航空

機艙服員如何在長途機上休息?

機上設有隱蔽的床鋪,供機艙服務員輪流睡覺和休息

你永遠都不會知道,原來在經濟艙後半部分上方有一個空間,可供機艙服務員休息,因為入口看來與一扇洗手間的門無異。

在波音777-300ER客機內,機艙服務員要攀上一道樓梯才可進入休息區;在空中巴士A350內,則有一道長梯狀的樓梯和一扇滑門。

不同機種內的休息區設備亦略有不同:777-300ER總共有八個床位,分為兩排、每邊各有四個,中間有一條小通道,每個床位以隔板和布簾分隔;A350-1000的床位則彼此相鄰。

機上服務經理林敏兒表示,休息區的床位沒有「正式」的分配方式,卻有不成文的尊卑順序,「年資較淺的服務員會自動挑選較小的床位。」

根據規定,飛行值勤時間從上班簽到起計算,至飛機引擎關閉後15分鐘之間,若超過14小時,機組人員可獲最少三小時休息。如果值勤時間超過18小時,則必須有4.5小時的睡眠時間。

機組人員會輪流休息。第一組於向乘客派送第一份膳食後休息。機上服務經理Roy Lai說:「通常大家都喜歡選擇第二組休息時間。在兩次派送膳食服務之後,第二組會感到比較疲倦,因此更容易入睡。」

休息區絕對不能發出聲音。機上服務經理Steven Lui說:「即使是撕開床上用品的塑膠袋,亦須小心翼翼、動作快速。我們也不能使用鬧鐘。」

因此,機艙服務員必須將手機調校為震動模式。但在如此狹小的環境下,即使是輕微的動作也會引起連鎖反應。Steven說:「第一個人醒來之後,其他人也會跟著起身,就像鬧鐘一樣。然後大家不約而同捲起毯子,準備再次為機上的乘客服務。」

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Aviation

How Cabin Crew Sleep on Long-Haul Flights

Sweet inflight dreams are made of this - hidden away bunks that allow cabin crew to rest in shifts

You’d never know it’s there – the entrance is made to look like a toilet door – but hidden above the back section of economy is a humble space for crew members to rest.

On the Boeing 777-300ER, cabin crew climb a set of stairs up to the rest area; on the Airbus A350 there are ladder-style stairs and a sliding door.

What lies within differs slightly, too: on the 777-300ER there are eight bunks – two rows of four with a small aisle in between – separated by partition walls and curtains. On the A350-1000, the bunks are adjacent to each other.

Beds aren’t ‘officially’ allocated, but there’s a pecking order. ‘Junior crew will automatically take the smaller one,’ says Inflight Services Manager Charlotte Lam.

Crew require a minimum of three hours rest when the flight duty period exceeds 14 hours (from when crew ‘sign on’ to 15 minutes after engines off). For flight duty periods longer than 18 hours, 4.5 hours bunk rest is required.

The crew take turns for rest breaks. The first group will rest after the first meal service. ‘Usually cabin crew prefer to be in the second group,’ says Inflight Services Manager Roy Lai.

‘After two meal services the second group of crew are tired, so it can be easier to sleep.’

The rest area is a strictly no-noise zone. Inflight Services Manager Steven Lui says: ‘Even when you tear the plastic open on the bedding, you have to be careful and quick. We can’t use an alarm clock either.’

Instead, crew set their phones to vibrate. But in such close quarters, it’s a chain reaction. ‘The first person will wake up and the others will follow, like a wake-up call,’ says Lui. ‘Then it’s time to roll up the blankets and be ready to serve our passengers once again.’ 

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book