2018年最精彩旅遊攝影

我們前往世界各地多處迷人景點拍攝照,現在與大家一起回顧過去一年來拍得最精采的照片

我們於2018年請來多位攝影師,穿梭世界各地,走過數千哩地的距離,進行接近40次的拍攝工作。他們不辭勞苦,前往遙遠的地點,拍攝的題材包羅萬有,例如在日本長滿杉樹林的山間發掘山葵,或者在南韓的濟州島玩滑翔傘等。攝影師們帶回來的照片均令人感到賞心悅目,甚至帶來驚喜,同時令文章生色。

以下是經編輯精選的精采作品,既有引人入勝的建築細節,亦有率性的一刻,或是像 上圖鳥瞰開普敦海岸景色一般令人歎為觀止的景物,不但可讓你神遊其間,也許還能為你帶來新的靈感,吸引你踏上旅途,親自前往體驗一番。

Irwin Wong

到日本發掘山葵

東京西面的高山上,長滿參天的杉樹,還有不少山葵生長其間,不過你要懂得尋找,才會見到這種植物的蹤影。居於日本的攝影師 Irwin Wong與山葵種植達人David Hulme一同前往這個山葵聖地探索一番。閱讀文章

DNA photographers

在開普敦的公路上飛馳

到過開普敦的人都會同意,當地風光壯麗迷人。當你沿著依海岸而建的Chapman’s Peak Drive公路前行,幾乎每轉一個彎都會有片令你讚歎不已的風景出現在眼前。途中不妨在Hout Bay灣稍停,享用午餐。閱讀文章

Matthew Oldfield

棉蘭的靈性之旅

印尼棉蘭有各種不同宗教的廟宇,構成當地一大文化特色。棉蘭最古老的印度廟Shri Mariamman Temple是一座泰米爾風格的建築,天花板佈滿花卉裝飾,非常華麗。閱讀文章

Mike Pickles

香港全新的古蹟翻新項目

香港的前中區警署進行了多年的翻新工程後,成為大館古蹟藝術館。這道樓梯拍得有如雕塑,捕捉了大館古今交融的特質。閱讀文章 

Hero-Jeju-1
Mike Pickles

濟州島上的刺激活動

南韓濟州島上的死火山形成變化多端的風景,更是喜歡刺激和冒險活動人士的樂園。我們的作者Cathy Adams與攝影師Mike Pickles前往當地玩滑翔傘,從高空欣賞當地風光。閱讀文章

Julian Abram Wainwright

暢遊達沃附近的小島

從位於菲律賓南部的城市達沃出發,可以前往薩馬爾島及鄰近的小島遊覽。這一帶有湛藍而清澈的海水,最宜各種水上活動。閱讀文章

Christophe Vander Eecken

比利時鮮為人知的特色

比利時是個有豐富美食、洋溢藝術氣息與充滿各種稀奇古怪事物的地方,而La Fleur en Papier Doré餐廳可說集以上三者之大成。這裡是昔日超現實主義藝術家的聚腳點,因此陳列了大量的畫作、照片和文物等,其中不少可以追溯至1920年代。有空不妨往這家餐廳去,點一杯當地釀製的啤酒,仔細欣賞一番。閱讀文章

Mike Pickles

在斯里蘭卡尋找養生之道

在尚未下傾盆大雨之前,於斯里蘭卡南岸的堡壘城市加勒享受自在寧靜的一刻。斯里蘭卡風景優美,還有豐富的文化與上千年的佛教歷史,教你如何修心養性。閱讀文章

Irwin Wong

面貌煥然一新的悉尼唐人街

一位悉尼本地居民利用反映民眾意識的公共藝術,講述唐人街一帶如何由邊緣地帶演變為主流社區。Jason Wing的作品《In Between Two Worlds》由30 個懸在半空的藍色精靈像組成,反映他澳洲土著與中國的文化根源。閱讀文章 

Greg Kahn

反映歷史的美國首都華盛頓

國家廣場公園全長1.5公里,園景經精心佈置,園內有多座史密森尼學會屬下的博物館,以及多座紀念開國元勳及政要的紀念碑。園內沒有汽車行駛,你可以安心漫步其中,或騎單車或電動平衡車遊覽其中各個景點。Read more

Mike Pickles

「貼地」遊杜拜

杜拜發展步伐迅速,城內摩天大樓數目之多,屬全球之冠。不過在地面上暢遊杜拜,可以看到當地繁華以外寧靜而迷人的一面。《Discovery》的雜誌攝影師Mike Pickles某個傍晚於黃昏日落時乘坐abra木船六次,而且險些將相機掉進海灣內,最終拍得這張照片。閱讀文章 

DNA Photographers

開普敦風光秀色可餐

開普敦經常獲選為全球其中一個最美麗的城市。這個城市有廣闊的海灘和壯麗的山景,還有大量各具特色的咖啡室和餐廳;此外,城中一些地區如Bo Kaap更有豐富的歷史,還有精采的開普馬來傳統文化。閱讀文章 

Cedric Arnold

曼谷湄南河兩岸的新面貌

湄南河兩岸的創意產業日益蓬勃,吸引遊客及當地人乘船沿河而遊,體驗曼谷新面貌。閱讀文章 

Mike Pickles

體驗海南島的慢活享受

海南島有中國夏威夷之稱,豪華酒店不斷在島上開設,最近開幕的包括有三亞艾迪遜酒店。由於酒店的入口處翠竹夾道(雖然是人造竹樹),配上裝飾用的水池、低調而富未來氣息的白色裝潢,都是拍照打卡的照點,令酒店成為席捲社交媒體的「網紅」。 閱讀文章 

Nero Chan

糅合古今的澳門

站在街道上來看,亞馬喇前地看來十分繁忙,甚至有點粗糙;但是從空中往下望,設計卻有如一個萬花筒。汽車駛過這個迴旋處,可以前往歷史悠久的葡京酒店,或者往南走,到近年開幕的美獅美高梅酒店去。閱讀文章 

Samuel Hesketh

迷人的西澳瑪格麗特河

籍籍無名的鄉郊地方,變身為全球數一數二的熱門目的地,旅客可在其中享受戶外活動,以及具有地方風味的美酒佳餚。閱讀文章 

Greg Kahn

在華盛頓上一堂歷史課

史密森尼學會最新開設的博物館,以非裔美國人的歷史為主題。前往國立非裔美國人歷史文化博物館參觀,是一個極動人的體驗。博物館的展品佈置有如垂直的時間線,由1400年代的大西洋奴隸貿易開始,一直到奧巴馬擔任美國總統,細說數百年來非裔美國人的血淚和成就。閱讀文章 

Matthew Oldfield

印尼的寧謐湖畔

多峇湖明淨如鏡,四周山巒環抱,從棉蘭駕車,約四小時即可抵達。這是印尼最大的火山口湖,也是最大的淡水湖,水深達505米。 閱讀文章 

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travel photography

Best Travel Photos of 2018

Presenting our favourites from a year’s worth of photo shoots in some of the world’s most captivating places

Our contributing photographers logged thousands of miles in 2018 as they crisscrossed the globe on nearly 40 assignments. They went to great lengths to get the right shot, whether hunting for wasabi among Japanese cedars or paragliding over South Korea’s Jeju Island, and they returned with footage that tended to surprise and delight.

Scroll through our editors’ favourite images below, and you may find inspiration for a new travel adventure in an intriguing architectural detail, a candid moment or a sweeping panorama like the Cape Town coastline pictured above. Click on the related story to learn more about the place behind the photo.

Irwin Wong

Wasabi Hunting in Japan

Towering cedars blanket the mountains west of Tokyo, where wasabi thrives – if you know where to find it. Photographer Irwin Wong, who lives in Japan, joined a hunt with wasabi whisperer David Hulme. Read more

South Africa
DNA photographers

Hitting the Road in Cape Town

There’s one Cape Town truth that’s undeniable: its amazing natural landscapes. Adventure awaits around every turn, especially if you’re navigating the coast along Chapman’s Peak Drive. Worthy stops include Hout Bay, where you can catch your own lunch. Read more

Medan
Matthew Oldfield

Getting Spiritual in Medan

Much of the culture in Medan, Indonesia, shines in its diverse places of worship. Marvel at the interior of Shri Mariamman Temple, Medan’s oldest Hindu temple, featuring Tamil-style architecture and flower ornaments on the temple ceiling. Read more

TaiKwun
Mike Pickles

Admiring Hong Kong’s New Heritage Project

After years of renovation, Tai Kwun, converted from Hong Kong’s former Central Police Station complex, finally opened as an arts hub. This sculptural stairwell aims to encapsulate Tai Kwun’s modern outlook amid its historic settings. Read more

Hero-Jeju-1
Mike Pickles

Thrill Seeking on Jeju Island

The dormant volcanoes of South Korea’s Jeju Island left it with a fertile landscape that’s just been discovered by adventurers and adrenaline junkies – including our own writer Cathy Adams and photographer Mike Pickles, who went along for a paraglide. Read more

DAVAO
Julian Abram Wainwright

Island Hopping Around Davao

The city of Davao in the southern Philippines is a jumping-off point for exploring Samal Island and its smaller isles, surrounded by dazzling turquoise seas. Read more

Christophe Vander Eecken

Keeping Things Not-Quite-Normal in Belgium

Welcome to Belgium: foodie, arty and odd. When in Brussels, order a local beer at La Fleur en Papier Doré, a surrealists’ favourite, packed with paintings, photographs and memorabilia dating back to the 1920s. Read more

Sri Lanka
Mike Pickles

Finding Wellness in Sri Lanka

A candid moment of delight in the fort city of Galle on Sri Lanka’s southern coast, right before a downpour struck. The country brings together magnificent landscapes, rich culture and millennia-old philosophies on how to find a better you. Read more

Sydney
Irwin Wong

Celebrating Sydney’s Chinatown

A Sydney local describes how the neighbourhood has gone from the fringes to the mainstream, with public art that reflects a growing consciousness. Jason Wing’s In Between Two Worlds consists of 30 suspended blue spirit figures inspired by his Aboriginal and Chinese heritage. Read more

Washington Monument
Greg Kahn

Reflecting on Washington, D.C.

The 1.5-kilometre-long landscaped National Mall park is flanked by Smithsonian museums, monuments to founding fathers and the country’s decision makers. You could walk (it’s all pedestrianised) or you could tour it by bike or Segway. Read more

Dubai
Mike Pickles

Getting Grounded in Dubai

Dubai has developed at a dizzying pace to become the world’s tallest city. But exploring at ground level reveals quieter charms. Discovery staff photographer Mike Pickles took a wooden abra boat ride six times in one evening as the sun was setting – and came dangerously close to dropping his camera in the creek – to get this shot. Read more

Cape town
DNA Photographers

Soaking Up the Beauty of Cape Town

Cape Town is regularly voted among the most beautiful cities on the planet. It’s a city of magnificent beaches and dramatic mountain scenery; there is an abundance of cafes and restaurants; and storied neighbourhoods like Bo Kaap, a colourful hub of Cape Malay heritage. Read more

BANGKOK
Cedric Arnold

Riding a River Renaissance in Bangkok

Boats ply the water of the Chao Phraya River, which is luring both tourists and residents with its thriving creative scene. Read more

Sanya
Mike Pickles

Embracing Slow Luxury in China’s Hawaii

Hainan Island is experiencing a luxury hotel boom, with recent openings including the Sanya Edition. It’s been described as wang hong, which means ‘hot on the web’, thanks to the photogenic entrance framed by rows of bamboo (albeit artificial) over a decorative pool and futuristic, understated white interiors. Read more

Macao
Nero Chan

Bridging the Old and New in Macao

From the street, Ferreira do Amaral Plaza looks busy, even gritty, but an aerial view reveals its inspired kaleidoscopic design. Cars pass through this roundabout on their way to the nearby Grand Lisboa hotel, a longtime Macao fixture, or as they head south to newcomer MGM Cotai. Read more

Margaret River
Samuel Hesketh

Sizing Up Western Australia’s Margaret River

We go to the source to investigate how a rural backwater has become one of the planet’s most exciting destinations for both outdoor adventures and fantastic food and wine. Read more

National Museum of African American History and Culture
Greg Kahn

Getting a Hands-on History Lesson in Washington DC

Visiting the newest Smithsonian extension – dedicated to African American history and culture – is a powerful experience. The museum is organised like a vertical timeline, starting with the Atlantic slave trade in the 1400s and moving up to the Obama presidency. Read more

Medan
Matthew Oldfield

Finding Lakeside Serenity in Indonesia

With its glassy surface and surrounding mountains, Lake Toba is a worthy side trip, about four hours by car from Medan. It’s Indonesia’s largest lake and largest freshwater reservoir, with a depth reaching 505 metres. Read more