温哥華

跳出溫哥華:順道遊覽卑斯省五大精采之地

湖光山色、精緻甜品、馥郁佳釀及野外歷奇⋯⋯一切距離加拿大西部首府不到數小時車程,恭候你大駕光臨

你以為自己已遊遍溫哥華?體驗過卑斯省最大城市的文化,細味過當地的佳餚美饌及閒適生活後,無需感到失落,因為驅車往市外走,只消一、兩個小時你便能把懾人的野外風光盡收眼底,多姿多采的歷奇活動、豐富文化和美食正等待你來發掘。

維多利亞:英式下午茶和歷史

歷史名城維多利亞是卑詩省的首府,對款客之道尤其講究。

觀光

維多利亞是個適宜徒步探索的城市。如你有興趣了解當地建築背後的歷史,或是對靈異傳說感到好奇,不妨考慮參加步行導賞團。Discover the Past旅行社提供各式各樣的日間和夜間步行導賞團,主題包羅萬有,包括昔日的淘金潮,以至當地最著名的幽靈和它們最愛出沒的地點。discoverthepast.com

Stuart Isett

住宿

Fairmont Empress酒店富麗堂皇,前臨維多利亞內港,位置無懈可擊。這家酒店於2017年進行大規模翻新,不過無損其始於1908年的華麗氣派。高雅的大堂酒廊供應英式下午茶,並選用與侍奉王侯貴賓的同款餐具「皇后」瓷器待客。 fairmont.com/empress-victoria

威士拿:不只滑雪那麼簡單

威士拿的山間度假村已成為四季皆宜的度假勝地,琳瑯滿目的設施,確保你在什麼時候來臨都能盡興而歸。

滑雪

威士拿是舉世知名的高山滑雪和單板滑雪勝地,當地的滑雪學校提供各種級別的優質課程,無論是全無經驗的新手,以至打算提升技巧的高手均照顧周到。附近一帶的山脈在夏季同樣深受登山客和單車手歡迎,而度假村亦舉辦精采的徒步導賞團,帶領旅客觀賞在當地出沒的野熊。whistlerblackcomb.com

Karl Weatherly / Digital Vision / Getty Images

空中勝景

Peak 2 Peak纜車全長逾三公里,距離谷底436米,連接威士拿山和黑梳山的山巔,讓滑雪手和觀光客在15分鐘的旅程中能飽覽冰川、森林和山谷的迷人景致。訪客更可在威士拿山的山巔,踏上最近啟用的Cloudraker Suspension Bridge吊索橋,步行130米前往西嶺,並順道測試自己會否畏高。whistlerblackcomb.com

Sodake / Shutterstock

水療

要徹底卸下現代生活的壓力,達致完全放鬆,最佳的方法就是在積雪的山峰享受戶外水療。在全年開放的Scandinave Spa水療中心,你可先享受桑拿、蒸氣浴或熱水浴,然後在泳池暢泳或以冷水淋浴,再在營火旁就坐,或躲進溫暖的休息室小睡片刻。scandinave.com/whistler

Justa Jeskova

奧卡納根谷:葡萄酒鄉

卑詩省盛產優質葡萄酒,大部分產自奧卡納根谷。該區因獨特的微氣候和土壤差異,盛產包括Riesling和Syrah等多種葡萄酒。

品酒

走訪不同酒莊並沿路品酒,可領略各家所長以及各個葡萄品種的特色。Experience Wine Tours品酒團以精采的行程、豐富的葡萄酒知識和貼心的顧客服務著稱。導賞團天天出發,由合資格的侍酒師主持,並包括午間野餐,品嚐本土農產品、手工芝士和熟食凍肉。experiencewinetours.ca

住宿

這家位於穴鴞酒莊的精品旅館提供十間豪華客房,全部設有前臨葡萄園景緻的私人陽台。住客可在旅館附設的Sonora Room餐廳享用精心炮製的午餐和晚餐。酒莊亦舉辦多個私人導賞團和品酒活動,旅客不妨預先聯絡酒莊,安排度身訂造的行程。burrowingowlwine.ca

文化與自然共冶一爐

奧索尤斯沙漠位於奧卡納根以南的奧索尤斯鎮,是加拿大最炎熱乾燥的地方,亦是原住民組織奧索尤斯印第安幫會和它的獲獎釀酒廠Nk’Mip Cellars的所在地。品嚐過出色的紅酒和參觀釀酒廠之後,緊記在風光秀麗的庭院享用午餐。亦可順道到訪隔壁的Nk’Mip Desert Cultural Centre文化中心,了解沙漠生態、響尾蛇野放計劃和原住民傳統。nkmipcellars.com

加利安諾島:荒島一日遊

加利安諾島是海灣群島之一,由溫哥華乘搭渡輪前往不用一小時。當地的天然景貌,彷彿與世隔絕,讓你徹底遠離繁囂。

自駕暢遊

加利安諾島全長僅27公里,因此遊畢全島只需一天。如你並非駕車前來,最理想是租用輕型電單車。資訊中心不但備有免費地圖可供取閱,職員亦會為遊客介紹遊覽路線。galianoadventures.com

Karoline Cullen

尋覓鯨蹤

環繞加利安諾島的水域是殺人鯨的主要覓食路線之一。取道島嶼南端其中一條短途登山徑,穿越優美的Bluffs Park公園,即可抵達最有機會發現鯨蹤的黃金位置,並將Active Pass海峽的美景盡收眼底。你也可以花兩小時圍繞公園漫步,全程地勢平緩,輕鬆易行。galianoisland.com

餐飲

Pilgrimme於2015年開業,以採用本土及蒐集得來的食材而備受推崇,旋即成為加拿大最佳餐廳之一。即使在冬季,也有三分之二的食材採購自加利安諾島,東主之一Jesse McCleery對追求西北太平洋正宗風味的堅持,無出其右。欲免向隅,務必提前訂座。pilgrimme.ca

吐芬奴:海灘城鎮

吐芬奴是溫哥華島西陲的小城,擁有廣闊的幼沙海灘,氣氛份外悠閒。

翱翔

航空公司Harbour Air於2018年夏季開設全新水上飛機航線,讓旅客可由溫哥華市中心直飛吐芬奴碼頭。在天清氣朗的日子,單是這段風景優美的航程,已絕對值得走一趟。harbourair.com

Mike Crane

住宿

Wickaninnish Inn旅館坐落於延伸至太平洋的海岬之上,可說是吐芬奴的瑰寶。你可在客房觀賞一望無際的海景,然後到Pointe Restaurant餐廳享用美味的西北太平洋美食,還能享受海邊水療中心的奢華療程。如在冬季到訪,則可欣賞狂風下氣勢磅薄的景象。wickinn.com

Courtesy of Wickaninnish Inn

滑浪

與其作壁上觀,不妨放膽學習滑浪。Pacific Surf School滑浪學校提供團體、個人和家庭課程,甚至舉辦適合傷健或認知障礙人士參加的課程。pacificsurfschool.com ‭ 

國泰航空設有由香港飛往溫哥華的航班,每周有17班,並於2019年4月1日起開辦由香港飛往西雅圖的航班,每周有四班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Vancouver

Beyond Vancouver

Mountains to deserts, wine to wild adventures: it’s all waiting just a couple of hours from Canada’s western metropolis. Words by FIONA MORROW

Think you’ve done Vancouver? Once you’ve sampled the culture, amazing eats and perfect liveability of British Columbia’s biggest city, don’t despair: just an hour or two beyond its borders, you’ll find an array of stunning wilderness and adventure, and a bit more culture and cuisine too.

Victoria: High Teas and History

The capital of British Columbia, Victoria is a historic city that takes hospitality seriously.

See

Victoria is best explored on foot. If you’re interested in the history behind its architecture or intrigued by its darker side, consider a walking tour. Discover the Past offers daytime and evening walking tours that cover everything from the city’s gold rush days to its most famous ghosts and their favourite haunts. discoverthepast.com

Vancouver
Stuart Isett

Stay

Nowhere can beat the location of the Fairmont Empress, an imposing building overlooking the Inner Harbour. An extensive renovation in 2017 updated this hotel without damaging its original 1908 grandeur. High tea in the sophisticated Lobby Lounge is served on the same Empress china used for visiting royals and other dignitaries. fairmont.com/empress-victoria

Whistler: Not just for snow junkies

Now considered a year-round destination, the mountain resort of Whistler goes out of its way to make sure you’ll have fun.

Ski

Whistler’s skiing and snowboarding scene is world famous, and the excellent ski school helps everyone from complete beginners to those looking to improve their technique. The mountains are just as popular in summer with hikers and bikers, and the resort also runs excellent bear-watching walks. whistlerblackcomb.com

Vancouver, ski
Karl Weatherly / Digital Vision / Getty Images

Soar

At over three kilometres long and rising 436 metres above the valley floor, the Peak 2 Peak Gondola connects the tops of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, giving skiers and sightseers alike an incredible, 15-minute scenic ride over glaciers, forests and the valley. Atop Whistler mountain, visitors can test their head for heights by walking to the West Ridge on the recently opened, 130-metre-long Cloudraker Suspension Bridge. whistlerblackcomb.com

Vancouver
Sodake / Shutterstock

Spa

There’s nothing quite like an outdoor spa in the mountains with snow on the ground to make you feel disconnected from the pressures of modern life. At Scandinave Spa, move from sauna, steam room or hot tub to plunge pool or cold shower. Pull up a chair around the fire pit, or head into one of the warm relaxation rooms for a snooze. Open year-round. scandinave.com/whistler

Scandinave Spa, Vancouver
Justa Jeskova

Okanagan Valley: Wine country

British Columbia makes excellent wine, the vast majority of it produced in the Okanagan Valley. Thanks to distinct micro-climates and soil differences, the region produces wine as varied as Riesling and Syrah.

Vancouver, Experience Wine Tours

Sip

To get a sense of the different wineries and their varietals, you need to visit several, tasting as you go. Experience Wine Tours is known for its excellent itineraries, wine knowledge and customer service. Daily tours are conducted by qualified sommeliers and include a picnic lunch of local produce, artisanal cheeses and charcuterie. experiencewinetours.ca

Stay

The boutique guesthouse at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery offers 10 luxury rooms, all with private balconies overlooking the vineyards. Lunch and dinner are served in its excellent Sonora Room restaurant. A number of private tours and tastings are offered, and custom tours can be arranged with advance notice. burrowingowlwine.ca

Burrowing Owl Estate Winery, Vancouver

Culture meets nature

Just south of the Okanagan is the Osoyoos Desert. The hottest, driest part of Canada is also home to the Osoyoos Indian Band and its award-winning winery Nk’Mip Cellars. Taste the incredible reds, tour the winery and be sure to have lunch on the spectacular patio. Visit the Nk’Mip Desert Cultural Centre right next door to learn more about the desert ecology, the rattlesnake rehabilitation programme and local Aboriginal traditions. nkmipcellars.com

Galiano Island: Castaway for a day

Get away from it all and visit one of the Gulf Islands. Galiano is less than an hour by ferry from Vancouver, but you’ll feel as if you have travelled to a distant land of pristine nature.

Drive

It measures just 27 kilometres long, so seeing all of Galiano is doable on a day trip. If you come without a car, the best way to get around is to hire a moped. The information centre has free maps and route suggestions. galianoadventures.com

Vancouver, Whales
Karoline Cullen

Watch for whales

The waters that surround Galiano are part of a feeding route for killer whales. For a clear view of Active Pass, and the best chance of spotting one of the many whale pods that visit the area, head to the southern end of the island and hike one of the short trails through beautiful Bluffs Park. You can also trek a two-hour loop of the park over easy terrain. galianoisland.com

Dine

Pilgrimme opened in 2015 and was instantly declared one of Canada’s best restaurants, praised for its use of local and foraged ingredients. Even in winter, two-thirds of the ingredients are sourced from Galiano, and you will be hard-pressed to find a chef more committed to the flavours of the Pacific Northwest than co-owner Jesse McCleery. Book well in advance. pilgrimme.ca

Tofino: beach town

A small town on the western-most edge of Vancouver Island, Tofino boasts wide beaches and a chilled-out vibe.

Fly

Harbour Air opened a new floatplane route in Summer 2018, taking visitors from downtown Vancouver directly into Tofino marina. On a clear day this thrilling, scenic flight is worth the trip alone. harbourair.com

Harbour Air Seaplanes, Vancouver
Mike Crane

Stay

Positioned on a promontory jutting into the Pacific, the Wickaninnish Inn is the jewel of Tofino. You’ll get to enjoy unobstructed views from the rooms, incredible Pacific Northwest cuisine at the Pointe Restaurant and a luxurious ocean-side spa. Visit in winter for spectacular storm watching. wickinn.com

Wickaninnish Inn, Vancouver
Courtesy of Wickaninnish Inn

Surf

Don’t just watch: take the plunge and learn to surf. Pacific Surf School offers lessons for groups, individuals or families, and there are adaptive programmes for individuals with physical or cognitive disabilities. pacificsurfschool.com ‭ ‬

Cathay Pacific flies to Vancouver from Hong Kong 17 times a week and begins flights to Seattle four times a week on 1 April 2019

EDITOR’S PICKS

Discover More

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book