節日和活動

香港9月的賞心樂事

本月全城節慶洋溢一片喜氣

香港人誰不愛公眾假期?我們每年就有多達17天,不過論最美麗和最美味的,非中秋節莫屬(又是品嚐月餅的時候)。今年中秋節在9月13日,不妨到維多利亞公園歡度佳節,那裡會舉行中秋綵燈會,除了花燈展覽,還有多項現場表演、巡遊、功夫示範、掌相占卜等包羅萬有的節目。出發前,可先到上環皇后大道西挑一個傳統花燈,帶著它參加綵燈會盡慶。

不容錯過的節慶還有於9月12至14日舉行的大坑舞火龍,屆時近300人舞動插上24,000支香、長達67米的火龍,穿梭大街小巷,場面極為壯觀。舞火龍的傳統由居民為求消除瘟疫而起,看著神氣活現的火龍,你會相信此言非虛。

Credit: ISAAC LAWRENCE / AFP

熱鬧的節日氣氛亦在其他地區蔓延開去,運動健康節IRIS: Your Escape於9月21至22日回歸中環海濱活動空間,一眾健美達人到場教授瑜伽招式、冥想技巧,以及踢拳和Zumba舞等讓你出一身汗的運動。燃燒脂肪過後,你可到現場開放的健康市集品嚐各式美食。

喜樂之心,乃是良藥,墨爾本國際喜劇節巡迴演出於9月16至22日在香港藝穗會舉行,新加坡搞笑能手Fakkah Fuzz、來自澳洲的Becky Lucas和2015年「英國年度笑匠」Brennan Reece與其他高手會施展渾身解數,帶來連串歡聲笑語。

俄羅斯科學表演WOW! HOW? 世界巡迴表演亦於本月駕臨香港,在9月21至22日假上環文娛中心為觀眾帶來一連串前所未見的科學實驗,例如大氣氮氣槍、龍捲風製造機和特斯拉發電機產生的閃電,當然,表演少不了戴上各式假髮的瘋狂博士。

如果你無法抗拒美食的誘惑,就不能錯過全新期間限定美食概念活動Feast,它在9月7至8日於中環元創方舉行,屆時八位大廚會到場大展身手,即席為入場人士炮製招牌美饌,並佐以任添飲品和現場音樂助興。意猶未盡?飲食集團Pirata Group為慶祝在9月踏入五周年,於旗下餐廳推出不同慶祝盛宴,包括三個由兩大主廚合作主理的佳餚系列;在9月22日於西班牙北部傳統餐廳The Optimist舉行早午餐喜宴;在9月28日在新派印度餐廳Chaiwala舉行派對,並在旗下最近開張的日本餐廳Honjo及另外十間餐廳推出特別菜式。

Credit: Roberto Finizio/NurPhoto

你亦可選擇度過樂韻悠揚的秋天。本月在港獻藝的包括英國流行搖滾樂隊The 1975
他們會假亞洲國際博覽館舉行演唱會;還有於9月8日在九龍灣國際展貿中心獻唱的韓裔美籍唱作人Jay Park。而樂壇新秀美國二人搖滾樂隊Larkin Poe則會在9月18日登上獨立音樂表演場地This Town Needs的舞台大顯身手。另外電影配樂大師Hans Zimmer亦會駕臨香港,連同演場樂隊及交響樂團演奏他為《加勒比海盜》、《星際啟示錄》和《帝國驕雄》等電影創作的音樂,其Hans Zimmer Live On Tour演奏會在9月26日假香港會議展覽中心舉行,讓樂迷重溫近年繞樑三日的電影音樂。

活動一覽

8月15至19日: 香港貿發局美食博覽

9月13日: 中秋節

10月31日至11月3日: 香港美酒佳餚巡禮

11月22至24日: Clockenflap音樂節


國泰航空設有由香港飛往全球逾100個城市的航班

Cathay Travell Book

關於

這個網站囊括了國泰航空及國泰港龍航空兩本機上雜誌《Discovery》與《絲路》的精采內容。下次當你再乘搭國泰航空或國泰港龍航空時,歡迎取閱機上的印刷本雜誌。
Silkroad Book

Festivals and events

Best Things to do in Hong Kong in September

Festival fever hits the city this September, bringing with it lantern displays, dragon dances, concerts and wellness events

Hong Kong loves a public holiday – there are a whopping 17 each year – but Mid-Autumn Festival is arguably the prettiest and tastiest (hello, mooncakes) of them all. Head to Victoria Park (13 September) for the all-in-one carnival atmosphere, with lantern displays, stage shows, parades, kung fu demonstrations, palm reading and more. Pick up a traditional lantern from Queen’s Road West in Sheung Wan to join in.

Make sure also to catch the spectacular Tai Hang Fire Dragon Dance (12-14 September) encompassing some 300 performers, 24,000 incense sticks and a 67-metre-long dragon. The story goes that the dance began to chase away the plague; it seems to have worked.

Credit: ISAAC LAWRENCE / AFP

The festival spirit is in the air elsewhere this month, too. The IRIS: Your Escape wellness festival returns to Central Harbourfront (21-22 September) with fitness gurus to guide you through yoga routines, meditation sessions and sweat-inducing activities from kickboxing to Zumba, after which you’ll find nutritious nibbles in the food market.

If you think laughter is the best alternative medicine, then get ready for the Melbourne International Comedy Festival Roadshow at the Hong Kong Fringe Club (16-22 September). Singaporean funnyman Fakkah Fuzz, Australia’s Becky Lucas and 2015 ‘English Comedian of the Year’ Brennan Reece are part of the gang aiming to put a smile on your face.

Or take yourself over to Sheung Wan Civic Centre for WOW! HOW? (21-22 September). The Russian travelling stage show is a bedazzling mix of mad science and spectacle involving cloud cannons, tornado machines and Tesla generators – and, er, several wigs.

Foodies should check out new pop-up concept Feast at Central’s PMQ (7-8 September). You’ll sample signature creations from eight chefs plying their trade at live cooking stations – all with free-flow drinks with live music. Still hungry? Pirata Group is celebrating its fifth anniversary this month with festivities including three series of four-hands menus, a celebratory brunch at northern Spanish restaurant The Optimist on 22 September and a party at modern Indian restaurant Chaiwala on 28 September – as well as special menus at its 11 outlets, including brand new Japanese restaurant Honjo.

Hong Kong September, best things to do
Credit: Roberto Finizio/NurPhoto

Alternatively, take your pick from musical acts making a noise this autumn. British pop-rockers The 1975 will play AsiaWorld-Expo while Korean-American singer-songwriter Jay Park  plays KITEC (8 September) and up-and-coming US roots rock duo Larkin Poe headline indie venue This Town Needs (18 September). Relive some of the best movie soundtracks of recent years at Hans Zimmer Live On Tour (26 September) – the maestro behind the Pirates of the Caribbean, Interstellar and Gladiator scores performs his masterpieces alongside a live band and orchestra.

Planning Ahead

 

4-7 October: Asia Contemporary Art Show

31 October – 3 November: Hong Kong Wine & Dine Festival

22-24 November: Clockenflap

5-7 December: DesignInspire


Cathay Pacific flies to Hong Kong from more than 100 cities worldwide

Cathay Travell Book

ABOUT

Discovery online brings together all the inspirational travel writing from our two inflight magazines, Discovery and Silkroad. Be sure to look out for the print editions when you next fly with Cathay Pacific or Cathay Dragon.
Discovery Book Silkroad Book