫暖,一半冰冷,令這一帶成為全球其中一個海洋生物種類最繁富的地點。在地理上只是一、兩公里的距離,但一邊是生長於亞南極的海洋生物,另一邊則是亞熱帶的海洋生物,在生態系統上的距離卻有半個地球之遙。capepoint.co.za

3. 福爾斯灣

Dan Callister / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

風平浪靜的福爾斯灣闊30公里,是受保護的海域,這裡的風景雖然甚少受到人們讚賞,可是位於海灣的Muizenberg區與沙灘相連,因此區內聚集了不少前來滑浪的人;海灣內則有數以百計的海豚,以及最少七種不同的鯊魚,包括會躍出水面的大白鯊。此外還有四種鯨魚以及種類多不勝數的雀鳥。你可以用潛水籠在海裡觀賞鯊魚,或者在海上觀鯨,前者驚險刺激,後者壯觀有趣,都是不可錯過的活動。muizenberg.info/activities

4. 西岸區

500萬年前的地球是什麼樣子的?駕車往北走一小時,就可以在Langebaanweg鎮找到答案。在西岸化石公園內,可以見到早已絕種的動物,包括巨型長頸鹿、巨型土狼、劍齒虎、非洲熊及有四隻長牙的古代大象等。這些動物曾經在這一帶生活、死亡,最終成為化石。距化石公園不遠處是位於西岸國家公園內的濕地Langebaan,每到夏季,彎嘴濱鷸等候鳥就會聚集在這片濕地上覓食,養精蓄銳,準備踏上漫長的回鄉之旅。到了冬季(7至9月),公園內的野花就會盛放,展現繽紛的面貌。 fossilpark.org.za

5. 水上弄潮

Heiko Meyer/laif/IC

開普敦是個熱愛戶外活動的城市,每天都有很多人在海裡划艇、游泳或滑浪。開普敦原來的荷蘭名稱是Kaapstad,照字面的意思就是「岬角之城」;不過約翰內斯堡人則喜歡將這個城市稱為Slaapstad;即是「昏昏欲睡之城」。這倒是很貼切的稱呼,因為城裡的人總會想方設法,避免在辦公室內過分忙碌。Muizenberg區內的Surfer’sCorner聚集了皮膚曬成古銅色的滑浪客,至於喜歡賣弄滑浪技術的人,則愛到Noordhoek或Kommetjie去;到了隆冬時分,也可以到HoutBay灣的Dungeons海灘去追逐巨浪。kommetjie.org

6. 活捉刺身

開普敦是個位於海邊的城市,在Hout Bay灣與Kalk等小漁港,漁夫可以將船上的漁獲直接放進你面前的碟子裡,讓你當作午餐吃下肚。你甚至可以租船出海,到Cape Point岬角對開的大陸棚一帶海面親自釣魚當午餐,你可以釣到多種不同的大魚,包括吞拿魚。hookedonafrica.co.za

Andrea Traber / EyeEm / Getty Images

國泰航空於11月13日起推出飛往開普敦的季節性航班,每周有三班

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Cape Town

Cape Town safari: 6 ways to have an authentic Cape adventure

Leaping sharks, giant giraffes and all the sashimi you can catch – welcome to the Cape, Africa’s natural wonderland. Words by DAVID BRISTOW

There are a few myths about Cape Town we need to debunk: that the 52-kilometre Cape Peninsula it sits on marks the tip of Africa (it doesn’t – that’s Cape Agulhas, southeast of the city), and that it’s where the Atlantic and Indian Oceans meet (also Cape Agulhas). But there’s one Cape Town truth that’s undeniable: its amazing natural landscapes. Case in point: Table Mountain is a huge block of sandstone soaring 1,086 metres high above the city, and every way you turn there it is. Here are a few more ways to tour the city’s natural bounty.

1. Smell the fynbos

Cape Town, Safari, King Protea
Guenter Fischer/imageBROKER RF/Getty Images

‘Fynbos’ is the term for the scrubby indigenous vegetation that blankets the Unesco World Heritage area known as the Cape Floral Region, stretching from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth, and as far as 200 kilometres inland. Table Mountain National Park resides in the fynbos and contains more flowering species than the whole of Britain. A good way to rub noses with the wilder side of the city is on a hike up the mountain – either up the exposed Platteklip Gorge, or on the more scenic Skeleton Gorge by starting in the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. You could also run, ride a horse or mountain bike on the network of trails and bridle paths. tmnp.co.za

2. Cape point

Cape Point sits at the tip of the Cape Peninsula, and is not the meeting place of two oceans but rather where the warm Agulhas and cold Benguela currents converge. With warm water on one side and icy cold on the other, the sea around the Cape Peninsula is one of the world’s marine biodiversity hotspots. Sub-Antarctic species on one side and subtropical on the other, just a kilometre or two apart in distance but half a hemisphere in terms of ecosystems. capepoint.co.za

3. False Bay

Cape Town, Safari
Dan Callister / Alamy Stock Photo / Argusphoto

This 30-kilometre-wide bay is a protected marine area and perhaps the least appreciated spectacle of the Cape. The mostly placid bay is home to surfers at beachy suburb Muizenberg and teems with hundreds of dolphins; at least seven species of shark, including the leaping great whites; four whale species; and too many birds to count. You can also go shark cage diving or whale watching: whichever rocks your boat. muizenberg.info/activities

4. West Coast

What did Planet Earth look like five million years ago? An hour’s drive north to Langebaanweg will reveal all. At West Coast Fossil Park, you can see where extinct animals – including gigantic giraffe, giant hyenas, sabretooth cats, African bears and elephants with four tusks – lived, died and eventually became fossils. Close by is Langebaan, within the West Coast National Park, a wetland where migrating water birds such as curlew sandpipers gather to fatten up for the long journey home in summer. In winter (July-September) the park becomes a celebrated wonderland of wild flowers. fossilpark.org.za

5. Take the waters

Cape Town, Safari
Heiko Meyer/laif/IC

We’re an outdoor kind of town and on any given day you’ll find us kayaking, swimming or surfing. The original Dutch name for the city was Kaapstad (literally ‘cape town’), but Joburg locals like to call it Slaapstad (‘sleepy town’). It’s true, we’ll do just about anything to avoid a hard day in the office. Sunbaked waveriders hang out at Surfer’s Corner in Muizenberg while the hotshot boarders prefer Noordhoek, Kommetjie or the big waves at Dungeons, Hout Bay, which are best in midwinter. kommetjie.org

6. Catch your own sashimi

Being a seaside town, at the small fishing harbours of Hout Bay and Kalk they throw your lunch from the boat virtually onto your plate. You can even catch your own by chartering a boat out to the big-game fishing grounds along the continental shelf off Cape Point. Prizes include many kinds of game fish including tuna. hookedonafrica.co.za

Cape Town, South Africa, Safari
Andrea Traber / EyeEm / Getty Images

Cathay Pacific launches a seasonal three-times-weekly service to Cape Town from Hong Kong on 13 November

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book