藝術與文化

解讀來自韓國的派心手勢

先是豎起V字,後有派心手勢,作者Harper Chan細數亞洲人拍照時愛擺出的不同手勢

西方人普遍會在拍照時說「cheese」,亞洲人拍照時則每每擺出各種手勢,其中豎起手指成英文V字狀最常見。傳統上V字手勢代表勝利或和平,後來隨流行文化影響而衍生不同的版本。

亞洲人愛舉V字手勢,起源眾說紛紜,其中一個說法源於1972年的札幌冬奧。當時形勢大好的美國溜冰選手Janet Lynn在比賽中跌了一跤,金牌夢碎,卻仍笑著站起來。其後她擺出V字手勢,深具體育精神的可愛形象瞬間征服個性堅毅的大和民族。

從文化角度看,拍照手勢熱潮或是日本可愛文化現象之一。日本人為了逃避和釋放生活壓力,從一眾流行文化產物尋找心靈慰藉,如不少日本女生會仿效動漫《美少女戰士》主角的招牌動作,往眼角舉起打橫的V字手勢。「萌式」效應於1980至1990年代在亞洲蔓延,無論男女都懂一招半式可愛手勢。

不過,隨著韓國流行文化風靡全球,亞洲各地年輕人拍照時紛紛捨棄V字手勢,改為跟隨韓星的「派心」動作。這個手勢以單手的姆指和食指指頭交叉拼出心形,有指是韓星金惠秀在2010年自拍時靈機一觸。

相關故事:7個地標帶你深入了解韓流文化

 

現時大批亞洲型男明星都會在照片時擺出派心手勢,以可愛服眾,甚至外國影星都要「入鄉隨俗」,在亞洲粉絲前一展親民形象。2016年,荷李活紅星Benedict Cumberbatch到韓國宣傳電影《奇異博士》時,就擺出心形手勢向影迷問好。雖然他一度誤把心形倒轉,但影迷們還是照單全收。

近期的拍照手勢再創新風潮。南韓組合「本月少女」成員Chuu創出一個名為「咬愛心」的新手勢,先用雙手合出圓形作拿起漢堡包狀,再往頂部咬一口,圓形缺去頂部便變出心形了。

論經典的派心手勢照片,便不得不提北韓領袖金正恩了。2018年9月舉行南北韓首腦會談,金正恩跟南韓總統文在寅歷史性會面,雙方代表團在長白山山頂合照時,金正恩竟也隨眾人比出心形手勢,成為中外傳媒的一時佳話,大收公關果效,也是世界渴望共睹的和平兆頭。

相關故事:正宗北韓美食盡在首爾

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Art and culture

A Brief History of Korean Finger Hearts

First the V sign, now finger hearts: Harper Chan looks at the origins of posing for photos in Asia

For Asians, throwing up a hand gesture in front of the camera comes as naturally as saying ‘cheese’ in the West. The most ubiquitous? The ‘V’ sign, which may have started as a symbol of victory or peace – before its influence become ingrained in pop culture.

The origin of the Asian ‘V’ sign, according to one theory, can be traced back to the 1972 Winter Olympics in Sapporo, when the hotly tipped American figure skater Janet Lynn took a tumble but, to everyone’s surprise, got up and flashed a wide smile. Later, she was seen throwing up the V – and the gesture soon became associated with sportsmanship and charm among the Japanese. 

You could say the popularity of these hand gestures is a byproduct of Japanese kawaii cute culture, which is often seen as an emotional escape from the pressures of Japanese society. Such hand gestures soon became a full-fledged trend in Asia during the 1980s and ’90s, thanks in no small part to pop culture icons like Sailor Moon, who flashes her V sign horizontally for her signature pose.

But with K-pop taking the world by storm, we’re no longer throwing up the Vs. In recent years, a Korean import has become the gesture of choice: the ‘finger heart’. Formed by slightly overlapping the thumb and index finger into a heart shape, the gesture is believed to have originated with actress Kim Hye-soo in 2010.

Nowadays, every Asian heartthrob worth their salt is flashing the finger heart. Western celebrities have also caught on to the trend, and it’s become practically mandatory for Asian fans. During his 2016 Doctor Strange promotional tour in Korea, Benedict Cumberbatch was seen throwing up the sign for his fans – although it took the actor a little while to get the gesture right.

The most recent variation of the heart gesture was created by Chuu of Korean girl group Loona, who has taken to forming a circle with both hands and ‘biting’ into it like a hamburger, forming a heart shape as she does so.

But perhaps the most powerful – and surprising – supporter of the finger heart trend is none other than North Korean leader Kim Jong-un. During the September 2018 inter-Korean summit, the Supreme Leader and South Korean government officials were photographed by international media on the top of Mount Paektu, making finger hearts for the world… and just perhaps, for peace.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book