國泰航空

波音747-400BCF貨機榮休之旅

國泰航空跟最後一架波音747-400BCF貨機惜別,它在過去40年忠誠服務,運載客人和貨物來往世界各地,勞苦功高

今年9月,國泰航空最後一架波音747-400BCF貨機(註冊編號:B-HUS)執行退役前最後一個飛行任務,由香港啓程前往亞利桑那沙漠。

雖然最後一架波音747客機早於2016年已退役,但國泰航空機隊仍有20架747貨機,其中14架更是該機種中最先進的747-8F型號。

Cathay Pacific Boeing 747-400BCF aircraft

747-400BCF貨機由波音客機改造而成,地板經加固並於機尾加裝一道貨門。不過,它們的載重量比原裝貨機少,同時亦沒有可打開讓大型貨物裝卸的機頭。

BCF貨機的退役之旅由John Graham機長駕駛。他入職以來一直為國泰駕駛747飛機,更因此獲得波音公司頒發由747飛機原設計師Joe Sutter簽名的模型飛機,證明他是駕駛747年資最高的機長之一。隨著747退役,他亦於下年2月退休,B-HUS貨機的終極旅程,正好為其機師生涯畫上完美句號。

Cathay staffs farewell to Boeing 747-400BCF aircraft

747有「珍寶機」之稱,皆因它體積龐大。但退役貨機的最終目的地Pinal Airpark機場面積較小,跑道短而狹窄,控制塔更無任何人員協調,連一般視訊或領航輔助設施亦付之闕如。一旦離開領空進入10,000呎以下的範圍,機師便只能靠自身的技術控制飛機升降。

Graham機長說:「在那裡降落難度十足,但退役前的最後旅程是難能可貴的體驗,因此我很榮幸能帶領該段航程。」

貨機順道於洛杉磯卸貨後,將前往其退役後的居所:飛機儲存基地。由於航機卸貨後較輕,令操作難度更高。Graham機長解釋說:「一般人認為貨機在載滿沉重的貨物時最難駕駛,但747恰好相反。當航機空無一物時,降落將變得更困難。」

不過,有賴Graham機長經驗豐富,最終順利帶領這貨機抵達其永久停放地。

Cathay Pacific Boeing 747-400BCF aircraft

編輯精選

發現更多

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Cathay Pacific

Final Farewell for Boeing 747-400BCF

Cathay Pacific bids farewell to its last Boeing 747-400BCF after four decades of loyal service ferrying both passengers and freight

In September, B-HUS – the airline’s last Boeing 747-400BCF freighter – left Hong Kong for its final flight to the Arizona desert.

While the last passenger 747 was retired in 2016, Cathay Pacific still operates a 20-strong fleet of 747 freighters, 14 of which are state-of-the-art 747-8Fs.

The 747-400BCFs (Boeing converted freighters) were former passenger aircraft with strengthened floors and a cargo door cut into the rear fuselage, though they had a lower payload than purpose-built freighters and lacked the opening nose that enables outsized cargo to be loaded.

The BCF retirement flight was led by Captain John Graham, who has spent his entire career flying the 747 for Cathay Pacific and has a model plane from Boeing, signed by the original 747 designer Joe Sutter, recognising him as one of the longest serving 747 captains. He too retires in February, with a memorable entry for his flight logbook.

The defining characteristic of the 747, as the nickname ‘jumbo’ suggests, is that it is big. Pinal Airpark, the aircraft’s final resting place, is not. It has a short, narrow runway and an uncontrolled airfield – there is no-one in the control tower and none of the normal visual or navigational aids. Once you leave controlled airspace at 10,000 feet, you’re on your own.

‘Landing there is quite a challenge, but a retirement flight is an exceptional experience so it was a privilege to lead it,’ says Graham.

For another challenge, after dropping its final cargo in Los Angeles en route to the boneyard, the aircraft was lighter than normal. ‘You would think that when a plane is fully loaded and heavy that it’s a handful, but with a 747 it’s actually the other way around,’ says Graham. ‘When it’s empty, it does not want to descend.’

But with experience on his side, Graham was able to safely guide the aircraft to its final resting place.

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book