餐飲美食

波爾多: 舊世界的佳釀,新時代的面貌

新建築、新基建和新思維讓法國南部城市波爾多及其釀酒區的名聲再現光芒

由巴黎前往波爾多,一般會選乘內陸機或高速列車TGV,自駕可算是不太理性的選擇,畢竟兩地相距足足600公里。

但我享受這段自駕旅程。那種逐漸深入法國以至歐洲南部,看著泥土慢慢轉化為沙礫、樹形變得尖長、每個地名都以「ac」作結的感覺,令人感覺悠然舒暢。然後,當你看到第一棵日本金松樹,就會知道你快要抵達波爾多和新阿基坦大區的腹地。

在谷歌搜尋「波爾多旅遊」一詞,你會找到海量「蛻變」的同義詞,所以我在出發前早有心理準備,會目睹這個法國西南部城市的點點變遷。我上一次到訪是在1990年代初,那時我還是個隨球隊遠征的年輕人。我對當地的印象十分模糊,只依稀記得灰濛陳舊的建築、倉庫和破爛的酒店。我們那輛只載有汗臭薰天的球衣和球鞋的汽車竟然惹來小偷光顧,也反映了當年波爾多的經濟狀況。其時,既然可以選擇到拉卡諾的海灘享受松風綠水,或於聖艾米利翁的中古街道上閒逛,走訪大小酒莊的話,又何需踏足波爾多?

Credit: Horizon Images/Motion / Alamy Stock Photo

但現在呢?我將車駛進市中心,馬上就知道這城市已經徹底改頭換面。累積了上百年的塵垢早已洗刷乾淨,換上一條又一條以奶白色石灰岩砌成的光鮮街道,還有光可鑑人的鵝卵石大街。波爾多不僅表面煥然一新,連靈魂亦獲重生的洗禮。

來自波雅克產區的著名釀酒師Jean-Michel Cazes告訴我,其他地區的法國人愛以「coincé」一詞形容波爾多人,意指「被圍困」,帶有封閉、保守的含意。小說家François Mauriac來自波爾多,在他的筆下,不乏鬱鬱不得志的文人雅士渴望到巴黎闖一番事業,遠離那些終生留守在波爾多的同鄉。

Credit: ANNEEMMANUELLE_THION

時至今天,Mauriac筆下的主角應該會選另一條路。隨著新的TGV鐵路線於2017年開通,來往波爾多和巴黎只需兩小時,以前被困在鄉下的「窮親戚」,現在已是衣履光鮮時尚的社會新貴。在小餐館吃過一頓高級晚餐後,朝著加隆河漫步,走到InterContinental Bordeaux – Le Grand Hotel酒店的露台,你會看到人們在下方的廣場跳舞,在咖啡館內遣興作樂,或是踏著單車、滑板甚至徒步在街上蹓躂。

每當有城市經歷突然而戲劇性的變遷時,欲知背後原因,從政客中找答案準沒錯。你通常會找到一個雄心勃勃的年輕市長,銳意以自己的家鄉為跳板,晉身全國政治舞台。不管法國人對曾任首相並在1995年至今多次當選波爾多市長的朱佩有何評語,都不會否定波爾多在他管治下有一番大改革。河畔被劃為行人專用區,夾岸的貨倉經活化,街道重新開放予行人使用,高科技電車系統投入服務;種種舉措,獲得了聯合國教科文組織的「認可」,列入世界文化遺產。

每一個胸懷大志的市長,都抗拒不了在轄地留下地標建築的誘惑,憑建築在歷史中留名。翌日,我駕車前往昔日為工業港口的Bacalan區。這裡是「朱佩地標」的第一站:Pont Jacques Chaban-Delmas大橋的所在地。大橋於2013年落成開放,中央的一段可以像托盤一樣掀起,讓大型船隻在橋下通過。位於附近的另一幢地標Cité du Vin波爾多葡萄酒博物館造型奇特,有說它是參考了葡萄藤設計而成;亦有說靈感源自在酒杯底被攪動的葡萄酒漩渦。雖然它的設計概念眾說紛紜,但大眾一致認同它是非常優秀的景點。

Left: Alvaro German Vilela / Alamy Stock Photo; Right: Inigo Bujedo Aguirre-VIEW / Alamy Stock Photo

自從它於2016年開幕至今,已有近130萬人走進其酒桶般的內部,透過巨型香薰瓶吸入葡萄酒的各種香氣,並沉醉在取材自葡萄創作的藝術品和詩篇中。這趟感官之旅的終點是個樓高35米的全方位觀景台,訪客可一邊俯瞰波爾多的環迴景致,一邊細嚐葡萄酒。

當你將目光投向東面,越過加隆河,就會看到當地最大的葡萄酒產區梅多克。此時,你自會恨不得插上翅膀,直往那方飛去。

如何在產酒區自由行?答案是「你懂的」。首先,你得從同行旅伴中選出負責駕駛而要全程禁酒的司機,中選者真可算是人類不幸的物種之一。然後向阡陌縱橫的葡萄園進發,挨門逐戶地拜訪酒莊、酒館餐廳和品酒室。酒過五、六巡後,你終於抵達一間雅致的精品酒店。此時,你大可盡情卸下途中購買的瓶裝酒、T裇、盛惠60歐元(約500港元)的開瓶器,以及其他跟葡萄酒有關的輜重,然後再享受一頓豐盛美味的晚餐,再繼續牛飲葡萄酒。

Credit: ANNEEMMANUELLE_THION

上述流程,並不是我在梅多克的經驗之談。在黑暗的舊時代裡,你會駕車經過許多巍峨的城堡,每一家均附有一個顯赫的名字,是你曾經在酒瓶招紙上讀過,或聽過侍酒師帶著無比的敬意對你輕輕道出。這些堡壘全都重門深鎖,只差沒掛上「閒人免進」的告示牌,警告對象是來自北方,穿著短褲涼鞋,只想不分晝夜買醉的「蠻人」。幸運的話,你可能找到一家殘舊的咖啡店,讓你啃一客不合理地貴的烤芝士火腿三文治。而即使幸運女神如何眷顧你,也別指望求得像樣的床位,所以你唯一能做的,就是悻悻然地駕車返回波爾多。

那麼,由Dauprat村莊走到Saint-Lambert村莊,一路探訪沿岸的小村落,在Château Pichon Longueville Baron童話般的塔樓前揮手,到酒店集團Relais & Châteaux指示牌前「打卡」,再轉入Cordeillan-Bages附近的砂礫路,又何樂之有?

Credit: RooM the Agency / Alamy Stock Photo

答案是一家酒店。它位於Cordeillan和Bages兩個產酒區之間,盡收地利之便,擁有一間餐廳和米芝蓮星級評價。酒店的主人是其中一個最著名的釀酒世家,而且他們剛好扎根於梅多克。

至此,我們得感謝之前提到的那位釀酒師朋友Jean-Michel Cazes。他將古老的Lynch-Bages大宅內外(包括發霉的釀酒桶)改造成推動梅多克旅遊業的橋頭堡,為幾乎被荒廢的Bages村莊引入了一家餐館、好些商店,以及用心經營的待客之道。

我們未至於大喜過望。梅多克雖然不再重門深鎖,但其大門仍然虛掩。要拜訪著名酒莊,你必須事先預約,甚至最好是獲邀出席。但當我在寧靜的村落間穿梭,登上Lamarque村中的Saint-Seurin教堂頂樓俯瞰大片田園時,我還是默默地向酒神巴克斯禱告,感謝這些樹影婆娑的街道和紅瓦頂村莊沒有被旅行團或婚前單身派對污染,更沒有葡萄酒主題公園或品酒團肆虐其中。這裡的確正發展葡萄酒旅遊業,但沒有忘卻法國本色。

在Cordeilan-Bages酒莊享用過晚餐後,我在一排排的Cabernet Franc、Merlot和Cabernet Sauvignon的葡萄藤中間安坐,呷著最後一口2001年的列級酒莊年份佳釀,感到自己渾身被這個地方的靈氣所包圍。阿基坦夏日的暖陽慢慢消褪,從吉倫特溪口吹來的涼風來得正合時宜。泥土底下,葡萄的樹根逐寸深入神聖的土地中,為下一次豐收汲取養分。

年份酒聯盟

三年前,Jean-Charles Cazes來到香港為馬可孛羅會會員籌辦一席盛宴。作為波雅克酒莊Château Lynch-Bages的行政總裁,這是他在梅多克大本營和海外經常從事的工作。他身邊的賓客將他拉到一旁,告訴他一個發生在1980年代末的故事。當時,那位賓客乘坐國泰航班頭等艙前往倫敦面試。在機上,他跟太太決定來一杯Lynch-Bages的1982年年份酒。面試結束後,他立即飛奔到酒商Berry Brothers & Rudd的門市買了200瓶一模一樣的酒。Cazes聽後馬上眉開眼笑,因為他公司名下的酒窖剛好賣光了82年的年份酒。他即時向對方提出,以不同年份的頂級佳釀,來交換他部分82年珍藏。這是一場達至雙贏的成功交易。

Lynch-Bages與國泰航空的關係跟這故事十分雷同。時維1989年,一位友人告訴Jean-Charles的父親Jean-Michel,有香港客人正找尋可靠的波爾多頂級年份佳釀供應商。為慶祝這段延續30年的情誼,今年較早前雙方在香港舉行了一場晚宴,而當晚的酒單中,就有那款珍貴的82年年份酒。

當部分馬可孛羅會的會員飛往圖盧茲參與7月舉行的全新空中巴士A350-900航機交付之旅時,亦少不了年份佳釀的份兒。國泰在同一時間亦慶祝跟另一家波雅克星級酒莊Château Montrose達成合作協議,為首航乘客提供年份佳釀。參與慶典的貴賓在Château Montrose煥然一新的豪華大宅中享用晚宴,親身感受這個美酒殿堂的氣派,而這酒莊更已完全實行有機生產。

品酒勝地

InterContinental – Le Grand Hotel酒店

這間全波爾多最豪華的酒店位於市中心,裝潢瑰麗古典,附設時髦的天台酒吧,可俯覽全市風景。

Château Cordeillan-Bages酒莊

主廚Julien Lefebvre同時主理酒莊的高級餐廳及鄰近Bages村莊內的小餐館Café Lavinal,兩家都不容錯過。參觀Château Lynch-Bages酒莊及Château Montrose酒莊必須事先預約。

Les Sources de Caudalie酒店及水療度假村

如欲遊覽波爾多南部,建議可到位於Château Haut Smith-Lafitte酒莊的Les Sources de Caudalie酒店及水療度假村,以及其出色的花園餐廳La Table du Lavoir。

國泰航空設有由香港飛往巴黎的航班,每周有14班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Food and drink

Bordeaux: Old World Wine, New Age Outlook

New architecture, infrastructure and attitudes have revived the fortunes of the southern French city of Bordeaux and its winemaking region

From Paris to Bordeaux, the sensible thing is to fly or take the fast train (the TGV). The less sensible thing is to drive. It’s 600 kilometres.

But I like that drive. The way you gradually seep into the south. The soil gets sandier, the trees spikier and every other placename has an ‘-ac’ at the end. Then you see your first umbrella pine and you know you’re close to Bordeaux and the heart of Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

Google ‘Bordeaux travel’ and you will get a wordcloud with various synonyms for ‘transformation’. So I’m prepared for a bit of a change to this southwestern French city. I was last here as a young man on a football tour in the early 1990s. I have dim memories of gloomy, sooty buildings, warehouses and crabby hotels. The fact that someone had thought it worthwhile to break into our car and steal our sweat-stained football kit gives you an indication of the city’s economic health at the time. In those days, you’d miss Bordeaux altogether if you could and head to the pine-fringed beaches of Lacanau or the medieval streets and wine cellars of Saint-Émilion.

Credit: Horizon Images/Motion / Alamy Stock Photo

But now? I turn towards Centre Ville and straight away I know there’s been quite a makeover. Its grimy skin and generations of fumes have been scoured away. In its place, you see boulevard after boulevard of fresh, creamy limestone and gleaming cobblestones. But the facelift isn’t only skin-deep. The soul of Bordeaux has had a spring clean too.

Jean-Michel Cazes, the celebrated winemaker from Pauillac, tells me the word other French citizens habitually use about the Bordelais: coincé. Literally, it means ‘in a corner’, idiomatically, ‘uptight, closed-off’. Read the novels of Bordeaux-born François Mauriac and they are full of frustrated creative types yearning for Paris, far from their coincé relatives in Bordeaux.

Credit: ANNEEMMANUELLE_THION

The Mauriacs of today are going in the opposite direction. The launch of the new TGV line in 2017 has brought Bordeaux within two hours of Paris and the sullen provincial cousin is now modish and coveted. Strolling down to the Garonne river after a fine bistro dinner on the terrace of the InterContinental Bordeaux­ – Le Grand Hotel, there are people dancing in the square, carousing in the cafés and getting about the place on bikes, skateboards and barefoot.

When cities go through sudden and dramatic changes, cherchez le politicien (look for the politician). You’ll usually find an ambitious young mayor who chooses their home city to make a mark on the national stage. And whatever the French think of Alain Juppé, former prime minister of France and mayor of Bordeaux more or less continuously between 1995 and today, they all acknowledge he did a pretty dramatic job of transforming the city. The riverside was reclaimed from the cars and the warehouses. The roads were pedestrianised. A hi-tech tram system was built. Unesco gave its blessing.

And there’s nothing an ambitious mayor likes more than to leave a couple of architectural landmarks. The next day, I drive to the former industrial port area of Bacalan. There is Landmark One: the Pont Jacques Chaban-Delmas, a bridge opened in 2013 with a centre section that lifts like a tea tray to allow large ships to pass beneath. Nearby is an extraordinary shape. Some say it is a vine, some say wine swirling around the bottom of a glass. But they all agree the Cité du Vin has been A Very Good Thing.

Left: Alvaro German Vilela / Alamy Stock Photo; Right: Inigo Bujedo Aguirre-VIEW / Alamy Stock Photo

Some 1.3 million people have entered its barrel-like interior since it opened in 2016. They inhale vinous odours from enlarged perfume bottles. They get immersed in the art and poetry inspired by the grape. Then they end up on a 360-degree terrace sipping the stuff itself while the expanse of Bordeaux opens up 35 metres below.

And as you gaze eastwards beyond the Garonne, you see one of the greatest wine regions of them all, the Médoc – and naturally you want to head there. Fast.

How to travel in the winelands? You know how it goes. First, you pick on an unfortunate species of human known as the Designated Driver. Then you head into the land of vines and cellar doors, winery restaurants and tasting rooms. After five or six tastings you reach a cute boutique hotel where you can disgorge the bottles, T-shirts, €60 (HK$500) corkscrews and all the other oenological impedimenta you have accumulated on the journey. Then you have another fabulous dinner. And more wine.

Credit: ANNEEMMANUELLE_THION

This has not traditionally been my experience in the Médoc. In the dark old days, you’d drive past the fabulous châteaux, each with a celebrated name you’d only know from a label or whispered reverently by a sommelier. But they would all be closed. Not just closed but – how shall I say? – forbidden to mere mortals, especially mortals in shorts and sandals on a boozy trip from the barbarian north. If you were lucky, you might get to eat an overpriced croque monsieur in a fusty village café. No amount of luck would get you a decent bed for the night, so you’d drive disconsolately back to Bordeaux.

So how nice it is to coast through the hamlets of Dauprat and Saint-Lambert, wave at the fairytale towers of Château Pichon Longueville Baron, clock the Relais & Châteaux sign and turn into the gravel drive surrounding the Cordeillan-Bages.

Credit: RooM the Agency / Alamy Stock Photo

It is a hotel. It is in the vinelands between, handily, Cordeillan and Bages. It does have a restaurant and a Michelin star. It is owned by one of the greatest of wine families. And it is in the Médoc.

For all this, we must thank our friend Jean-Michel Cazes. Having transformed the fortunes (and the mouldy vats) of the venerable Lynch-Bages house, he turned to Médoc tourism, taking the more or less derelict village of Bages and giving it a bistro, shops and a heart.

We won’t get carried away. The Médoc is no longer closed – but the door is only ajar. To visit the great houses, you need to book (or better, be invited – see below). But as I tour the sleepy villages, climb to the rooftop of the Saint-Seurin church in the village of Lamarque and survey the land, I utter a quiet prayer of thanks to the god Bacchus that these tree-lined roads and red-roofed villages are not choked with coaches and touring stag parties. This is wine tourismbut with French characteristics.   

After dinner at Cordeillan-Bages, sitting among the rows of Cabernet Franc, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon, sipping the last of the 2001 Grand Cru Classé, the real spirit of the place envelops me. After the heat of an Aquitaine summer day, the blessed breeze wafts in from the Gironde estuary. And deep below, for metre after metre, the roots are feeling their way through the sacred soil, readying for the harvest.

A Vintage Alliance

Three years ago, Jean-Charles Cazes was hosting a dinner for Marco Polo Club members in Hong Kong. As chief executive of Château Lynch-Bages, it’s something he does frequently, here or in Médoc itself. His neighbour took him aside and told him about the time, in the late 1980s, when he flew First Class on Cathay Pacific to London for a job interview. He and his wife tried a glass of Lynch-Bages – the 1982 vintage. And as soon as the interview was over, he headed to Berry Brothers & Rudd and bought 200 bottles.

Cazes was delighted to hear it: not least because the company’s own cellars had run out. So he arranged a swap: some of the ’82 for a stellar selection of different vintages. Everyone was happy.

That’s a fair summary of the relationship between Lynch-Bages and Cathay Pacific, too. It began in 1989, when a friend told Jean-Charles’ father, Jean-Michel, that a customer in Hong Kong was looking for a reliable supply of outstanding Bordeaux vintages.

The 30-year relationship was celebrated in a special dinner in Hong Kong earlier this year. On the menu: that precious ’82.

There were more fine vintages opened in July, when select Marco Polo Club guests flew to Toulouse to take delivery of a new Airbus A350-900. There was a new partnership to celebrate too, between the airline and Château Montrose – the latest vintage to tempt First flyers. The guests dined at Château Montrose’s extraordinary refurbished home – a true cathedral of fine wine, and 100 per cent organic.

Where To Go

InterContinental – Le Grand Hotel

The grande dame of Bordeaux hotels in the heart of town: plush, classical furnishings with a contemporary roof bar overlooking the city.

Château Cordeillan-Bages

Chef Julien Lefebvre oversees both the fine-dining restaurant in the château and the Café Lavinal bistro in the nearby village of Bages. Both are highly recommended. In the area, visits to Château Lynch-Bages and Château Montrose are by appointment only.

Les Sources de Caudalie

South of Bordeaux, this hotel and spa sits in the grounds of the Château Haut Smith-Lafitte vinery. It’s well worth a visit, as is its excellent garden restaurant La Table du Lavoir.

Cathay Pacific flies to Paris from Hong Kong 14 times a week

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book