餐飲美食

細說本土特色街頭小食販的風霜故事

從豬血粥到鵪鶉蛋,只要香港尚有街道,到處都必能看到街邊小販的蹤影。撰文 CHRISTOPHER DEWOLF

在老香港的印象裡,現在的秋天跟以往完全不同。以前中秋節前後,已是毛衣出籠的時候;但現在,天氣炎熱得可以穿上T恤和短褲來過節。不過,即使現在炎熱的日子徘徊不去,用炭爐煨番薯和炒栗子的香氣,依舊令人聯想起香港的秋季。

每年大約10月上旬開始,潮濕悶熱的暑氣漸消,迎來涼爽的天氣,這時街道上就會飄來這股香氣,甚至穿過打開的窗戶飄進室內。通常香氣來自賣煨番薯、炒栗子和鹽焗鵪鶉蛋的攤檔,小販將這些美食裝進紙袋裡,交到學生和上班族手中;然後他們急不及待地打開,享受藏在裡面的好滋味。

除了煨番薯和炒栗子外,昔日香港的街頭美食還有魚蛋、豬大腸、炸豆腐和雞蛋仔(呈小型雞蛋狀的窩夫餅),以及用拉糖絲和花生碎製成的鬆脆龍鬚糖等。

Atlantide Phototravel / Corbis Documentary / Getty Images

自香港開埠以來,就有小販在街上出售食物。在英國管治初期,小販已踏遍城中的小路與斜巷,兜售時令蔬菜、鹹魚和新鮮屠宰的肉類。不論男女,都以抑揚頓挫的腔調高聲叫賣。曾在香港傳教的英國牧師JNacken在一封寫於1873年的書信內,就曾將這種情景形容為「叫賣之聲不絕於耳」。

他在信中寫道:「華人都普遍早起,但賣粥的小販起得更早,在日出前一至兩小時已經起來。」他又描述小販如何利用竹製扁擔,將兩個木盒挑在肩上;每個木盒裡放著一鍋白粥,以小型炭爐加熱:「白粥的配料甚多,包括豬紅、魚片、豬腰和肉片等,還有加入桑白皮或薏米同煮的白粥,選擇十分多。」

到了1950年代,除了流動小販之外,還出現了數以百計的「大牌檔」。這是以鐵皮搭建的小屋,外面髹上綠色,大多在碼頭和工廠區一帶出現,為推動香港經濟起飛的工人提供價廉物美的平民美食。現在成為香港特色的「豉油西餐」,以中西合璧的豐膩口味見稱,其發源地就是大牌檔。而火腿通心粉或煎午餐肉三文治配熱奶茶,更是大牌檔早餐的首選。

在香港街頭擺賣的小販數目不斷增長,到了1970年代,數目已逾50,000人,令街道擠得水泄不通。政府為免令混亂的局面進一步加劇,於是推行小販發牌制度,安排他們在指定地點擺賣,但是牌照不能轉讓。結果,這種措施最終令整個小販行業面臨衰落和消失的命運。

對於熟食小販而言,末日更早出現。除了賣煨番薯的小販和少量大排檔外,法例規定任何人必須在固定舖位內售賣熟食,不得在街上擺賣。於是,此後有人若要出售滷水珍肝或臭豆腐等熟食,就要租用固定的舖位。

也有些人對法例視若無睹。多年來,在九龍又一村經常見到一個老翁踏著單車,兜售以木桶盛載的豆腐花,沿途高喊:「豆腐花!豆腐花!」。每逢農曆新年,香港多個地區就會出現夜市,裡面擠滿各式熟食檔,讓烤生蠔和咖喱魚蛋的香氣洋溢街頭。

那位賣豆腐花的老人家已有好一段日子沒有出現了。然而,隨著乾爽的秋風送來令人垂涎欲滴的煨番薯和炒栗子香氣,我們仍能憑著這些味道追憶美好的逝水年華。

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Discovery Book Silkroad Book

Food and drink

A brief, poignant history of Hong Kong’s street food hawkers

From pig blood congee to quail eggs, as long as Hong Kong has had streets, it's had street food hawkers. By CHRISTOPHER DEWOLF

People in Hong Kong will tell you that autumn isn’t what it used to be. They remember wearing jumpers at Mid-Autumn Festival; today, the weather decrees that they dress in shorts and t-shirts. But even if the summer heat lingers longer, there’s one sign of autumn that never changes: the aroma of charcoal.

It starts around early October, wafting through the streets up to open windows. It never takes long to find the source. Every year, for the six months the muggy heat subsides, itinerant hawkers roast sweet potatoes, chestnuts and quail eggs over charcoal, selling them in paper bags that are eagerly ripped open by schoolchildren and office workers alike.

The charcoal roasters used to have plenty of company. Fishballs, pork intestines, fried tofu, gai dan zai (‘little chicken egg’ waffles), crunchy dragon’s beard sweets made from pulled sugar and peanuts – they were all treats you could find on Hong Kong’s streets.

Kowloon, Mong Kok, street food, Hong Kong hawkers
Atlantide Phototravel / Corbis Documentary / Getty Images

As long as Hong Kong has had streets, people have been selling food in them. In its early days as a British colony, men and women walked up and down the city’s narrow, hilly lanes hawking seasonal vegetables, salted fish and freshly butchered meat. They advertised their goods by calling out in a sing-song melody – ‘at least one million cries uttered every day,’ according to Reverend J Nacken, a British missionary who described the scene in an 1873 letter.

‘The Chinese generally are early risers,’ he wrote, ‘but the congee hawker has been up an hour or two before sunrise.’ He described how hawkers carried their rice porridge in two boxes hanging from a bamboo pole over their shoulders, each containing a pot heated by a small charcoal fire. ‘You may have pig’s blood congee, fish congee, mulberry root flavoured congee, or barley, or kidney or pork and a variety of other congees.’

These mobile hawkers were joined by little green huts known as dai pai dong in the 1950s. Hundreds of them lined the streets near the wharves and factories that drove the city’s booming economy. These were the places that pioneered the satisfying, high-calorie ‘soy sauce’ Western food that is now a Hong Kong favourite. For many locals, nothing starts the day off quite like a milk tea with a ham and macaroni soup, or maybe a chunky fried Spam sandwich.

By the 1970s, more than 50,000 hawkers thronged the city’s streets. The government decided things had got out of hand. It began to license the hawkers and assign them permanent places to ply their trade. The catch was that their licences couldn’t be transferred. Eventually, the entire hawking trade was expected to die out.

For food hawkers, that happened sooner rather than later. Except for the charcoal-burning sweet potato vendors, and a handful of dai pai dongs, no hawkers are permitted to sell food on the streets of Hong Kong. If you want to sell braised duck liver or stinky tofu, you’ll need to rent a shop space.

A few people flouted the law. For years, a call of, ‘dou fu fa, dou fu fa!’ rang through Yau Yat Chuen in the middle of Kowloon as an old man rode his bicycle around the neighbourhood, selling sweet tofu pudding from a wooden bucket. Every Chinese New Year, the streets were filled with the scent of grilled oysters and curry fishballs as illicit night markets sprang up around Hong Kong.

The old man hasn’t been around for a while. But at least you can still count on the dry autumn breeze to carry that mouthwatering scent of charcoal.   

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book