節日和活動

火樹銀花,全城歡慶

細訴香港的聖誕節以及大樓外的巨型燈飾。撰文: 梁振濤

我在深水埗長大,那時父母會帶我到九龍海傍觀賞聖誕燈飾,那是我非常期待的聖誕活動。我們會先在家吃過晚餐才出發,假如父母手頭充裕的話,更會到餐廳大快朵頤。

我們會乘坐巴士前往尖沙咀渡輪碼頭,然後沿海傍向東面漫步。屹立維港兩岸的建築物外牆,均綴上琳瑯滿目的聖誕燈飾:聖誕老人、聖誕花和雪花,以至「聖誕快樂」字樣應有盡有,猶如一排閃耀奪目而錯落有致的聖誕卡。我們總以洲際酒店為旅途的終點,在那裡飽覽環迴景色。

裹上溫暖大衣,與家人一起到海傍漫步觀賞聖誕燈飾,以及商店傳出的聖誕歌聲縈繞耳畔,都是許多香港人的童年回憶。在西方國家,人們往往駕車遊歷社區,觀賞鄰居掛上的夢幻燈光。香港雖然沒有這樣的地區,卻擁有摩天大廈。鱗次櫛比的高樓、分隔兩岸的海港,糅合殖民時代遺留的聖誕節慶習俗,構成香港獨有的傳統。

燈飾傳遞的意義,往往超越歡樂節慶。經濟繁榮時,建築物上的圖案設計極盡華麗,大量彩燈璀璨耀目,然而經濟蕭條的日子,燈飾則往往變得疏落失色,令觀者不禁感嘆:「經濟不景,商戶都要節省成本了」。

跟許多人一樣,當踏入青春期後我便不再愛與家人外出,而每逢聖誕節總是與朋友相聚。雖然沒有人會提出要觀賞燈飾,但約會地點必定是尖沙咀,因為對我們而言,欣賞燈飾是聖誕節不可或缺的一環,大家可謂心照不宣。

很可惜這份情懷已不復再。聖誕燈飾沒錯仍可見於部分摩天大廈的外牆上,可是不但數量較以前少,設計亦變得簡陋。數十年來大同小異的燈飾已變成明日黃花,如今建築物外牆的LED燈全天候發光發亮,也令聖誕燈飾失去了獨特的節日氣氛。

現在爭妍鬥麗的陣地已轉移至商場內部。九龍塘又一城和中環置地廣場每年都展示充滿節日氣氛的華麗聖誕佈置,更會在中庭放置巨型聖誕樹,以及教人驚艷的裝飾點綴。縱然商場現已成為許多香港人感受聖誕節氣氛的好去處,但到海傍觀賞燈飾,仍然是一份美好的節日回憶。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

Bright memories of Hong Kong’s festive lights

On Hong Kong’s holiday season and its outsized building decorations. By BAY LEUNG

When I was a kid growing up in Hong Kong’s Sham Shui Po district, my parents would take me to go look at Christmas lights along Kowloon’s harbourfront. There was an excitement in this special outing. First we’d have dinner; if my parents felt like we had a few extra dollars then we’d dine out.

We’d take the bus to the ferry pier in Tsim Sha Tsui and walk eastwards along the water. On the buildings facing the harbour, on both Kowloon and Hong Kong Island sides, Christmas designs adorned the facades in lights: Santa Clauses, poinsettias, snowflakes, ‘Season’s Greetings’ lettering, you name it. They looked like lit-up Christmas cards standing in uneven rows. We’d always end the tour at the InterContinental hotel, where the view is panoramic.

Bundling up for light viewings and walking the harbourfront with family while the sounds of carols emanate from shops is a childhood memory shared by many Hongkongers. In the West, families might drive around neighbourhoods to admire the blankets of fairy lights draped over houses. Here we don’t have that kind of neighbourhood; we have skyscrapers. It’s a tradition unique to Hong Kong, combining the key elements of competing tall buildings, a harbour dividing two densely packed skylines and the colonial influence of celebrating Christmas.

The lights communicated a mood that went beyond festivities: in good economic times, the pictures on the buildings were more abundant and flickered with abandon; in bad times, they were sparser, and viewers would comment, ‘Ah, look, the economy’s been bad, they’ve scaled back.’

Like many, as a teenager I graduated from the family outings, instead meeting up with friends during the holiday season to hang out. No one would mention the lights, yet the meeting place would invariably be Tsim Sha Tsui. The lights had become an unspoken draw, part of what the holidays meant to us.

The ritual has shifted though. The Christmas designs are still found on skyscrapers, but in fewer numbers and with simpler designs. Without evolving much over the decades, the displays are now seen as a quaint tradition. New LED lighting capabilities found on buildings year-round have also reduced the specialness of the Christmas lights.

The real show today is in malls. Festival Walk in Kowloon Tong and Landmark in Central have some of the city’s most impressive showings of decorations each year, with towering trees and mind-boggling displays of the festive spirit occupying the main atriums. Malls are where a lot of Hongkongers go for their festive fix now. But the harbourfront is where our holiday memories lead.


Discover More

Cathay Travell Book


Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book