旅遊攝影

2019年最精采旅遊照片

重溫一年來《Discovery》和《絲路》雜誌啟迪人心的旅遊照片

現時泛濫的旅遊照片實在叫人吃不消,人人都是獨當一面的攝影師,而每張相片都可任意加工和刻意「美圖」,務求在社交媒體引起哄動。

我們從2019年的國泰港龍航空機上雜誌《絲路》中,探索攝影如何影響我們的旅程。我們研究Instagram如何令景點成為網紅,以及向各具專長的攝影師偷師學藝。只要集合這些傑出佳作,便足以見證一幀專業照片的感染力。

我們每年也請來多位攝影師拍攝了數以千計賞心悅目的照片,並精選出2019年最精采的作品,包括上圖在香港大嶼山的航拍景致。下列每張照片都凝住了不同的旅遊角度,從瑰麗的先進建築、氣勢磅礴的風景到意外捕捉的動人時刻,教人不禁神遊其中。

請按閱讀文章連結,了解每張照片背後的動人故事,希望能為你帶來新的靈感,吸引你踏上旅途,親自前往體驗一番。

Credit: Cedric Arnold

與龍目島的女導遊先驅一起遠足

Rinjani Women Adventures旅行社創辦人在旅遊業為印尼鄉村女性闖出新路,一起花三天時間登上當地的活火山林賈尼火山之巔。閱讀文章

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

重新勾劃尖沙咀天際線

本地攝影師Derry Ainsworth捕捉了香港閃爍迷人的瑰麗酒店和翻新後的星光大道,兩者都是2019年尖沙咀多個發展項目中的焦點,為九龍海濱長廊帶來煥然一新的華麗氣象。閱讀文章

Credit: Daniel Valentin

斯里蘭卡美食新風潮

香港Hotal Colombo餐廳主廚Gisela Alesbrook探本尋源,返回家鄉斯里蘭卡,推廣這備受忽視菜系的精髓,包括新鮮撈捕的海鮮。閱讀文章

Credit: Cedric Arnold

胡志明市的動感活力

所有偉大城市都經歷過高速發展和巨變,然後迎向燦爛的未來,胡志明市也不例外。這個文化底蘊深厚的歷史名城正邁向現代化,全力發展初創產業。閱讀文章

Credit: Lauren Segal

西雅圖的戶外情趣

西雅圖是美國經濟增長最快的大城市。話雖如此,當地的魅力並不止於這股幹勁;那裡的崎嶇山野、石灘、藝術品林立的海濱和乘坐渡輪可達的小島,均瀰漫著一股慢活氣氛。閱讀文章

Credit: Christopher Alexander

在雅加達偷得浮生

雅加達確實是個人口稠密、繁忙熱鬧的城市,但本地作家及攝影師Christopher Alexander表示,只要你肯花點時間和心思,就會發現,在這裡也可以享受寧靜悠閒的時光。閱讀文章

Credit: Taylor Weidman

湄公河逍遙遊船

乘坐豪華遊船從泰國的金三角地區前往老撾的琅勃拉邦,體驗機會難得的當地人傳統生活風貌,還可以和大象打個招呼。閱讀文章

Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

米蘭的達文西創意傳承

適逢文藝復興大師達文西逝世500周年紀念,他賴以成名的米蘭在藝術、商業及創意上亦有復興之象。然而,當地不少人文風景也保持原貌,例如在主教座堂廣場的Camparino Bar呷一口香濃咖啡。閱讀文章

Credit: Tatsuto Shibata

走訪日本清酒與稻米之鄉

國泰港龍航空推出全新季節性航線直飛新潟,我們精選了六大亮點,把握今年冬天拜訪這個純白雪國。此外,當地的酒米種類多而上乘,軟水水質純淨,加上數百年來源遠流長的釀酒智慧,造就國際馳名的清酒。閱讀文章

Credit: Floto and Warner

感受紐約巨無霸

籌備經年、規模空前的哈德遜城市廣場終於落成,火速成為紐約市的飲食、購物和文化活動重鎮。公共藝術一直是這裡的焦點,當中的代表作是名為「Vessel」的大型藝術裝置,造型酷似蜂巢,背後的創作意念是讓訪客攀爬154段連綿不絕的樓梯,期間可在平台隨意停留,欣賞風景,注視下方的行人,或純粹感受《Vessel》的複雜結構。閱讀文章

Credit: Mike Pickles

南丫島寫意遊

若想暫離市區的煩囂,度過輕鬆悠閒的一天,不妨前往南丫島一遊,在海灘上倘佯,或參觀傳統的漁民小區,感受不一樣的氣氛,體驗另類香港生活。閱讀文章

Credit: Jonathan Browning

十里洋場以外的上海灘

金融中心的購物體驗一向與奢華掛勾,但現在手工藝變得大行其道。攝影師Jonathan Browning拍下了雨中的大上海,尋找方興未艾的限定市場。閱讀文章

Credit: Dylan Goldby

在首爾品味北韓美食

南韓首爾有多間正宗北韓風味餐廳,傳承了地道的北韓美食,如方形餃子pyeonsu和蕎麥水冷麵。我們走遍市內各處,包括梨泰院,尋味北韓。閱讀文章

Credit: Cedric Arnold

親嚐會安秘菜

景色優美的越南會安古鎮,由經商港口蛻變成美食勝地,孕育了高樓麵和越式法包等經典名菜,都是不同文化和歷史匯聚的產物。閱讀文章

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Travel photography

Our Best Travel Photos of 2019

Looking back at a year’s worth of inspiring travel photos commissioned for Discovery and Silkroad

These days, we’re awash in travel images; everyone’s a photographer, and every shot can be filtered and curated for social media appeal.

We explored the ways that photography affects our journeys in the August 2019 issue of Silkroad, the in-flight magazine of Cathay Dragon. We investigated how Instagram has changed places and asked photographers with different specialities to share the secrets of their craft. Indeed, putting together the dedicated issue was a reminder of the enduring power of a professional photo.

From the dozens of shoots we commission annually for print and digital features, we’ve selected our favourite original travel photos of 2019, including a drone shot of Hong Kong’s Lantau Island, above. The following images celebrate so many sides of travel, from cutting-edge architecture to vast, mysterious landscapes to serendipitous moments.

Click on the related link to learn more about the story behind each photo; we hope they will inspire some photo-worthy adventures of your own.

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Trekking with Lombok’s Pioneering Female Guides

The founder of Rinjani Women Adventures is blazing a trail for women in tourism in her Indonesian village. Come along on a three-day trek up to the summit of Mount Rinjani, an active volcano. Read more

Credit: Derry Ainsworth

Reshaping the Skyline of Tsim Sha Tsui

Local photographer Derry Ainsworth captures the gleaming Rosewood Hong Kong hotel tower and the revamped Avenue of the Stars – two of the many notable 2019 developments that have brought glamour to this harbourfront district in Kowloon. Read more

Credit: Daniel Valentin

Celebrating Sri Lanka’s Cuisine

Gisela Alesbrook, the head chef of Hong Kong’s Hotal Colombo, returns to her roots to showcase the best of Sri Lanka’s under-represented cuisine, including its freshly caught seafood. Read more

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Keeping Up with Ho Chi Minh City

For all great cities, there was that moment of relentless growth and fast change – and the future looked blindingly bright. That’s where Ho Chi Minh City is now, as it develops its startup scene and modernises amid a rich cultural heritage. Read more

Credit: Lauren Segal

Embracing the Outdoors in Seattle

Seattle is the US’s fastest-growing big city. But amid this energy, a slower pace of life prevails in its rugged green spaces, rocky beaches, art-studded waterfront and outlying islands – just a ferry ride away. Read more

Credit: Christopher Alexander

Seeking Out Jakarta’s Tranquil Side

Jakarta is as chaotic and clustered as you’ve heard. But it’s also a place of peaceful moments, if you know where to look, says local writer and photographer Christopher Alexander. Read more

Credit: Taylor Weidman

Cruising the Mekong River in Style

While sailing from Thailand’s Golden Triangle region to Laos’ Luang Prabang, an intimate two-cabin boat offers a rare opportunity to observe everyday traditions and wildlife – including ethical encounters with elephants. Read more

Credit: Alberto Bernasconi

Tracing Da Vinci’s Creative Legacy in Milan

It’s the 500th anniversary of Leonardo da Vinci’s death and in Milan – where he made his name – art, commerce and invention have undergone their own renaissance. Still, some things remain timeless, like a coffee break at Camparino Bar in Piazza del Duomo. Read more

Credit: Tatsuto Shibata

Exploring the Japanese Land of Sake and Rice

As Cathay Dragon rolls out a new seasonal route to Niigata, we highlight six reasons why you should visit the region known to locals as yukiguni (snow country). Number 2: the local rice wine, a product of pure water, sake rice varieties and centuries of accumulated brewing knowhow. Read more

Credit: Floto and Warner

Sizing Up New York’s Next Big Thing

Built from the ground up, Hudson Yards is fast becoming New York City’s epicentre of dining, shopping and culture. Public art has been a major talking point, and its official emblem and centrepiece is the Vessel, which resembles a bee hive. The idea is to climb the 154 connected flights and pause on the landings to take in the view, the activity below and the intricate workings of the sculpture itself. Read more

Credit: Mike Pickles

Planning a Perfect Day on Lamma Island

Take a break from the big city with a day trip to laidback Lamma Island, where beaches, a mildly countercultural vibe and a few traditional fishing communities offer an alternative perspective to Hong Kong living. Read more

Credit: Jonathan Browning

Going Beyond the Glitz in Shanghai

Shopping in the financial centre has long been about glitz and glam, but now things are getting craftier. Photographer Jonathan Browning captured this rainy day shot while exploring the city’s flourishing pop-up community markets. Read more

Credit: Dylan Goldby

Searching for Seoul’s Most Authentic North Korean Cooking

Some Seoul restaurateurs are preserving the culinary heritage of North Korea by serving delicacies such as pyeonsu (dumplings) and naengmyeon (cold buckwheat noodles). We sought them out across city neighbourhoods, including Itaewon-dong. Read more

Credit: Cedric Arnold

Sampling Hoi An’s Legendary Dishes

The historic centre of Hoi An is as famous for photogenic streets as it is for dishes like cao lau and banh mi, whose mix of cultures and influences is emblematic of this ancient Vietnamese port city that once traded in ingredients from around the globe. Read more

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book